2. This communication is responsive to the Application No. 17/757,306 and the amendments filed on 6/10/2026.
3. Claims 26-31, 34, 36-42, 44, and 46-50 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/14/2022, 11/10/2022, 9/18/2023, and 11/1/2024 have been fully considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 26-31 and 34-46 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1, 42, and 44, the Applicant argues that applied reference US 20120026408 A1 to Lee (hereinafter Lee) is non-analogous art to the claims of the invention, and therefore should not be used to teach limitations of the claims. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees, in which will be described below.
On pages 8-9 of the remarks filed 6/10/2026 (hereinafter the remarks), the Applicant argues that Lee is non-analogous art for being directed to a remote controller for a video display system, where the Applicant claims this is non-analogous to the claimed handheld device used to train a machine. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. According to section 2141.01(a) of the MPEP, “A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention).” The remote controller of Lee may not be specifically for training a machine; however, the Examiner submits that the invention of Lee is at least pertinent to the problem. Lee is pertinent to the problem by disclosing an improvement to detecting the three-dimensional position of a remote controller with reference to an external device. As stated on Page 9 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 3/19/2026, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate this improvement described in Lee to the handheld control device of US 20180345495 A1 to Aldridge. Therefore, the Examiner submits that Lee is analogous art.
Further, on Pages 9-10 of the remarks, the Applicant argues that the remote controller of Lee cannot be used to train a machine. The Examiner notes that Lee was never used to teach the steps of training a machine in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 3/19/2026, although primary reference US 20180345495 A1 to Aldridge does, which Lee modifies. Further, the Examiner has identified Lee as analogous art for the reasons stated above.
For these reasons, the Examiner does not find the Applicant’s remarks against Lee to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection of independent claims 1, 42, and 44 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are still rejected, in which will additionally be described later.
Regarding dependent claims 27-31, 34, 36-41, and 46, as all of these claims depend from claim 26, are still rejected, in which will be described later.
Regarding dependent claims 35, 43, and 45, these claims have been cancelled, and thus, are withdrawn from further consideration.
6. The Examiner notes, that in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/22/2025, that claims 26, 31, 42, and 44 comprise limitations interpreted to under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) for using a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The Applicant’s remarks filed 6/10/2026 do not contain any arguments against the Examiner’s interpretation to these claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), nor do the amended claims filed 6/10/2026 address these interpretations. As such, the Examiner maintains the interpretations to claims 26, 31, 42, and 44 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) stated in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 4/22/2025.
7. Examiner notes Applicant's request for interview, if any issues remain that would
prevent allowance of the application, however, in light of the new ground of rejection in view of
the newly found prior art, which was necessitated based on Applicant's amendments and remarks to the claims, Examiner would like to provide the Applicant with an opportunity to review the new grounds of rejection in view of said newly found prior art, prior to an interview. Once the Applicant has reviewed the new grounds of rejection, Examiner is willing to conduct an interview to discuss any remaining issues with the application that Applicant would like to
discuss.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 48 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 48 recites the limitation "one or more locating signals" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Independent claim 26, upon which claim 48 depends on, introduces the term “one or more locating signals” in line 10 of the claim, in the context of locating signals being initiated external to the handheld device. Due to a lack of term such as “the” prior to the instance of “one or more locating signals” in line 2 of claim 48, it appears that claim 48 attempts to reintroduce this term. However, it cannot be determined whether the “one or more locating signals” of claim 48 is the same as the “one or more locating signals” introduced in claim 26. The term in claim 48 lacks the contextual language of locating signals being initiated external to the handheld device. Moreover, it is further confusing how the second sensor introduced in claim 49 (claim 49 being dependent upon claim 48) is able to detect incoming location signals if the second sensor is an inertial sensor or an air pressure sensor. Thus, the Examiner cannot determine whether the terms “one or more locating signals” refer to the same locating signals in claims 26 and 48, and claim 48 is therefore determined to be indefinite. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets the “one or more locating signals” of claim 48 as not necessarily being the same locating signals initiated external to the handheld device of claim 26. Support for this interpretation can be in dependent claim 49, whereas stated above, the inertial sensors and air pressure sensors may be able to detect the location of the handheld device, but not necessarily location signals initiated external to the handheld device.
Claim 48 recites the limitation "the at least two or more signals" in lines 4-5 of claim 48. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. None of claims 26 or 48 have properly introduced the term “at least two or more signals.” Thus, it has not already been established that there are two or more signals. The “one or more locating signals” introduced in claims 26 and 48 do not necessarily require two or more locating signals. Therefore, this term is determined to lack antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 49, this claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as it depends upon claim 48, and therefore, inherits all of the limitations of claim 48, described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 26, 28, 30, 31, 34, 38, 39, 42, 44, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldridge et al. (US 20180345495 A1 hereinafter Aldridge) in view of Lee et al. (US 20120026408 A1 hereinafter Lee) and Dai et al. (WO 2017036520 A1 hereinafter Dai (Provided by Applicant's IDS)).
