Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/13/2025, with respect to claims 1-13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 1-13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 13, 17-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20170127872 A1 - Dumur.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Dumur is directed towards an brewing device. Dumur does teach a beverage processing unit ([0060] a detachable brewing unit 3) formed of a first processing unit member and a second processing unit member ([0079] the brewing unit 3 comprises an upper cavity part 14 and a lower cavity part 15.) that delimit a chamber and that are movable between a distant configuration in which the flavouring ingredient is received in the chamber (Figures 4A - 4c), and a proximate configuration in which the flavouring ingredient is held and mixed with the water in the chamber during beverage preparation ([0053] The detachable brewing unit according to the invention is suitable for use with any kind of ingredient package, but in the following description, it is considered that the ingredient package is an ingredient capsule, made of a semi-rigid or rigid material, which is closed during storage but pierceable to inject an ingredient extracting fluid (e.g. water) therein, and openable to dispense the beverage product prepared by mixing said ingredient and said fluid.), a water source for delivering the water towards the beverage processing unit ([0063] The machine base 2 comprises a fluid reservoir (not shown in the drawing)), a water guide for guiding the water between the water source and the chamber ([0068] a central channel 7 that extends from the upper surface 8 of the protrusion 6) and a supporting structure which has a base that is stationary during beverage preparation and that supports the beverage processing unit during beverage preparation ([0063] The machine base 2), the beverage processing unit is disassemblable by a user from the supporting structure and assemblable by the user to the supporting structure ([0009] when said brewing unit is functionally attached to the beverage machine base, but also when said brewing unit is detached from the machine base. In other words, opening of the brewing unit must be performed only by the user.).
Regarding claim 2, Dumur teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dumur does teach a fluid module that includes the water guide and the first processing unit member of the beverage processing unit, the fluid module being assemblable by the user as a unit to the water source and to the second processing unit member and being disassemblable by the user as a unit from the water source and from the second processing unit member (Figure 6 and [0081] In the first embodiment of the invention, the upper cavity part 14 comprises an injection plate 16 wherein the water injection means are embedded, as illustrated in FIG. 6. The injection means comprise a water injection needle 13, and are suitable for injecting fluid under pressure into a capsule C for mixing with said ingredient to form a food product.)
Regarding claim 3, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 2. Dumur does teach wherein the fluid module and the second processing unit member are assemblable to and disassemblable from the supporting structure as a unit (Figure 1, it can be seen that the brewing device (3) can be removed from the base, the brewing device includes the fluid module and second processing unit.)
Regarding claim 4, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 2. Dumur does teach wherein the water guide and the first processing unit member are integrally formed and/or non-separable by the user ([0081] In the first embodiment of the invention, the upper cavity part 14 comprises an injection plate 16 wherein the water injection means are embedded).
Regarding claim 5, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 1. Dumur does teach wherein the supporting structure comprises a connector by which the beverage processing unit is disassemblable by the user from the supporting structure (Figure 1 and [0059] The connection of the brewing unit to said base, according to the invention, makes a whole functional beverage preparation machine.).
Regarding claim 6, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 5. Dumur does teach wherein the connector is rotatably mounted to the base (figure 1), the connector being driven by an actuator, to rotate the beverage processing unit so as to prepare the beverage by centrifugation ([0113] the upper cavity part 14 rotates as well at the same speed around a rotation axis RA shown in FIG. 13 that coincides with the symmetry axis of the brewing cavity and that of the capsule. A centrifugal force is created within the capsule C which creates an extraction of the coffee ingredient contained therein by the water that is injected through the central water injection needle 13.).
Regarding claim 7, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 1. Dumur does teach wherein one of the first processing unit member or the second processing unit member is provided with a cavity delimiting the chamber, the first and second processing unit members in their distant configuration being configured for direct manual insertion into, the cavity of the flavouring ingredient ([0060] As illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2, the beverage preparation machine 1 comprises a main machine base 2, a detachable brewing unit 3, and an ingredient capsule C (not shown in FIG. 1).).
