DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the Kraft process" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Accordingly, dependent claims 2-5, 8, 10, and 12 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Billington et al. (US 2015/0329753).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 8: Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses a method of preparing an adhesive formulation containing lignin and a crosslinker [abstract], wherein Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses glycerol diglycidyl ether (GDE [0052]) and polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether as crosslinkers [0044]. Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0051-0056] prepares a resin by mixing 58 wt% lignin, 32 wt% polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether {note polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether exchanged for GDE as the crosslinker [0044]; see MPEP 2131.02}, and 12 wt% gamma-valerolactone (GVL [0045; 0052] {organic solvent; ester} [corresponding to 1.8:1 lignin:polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether] [Ex. 1; 0051-0056]. Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses lignin is not pre-functionalized [abstract; 0005; 0039; 0052].
While Billington et al. (US ‘753) does not disclose the adhesive is for coating a metal substrate, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim [see MPEP 2111.02].
While Billington et al. (US ‘753) does not disclose the lignin has been generated in the Kraft process, “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [See MPEP 2113].
Regarding claim 10: Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses the prepared resin was used for coating birch veneer [Ex. 1; 0051-0056].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billington et al. (US 2015/0329753) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 5 and 12: Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses the basic claimed method [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses the adhesive composition can contain walnut shell powder (additive/filler) [0049].
Billington et al. (US ‘753) does not specifically disclose the adhesive composition of Ex. 1 containing walnut shell powder. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included walnut shell powder based on the invention of Billington et al. (US ‘753), and would have been motivated to do so since Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses the adhesive composition can contain walnut shell powder to produce plastic like panels [0049]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 10 and 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,163,064. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of preparing a bonding resin of comprising mixing lignin and an ether (ex. polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether [claims 1-2]) substantially overlap in scope with the instant claimed method. While U.S. Patent No. 12,163,064 does not include a solvent in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a solvent, as U.S. Patent No. 12,163,064 claims the resin mixture can contain a solvent [claims 10-11].
While U.S. Patent No. 12,163,064 does not claim the adhesive is for coating a metal substrate, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim [see MPEP 2111.02].
Claims 1, 4-5, 8 and 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,286,565. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of preparing a bonding resin of comprising mixing lignin and an ether (ex. polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether [claims 1-3]) substantially overlap in scope with the instant claimed method. While U.S. Patent No. 12,286,565 does not include a solvent in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a solvent, as U.S. Patent No. 12,286,565 claims the resin mixture can contain a solvent [claims 4 and 6-7].
While U.S. Patent No. 12,286,565 does not claim the adhesive is for coating a metal substrate, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim [see MPEP 2111.02].
While U.S. Patent No. 12,286,565 does not claim the lignin has been generated in the Kraft process, “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [See MPEP 2113].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claims based upon Billington et al. (US 2015/0329753) is maintained.
Billington et al. (US ‘753) was relied on for disclosing a method of preparing an adhesive formulation containing lignin and a crosslinker [abstract], wherein Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses glycerol diglycidyl ether (GDE [0052]) and polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether as crosslinkers [0044]. Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0051-0056] prepares a resin by mixing 58 wt% lignin, 32 wt% polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether {note polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether exchanged for GDE as the crosslinker [0044]; see MPEP 2131.02}, and 12 wt% gamma-valerolactone (GVL [0045; 0052] {organic solvent; ester} [corresponding to 1.8:1 lignin:polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether] [Ex. 1; 0051-0056]. Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses lignin is not pre-functionalized [abstract; 0005; 0039; 0052].
Gamma-valerolactone (GVL [0045; 0052]) corresponds to the claimed organic solvent {ester solvent}. While Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses gamma-valerolactone as a dispersant, gamma-valerolactone is a known solvent for lignin (see, for example, Hegg et al. (WO 2018/195000): γ-valerolactone (GVL) as a solvent for providing a homogenous medium including lignin [0042; 0052]).
As Billington et al. (US ‘753) discloses Example 1 [Ex. 1; 0051-0056] prepares a resin by mixing 58 wt% lignin, 32 wt% polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether and 12 wt% gamma-valerolactone (solvent) {see above}, the instant claimed method of mixing a solution of lignin in an organic solvent with polyglycerol polyglycidyl ether to provide a resin is anticipated.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., first preparing a solution of lignin in organic solvent, followed by addition of crosslinker) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the process does not require the use of a radical crosslinker, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
While Billington et al. (US ‘753) does not disclose the lignin has been generated in the Kraft process, “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [See MPEP 2113].
The nonstatutory double patenting rejections over U.S. Patent No. 12,163,064 and U.S. Patent No. 12,286,565 are maintained {see above}.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767