Regarding Claim 26, Aldridge teaches a handheld device ([0018] via “In one embodiment, a robotic point capture and motion control system may enable the capturing of one or more points in space associated with a handheld controller device without having to move the robot to one or more points in space during programming.”) for training at least one movement and at least one activity of a machine ([0073] via “In one embodiment, the operator may move the controller device 320 to make contact at a surface with the probe tip 312. This allows the robotic point capture and motion control system to teach the robot by capturing one or more points in space that may be defined for one or more purposes. For example, the operator may hold the controller device 320 by hand and may move the probe tip 312 onto one or more surfaces (e.g., planes, complex surfaces, cylinders, or any other surface) or even points in space that may define a space boundary. The operator may then press a trigger on the controller device 320 to capture (e.g., learn) the point and orientation of the probe 310 and the probe tip 312. The point and orientation may be stored for use in the robot program.”), the handheld device comprising:
a handle ([0073] via “For example, the operator may hold the controller device 320 by hand and may move the probe tip 312 onto one or more surfaces (e.g., planes, complex surfaces, cylinders, or any other surface) or even points in space that may define a space boundary.”), (Note: See Figures 3A and 3B of Aldridge where the handheld controller device 320 has a handle on the left side of the controller device.);
an input unit configured to input activation information for activating the training of the machine ([0053] via “In one embodiment, a robotic point capture and motion control system may facilitate a training mode such that the controller device is capable of learning and capturing points in space at various locations being traversed using the controller device. The user may press the pressure sensitive trigger to gain control of the robot. The robot may be moved into the desired position and orientation of a point in space and then the trigger is released.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the trigger as the input unit.);
an output unit configured to output the activation information for activating the training of the machine to an external device that is external to the handheld device ([0041] via “The controller device 102 may control the robotic device 120 by transmitting control signals to the robotic device 120 through a wire or through wireless signals and vice versa.”), ([0045] via “The robotic device 120 may receive the control signal and may be controlled by the received control signal. The control signal may be received directly from the controller device 102, or may be received through the motion capture input device 123. For example, the control signal may cause the robotic device 120 to apply or remove pneumatic air from a robotic gripper of the robotic device 120, or any kind of input/output or generic gripper or any device to communicate to on the robot.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the handheld controller device 102 having a control signal output as the output unit.);
a coupling structure for releasably coupling an interchangeable attachment configured in accordance with the at least one activity ([0068] via “Referring to FIG. 3A, there is shown a control device 320 having one or more probes 310 attached to a connector 309 of the control device 320. A probe 310 may be a replica of an end effector of a robot, a point device, a tool, or any other suitable devices. In one example, the probe 310 may have a probe tip 312 that may be used to designate a point in space.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the probe 310 as the coupling structure since it is able to be attached to the handheld control device 320 (See Figures 3A and 3B of Aldridge).).
Aldridge is silent on the handheld device comprising: one or more sensors configured to detect one or more locating signals initiated externally to the handheld device; wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors comprises an optoelectronic sensor configured to capture the location signal; one or more processors configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on the one or more locating signals; and one or more transmitters for transmitting the location information as training data for training the machine.
However, Lee teaches one or more sensors configured to detect one or more locating signals initiated externally to the handheld device; wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors comprises an optoelectronic sensor configured to capture the location signal ([0036] via “In this embodiment, the remote controller 10 has an internal structure shown schematically in FIG. 2A, including an optical sensor 11, ….”), ([0037] via “Referring to FIGS. 1, 2A, and 2B, the system according to this embodiment operates in the following way: First, the light source 30 emits alight signal, such as an infrared (IR) signal. Next, the optical sensor 11 senses the light signal to detect a relative position of the optical sensor to the light source, that is, a relative position of the remote controller to the light source, wherein the positional information can be two-dimensional information (x and y directions in FIG. 1) or three-dimensional information (x, y, and z directions in FIG. 1). The optical sensor 11 generates a first electronic signal representative of the positional information according to the sensed light signal, and transmits the first electronic signal to the first processor and transceiver 12.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2A-B of Lee as well. The Examiner interprets the optical sensor 11 of Lee as the optoelectronic sensor.); and
one or more processors configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on the one or more locating signals ([0037] via “The optical sensor 11 generates a first electronic signal representative of the positional information according to the sensed light signal, and transmits the first electronic signal to the first processor and transceiver 12. The first processor and transceiver 12 processes the first electronic signal to convert it to a first wireless signal RF1 and transmits the wireless signal RF1 to the transceiver device 20 via the first antenna 13. In the transceiver device 20, after the second antenna 23 receives the first wireless signal RF1 from the remote controller 10, the second processor and transceiver 22 converts it to a second electronic signal, which is transmitted to the video display host 40 via a second and a first connectors 21 and 41.”).
Further, Dai teaches one or more transmitters for transmitting the location information as training data for training the machine (Page 6 line 33 – Page 7 line 11, where “According to a further variant of the method the robot program comprises data describing a desired movement path of the robot arm. It is also possible to teach position vectors describing the course of the movement path by use of the robot teaching system according to the invention in the case that it has an integrated position determination device. Thus the robot teaching device can be held at desired locations on a reference workpiece wherein a force might be applied thereon through the mechanical interaction tool and wherein not only data values describing the applied force but also data values describing the determined position and/or orientation of the hand-held teaching device are provided by the communication interface to the computing unit. Thus according to a further embodiment of the invention the hand held teaching device further comprises means for determining its position and/or orientation wherein the desired movement path of the robot arm is teached by use of the hand held teaching device.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee wherein the handheld device comprises: one or more sensors configured to detect one or more locating signals initiated externally to the handheld device; wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors comprises an optoelectronic sensor configured to capture the location signal; and one or more processors configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on the one or more locating signals. Doing so allows for the determination of the position of the handheld device in three-dimensions from a set point, as stated above by Lee in paragraph [0037], which also allows for additional parameters of the handheld device able to be determined, as stated by Lee ([0039] via “As mentioned earlier, the positional information of the remote controller relative to the light source can be obtained in the present invention. Hence, a displacement, velocity, or acceleration of the movement of the remote controller 10 can be calculated according to the positional information at different time points, and a time difference therebetween.”).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Dai wherein the handheld device comprises: one or more transmitters for transmitting the location information as training data for training the machine. Doing so teaches the machine the desired positions and orientations to complete its movement path based on location demonstration from the handheld device, as stated above by Dai.
