DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 14-17, 19, 23-26, and 30 are pending. Claims 19, 23-28, and 30 are withdrawn. Claim 1 is amended, claims 2-3, 5-11, and 14-17 are previously presented.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment of 12/23/2025 is entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, and 14-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior rejection relied on Mishra et al. (US 2018/0368469 A1). Mishra discloses pressure capsules that are designed to rupture based on external pressure applied to the exterior of the filter element, in addition to capsules that rupture based on heat. However, additional search has uncovered a different reference England et al. (WO 2017/198876 A1), not previously of record, which is considered more directly applicable to the new claim limitations.
England discloses pg 5 lines 4-17:
This disclosure appears to be identical to the supporting disclosure in the present Specification, pg 24 lines 9-20. Thus, the technique of forming a heat resistant capsule by using a heat resistant barrier material is known, and is considered obvious as applied in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 2-3 and 6:
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claim 2 recites the broad recitation first and second release components separated by a distance of less than about 2.0mm, and the claim also recites less than about 1.5mm, or less than about 1.0mm which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. For the purposes of examination if the edges of the components are separated by a distance of 2.0mm or less the limitation will be considered anticipated or met.
Claim 3 recites the broad recitation the longitudinal separation between the centers of the first and second release components separated by a distance of at least about 0.75mm, and the claim also recites at least about 1.0mm, at least about 1.5mm, at least about 2.0mm or at least about 2.5mm which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. For the purposes of examination, if the centers of the first and second components are separated by a distance of at least 0.75mm, the limitation will be considered anticipated or met.
Claim 6 recites the broad recitation first and second release components separated by a maximum separation between a center of each of the first and second additive release components is less than about 2.5mm, less than about 2.0mm, less than about 1.5mm, less than about 1.0mm, or less than about 0.8mm which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. For the purposes of examination, if the maximum separation between a center of the first and second additive release components is less than about 2.5mm, the limitation will be considered anticipated or met.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 10 depends on claim 1 and claim 1 already requires that each of the first and second additive release components comprises a breakable capsule, thus already including the limitation of capsule. It is unclear if Applicant intends to broaden scope of claim 10 to include all capsule types (not only breakable capsules) or whether the scope is merely not further limited. For the purposes of examination, claim 10 will be considered as having identical scope as claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9-11, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over England et al. (WO 2017/198876 A1) in view of Zhang (US 2010/0294290 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 10, England discloses:
A component for an article for use in an aerosol delivery system, ([pg 1 lines 24-25] a filter for an aerosol generating device),
the component comprising a body of fibrous material comprising first and second additive release components embedded within the body of fibrous material, ([pg 1 lines 25-26] the filter comprising a capsule comprising an aerosol modifier], [pg 4 lines 18-19], the filter may comprise tow formed of cellulose acetate fibers, [pg 4 lines 23-25] the filter may comprise a plurality of capsules);
wherein the first and second additive release components may be substantially spherical (understood to have a reasonably consistent diameter) and comprise a range of acceptable maximum diameters broadly including a minimum diameter of at least about 0.4mm and a maximum diameter of about 10.0mm, ([pg 5-6 lines 31-6]),
wherein the plurality of additive release components are provided so that a user may select when/whether to break the capsule, thereby controlling the aerosol delivery profile, ([pg 4 lines 25-27]);
wherein each of the first and second additive release components is a breakable capsule having a barrier material which creates a shell around a core, and wherein the barrier material is heat resistant, ([pg 5 lines 4-17]).
Although England provides a broad range of acceptable diameters for the breakable heat resistant capsules, England does not specifically limit the diameters to about 1.5mm to 2.5mm.
Additionally, while England suggests locating the capsules such that the user may select whether/when to break a capsule, England leaves selecting the distance between the capsules as a matter of design choice to the ordinary skill in the art.
