DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 10/1/2025. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 12, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. “Li” US 2019/0357122 in view of Park et al. “Park” US 2013/0095790.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Li teaches a method and a terminal device comprising a control unit (Figures 3 and 14):
acquiring service information associated with a plurality of services provided via a base station apparatus (Figure 3, Step 320, the UE receives a first message which includes network slice information; Paragraph 92. This information includes services supported; Paragraph 6);
selecting a set of services for use from the plurality of services (the terminal selects attribute information of the to-be-accessed first network slice. This information includes a selection of service information, mobility, etc; step 330, Figure 3 Paragraphs 94-96-99);
transmitting to a management device, a registration request message that includes the selected set of services, wherein the management device manages mobility of the terminal device via the base station apparatus (the UE sends a first access request (340 i.e. registration request) which includes the selected attribute information of step 330; Paragraphs 104-106. This request ultimately gets to the CN (i.e. management device) in step 360 which includes the selected attribute information. This is sent via the RAN (i.e. base station));
receiving, from the management device via the base station apparatus, reference information for each service of the set of services, the reference information is related to an operating environment which corresponds to an environment for the terminal device to use each service of the set of services (the CN sends a response message to the RAN which is then sent to the UE in message 380. This response includes the attribute information of a slice that is to be accessed by the terminal so the terminal accesses the second network slice; Paragraph 119. Paragraph 68 teaches the RAN can be a base station. The claim does not define what an operating environment information is. Thus because the reply from the CN (i.e. management device) tells the UE it can access a particular network slice, the Examiner views this as information about the operating environment because the UE knows it can access (or operate) on that given slice)); and
the information about the environment is information relating to a sensor (the network slice (which is part of the attribute information selected/transmit) includes information such as sensors and wearable device services.
Li does not expressly disclose a requirement for a specific sensor in the terminal device for use of each service of the set of services; however, Park teaches a server (i.e. management) sends a signal to the terminal to turn on or off a sensor based on instructions associated with services; Paragraph 39, see also Figure 4. Only necessary sensors are operated in a service area; Paragraph 7.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include receiving instructions about required sensors for services as taught by Park.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the terminal can minimize power consumption as taught by Park; Paragraph 7.
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the reference information includes information about a mobility state of the terminal device (the attribute information can include information with respect to how fast the terminal is moving (i.e. mobility state). When the terminal moves at a high speed, a larger network slice is chosen relative to a UE moving at a slower rate of speed).
Regarding claims 12 and 15, Li teaches a method and a management device comprising a control unit (Figure 3):
receiving a registration request from a terminal device via a base station apparatus (the UE sends a first access request (340 i.e. registration request) which includes the selected attribute information of step 330; Paragraphs 104-106. This request ultimately gets to the CN (i.e. management device) in step 360 which includes the selected attribute information (i.e. service desired). This is sent via the RAN (i.e. base station)); wherein
the registration request includes a set of services, the terminal device selects the set of services to be used from a plurality of services provided via the base station apparatus, and the management device is configured to manage mobility of the terminal device (Figure 3, Step 320, the UE receives a first message which includes network slice information; Paragraph 92. This information includes services supported; Paragraph 6. The terminal selects attribute information of the to-be-accessed first network slice. This information includes a selection of service information; step 330, Figure 3 Paragraphs 94-96-99. The UE sends a first access request (340 i.e. registration request) which includes the selected attribute information of step 330; Paragraphs 104-106. This request ultimately gets to the CN (i.e. management device) in step 360 which includes the selected attribute information. This is sent via the RAN (i.e. base station));
transmitting, to the terminal device via the base station apparatus, reference information for each service of the set of services wherein the reference information is related to an operating environment of the terminal device to use the services included in the registration request message (the CN sends a response message to the RAN which is then sent to the UE in message 380. Paragraph 68 teaches the RAN can be a base station. This response includes the attribute information of a slice that is to be accessed by the terminal so the terminal accesses the second network slice; Paragraph 119. The claim does not define what an operating environment information is. Thus because the reply from the CN (i.e. management device) tells the UE it can access a particular network slice, the Examiner views this as information about the operating environment because the UE knows it can access (or operate) on that given slice)); and
the information about the environment is information about a sensor (the network slice (which is part of the attribute information selected/transmit) includes information such as sensors and wearable device services; Paragraph 67).
Li does not expressly disclose a requirement for a specific sensor in the terminal device for use of each service of the set of services; however, Park teaches a server (i.e. management) sends a signal to the terminal to turn on or off a sensor based on instructions associated with services; Paragraph 39, see also Figure 4. Only necessary sensors are operated in a service area; Paragraph 7.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include receiving instructions about required sensors for services as taught by Park.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the terminal can minimize power consumption as taught by Park; Paragraph 7.