Regarding Claim 28, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, wherein the output unit comprises a wireless communication device for communicating between the handheld device and the external device ([0035] via “In one embodiment, and with reference to FIG. 1, a robotic device 120 may communicate directly with the controller device 102. For example, the two devices may communicate through a wired or a wireless connection (e.g., magnetic, optical, wireless technology based communication, cables, etc.).”).
Regarding Claim 30, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, wherein the input unit is configured to capture a handling of the handheld device while performing the activity ([0030] via “The user may select the position in free space, moves out of the way, and then initiates the robot's move to the selected position by modulating the speed with the trigger on the controller. That is the user may make the robot move from slow to fast based on gently pressing the trigger to firmly pressing the trigger.”), ([0053] via “In one embodiment, a robotic point capture and motion control system may facilitate a training mode such that the controller device is capable of learning and capturing points in space at various locations being traversed using the controller device. The user may press the pressure sensitive trigger to gain control of the robot. The robot may be moved into the desired position and orientation of a point in space and then the trigger is released. A button is pressed on the controller device to add the point.”).
Regarding Claim 31, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, the handheld device further comprising a feedback unit configured to generate feedback to a user of the handheld device ([0044] via “The controller device 102 may also contain haptic feedback devices to provide vibration for certain events, like adding a point, or to communicate robot inertia to the hand of the operator. This may be applicable to a “spray paint” mode to help the operator understand on the fly the kinds of accelerations they are “asking” the robot to do while the robot is being taught.”).
Regarding Claim 34, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, wherein the location information comprises one or more of the following: spatial information pertaining to at least one of a movement of the handheld device in space, a position of the handheld device in space, and an orientation of the handheld device in space ([0069] via “In one or more embodiments, the probe 310 may have an offset distance (e.g., distance d) from a location on the controller device 320. The controller device may be a position-sensing and orientation-sensing hand-held controller device. For example, the controller device 320 may contain circuitry comprising a sensor that can sense and capture the position and orientation of the control device relative to a coordinate system.”).
Regarding Claim 38, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, wherein the coupling structure is arranged on a first end face of the handheld device ([0068] via “Referring to FIG. 3A, there is shown a control device 320 having one or more probes 310 attached to a connector 309 of the control device 320. A probe 310 may be a replica of an end effector of a robot, a point device, a tool, or any other suitable devices. In one example, the probe 310 may have a probe tip 312 that may be used to designate a point in space.”), (Note: See Figures 3A and 3B of Aldridge, where the probe 310 and probe tip 312 are arranged on the opposite side from the handle of the handheld device facing towards the robot, to which the Examiner interprets this direction to be first end face of the handheld device.).
Regarding Claim 39, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, wherein the interchangeable attachment comprises an end portion of a tool that represents the activity of the machine ([0023] via “In one embodiment, a robotic point capture and motion control system may facilitate a single point and orientation capture in 3D space using a handheld controller and touch probe. … For example, if the end effector of the robot is an attachment that includes a gripper, the touch probe on the controller device may also be a gripper that may be used by a user to capture one or more points and orientations in the 3D space. These captured points and orientations may then be used to program the robot.”).
Regarding Claim 42, Aldridge teaches a handheld device ([0018] via “In one embodiment, a robotic point capture and motion control system may enable the capturing of one or more points in space associated with a handheld controller device without having to move the robot to one or more points in space during programming.”) for training a movement and an activity of a machine ([0073] via “In one embodiment, the operator may move the controller device 320 to make contact at a surface with the probe tip 312. This allows the robotic point capture and motion control system to teach the robot by capturing one or more points in space that may be defined for one or more purposes. For example, the operator may hold the controller device 320 by hand and may move the probe tip 312 onto one or more surfaces (e.g., planes, complex surfaces, cylinders, or any other surface) or even points in space that may define a space boundary. The operator may then press a trigger on the controller device 320 to capture (e.g., learn) the point and orientation of the probe 310 and the probe tip 312. The point and orientation may be stored for use in the robot program.”), the handheld device comprising:
a handle ([0073] via “For example, the operator may hold the controller device 320 by hand and may move the probe tip 312 onto one or more surfaces (e.g., planes, complex surfaces, cylinders, or any other surface) or even points in space that may define a space boundary.”), (Note: See Figures 3A and 3B of Aldridge where the handheld controller device 320 has a handle on the left side of the controller device.);
an input unit configured to input activation information for activating the training of the machine ([0053] via “In one embodiment, a robotic point capture and motion control system may facilitate a training mode such that the controller device is capable of learning and capturing points in space at various locations being traversed using the controller device. The user may press the pressure sensitive trigger to gain control of the robot. The robot may be moved into the desired position and orientation of a point in space and then the trigger is released.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the trigger as the input unit.);
an output unit configured to output the activation information for activating the training of the machine to a device external to the handheld device ([0041] via “The controller device 102 may control the robotic device 120 by transmitting control signals to the robotic device 102 through a wire or through wireless signals and vice versa.”), ([0045] via “The robotic device 120 may receive the control signal and may be controlled by the received control signal. The control signal may be received directly from the controller device 102, or may be received through the motion capture input device 123. For example, the control signal may cause the robotic device 120 to apply or remove pneumatic air from a robotic gripper of the robotic device 120, or any kind of input/output or generic gripper or any device to communicate to on the robot.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the handheld controller device 102 having a control signal output as the output unit.); and
a tool configured according to the at least one activity ([0023] via “In one embodiment, a robotic point capture and motion control system may facilitate a single point and orientation capture in 3D space using a handheld controller and touch probe. … For example, if the end effector of the robot is an attachment that includes a gripper, the touch probe on the controller device may also be a gripper that may be used by a user to capture one or more points and orientations in the 3D space. These captured points and orientations may then be used to program the robot.”), ([0068] via “Referring to FIG. 3A, there is shown a control device 320 having one or more probes 310 attached to a connector 309 of the control device 320. A probe 310 may be a replica of an end effector of a robot, a point device, a tool, or any other suitable devices. In one example, the probe 310 may have a probe tip 312 that may be used to designate a point in space.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the probe as the tool.).
