DETAILED ACTION
Rejections Withdrawn
1. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a) rejection of claims 1-5,7 anticipated by Kimura et al. has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 5/26/26.
2. The 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claim 6 unpatentable over Kimura et al. in view of Enomoto et al. has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 5/26/26.
3. The 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claim 9-17,20 unpatentable over Kimura et al. in view of Takano et al. has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 5/26/26.
4. The 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claim 18-19 unpatentable over Kimura et al. in view of Motokawa et al. has been repeated withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment filed on 5/26/26.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1,3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Geshi et al. (WO2019194053).
As to claim 1, Geshi et al. discloses a power storage module (figure 4b) comprising: a plurality of power storage devices (10a); and a first current collector (600) that holds the plurality of power storage devices, the first current collector entirely composed of an electrical conductor wherein, the plurality of power storage devices (figure 2a) each include: a case including an opening (100a): an electrode assembly (200a) including a first electrode and a second electrode housed in the case; and a sealing member (300a) that seals the opening, the case includes: a tubular part including one end provided with the opening; a flange part (110a) extending radially outward from the one end of the tubular part and a bottom that closes another end of the tubular part, the first current collector (600) includes a plate with a plurality of first through-holes in each of which a corresponding one of the plurality of power storage devices is set, and the plate of the first current collector is at least partially in direct contact with and is electrically connected to the flange part (figure 1c number 400).
As to claim 3, wherein the periphery of each of the first through-holes and the flange part are at least partially joined by welding is a product by process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by- process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
As to claim 4, Geshi et al. discloses wherein the first current collector includes a plurality of walls, each of which extends from periphery of a corresponding one of the first through-holes toward the bottom of the case of the corresponding one of the power storage devices and is at least partially in direct contact with the tubular part of the case of the corresponding one of the power storage devices (figure 4b number 600).
As to claim 5, Geshi et al. discloses further comprising a second current collector electrically connected to the second electrode of the electrode assembly, wherein the flange part is disposed between the first current collector and the second current collector (figure 4b number 700).
As to claim 6, Geshi et al. discloses further comprising an insulating member interposed between the first current collector and the second current collector, wherein the insulating member includes a first surface in contact with the second current collector, and a second surface located opposite to the first surface, the second surface being in contact with the flange part or the sealing member (figure 4b number 800).
As to claim 7, Geshi et al. wherein the sealing member includes: a sealing plate a cap in an annular shape surrounding the sealing plate; and a gasket that insulates the sealing plate from the cap, and the cap is electrically connected to the flange part, and the sealing plate is electrically connected to the second electrode of the electrode assembly (figure 2a number 310,300,320a).
As to claim 8, Geshi et al. discloses, wherein the second current collector includes a region facing the sealing plate, the region including a second through-hole and a tongue-shaped lead extending from a periphery of the second through-hole toward an inside of the second through-hole, and the tongue- shaped lead is electrically connected to the sealing plate (figure 4a number 700,701).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geshi et al. in view of Takano et al. (US20260020893).
Geshi et al. teaches the power storage module described above. Geshi et al. fail to disclose wherein the case further includes an enlarged diameter part that is
continuous with the one end of the tubular part and includes an opening end corresponding to the opening, and a groove in an annular shape that is provided between the tubular part and the enlarged diameter part and is recessed inward in a radial direction of the tubular part, the enlarged diameter part includes a maximum outer diameter DI larger than an outer diameter D2 of the tubular part, the enlarged diameter part compresses the sealing member, the first current collector is electrically connected to at least one of the enlarged diameter part and the groove, and the periphery surrounding each of the first through-holes of the first current collector overlaps a surface close to the enlarged diameter part in inner surfaces of the groove.
Takano et al. teaches fail to disclose wherein the case further includes an enlarged diameter part that is continuous with the one end of the tubular part and includes an opening end corresponding to the opening, and a groove in an annular shape that is provided between the tubular part and the enlarged diameter part and is recessed inward in a radial direction of the tubular part, the enlarged diameter part includes a maximum outer diameter DI larger than an outer diameter D2 of the tubular part, the enlarged diameter part compresses the sealing member, the first current collector is electrically connected to at least one of the enlarged diameter part and the groove, and the periphery surrounding each of the first through-holes of the first current collector overlaps a surface close to the enlarged diameter part in inner surfaces of the groove (figure 1 number 150) for the purpose of anchoring the metal case to a holder (paragraph 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Geshi et al. with wherein the case
further includes an enlarged diameter part that is continuous with the one end of the tubular part and includes an opening end corresponding to the opening, and a groove in an annular shape that is provided between the tubular part and the enlarged diameter part and is recessed inward in a radial direction of the tubular part, the enlarged diameter part includes a maximum outer diameter DI larger than an outer diameter D2 of the tubular part, the enlarged diameter part compresses the sealing member, the first current collector is electrically connected to at least one of the enlarged diameter part and the groove, and the periphery surrounding each of the first through-holes of the first current collector overlaps a surface close to the enlarged diameter part in inner surfaces of the groove (figure 1 number 150) for the purpose of anchoring the metal case to a holder (paragraph 0026).