Claim(s) 2-4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Park and further in view of Shimojou et al. “Shimojou” CN 110352611 (See attached document for cited paragraphs).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Li teaches the control unit acquires environmental information about the operating environment of the terminal device (the CN sends a response message to the RAN which is then sent to the UE in message 380. This response includes the attribute information of a slice that is to be accessed by the terminal so the terminal accesses the second network slice; Paragraph 119. The claim does not define what an operating environment information is. Thus because the reply from the CN (i.e. management device acquiring environmental information) tells the UE it can access a particular network slice, the Examiner views this as information about the operating environment because the UE knows it can access (or operate) on that given slice)). Li does not expressly disclose determining environmental information satisfies reference information and selecting the service in which the information satisfies the reference information from among the services desired to be used, and making a request for use of the service selected. Shimojou teaches a UE (140 of Figure 8) sends a registration request for a special slice (S103 of Figure 8). Step S106 further shows a request/acceptance of information to establish connection for a distribution of the special slice; Page 10, The two paragraphs starting with “Next, referring to Fig 8”. Thus one can see, based on (i.e. determination) the information from the network and the capabilities of the UE, a service selection is made and requested as claimed. Further, as the service is chosen and a connection established, this means the information is satisfied for the service).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include selecting a service and making a request for the service selected as taught by Shimojou.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can properly authenticate the device and establish a connection for the distribution of the special slice requested as taught by Shimojou; Page 10, two paragraphs starting with “Next, referring to Fig.8”.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches does not expressly disclose sending environmental information int eh request for the service; however, Shimojou teaches a UE (140 of Figure 8) sends a registration request for a special slice (S103 of Figure 8). Step S106 further shows a request/acceptance of information to establish connection for a distribution of the special slice; Page 10, The two paragraphs starting with “Next, referring to Fig 8”. Further, this request includes NSSAI information (environmental information) for the special slice). Thus one can see, based on the information from the network and the capabilities of the UE, a service selection is made and requested including environmental information as claimed).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include the environmental information in the request for service as taught by Shimojou.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can properly authenticate the device and establish a connection for the distribution of the special slice requested as taught by Shimojou; Page 10, two paragraphs starting with “Next, referring to Fig.8”.
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches does not expressly disclose the request using a PDU; however, Shimojou teaches a UE (140 of Figure 8) sends a registration request for a special slice (S103 of Figure 8). Step S106 further shows a request/acceptance of information to establish connection for a distribution of the special slice. The request is sent using a PDU; Page 10, The two paragraphs starting with “Next, referring to Fig 8”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include a sending the request in a PDU as taught by Shimojou.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can properly authenticate the device and establish a connection for the distribution of the special slice requested as taught by Shimojou; Page 10, two paragraphs starting with “Next, referring to Fig.8”.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Park and further in view of Hu et al. “Hu” CN 104955070 see attached document for English citations).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Li does not expressly disclose a reception state is represented by power of average received signal power of reference signals; however, Hu teaches that for each connection state for a terminal, the average value of reference signal power is determined; Page 8, first paragraph.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include the reception state represents a power value obtained by averaging received power of a reference signal as taught by Hu.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that, for each connection state of the carrier, power values can be determined for the terminal as taught by Hu; Page 8 first paragraph.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Park and further in view of Saeki US 2017/0265138.
Regarding claim 8, Li does not disclose acquiring position information as a result of measurements of the terminal at a plurality of times and calculating mobility; however, Saeki teaches that a control unit calculates the degree of mobility of the terminal base don information relating to the position of the terminal measured by the position measuring unit for a plurality of times; Paragraph 33.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include calculating mobility state based on position information as taught by Saeki.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can determine the degree of mobility of the terminal device as taught by Saeki; Paragraph 33.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Park and further in view of Ling et al. “Ling” US 2022/0052820.
Regarding claim 9, Li does not teach information about beams simultaneously received when the base station transmits multiple beams; however, Ling teaches that a UE can receive multiple TX beams simultaneously when the multiple TRPs/panels of a base station transmit simultaneous beams; Paragraph 55.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include information about the number of beams simultaneously receivable when the base station transmit multiple beams as taught by Ling.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the terminal can receive multiple TX beams at the same time using a single panel or using multiple panels as taught by Ling; Paragraph 55.
Regarding claim 10, Li does not teach information about beams TRPs that enable simultaneous reception when the base station transmits multiple TRPs; however, Ling teaches that a UE can receive multiple TX beams simultaneously when the multiple TRPs/panels of a base station transmit simultaneous beams; Paragraph 55.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Li to include information about the number of TRPs that enable simultaneous reception when the base station transmit multiple TRPs as taught by Ling.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the terminal can receive multiple TX beams at the same time using a single panel or using multiple panels as taught by Ling; Paragraph 55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 12-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner would like to thank the Applicant for calling attention to claim 11 improperly being included in the previous rejection heading. Claim 11 has been removed as it is cancelled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411