Aldridge is silent on the handheld device comprising: one or more sensors configured to detect one or more locating signals initiated externally to the handheld device; wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors comprises an optoelectronic sensor configured to capture the location signal; one or more processors configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on the one or more locating signals; and one or more transmitters for transmitting location information as training data for training the machine.
However, Lee teaches one or more sensors configured to detect one or more locating signals initiated externally to the handheld device; wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors comprises an optoelectronic sensor configured to capture the location signal ([0036] via “In this embodiment, the remote controller 10 has an internal structure shown schematically in FIG. 2A, including an optical sensor 11, ….”), ([0037] via “Referring to FIGS. 1, 2A, and 2B, the system according to this embodiment operates in the following way: First, the light source 30 emits alight signal, such as an infrared (IR) signal. Next, the optical sensor 11 senses the light signal to detect a relative position of the optical sensor to the light source, that is, a relative position of the remote controller to the light source, wherein the positional information can be two-dimensional information (x and y directions in FIG. 1) or three-dimensional information (x, y, and z directions in FIG. 1). The optical sensor 11 generates a first electronic signal representative of the positional information according to the sensed light signal, and transmits the first electronic signal to the first processor and transceiver 12.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2A-B of Lee as well. The Examiner interprets the optical sensor 11 of Lee as the optoelectronic sensor.); and
one or more processors configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on the one or more locating signals ([0037] via “The optical sensor 11 generates a first electronic signal representative of the positional information according to the sensed light signal, and transmits the first electronic signal to the first processor and transceiver 12. The first processor and transceiver 12 processes the first electronic signal to convert it to a first wireless signal RF1 and transmits the wireless signal RF1 to the transceiver device 20 via the first antenna 13. In the transceiver device 20, after the second antenna 23 receives the first wireless signal RF1 from the remote controller 10, the second processor and transceiver 22 converts it to a second electronic signal, which is transmitted to the video display host 40 via a second and a first connectors 21 and 41.”).
Further, Dai teaches one or more transmitters for transmitting location information as training data for training the machine (Page 6 line 33 – Page 7 line 11, where “According to a further variant of the method the robot program comprises data describing a desired movement path of the robot arm. It is also possible to teach position vectors describing the course of the movement path by use of the robot teaching system according to the invention in the case that it has an integrated position determination device. Thus the robot teaching device can be held at desired locations on a reference workpiece wherein a force might be applied thereon through the mechanical interaction tool and wherein not only data values describing the applied force but also data values describing the determined position and/or orientation of the hand-held teaching device are provided by the communication interface to the computing unit. Thus according to a further embodiment of the invention the hand held teaching device further comprises means for determining its position and/or orientation wherein the desired movement path of the robot arm is teached by use of the hand held teaching device.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee wherein the handheld device comprises: one or more sensors configured to detect one or more locating signals initiated externally to the handheld device; wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors comprises an optoelectronic sensor configured to capture the location signal; and one or more processors configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on the one or more locating signals. Doing so allows for the determination of the position of the handheld device in three-dimensions from a set point, as stated above by Lee in paragraph [0037], which also allows for additional parameters of the handheld device able to be determined, as stated by Lee ([0039] via “As mentioned earlier, the positional information of the remote controller relative to the light source can be obtained in the present invention. Hence, a displacement, velocity, or acceleration of the movement of the remote controller 10 can be calculated according to the positional information at different time points, and a time difference therebetween.”).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Dai wherein the handheld device comprises: one or more transmitters for transmitting location information as training data for training the machine. Doing so teaches the machine the desired positions and orientations to complete its movement path based on location demonstration from the handheld device, as stated above by Dai.
