The Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment filed on 10/10/2025, wherein claims 1, 3 and 7 were cancelled.
Status of Claims
Claims 2 and 4- 6 are pending and under examination in this office action.
Priority
The instant application 17/757,672 filed on 06/17/2022, is a 371 of PCT/US2020/065891 filed 12/18/2020, which claims the benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/951,638 filed 12/20/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Action Summary
Applicant’s remarks filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered. Any objection and rejection found in the previous Office Action and not repeated herein has been withdrawn in view of amendment and Applicant’s remarks .The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Applicant’s argument filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered, but they are NOT persuasive to overcome rejections under 35 USC §103 and double patenting rejections. The following rejections are maintained /reiterated necessitated by amendment. Please see Response to Argument under 35 USC §103 rejections which also apply to double patenting rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4- 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NCT03440424 (version 2, 09/05/2018 ) in view of Murphy et al. (Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine, Vol. 13, No. 11, 2017, Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2024, Cite No. 1, Lemborexant, A Dual Orexin Receptor Antagonist (DORA) for the Treatment of Insomnia Disorder: Results from a Bayesian, Adaptive, Randomized, Double-Bind, Placebo-Controlled Study)(maintained/ reiterated necessitated by amendment) .
NCT03440424 is an open-label, parallel-group study to evaluate the pharmacokinetics of lemborexant (E2006) and its metabolites in subjects with mild and moderate hepatic impairment compared to healthy subjects. The study design of NCT03440424 was first available online on 02/14/2018.
NCT03440424 disclosed Experimental: Cohort A: Mild Hepatic Impairment (Child Pugh Class A), wherein participants with mild hepatic impairment receive a single 10 mg) dose (1 × 10 mg) lemborexant (E2006) tablet in the morning with 240 milliliters (mL) of water following an overnight fast of at least 10 hours (See Arms and Interventions). Cohort B: Moderate Hepatic Impairment (Child Pugh Class B) Participants with moderate hepatic impairment receive a single 10mg dose (1 × 10 mg) lemborexant [E2006] tablet in the morning with 240 mL of water following an overnight fast of at least 10 hours. Cohort C: Healthy participants (Control) Healthy participants matched to participants in Cohorts A and B receive a single 10 mg dose (1 × 10mg lemborexant [E2006] tablet) in the morning with 240 mL of water following an overnight fast of at least 10 hours.
Regarding the limitation of claim 6, NCT03440424 disclosed the inclusion criteria for Cohorts A, B and C wherein the hepatic impairment level of patient is determined and documented by medical history and a physical examination (See Inclusion Criteria, page 9/14).
Regarding the limitation of bedtime administration recited in claims 2 and 6, the difference between NCT03440424 and instant claims are the administration time of lemborexant: in the morning vs immediately before going to bed. It’s common practice to administer sleep medicine before going to bed and dosage adjustment (administration timing, frequency, etc.) is routine practice in treating insomnia. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to explore administrating lemborexant to patient having mild to moderate hepatic impairment classified under Child Pugh classification before going to bed and adjust the dose accordingly based on patient’s condition.
NCT03440424 is silent about 5mg of lemborexant as single daily dose. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05. NCT03440424 teaches single daily dose of lemborexant for treating insomnia (10mg) and limitation of hepatic impairment classified under Child Pugh classification. A skilled artisan would have known to adjust the dose of lemborexant based on hepatic function of patient accordingly.
Further, Murphy teaches clinical development of lemborexant and identified lemborexant doses (2.5mg -10mg) that maximize insomnia treatment efficacy and minimize residual morning sleepiness, based on randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group clinical trial NCT01995838 (See Brief Summary, Conclusion, entire article). Murphy teaches lemborexant (e.g. 5mg, 10mg per day) was taken 30 minutes before subject’s median habitual bedtime and assessment with 8h polysomnography PSG (See Study Design and Procedure, Figure 1, page 1291) (which reads on bedtime limitation of instant claim 2 and 6).