As to claim 10, Geshi et al. discloses wherein each of the retainers receives an inner surface of the groove of the case of he corresponding one of the power storage (figure 3b).
As to claim 11, Geshi et al. fail to disclose wherein the enlarged diameter part is bent. Kimura et al. discloses including a first part disposed on an outer surface of a periphery of the sealing member and a second part disposed on a side surface of the periphery of the sealing member, and the first part and the groove compress the periphery of the sealing member in a direction in which an outer surface and an inner surface of the sealing member face each other (figure 4b number 600).
Takano et al. teaches wherein the enlarged diameter part is bent, (figure 1 number 150) for the purpose of anchoring the metal case to a holder (paragraph 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Geshi et al. with wherein the enlarged diameter part is bent, including a first part disposed on an outer surface of a periphery of the sealing member and a second part disposed on a side surface of the periphery, and the first part and the groove compress the periphery of the sealing member in a direction in which an outer surface and an inner surface of the sealing member face each other (figure 1 number 150) for the purpose of anchoring the metal case to a holder (paragraph 0026).
As to claim 12, Geshi et al. discloses wherein the retainer of the first current collector includes a first wall extending toward the bottom of the case and facing the second part, and an inner flange part continuous with the first wall and supporting the surface close to the enlarged diameter part in the inner surfaces of the groove (figure 4b number 600).
As to claim 13, Geshi et al. discloses wherein the retainer of the first current collector further includes a second wall that is continuous with the inner flange part, extends toward the bottom of the case, and faces the tubular part (figure 4b number 600).
As to claim 14, Geshi et al. discloses wherein the first part is flush with a surface of the first current collector (figure 4b number 600).
As to claim 15 Geshi et al. discloses wherein the periphery surrounding each of the first through-holes of the first current collector is welded to a bent part at a boundary between the first part and the second part over an entire circumference of the bent part (figure 4b number 600).
As to claim 16, Geshi et al. discloses wherein the periphery surrounding each of the first through-holes of the first current collector is welded to a bent part at a boundary between the first part and the second part over at a plurality of welds along a periphery of the bent part (figure 4b number 600).
As to claim 17, Geshi et al. discloses wherein the sealing member includes: a sealing plate with conductivity; and a gasket that insulates the sealing plate from the enlarged diameter part, and the sealing plate is electrically connected to the second electrode of the electrode assembly (paragraph 0034).
As to claim 18, Geshi et al. discloses further comprising: a second current collector electrically connected to the second electrode of the electrode assembly, wherein an insulating member is interposed between the first current collector and the second current collector, the insulating member includes a first surface in contact with the second current collector, and a second surface located opposite to the first surface, the second surface being in contact with the first current collector (figure 4b number 700,800,600).
As to claim 19, Geshi et al. discloses, wherein the second current collector includes a region facing the sealing plate, the region including a second through-hole, and a tongue-shaped lead extending from a periphery of the second through-hole toward an inside of the second through-hole, and the tongue-shaped lead is electrically connected to the sealing plate (figure 4b number 700,703,701).
As to claim 20, Geshi et al. fail to disclose wherein the tubular part has a maximum outer diameter larger than a minimum outer diameter of the groove, and the periphery surrounding each of the first through-holes of the first current collector does not overlap a surface close to the tubular part in the inner surfaces of the groove.
Takano et al. teaches wherein the tubular part has a maximum outer diameter larger than a minimum outer diameter of the groove, and the periphery surrounding each of the first through-holes of the first current collector does not overlap a surface close to the tubular part in the inner surfaces of the groove (figure 1 number 150) for the purpose of anchoring the metal case to a holder (paragraph 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Geshi et al. with wherein the tubular part has a maximum outer diameter larger than a minimum outer diameter of the groove, and the periphery surrounding each of the first through-holes of the first current collector does not overlap a surface close to the tubular part in the inner surfaces of the groove for the purpose of anchoring the metal case to a holder (paragraph 0026).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724