Regarding Claim 44, Aldridge teaches a system for training a movement and an activity of a machine ([0073] via “In one embodiment, the operator may move the controller device 320 to make contact at a surface with the probe tip 312. This allows the robotic point capture and motion control system to teach the robot by capturing one or more points in space that may be defined for one or more purposes. For example, the operator may hold the controller device 320 by hand and may move the probe tip 312 onto one or more surfaces (e.g., planes, complex surfaces, cylinders, or any other surface) or even points in space that may define a space boundary. The operator may then press a trigger on the controller device 320 to capture (e.g., learn) the point and orientation of the probe 310 and the probe tip 312. The point and orientation may be stored for use in the robot program.”), the system comprising:
a handheld device ([0018] via “In one embodiment, a robotic point capture and motion control system may enable the capturing of one or more points in space associated with a handheld controller device without having to move the robot to one or more points in space during programming.”) comprising:
a handle ([0073] via “For example, the operator may hold the controller device 320 by hand and may move the probe tip 312 onto one or more surfaces (e.g., planes, complex surfaces, cylinders, or any other surface) or even points in space that may define a space boundary.”), (Note: See Figures 3A and 3B of Aldridge where the handheld controller device 320 has a handle on the left side of the controller device.); and
a coupling structure for releasably coupling an interchangeably attachable tool ([0068] via “Referring to FIG. 3A, there is shown a control device 320 having one or more probes 310
attached to a connector 309 of the control device 320. A probe 310 may be a replica of an end effector of a robot, a point device, a tool, or any other suitable devices. In one example, the probe 310 may have a probe tip 312 that may be used to designate a point in space.”), wherein the interchangeably attachable tool is configured to perform the activity ([0068] via “The coordinates of the probe tip 312 may indicate the location of the probe tip 312. The control device 320 may determine the coordinates of the probe tip 312 based on a profile associated with the probe 310 that may have been determined based on the type of the probe 310 used. The profile associated with probe 310 may include length of the probe 310 and positioning of the probe 310 when installed on the control device 320. The profile associated with the probe 310 may be inputted to the robotic point capture and motion control system during installation of the probe 310. The profile of the probe 310 may be sent to a base station (e.g., motion capture input device 123 of FIG. 1) to determine specific actions that may be performed by the robotic point capture and motion control system.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the probe 310 as the coupling structure (See Figures 3A and 3B of Aldridge).); and
an external device that is external to the handheld device ([0042] via “The motion capture input device 123 may be a stand-alone device, or may be included in the robotic device 120. The controller device 102 may communicate its position and orientation data to the motion capture input device 123.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the combination of the motion capture input device 123 and the robotic device 120 as the external device, as they are able to perform the functions of the input and output units described below.), the external device comprising:
an input unit configured to input activation information for activating the movement for training the machine ([0045] via “The robotic device 120 may receive the control signal and may be controlled by the received control signal. The control signal may be received directly from the controller device 102, or may be received through the motion capture input device 123. For example, the control signal may cause the robotic device 120 to apply or remove pneumatic air from a robotic gripper of the robotic device 120, or any kind of input/output or generic gripper or any device to communicate to on the robot.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the motion capture input device 123 as the input unit of the external device, based on receiving input of a control signal that can be used to activate the robot 120.); and
an output unit configured to output the activation information activating the movement for training the machine ([0045] via “The robotic device 120 may receive the control signal and may be controlled by the received control signal. The control signal may be received directly from the controller device 102, or may be received through the motion capture input device 123. For example, the control signal may cause the robotic device 120 to apply or remove pneumatic air from a robotic gripper of the robotic device 120, or any kind of input/output or generic gripper or any device to communicate to on the robot. Further, the control signal may cause the robotic device 120 to move to a new position in space.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the robotic device 120 as the output unit, since it receives the control signals from the motion capture input device 123 (input unit) and performs actions.).
Aldridge is silent on the handheld device comprising: one or more sensors configured to detect one or more locating signals initiated externally to the handheld device; wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors comprises an optoelectronic sensor configured to capture the location signal; one or more processors configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on the one or more locating signals; and one or more transmitters for transmitting the location information as training data for training the machine.
However, Lee teaches one or more sensors configured to detect one or more locating signals initiated externally to the handheld device; wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors comprises an optoelectronic sensor configured to capture the location signal ([0036] via “In this embodiment, the remote controller 10 has an internal structure shown schematically in FIG. 2A, including an optical sensor 11, ….”), ([0037] via “Referring to FIGS. 1, 2A, and 2B, the system according to this embodiment operates in the following way: First, the light source 30 emits alight signal, such as an infrared (IR) signal. Next, the optical sensor 11 senses the light signal to detect a relative position of the optical sensor to the light source, that is, a relative position of the remote controller to the light source, wherein the positional information can be two-dimensional information (x and y directions in FIG. 1) or three-dimensional information (x, y, and z directions in FIG. 1). The optical sensor 11 generates a first electronic signal representative of the positional information according to the sensed light signal, and transmits the first electronic signal to the first processor and transceiver 12.”), (Note: See Figures 1 and 2A-B of Lee as well. The Examiner interprets the optical sensor 11 of Lee as the optoelectronic sensor.); and
one or more processors configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on the one or more locating signals ([0037] via “The optical sensor 11 generates a first electronic signal representative of the positional information according to the sensed light signal, and transmits the first electronic signal to the first processor and transceiver 12. The first processor and transceiver 12 processes the first electronic signal to convert it to a first wireless signal RF1 and transmits the wireless signal RF1 to the transceiver device 20 via the first antenna 13. In the transceiver device 20, after the second antenna 23 receives the first wireless signal RF1 from the remote controller 10, the second processor and transceiver 22 converts it to a second electronic signal, which is transmitted to the video display host 40 via a second and a first connectors 21 and 41.”).
Further, Dai teaches one or more transmitters for transmitting the location information as training data for training the machine (Page 6 line 33 – Page 7 line 11, where “According to a further variant of the method the robot program comprises data describing a desired movement path of the robot arm. It is also possible to teach position vectors describing the course of the movement path by use of the robot teaching system according to the invention in the case that it has an integrated position determination device. Thus the robot teaching device can be held at desired locations on a reference workpiece wherein a force might be applied thereon through the mechanical interaction tool and wherein not only data values describing the applied force but also data values describing the determined position and/or orientation of the hand-held teaching device are provided by the communication interface to the computing unit. Thus according to a further embodiment of the invention the hand held teaching device further comprises means for determining its position and/or orientation wherein the desired movement path of the robot arm is teached by use of the hand held teaching device.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee wherein the handheld device comprises: one or more sensors configured to detect one or more locating signals initiated externally to the handheld device; wherein at least one sensor of the one or more sensors comprises an optoelectronic sensor configured to capture the location signal; and one or more processors configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on the one or more locating signals. Doing so allows for the determination of the position of the handheld device in three-dimensions from a set point, as stated above by Lee in paragraph [0037], which also allows for additional parameters of the handheld device able to be determined, as stated by Lee ([0039] via “As mentioned earlier, the positional information of the remote controller relative to the light source can be obtained in the present invention. Hence, a displacement, velocity, or acceleration of the movement of the remote controller 10 can be calculated according to the positional information at different time points, and a time difference therebetween.”).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Dai wherein the handheld device comprises: one or more transmitters for transmitting the location information as training data for training the machine. Doing so teaches the machine the desired positions and orientations to complete its movement path based on location demonstration from the handheld device, as stated above by Dai.
