DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments have been entered. Amendments do overcome the 102 rejection, as previously set forth in Final Office Action mailed 02/10/2025. Amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection see rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 3-5,7 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20170033343-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Miyawaki’ in view of (US-20160099451-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Murai’, in view of (US-20100112433-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kosugi’
Regarding Claim 1,
Miyawaki teaches a power storage module (Miyawaki, energy storage apparatus, 1) arrange side by side (Miyawaki, Fig. 2) and a holder (Miyawaki, body, 12, Fig. 1) including a container (Miyawaki, partition plates, 40a-40d, Fig. 3)(the examiner notes that the partition plates form container sections through dividing the body 12 into section for the battery cells, see Fig.4) that contains the plurality of power storage devices (Miyawaki, energy storage device, 100, Fig. 4), wherein the holder includes a first holder (Miyawaki, body, 12, Fig. 1) and second holder (Miyawaki, lid body, 11, Fig. 1) each of the plurality of power storage devices includes a first end in a height perpendicular to the direction of the arrangement a resin is disposed inside the holder in at least one space selected from a group including a space between the plurality of power storage cells (Miyawaki, "The plurality of partition plates 40 a to 40 d may be formed integrally with the lower wall 15 using a resin", see[0053])(), and the outer wall of first holder is provided with a gap (Miyawaki, openings, 51).
Miyawaki does not teach the gap defined by at least the resin and the holder and communicating with an outside of the holder.
Murai teaches a gap (Murai, outlet, 19, Fig. 2) defined by at least the resin (Murai, holder, 12, Fig. 2) (Murai, “The holder 12 is formed, for example, by a metal material with excellent heat conductivity such as aluminum and so on and/or a resin material with excellent heat conductivity”, see [0037]) and the holder (Murai, cover member, 17, Fig. 2) and communicating with an outside of the holder (Murai, “and the outlet 19 is opened in the X-Z plane at the X direction end of the battery module 10, and is communicated with the discharge path S3”,see [0057]) (see Fig below)
Murai teaches a first holder (Murai, holder, 12, Fig. 5) includes a first surface disposed at opposite side to the gap an faces the gap, in the height direction, and the resin (Murai, module case, 13, Fig.5 ) is in contact with the inner surface of the first holder (see annotated figure below). Murai teaches holder, and the gap is located at a height between the first end and the second end along a direction from the second end to the first end of one of the plurality of power storage devices (see annotated figure below).
Murai also teaches that this path can allow the temperature of discharged gas to decrease before it reaches the outside of the module (Murai, “At this time, with the cover member 17 made from metal material, during a period till the gas reaches the outlet 19, the gas at a high temperature state is cooled down by contacting with the cover member 17, and it is possible to decrease the temperature of the gas discharged from the outlet 19.”, see [0056]).
Miyawaki and Murai are analogous as they are both from the same field of battery modules and battery safety systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the gap as taught Miyawaki with the resin and holder gas passage as taught in Murai in order to allow for the gas to cool down through heat exchange with the surrounding materials.
Modified Miyawaki does not teach and a part of a side surface connecting the first end the second end of the one of the plurality of power storage devices is exposed to the gap. Wherein the gap is being defined by at least the resin and second holder
the first holder includes: a first plate-shaped part that contains the first end of each of the plurality of power storage devices; and an outer wall that surrounds the plurality of power storage devices and extends in the height direction from a peripheral edge of the first plate-shape part to a position closer to the second end than the first end of each of the plurality of power storage devices. The second holder contains the second end of each of the plurality of power storage devices,
The resin is in direct contact with the first plate-shape part inside the outerwall of the first holder and extends in the height direction to a position closer to the second end than the first end of each of the plurality of power storage devices, and
Kosugi teaches part of a side surface connecting the first end the second end of the one of the plurality of power storage devices is exposed to the gap, . Wherein the gap is being defined by at least the resin (Kosugi, “insulating members 32 in the form of resin beads could be performed connected by resilient bodies made of synthetic resin or the like.”, see [0051])(The examiner notes that Kosugi teaches a resin, but the resin as taught in Murai is relied upon for the combination of invention ) and second holder. (See annotated figure below)
the first holder includes: a first plate-shaped part that contains the first end of each of the plurality of power storage devices (Kosugi, resilient cover, 22 Fig. 5)); and an outer wall that surrounds the plurality of power storage devices and extends in the height direction from a peripheral edge of the first plate-shape part to a position (Kosugi, section 52, Fig. 5) The second holder contains the second end of each of the plurality of power storage devices (Kosugi, section 42, Fig. 5),
in direct contact with the first plate-shape part inside the outerwall of the first holder (Kosugi, resilient cover, 24, Fig. 5) and extends in the height direction.