Zhang teaches a method of manufacturing a breakable capsule for incorporation into a tobacco product, ([0008]), and is thus within the inventor’s field of endeavor. Zhang teaches that the size and weight of each capsule may vary depending upon the desired properties it is to impart to the tobacco product, teaching that preferred capsules are generally spherical, but other shapes are acceptable. Zhang teaches that exemplary smaller capsules have diameters of at least about 1.5mm, 2mm, and often at least about 2.5mm, and frequently at least about 3mm, ([0037]). Zhang teaches incorporating at least one capsule incorporated within each smoking article, and suggests two or more capsules may be included, with the number based upon factors such as the size of the smoking article, the capsule size, and the effects desired (by rupturing the capsule), where different sizes of capsules and types of additives may be used, ([0040]). Zhang suggests that capsules containing different flavoring agents may be crushed at different times, ([0040]). Zhang suggest that the capsules are preferably disposed in the filter material of the filter element, and that the number of capsules is preferably predetermined, such as 1, 2, 3, or more, ([0053]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified England according to the teachings of Zhang using a known technique of selecting capsule sizes and position to improve a similar device in the same way, MPEP 2143 I. Example of Rationales (C). England discloses all of the claimed limitations, including that a range of capsules that overlaps the claimed range, and that the location of the capsules may be arranged such that the user can selectively choose whether and when to break the capsules. Zhang teaches a comparable device that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention, having capsules with maximum diameters of 1.5mm to 2.5 mm. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known improvement, selection of the capsule diameters within the narrower range, to the device of England, and the results would have been predictable since England discloses that these ranges will work with their filter.
Regarding the limitation requiring that the breakable capsules be separated by a distance of less than about 2.5 mm, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to arrive at such a configuration based on the disclosure of England and Zhang. England and Zhang, as cited above, discloses embodiments with a plurality of capsules. Little guidance as to the particular locations of the capsules is given, except that the capsules should be located such that the user can select when and whether to break the capsule, (England [pg 10 lines 18-19]), while Zhang teaches the filter preferably contains a single capsule, disposed within the filter material of the filter element, particularly towards the central region of the filter element, Zhang does not teach how the capsules should be disposed when the number of capsules selected is an embodiment comprising 2, 3, or more capsules, (Zhang [0053]), but does suggest a configuration where a user may crush a first capsule, and then later crush a second capsule, ([0040]). MPEP 2144.04 Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale, VI. C. Rearrangement of Parts. Here the particular claimed configuration is not explicitly disclosed, but one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that placement of two or more capsules in an edge to edge configuration would have resulted in an arrangement that would have enabled a user to easily rupture each capsule selectively, to obtain the desired amount of additive released in to the filter, and enable the user to selectively control when and how much additive to release, to obtain a desired flavor profile. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that placing the capsules edge to edge would make it easier to crush the subsequent capsules, without having to determine other possible locations in the filter where the second and third capsules might be located. Such an arrangement would not have modified the basic operation of the device, squeezing the filter until one or more capsules ruptured and released the contained additive. See simple alternate depictions below:
First depiction Second depiction
These embodiments are considered to be simple and obvious configurations of capsules within a filter, where a user could easily selectively rupture one or more capsules, merely by expanding the area squeezed to capture more of the capsules in the first depiction, or compressing the section further to break additional capsules after the first one ruptured, in the second depiction.
Regarding claim 2, modified England discloses the component of claim 1. Modified England in claim 1, was found to render obvious capsules placed in an edge to edge configuration, also rendering obvious the all of these claimed ranges, edge to edge placement having a separation of less than about 1.0mm, the smallest claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, modified England discloses the component of claim 1, where the capsules may have a spherical shape and a maximum diameter chosen in a range of 1.5mm to 2.5 mm, and configured in a longitudinal orientation. The longitudinal separation between the centers of the first and second additive release components is at least 0.75mm, because the longitudinal separation between the centers of the first and second additive release components is equal to the diameter of the capsule, here at least 1.5 mm.