Regarding Claim 46, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, but is silent on wherein the one or more sensors are infrared sensors.
However, Lee teaches wherein the one or more sensors are infrared sensors ([0050] via “In the embodiments shown in FIGS. 1, 2A, and 2B, it is not required to connect the remote controller 10 to an external image capturing device or to include such additional image capturing device inside the remote controller 10, since the remote controller 10 is provided with the optical sensor 11 already, which can be used for sensing infrared signals and general images. When the baby monitor function is not required, the optical sensor 11 receives light signals through an infrared (IR) pass filter to sense the infrared signal emitted by the light source 30.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee wherein the one or more sensors are infrared sensors. Doing so determines the position of the handheld device within the operating space from a light source set point, wherein the locating light source is chosen as an example light range of the finite numbers of light ranges of the electromagnetic spectrum, as stated by Lee ([0037] via “Referring to FIGS. 1, 2A, and 2B, the system according to this embodiment operates in the following way: First, the light source 30 emits alight signal, such as an infrared (IR) signal. Next, the optical sensor 11 senses the light signal to detect a relative position of the optical sensor to the light source, that is, a relative position of the remote controller to the light source, wherein the positional information can be two-dimensional information (x and y directions in FIG. 1) or three-dimensional information (x, y, and z directions in FIG. 1).”).
12. Claim(s) 27, 29, 36, 37, 40, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldridge et al. (US 20180345495 A1 hereinafter Aldridge) in view of Lee et al. (US 20120026408 A1 hereinafter Lee) and Dai et al. (WO 2017036520 A1 hereinafter Dai (Provided by Applicant's IDS)), and further in view of Riedel (DE 102015206575 A1 hereinafter Riedel (Provided by Applicant's IDS, however an English translation was used and is attached herein)).
Regarding Claim 27, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, but is silent on the handheld device further comprising an interface configured to implement a function in conjunction with circuitry of the interchangeable attachment.
However, Riedel teaches an interface configured to implement a function in conjunction with circuitry of the interchangeable attachment (Page 12 paragraphs 5-6 via “As accessory modules 31 are also force sensors 31b conceivable on the handle, which make it possible to couple with the handle directly on the vehicle and manually move this force-controlled. In the 14 are accordingly various accessory modules 31 shown schematically, which can increase the functionality of the control handle for some applications targeted. These accessory modules 31 For example, the front and the bottom could be coupled mechanically and, if necessary, also electrically, to the handle at the top and bottom. … Additional functions could, for example, additional batteries 31c , Sensors for power and / or inclination, cameras 31d , more buttons 31e or input options, such as a space mouse 31f , mechanical coupling elements, such as adjustable angle 31a or custom versions. The accessory modules 31 For example, they could be formed by additional 3D or 6D force sensors, by means of which a mobile robot platform and / or a robot arm, in particular a robot arm, which does not have its own force sensors, can be manually guided, in particular in a compliance control.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Riedel wherein the handheld device further comprises an interface configured to implement a function in conjunction with circuitry of the interchangeable attachment. By connecting the accessory modules to the handheld device, the functionality of the handheld device for controlling different applications increases, as stated above by Riedel.
Regarding Claim 29, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, but is silent on the handheld device further comprising a battery.
However, Riedel teaches the handheld device further comprising a battery (Page 10 paragraph 1 via “Due to the lack of cable connection, a battery or a battery for powering the operating handle is present in the base body, which can be contact-based or inductively charged when coupled with various coupling partners, such as cell frame or mobile platform.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Riedel wherein the handheld device further comprises a battery. Doing so allows for the direct powering of the handheld device without the need for a cable connection, increasing the mobility of the handheld device, as implied above by Riedel.
Regarding Claim 36, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, but is silent on wherein the coupling structure is configured to positively couple the interchangeable attachment.
However, Ridel teaches wherein the coupling structure is configured to positively couple the interchangeable attachment (Page 4 paragraph 9 via “The plug connection means can form a positive connection means in this respect in cooperation with the mating connector means. This positive connection means can be secured against accidental release with an additional manually operated locking means.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Riedel wherein the coupling structure is configured to positively couple the interchangeable attachment. Doing so prevents an accidental release of the coupling structure from the handheld device, as stated above by Riedel.
Regarding Claim 37, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 27, but is silent on wherein the interface is configured to provide electrical power to the circuit or to communicate with the circuit.
However, Riedel teaches wherein the interface is configured to provide electrical power to the circuit or to communicate with the circuit (Page 12 paragraph 6 via “In the 14 are accordingly various accessory modules 31 shown schematically, which can increase the functionality of the control handle for some applications targeted. These accessory modules 31 For example, the front and the bottom could be coupled mechanically and, if necessary, also electrically, to the handle at the top and bottom.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets that since there is an electrical connection between the handheld device and the accessory module, that there is some electrical power communication between the two over the interface connection in between.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Riedel wherein the interface is configured to provide electrical power to the circuit or to communicate with the circuit. Doing so allows for the functionality of the accessory modules to be realized and performed when attached to the handheld device, as stated above by Riedel.