Kosugi teaches that the holders allow the cells to remain in place and not touch due to vibration, and that the gap allows for effective cooling (Kosugi, “Thus, in such a battery module having a plurality of single cells, it is necessary to fix the cells in order to prevent adjacent cells from coming into contact due to vibration etc”, see [0008]) (Kosugi, “so it is possible for the surface of the external containers 11 to come directly into contact with the coolant, so there is no possibility that cooling of the battery cells 10 by the coolant will be impeded by the insulating means 30.” see [0049]).
Kosugi and Modified Miyawaki are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery modules.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention as taught in Modified Miyawaki to have the gap exposing the side of the cell and the second holder as taught in Kosugi order to increase the effective cooling of the cell and to hold the cell in order to prevent them from coming into contact.
Kosugi does not teach closer to the second end than the first end of each of the plurality of power storage devices.
Kosugi teaches that the holder prevent vibration (Kosugi, “Thus, in such a battery module having a plurality of single cells, it is necessary to fix the cells in order to prevent adjacent cells from coming into contact due to vibration etc”, see [0008])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the holder to extend it closer to the second end to amplify the positioning of the cells (see MPEP 2144 (IV)(B)).
Regarding Claim 3,
Modified Miyawaki teaches a power storage module (Miyawaki, energy storage apparatus, 1) according to Claim 1 wherein the resin is disposed not to be in contact with the second holder (Miyawaki, “the plurality of partition plates 40 a to 40 d may be formed integrally with the lower wall 15 using a resin", see[0053]) Miyawaki teaches power storage module according to Claim 1[[ or 2]], wherein the resin is disposed not to be in contact with the second holder (see annotated figure below)(The examiner notes that resin formed with the lower wall 15 in Miyawaki is not in direct contact with the lid as seen in Fig. 4)
Regarding Claim 4,
Modified Miyawaki teaches the power storage module according to Claim 1, wherein the holder (Miyawaki, body, 12, Fig. 1) includes a through-hole (Miyawaki, intake part, 60, Fig.9A) and the gap communicates with an outside of the holder through the through-hole. (Fig. 9A)(Miyawaki, “since the outer case 10 includes the intake part 60, atmospheric air outside the outer case 10 flows into the inside of the outer case 10”, see [0121])
Regarding Claim 5,
Modified Miyawaki teaches the power storage module according to Claim 4, the through-hole is in at least one part selected from a group including between the first holder and the second holder and the outer wall (Miyawaki, See Fig. 9A, 9B).
Regarding Claim 7,
Modifeid Miyawaki teaches the power storage module according to claim 1, wherein, the resin being made of a different material than the first holder and the second holder (Murai, “The module case 13 can be made of insulation material such as resin and so on,”, see [0038]) (Murai, “The holder 12 is formed, for example, by a metal material with excellent heat conductivity such as aluminum and so on”, see [0037]),
Regarding Claim 16,
Modified Miyawaki teaches the power storage module according to Claim 7, wherein a positive electrode is provided at the first end and a negative electrode is provided at the second end (Murai, positive and negative terminals, 11a and 11b, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 17,
Modified Miyawaki teaches the power storage module according to Claim 1, wherein the gap is located at a height between the first end and the second end along a direction from the second end to the first end of one of the plurality of power storage devices, and a part of a side surface connecting the first end the second end of the one of the plurality of power storage devices is exposed to the gap (Kosugi, see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 18,
Modified Miyawaki teaches the power storage module according to Claim 1, wherein the first plate-shape part of the first holder has a plurality of first reassess, in each of which the first end of a corresponding one of the plurality of power storage devices is contained, and the second holder includes a second plate-shape part having a plurality of second reassess, in each of which the second end of a corresponding one of the plurality of power storage devices is contained (Kosugi, see Fig. 5) (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 19,
Modified Miyawaki the power storage module according to Claim 18, wherein the gap is defined between a surface of the resin exposed from the first holder and a surface, located between the plurality of second recesses, of the second plate-shape part (Kosugi, see Fig. 5) (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 20,
Modified Miyawaki the power storage module according to Claim 1, wherein the resin fills both of the space between the plurality of power storage devices and the space between the at least one of the power storage devices and the outer wall of the first holder, and the resin is in direct contact with respective side surfaces of the plurality of power storage and inner surface of the outer wall (Kosugi, see Fig. 5)(see annotated figure below).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20170033343-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Miyawaki’ in view of (US-20160099451-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Murai’ in view of (US-20100112433-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kosugi’, in further view of (US-20180205048-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Enomoto’ .