Dosage adjustment (administration timing, frequency, etc.) based on patient’s condition (e.g. hepatic function ) is routine practice in treating insomnia. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant claimed invention to further explore dosage regimen of lemborexant (e.g. administration timing, etc.) based on the combined teachings of NCT03440424 and Murphy, together with optimization based on general knowledge of lemborexant and insomnia treatment and arrive at instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. NCT03440424 teaches single daily dose of lemborexant for treating insomnia (10mg) in patients having hepatic impairment classified under Child Pugh classification. An ordinary skilled in the art would have known oral tablet of lemborexant can be administered at single daily dose 5-10mg for treating insomnia as taught by Murphy. Murphy teaches lemborexant (e.g. 5mg, 10mg per day) was taken 30 minutes before bedtime and 8h polysomnography PSG. An ordinary skilled would be motivated to combine the teachings of NCT03440424 and Murphy because both teachings are directed to method of treating insomnia with lemborexant. The combined teachings of NCT03440424 and Murphy, together with general knowledge of lemborexant and insomnia treatment would provide an alternative safe administration regimen for patients with impaired hepatic function.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the teachings of prior art and general knowledge of lemborexant and insomnia treatment. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues: “Nothing in the cited references provides any reason (i.e., motivation) for modifying the 10 mg dosage of NCT03440424 for a patient having moderate hepatic impairment classified in Child-Pugh class B under Child-Pugh Classification to arrive at the claimed methods. The cited reference NCT03440424 is a clinical trial design listing various parameters such as, primary outcome measures, secondary outcome measures, participants eligibility criteria. No testing results are provided in the cited reference NCT03440424....(Remarks, page 6)
RESPONSE: Although no results are provided for NCT03440424, a skilled artisan would have known NCT03440424 was designed to assess the effect of mild and moderate hepatic impairment on the pharmacokinetics (PK) of lemborexant with different cohorts. Thus, dose adjustment for patients having hepatic impairment is NOT unexpected. Murphy teaches lemborexant doses less than or equal to 5 mg decreased the amount of time spent awake after sleep onset and doses above 10 mg did not show consistently greater efficacy than the 10 mg dose and were associated with higher rates of somnolence(See Conclusion). A skilled artisan would reasonably expect 5 mg of lemborexant provide sufficient efficacy for treating insomnia without higher rate of somnolence in patients with hepatic impairment.
Applicant argues: Dose reduction in patients with hepatic impairment is not a routine or universally applicable optimization strategy for dual orexin receptor antagonists (DORAs). This is due to the significant variability in hepatic metabolism across different drugs within the DORA class. Each DORA molecule possesses unique pharmacokinetic properties, including differences in metabolic pathways, enzyme involvement, and hepatic clearance rates. As a result, the impact of hepatic impairment on drug exposure and safety profiles cannot be generalized across the class. For instance, Suvorexant (Belsomra), a well-known DORA used for the treatment of insomnia, does not require dose adjustment in patients with moderate hepatic impairment(Remarks, page 7).
RESPONSE: The examiner agrees that each dual orexin receptor antagonists (DORAs) has unique pharmacokinetic properties/ metabolic pathways, enzyme involvement, and hepatic clearance rates. In instant case, NCT03440424 was designed to assess the effect of mild and moderate hepatic impairment on the pharmacokinetics (PK) of lemborexant. Dose reduction in patients with hepatic impairment might not be necessary for Suvorexant or dual orexin receptor antagonists (DORAs). However, dose adjustment/optimization is standard practice as evidenced by FDA guidance and demonstrated in Murphy 2017 teaching different dose amount. A skilled artisan would have known lemborexant is metabolized through liver enzymes (CYP3A4) and patients with liver problems may experience higher levels of lemborexant in their blood, increasing potential side effects, so dose adjustments might be needed for patients with mild or moderate liver impairment. As such, dose adjustment/reduction for patients having hepatic impairment is NOT unexpected. Regarding instant claimed 5mg. Murphy 2017 teaches doses ≥ 5 mg decreased the amount of time spent awake after sleep onset which would reasonably provide sufficient efficacy for patient having mild or moderate liver impairment.
Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moline et al. ( US 20170252342 A1, hereafter “Moline ‘342”, corresponding to U.S. Patent No. 10188652 B2), in view of NCT03440424 (version 2, 09/05/2018 ), as evidenced by FDA Guidance for Industry Pharmacokinetics in Patients with Impaired Hepatic Function: Study Design, Data Analysis, and Impact on Dosing and Labeling, May 2003.(maintained/ reiterated necessitated by amendment).
Claim interpretation: As evidenced by lemborexant at PubChem ( https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Lemborexant ) and disclosed by instant specification([0020], lemborexant has chemical name (1R,2S)-2-(((2,4-dimethylpyrimidin-5-yl)oxy)methyl)-2-(3-fluorophenyl)-N-(5-fluoropyridin-2-yl) cyclopropanecarboxamide.
Moline ‘342 disclosed compound A (i.e. lemborexant) is a potent orexin receptor antagonists useful in the treatment of sleep disorder(e.g. insomnia) (See abstract, [0006], [0168], Examples 1-4, claim 1). Moline ‘342 teaches compound A may be in the form of free base or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, etc. ( See [0166]). Moline ‘342 teaches methods of treating insomnia comprising administrating orally various dosage amount (e.g. 5 mg, 10mg, etc.) of compound A (i.e. Lemborexant), wherein said single daily dose achieve desired mean maximum plasma concentration Cmax (See [0157], [0158], [0168], [0188], Examples 1-4, Tables 1-4, Figure 2). Moline ‘342 disclosed randomized, double blind, placebo- controlled, sequential, single- dose study to evaluate the safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of compound A after single doses administered orally (See Example 1, [0181]- [0200]).