Regarding claim 17, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 1. Dumur does teach
wherein the water guide is free of a water pump (Figures 6 and 7 show that there is no pump located within the brewing unit.).
Regarding claim 18, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 7. Dumur does teach wherein the first and second processing unit members in the distant configuration are further configured for direct manual removal out of the cavity of the flavouring ingredient (Figures 5A-5C, show that the capsule (C) is manually removed from the brewing device.).
Regarding claim 20, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 6. Dumur does teach the connector and the beverage processing unit are rotatable about a direction of assembly and disassembly of the connector and the beverage processing unit (Figure 1 and 6-7).
Regarding claim 21, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 1. Dumur does teach the water source comprises a connector to be connected to a water supply line external to the machine ([0063] The reservoir is detachable and can be plugged in a reservoir port 4 that is built-in with the machine main base, as shown in FIG. 1.).
Regarding claim 22, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 1. Dumur does teach the water source comprises a water supply tank that has an outside opening for water filling external to the machine ([0008] a fluid source (reservoir or connection to an external fluid source such as tap water for instance) ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170127872 A1 – Dumur as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20170360247 A1 - Byun.
Regarding claim 8, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 1, Dumur does not expressly teach the water source is configured to contain a limited amount of the water that corresponds to a maximum amount needed for a serving.
Byun is directed towards an liquid dispensing machine. Byun does teach the water source is configured to contain a limited amount of the water that corresponds to a maximum amount needed for a serving ([0013] A carrier or diluents liquid, e.g. water, may be mixed with such ingredient to form the beverage. Typically, a predetermined amount of beverage is formed and dispensed on user-request, which corresponds to a serving. The volume of such a serving may be in the range of 25 to 200 ml and even up to 300 or 400 ml, e.g. the volume for filling a cup).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to the water source is configured to contain a limited amount of the water that corresponds to a maximum amount needed for a serving by Byun in the system of Dumur, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the water source is configured to contain a limited amount of the water that corresponds to a maximum amount needed for a serving of Byun could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Dumur in a manner which would have predictably allow the unit to have enough liquid for a single serving. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the water source is configured to contain a limited amount of the water that corresponds to a maximum amount needed for a serving of Byun with the well-known system of Dumur.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170127872 A1 – Dumur as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20190231115 A1 - Kennedy.
Regarding claim 9, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 2, Dumur does not expressly teach to prepare the beverage: without thermally conditioning the water delivered from the water source into the chamber.
Kennedy does teach to prepare the beverage: without thermally conditioning the water (4) delivered from the water source into the chamber. ([0003] During preparation, water (either hot or cold) is typically introduced into the container via an opening, and caused to mix with the powder or liquid, before a dissolved drink, or in some cases a dispersion, exits the container via another opening. In this way, the drink ingredients are combined with the water inside the capsule, before being dispensed into a drinking vessel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to prepare the beverage: without thermally conditioning the water delivered from the water source into the chamber by Kennedy in the system of Dumur, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the to prepare the beverage: without thermally conditioning the water (4) delivered from the water source into the chamber of Kennedy could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Dumur in a manner which would have predictably allow the unit to prepare hot as well as cool beverages. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the to prepare the beverage: without thermally conditioning the water (4) delivered from the water source into the chamber of Kennedy with the well-known system of Dumur.
Regarding claim 10, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 1, Dumur does not expressly teach to deliver the beverage at a temperature below 30°C.
Kennedy does teach to deliver the beverage at a temperature below 30°C (See figure 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to deliver the beverage at a temperature below 30°C by Kennedy in the system of Dumur, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the to deliver the beverage at a temperature below 30°C of Kennedy could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Dumur in a manner which would have predictably keep the beverage within a specific range for the proper taste. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the to deliver the beverage at a temperature below 30°C of Kennedy with the well-known system of Dumur.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170127872 A1 – Dumur as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220061584 A1 - Tibbe.
Regarding claim 11, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 1, Dumur does not expressly teach to deliver the water from the water source into the chamber at an average rate for a beverage serving in the range of 10 to 300 ml/min.