Regarding Claim 40, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, but is silent on the handheld device further comprising an additional interchangeable attachment, wherein the additional interchangeable attachment is configured according to a second activity of the machine that is different from a first activity the at least one activity of the machine, and wherein the additional interchangeable attachment and the interchangeable attachment are configured to be interchangeable with each other.
However, Riedel teaches an additional interchangeable attachment, wherein the additional interchangeable attachment is configured according to a second activity of the machine that is different from a first activity the at least one activity of the machine, and wherein the additional interchangeable attachment and the interchangeable attachment are configured to be interchangeable with each other (Page 12 paragraphs 5-6 via “As accessory modules 31 are also force sensors 31b conceivable on the handle, which make it possible to couple with the handle directly on the vehicle and manually move this force-controlled. In the 14 are accordingly various accessory modules 31 shown schematically, which can increase the functionality of the control handle for some applications targeted. These accessory modules 31 For example, the front and the bottom could be coupled mechanically and, if necessary, also electrically, to the handle at the top and bottom. … Additional functions could, for example, additional batteries 31c , Sensors for power and / or inclination, cameras 31d , more buttons 31e or input options, such as a space mouse 31f , mechanical coupling elements, such as adjustable angle 31a or custom versions. The accessory modules 31 For example, they could be formed by additional 3D or 6D force sensors, by means of which a mobile robot platform and / or a robot arm, in particular a robot arm, which does not have its own force sensors, can be manually guided, in particular in a compliance control.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the plurality of different accessory modules 31a-31f implementing different functions when attached to the handheld device as satisfying the limitations of the claim.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Riedel wherein the handheld device further comprises an additional interchangeable attachment, wherein the additional interchangeable attachment is configured according to a second activity of the machine that is different from a first activity the at least one activity of the machine, and wherein the additional interchangeable attachment and the interchangeable attachment are configured to be interchangeable with each other. By connecting different accessory modules to the handheld device with different functionalities, the functionality of the handheld device for controlling different applications increases, as stated above by Riedel.
Regarding Claim 41, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, but is silent on wherein the interchangeable attachment comprises circuitry configured to provide a function.
However, Riedel teaches wherein the interchangeable attachment comprises circuitry configured to provide a function (Page 12 paragraphs 5-6 via “As accessory modules 31 are also force sensors 31b conceivable on the handle, which make it possible to couple with the handle directly on the vehicle and manually move this force-controlled. In the 14 are accordingly various accessory modules 31 shown schematically, which can increase the functionality of the control handle for some applications targeted. These accessory modules 31 For example, the front and the bottom could be coupled mechanically and, if necessary, also electrically, to the handle at the top and bottom. … Additional functions could, for example, additional batteries 31c , Sensors for power and / or inclination, cameras 31d , more buttons 31e or input options, such as a space mouse 31f , mechanical coupling elements, such as adjustable angle 31a or custom versions. The accessory modules 31 For example, they could be formed by additional 3D or 6D force sensors, by means of which a mobile robot platform and / or a robot arm, in particular a robot arm, which does not have its own force sensors, can be manually guided, in particular in a compliance control.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the circuitry as a sensor, as likewise stated on at least page 52 line 32 – page 53 line 14 of the specification of the instant application for circuitry 852.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Riedel wherein the interchangeable attachment comprises circuitry configured to provide a function. By connecting different accessory modules to the handheld device with different sensing functionalities, the functionality of the handheld device for controlling different applications increases, as stated above by Riedel.
13. Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldridge et al. (US 20180345495 A1 hereinafter Aldridge) in view of Lee et al. (US 20120026408 A1 hereinafter Lee) and Dai et al. (WO 2017036520 A1 hereinafter Dai (Provided by Applicant's IDS)), and further in view of de Clercq et al. (US 9547982 B2 hereinafter de Clercq).
Regarding Claim 47, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, but is silent on wherein the one or more locating signals comprises a transmitter identification modulated onto the one or more locating signals.
However, de Clercq teaches wherein the one or more locating signals (Col. 4 lines 13-16, where “In keeping with the subject system and method, the controlling device 10 preferably includes programming such that the location of the controlling device may be determined by one or more signals detected by the remote.”) comprises a transmitter identification modulated onto the one or more locating signals (Col. 8 lines 46-50, where “According to another embodiment, each signaling device 14a-d, as shown in FIG. 1, includes at least one unique ID for sending to controlling device 10 via IR (or similar signal) in response to the signal request sent by controlling device ….”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of de Clercq wherein the one or more locating signals comprises a transmitter identification modulated onto the one or more locating signals. Doing so allows for the handheld device to distinguish between multiple transmitted signals to improve the location determination, as stated by de Clercq (Col. 7 lines 15-29, where “In order to differentiate between signaling devices, the controlling device 10 is equipped to identify a unique characteristic associated with each device. To this end, in one embodiment there is further maintained within each signaling device 14 … a unique signaling device ID that serves to distinguish multiple signaling devices from one another. … The receipt and recognition of the unique ID(s) by controlling device 10 allow the determination of its location or relative environment, as each unique ID is associated with location definitions accessible to controlling device 10.”).
14. Claim(s) 48 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldridge et al. (US 20180345495 A1 hereinafter Aldridge) in view of Lee et al. (US 20120026408 A1 hereinafter Lee) and Dai et al. (WO 2017036520 A1 hereinafter Dai (Provided by Applicant's IDS)), and further in view of Fushimi et al. (US 20110285515 A1 hereinafter Fushimi '515).