Regarding claim 5, modified Englan discloses the component of claim 1. Modified England renders obvious various configurations of capsules, arranged to allow a user to selectively compress the filter and rupture one or more capsules selectively in sequence, including arrangements where the capsules are arranged in a row, on an axial diameter across a cross-section of the filter such that a user can selectively rupture one or more capsules by compressing the filter, see second example in depicted above. Such a configuration renders obvious the limitation where at least one of the first and second release component has a center offset from the longitudinal axis by at least about 2mm, where the capsules are at least 2mm and arranged edge to edge.
Regarding claim 6, modified England discloses the component of claim 1, where the capsules may have a spherical shape and comprise capsules with a diameter of 1.5mm to 2.5 mm and are configured in an edge to edge orientation. The maximum separation between the centers of the first and second additive release components less than about 2.5mm, because the modified England includes capsules with diameters of less than about 2.5mm, and the longitudinal separation between the centers of the first and second additive release components in an edge to edge configuration is equal to the diameter of the capsule.
Regarding claim 7, modified England discloses the component of claim 1. England discloses the consumable may comprise at least 10 mg or 12mg of the aerosol modifier, ([pg 9 lines 6-8]).
Regarding claim 8, modified England discloses the component of claim 1. Modified England discloses that the capsule diameters are in a range from about 1.5mm to 2.5mm. Capsule diameters of 1.56mm to 2.5 mm all comprise capsule volumes within this range, but does not exactly coincide with the claimed volumes.
Zhang teaches to select the size of the capsules as a factor to provide desired properties, including sensory effect, ([0040]).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to select a larger size capsule to deliver more additive with the crush of a capsule. This is the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, MPEP 2143. I. Examples of Rationales, (C). Here modified England contained a base device, upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement, here a larger volume of additive in the capsule. The prior art of Zhang teaches using larger capsules to deliver more additive, in the same way as the invention. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the teachings of Zhang in the same way as the invention, to provide a larger amount of additive in the higher end of the range disclosed by England and the results would have been predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, modified England discloses the component of claim 1.
Zhang teaches that capsules of different sizes can be used to provide the desired properties, such as mouthfeel, flavor, or other sensory effect, ([0040]).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to select capsule of different sizes provide desired properties to modify the aerosol and alter the smoking experience. This is the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, MPEP 2143. I. Examples of Rationales, (C). Here modified England contained a base device, upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement, here capsules of different sizes. The prior art of Zhang teaches using capsules of different sizes to alter the smoking experience, in the same way as the invention. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the teachings of Zhang in the same way as the invention, to provide different sensory experience to the smoker and the results would have been predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11 and 14, modified England discloses the component of claim 9. England teaches that the first and second additive release components comprise an shell and an additive enclosed within the shell, ([pg 4 lines 29-31]).
Regarding claim 15, modified England discloses the component of claim 1.
Zhang teaches that capsules may comprise different capsule contained components (understood to be different aerosol modifiers, to provide the desired properties, such as mouthfeel, flavor, or other sensory effect, ([0040]).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to select capsules containing different aerosol modifiers to provide desired properties to modify the aerosol and alter the smoking experience. This is the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, MPEP 2143. I. Examples of Rationales, (C). Here modified England contained a base device, upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement, here capsules containing different aerosol modifiers. The prior art of Zhang teaches using capsules containing different aerosol modifiers to alter the smoking experience, in the same way as the invention. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the teachings of Zhang in the same way as the invention, to provide different sensory experience to the smoker and the results would have been predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, modified England discloses the component of claim 1. Modified England of claim 1 discloses that a plurality of capsules may be used including 1, 2, 3, or more, (Zhang [0053]).
Regarding claim 17, modified England discloses the component of claim 1. England discloses that the filter may be formed of cellulose acetate fibers, and may comprise more than one capsule, ([pg 4 lines 18-35]).
Conclusion
/D.E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747