Tibbe is directed towards a coffee machine. Tibbe does teach to deliver the water from the water source into the chamber at an average rate for a beverage serving in the range of 10 to 300 ml/min. ([0100] The water delivery may be continuous or pulsed. A pulsed delivery of water may be of interest because the pump has a particular function of water flow output versus counter pressure. The pump is chosen to deliver a good flow rate for espresso counter pressures, such as 3-5 ml/s (more generally above 3 ml/s) at a counter pressure (gauge pressure) of 8 bar (1 bar=100 kPa).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to deliver the water from the water source into the chamber at an average rate for a beverage serving in the range of 10 to 300 ml/min by Tibbe in the system of Dumur, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the to deliver the water from the water source into the chamber at an average rate for a beverage serving in the range of 10 to 300 ml/min of Tibbe could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Dumur in a manner which would have predictably allow a proper flow rate to provide enough liquid for the infusion process. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the to deliver the water from the water source into the chamber at an average rate for a beverage serving in the range of 10 to 300 ml/min of Tibbe with the well-known system of Dumur.
Claims 12 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170127872 A1 – Dumur as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20150327710 A1 - Bachmann.
Regarding claim 12, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 1, Dumur does not expressly teach wherein the processing unit is arranged in order to rotate the chamber at a speed in a range of 500 to 10000 RPM.
Bachmann is directed towards an receptacle holder. Bachmann does teach the processing unit is arranged in order to rotate the chamber at a speed in a range of 500 to 10000 RPM. ([0014] Hence, such a receptacle holding unit may be static or dynamic during beverage preparation. For instance, the receptacle holding unit is arranged to rotate, in particular at elevated speed, e.g. above 1000 or 2000 RPM, to enhance processing of the ingredient in the receptacle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to the processing unit is arranged in order to rotate the chamber at a speed in a range of 500 to 10000 RPM by Bachmann in the system of Dumur, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the processing unit is arranged in order to rotate the chamber at a speed in a range of 500 to 10000 RPM of Bachmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Dumur in a manner which would have predictably properly mixing the liquid with the brewing material. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the processing unit is arranged in order to rotate the chamber at a speed in a range of 500 to 10000 RPM of Bachmann with the well-known system of Dumur.
Regarding claim 19, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 6, Dumur does not expressly teach wherein the connector is rotatably mounted to the base via a bearing selected from the group consisting of a sliding bearing, a magnetic bearing, a roller bearing, and a ball bearing.
Bachmann does teach the connector is rotatably mounted to the base via a roller bearing ([0006] The holding part is generally mounted on a frame part via at least one roller bearing. The liquid interfacing part is also generally part of a frame part also mounted along at least one roller bearing.)
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. That is in the substitution of roller bearing of Bachmann for the undisclosed attachment method of Dumur. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the connector is rotatably mounted to the base via a roller bearing of Bachmann could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Dumur in a manner which would have predictably connect the brewing device a base. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the connector is rotatably mounted to the base via a roller bearing of Bachmann with the well-known system of Dumur.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170127872 A1 – Dumur as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20170319000 A1 - Yoakim.
Regarding claim 16, Dumur does teach the limitations of claim 1, Dumur does not expressly teach wherein the water guide comprises a water pump selected from the group consisting of a gear, a peristaltic pump, and a piston.
Yoakim is directed towards a brewing device. Yoakim does teach the water guide comprises a peristaltic pump ([0039] Alternatively, for a higher flow consistency, hot water can be introduced using a low pressure pump such as a peristaltic pump or a diaphragm pump and the like.).
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. That is in the substitution of a peristaltic pump of Yoakim for the undisclosed water pump of Dumur. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have understood that the water guide comprises a peristaltic pump of Yoakim could be predictably used in a variety of systems, including the well-known system of Dumur in a manner which would have predictably for providing a low pressure flow. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant application that any special steps or devices were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the water guide comprises a peristaltic pump of Yoakim with the well-known system of Dumur.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH BRIAN ASSANTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761