Regarding Claim 48, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, but is silent on wherein the one or more sensors comprises at least two or more sensors, each configured to detect one or more locating signals; and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on one or more locating signals from the at least two or more signals.
However, Fushimi ‘515 teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprises at least two or more sensors ([0041] via “The direction sensor 32 includes, e.g., a geomagnetic sensor and an acceleration sensor.”), each configured to detect one or more locating signals ([0041] via “The direction sensor 32 serves to specify the posture of the remote controller 3 within a space, namely the azimuth and tilt angle of the remote controller 3. … The geomagnetic sensor measures the azimuth of the remote controller 3 periodically, e.g., every 10 ms. The remote controller 3 specifies the tilt angle thereof by adding up the detected output values of the acceleration sensor every 10 ms.”); and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on one or more locating signals from the at least two or more signals ([0041] via “The direction sensor 32 serves to specify the posture of the remote controller 3 within a space, namely the azimuth and tilt angle of the remote controller 3. … The geomagnetic sensor measures the azimuth of the remote controller 3 periodically, e.g., every 10 ms. The remote controller 3 specifies the tilt angle thereof by adding up the detected output values of the acceleration sensor every 10 ms.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fushimi ‘515 wherein the one or more sensors comprises at least two or more sensors, each configured to detect one or more locating signals; and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine location information of the handheld device based on one or more locating signals from the at least two or more signals. Doing so enhances the position determination of the handheld device by incorporating multiple sensors measuring different values related to the position, as stated above by Fushimi ‘515.
Regarding Claim 49, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 48, but is silent on wherein the at least two or more sensors comprises at least a second sensor selected from the group comprising an inertial sensor, a position sensor, an air pressure sensor, and combinations thereof.
However, Fushimi ‘515 teaches wherein the at least two or more sensors comprises at least a second sensor selected from the group comprising an inertial sensor, a position sensor, an air pressure sensor, and combinations thereof ([0041] via “The direction sensor 32 includes, e.g., a geomagnetic sensor and an acceleration sensor.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the acceleration sensor of Fushimi ‘515 as at least being an inertial sensor.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fushimi ‘515 wherein the at least two or more sensors comprises at least a second sensor selected from the group comprising an inertial sensor, a position sensor, an air pressure sensor, and combinations thereof. Doing so enhances the position determination of the handheld device by incorporating multiple sensors measuring different values related to the position, as stated by Fushimi ’515 ([0041] via “The direction sensor 32 serves to specify the posture of the remote controller 3 within a space, namely the azimuth and tilt angle of the remote controller 3. … The geomagnetic sensor measures the azimuth of the remote controller 3 periodically, e.g., every 10 ms. The remote controller 3 specifies the tilt angle thereof by adding up the detected output values of the acceleration sensor every 10 ms.”).
15. Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldridge et al. (US 20180345495 A1 hereinafter Aldridge) in view of Lee et al. (US 20120026408 A1 hereinafter Lee) and Dai et al. (WO 2017036520 A1 hereinafter Dai (Provided by Applicant's IDS)), and further in view of Fushimi (US 20130141011 A1 hereinafter Fushimi '011) and So et al. (US 20160274579 A1 hereinafter So).
Regarding Claim 50, modified reference Aldridge teaches the handheld device of claim 26, but is silent on wherein the one or more sensors comprises a sensor configured to track an infrared laser.
However, Fushimi ‘011 teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprises a sensor configured to track a laser ([0084] via “Then, the remote controller position detecting circuit 44a detects the position of the remote controller 4 (S106). The direction detecting circuit 44c detects the emission direction of the laser light emitted from the pointer 42 (S107). The distance measuring circuit 44d measures the distance from the remote controller 4 to the projection position P1 of the laser light (S108). The calculation circuit 44e recognizes the coordinates of the position … as the coordinates of the projection position P1 of the laser light (S109).”).
Further, So teaches wherein the laser is an infrared laser ([0174] via “The infrared ray transmitter 283 transmits the infrared ray in accordance with the modulation signal output by the infrared ray modulator 285, and the infrared ray transmitter 283 described above may employ an infrared ray LED or an infrared ray laser diode which transmit the infrared ray.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fushimi ‘011 wherein the one or more sensors comprises a sensor configured to track a laser. Doing so incorporates a method that is able to detect the coordinates of the handheld device within its environment, as stated by Fushimi ‘011 ([0084] via “The calculation circuit 44e recognizes the coordinates of the position which is obtained by moving the position of the remote controller detected in step S106 along the emission direction detected in step S107 by the distance measured in step S108, as the coordinates of the projection position P1 of the laser light (S109).”).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of So wherein the laser is an infrared laser. The courts have determined under the case KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-07 (2007), a number of rationales in which obviousness is concluded. The rationale that pertains to the present invention is rationale E: “Obvious to Try” – Choosing from a Finite Number of Identified, Predictable Solutions, With a Reasonable Expectation of Success. Specifically, in this case item 2 of rationale E is satisfied: a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem. There is a finite type of light wave lengths along the electromagnetic spectrum upon which laser light may arise from. Infrared light is one of these finite number of options. Infrared light lasers have existed within the art well before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the choice of the laser light being infrared light would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Examiner’s Note
16. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the
references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references
in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the
context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP
2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole,
including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates,
Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851
(1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
17. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to BYRON X KASPER whose telephone number is (571)272-3895.
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Adam Mott can be reached on (571) 270-5376. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BYRON XAVIER KASPER/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657