Regarding Claim 6,
Modified Miyawaki teaches a resin (Miyawaki, “The plurality of partition plates 40 a to 40 d may be formed integrally with the lower wall 15 using a resin.”, see [0053])
However, Miyawaki does not teach a resin which contains particles containing an inorganic substance that decomposes by an endothermic reaction
Enomoto teaches a resin which contains particles containing an inorganic substance (Enomoto, “ and a resin containing a filler of high thermal conductivity. Examples of the filler of high thermal conductivity include metal oxide (for example, aluminum oxide or zinc oxide..””, see [0023])that decomposes by an endothermic reaction (Enomoto, “rein [sic] matrix, a filler that causes an endothermic reaction against an abnormal heat generation of a cell.”, see [0039])
Enomoto also teaches that this resin can prevent the thermal runaway from affecting other cells in a battery stack (Enomoto, “When an abnormal heat generation of cylindrical cell 11 due to thermal runaway has deformed the thermosetting resin constituting battery holder 20 and hence has expanded the clearance between the accommodation portion of battery holder 20 and cylindrical cell 11, the clearance suppresses the conduction of the heat generated from cylindrical cells 11 to battery holder 20. Therefore, the heat generation hardly affects its adjacent cylindrical cell 11”, see [0053])
Miyawaki and Enomoto are analogous as they both relate to battery modules and heat control in battery modules.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resin taught in Miyawaki with the resin taught in Enomoto in order to prevent the expansion of thermal runaway to other battery modules in a battery pack system.
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Miyawaki does not teach that the resin is a polyurethane resin.
Enomoto teaches a polyurethan resin (Enomoto, “As a candidate for the thermosetting resin, for example, unsaturated polyester, urethane, or silicone is considered”, see [0040])
Enomoto also teaches that this resin can prevent the thermal runaway from affecting other cells in a battery stack (Enomoto, “When an abnormal heat generation of cylindrical cell 11 due to thermal runaway has deformed the thermosetting resin constituting battery holder 20 and hence has expanded the clearance between the accommodation portion of battery holder 20 and cylindrical cell 11, the clearance suppresses the conduction of the heat generated from cylindrical cells 11 to battery holder 20. Therefore, the heat generation hardly affects its adjacent cylindrical cell 11”, see [0053])
Modified Miyawaki and Enomoto are analogous as they both relate to battery modules and heat control in battery modules.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resin taught in Murai with the resin taught in Enomoto in order to prevent the expansion of thermal runaway to other battery modules in a battery pack system.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20170033343-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Miyawaki’ in view of (US-20160099451-A1) hereinafter referred to ‘Murai’ in view of (US-20100112433-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kosugi’ in view of (US-20040253512-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Watanabe’
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Miyawaki does not teach wherein the resin includes a cured resin by mixing two liquid components.
Watanabe teaches wherein the resin includes a cured resin by mixing two liquid components (Watanabe, “provide a resin group with a potting thickness of 500 μm, and material (urethane family resin material of the type to be hardened in two liquids) of resin number 1,”, see [0231]).
Watanabe teaches that this resin can create gas-tightness and prevent electrolyte leakage (Watanabe, “Thus, by potting the exterior of the battery element with the resin group, gas-tightness of the battery can be maintained, enabling an outer sheath of the battery to be formed of resin.”, see [0050])
Murai and Watanabe are analogous as they are both of the same field of covers and cases for battery modules.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the resin as taught in Murai with the resin as taught in Watanabe in order to improve the gas tightness of the cell stack.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20170033343-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Miyawaki’ in view of (US-20160099451-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Murai’ in view of (US-20100112433-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kosugi’, in view of (US-20180269438-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Nishikawa’
Regarding Claim 15,
Modified Miyawaki does not teach, wherein the holder is made of polycarbonate.
Nishikawa teaches where wherein the holder is made of polycarbonate (Nishikawa, “Forr example, the outer case 11 is made of an electrically-insulating resin material such as polycarbonate” , see [0060])
Nishikawa teaches that the polycarbonate is sufficiently rigid and insulating and can protect the battery modules from coming into contact and shorting (Nishikawa, “Accordingly, the outer case 11 prevents the energy storage devices 300 and the like from coming into contact with a metal member or the like disposed outside the outer case 11.”, see [0060])
Murai and Nishikawa are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery modules and cases.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the holder as taught in Murai to be made of the polycarbonate as taught in Nishikawa to allow for a rigid material that will maintain the strength of the case while preventing a short circuit.
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed on have been entered. Arguments are fully considered.
On pg. 7 The applicant argues:
“Applicant submits that, at a minimum, none of the cited references disclose or suggest that the resin is in direct contact with the first plate-shape part inside the outer wall of the first holder and extends in the height direction to a position closer to the second end than the first end of each of the plurality of power storage devices, as recited in amended claim 1.”
However, this is not convincing. The examiner finds that Kosugi teaches the closest embodiment to the amended claim limitation through figure 5. Kosugi does not teach the extension in the height direction closer to the second end than the first end. However, an extension of the piece would be considered an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art to protect the cell further while allowing for cooling (see MPEP 2144 (IV)(B)). The examiner finds that the new claims are similarly rejected under Kosugi’s teaching in modified Miyawaki.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752