Regarding the administration time recited in instant claims 2 and 6, Moline ‘342 teaches single oral dosing of compound A is administered in the evening approximately 30 minutes prior to subject’s bedtime (See [0182],[0190]), and blood samples are collected at various period for assessment of pharmacokinetics (See [0191]- [0196], Table 1). Moline ‘342 teaches 8-hour PSG was performed starting at the subject’s bedtime (See [0199]).
Moline ‘342 collectively teaches a method for treating insomnia, comprising administering orally a dosage form comprising lemborexant or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to a patient in need thereof at a single daily dose ranging from 5 mg to 10 mg of lemborexant or an equivalent dose of a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, before going to bed.
Moline ‘342 is silent about subjects having hepatic impairment classified under Child-Pugh classification. However, Moline ‘342 disclosed multiple clinical trials, wherein subjects with impaired hepatic functions were not explicitly excluded. In other words, Moline ‘342 method of treating insomnia was administered to subjects in need thereof including subjects having impaired hepatic functions.
As elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied as before, NCT03440424 teaches a single daily dose of lemborexant (10 mg ) for treating insomnia in subjects with hepatic impairment classified under Child Pugh classification.
It’s common practice to administer sleep medicine before going to bed and dosage adjustment (administration timing, frequency, etc.) based on patient’s condition (e.g. hepatic function) is routine practice in treating insomnia. FDA guidance 2003 teaches hepatic function of subject might have effects on PK and PD of a drug. FDA guidance 2003 teaches Child-Pugh classification in patients with impaired hepatic function and provides guidance for study design, data analysis of pharmacokinetics and impact on dosing and labeling. FDA guidance 2003 is considered as common knowledge for a skilled artisan in drug discover/development in pharmaceutical industry.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to explore the method of treating insomnia with 5 mg to 10 mg of orally administered lemborexant taught by Moline ‘342 in different patient population with hepatic impairment as taught by NCT03440424, together with exploration/optimization based on general knowledge of lemborexant and insomnia treatment and arrive at instant claims with reasonable expectation of success. An ordinary skilled would be motivated to combine the teachings of Moline ‘342 and NCT03440424 because all teachings are directed to method of treating insomnia with lemborexant. The combined teachings of Moline ‘342 and NCT03440424, together with general knowledge of lemborexant and insomnia treatment would provide an alternative safe administration regimen for patients with impaired hepatic function.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the teachings of prior art and general knowledge of lemborexant and insomnia treatment. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues: Moline "is silent about subjects having hepatic impairment classified under Child-Pugh classification... NCT03440424 is a clinical trial design without showing any testing results. This reference therefore does not remedy the deficiencies of Moline... Dose reduction in patients with hepatic impairment is not a routine or universally applicable optimization strategy for dual orexin receptor antagonists (DORAs).
RESPONSE: Moline collectively teaches a method for treating insomnia, comprising administering orally daily dose ranging from 5 mg to 10 mg of lemborexant. NCT03440424 was designed to assess the effect of mild and moderate hepatic impairment on the pharmacokinetics (PK) of lemborexant with different cohorts. Dose adjustment/optimization for patient having hepatic impairment is standard practice as evidenced by FDA guidance. As such, instant claimed method of dose adjustment/optimization for patient having hepatic impairment is NOT unexpected in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10188652 B2 in view of NCT03440424 (version 2, 09/05/2018 ) and Murphy et al. (Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine, Vol. 13, No. 11, 2017, Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2024, Cite No. 1, Lemborexant, A Dual Orexin Receptor Antagonist (DORA) for the Treatment of Insomnia Disorder: Results from a Bayesian, Adaptive, Randomized, Double-Bind, Placebo-Controlled Study).
Reference claims 1-13 are directed to a method of treating insomnia, comprising administrating orally a dosage form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of compound A (i.e. lemborexant), wherein said therapeutically effective amount is a single daily dose ranging from about 2.5 mg to about 10 mg to achieve desired pharmacokinetic profile (e.g. mean Cmax) in human subjects. Reference claims 2, 5, 8 and 13 further recite therapeutically effective amount of Compound A (i.e. lemborexant) is single 5 mg daily dose.
Reference claims are silent about subjects having hepatic impairment classified under Child-Pugh classification and administration before bedtime.
As elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied herein as before, NCT03440424 teaches single daily dose of lemborexant for treating insomnia and limitation of hepatic impairment classified under Child Pugh classification. Murphy teaches lemborexant (e.g. 5mg, 10mg per day) was taken 30 minutes before bedtime and 8h polysomnography PSG.
It’s common practice to administer sleep medicine before going to bed and dosage adjustment (administration timing, frequency, etc.) based on patient’s condition (e.g. hepatic function) is routine practice in treating insomnia. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of reference claims, NCT03440424 and Murphy, together with exploration/optimization based on general knowledge of lemborexant and insomnia treatment and arrive at instant claims with reasonable expectation of success. An ordinary skilled would be motivated to combine the teachings of reference claims, NCT03440424 and Murphy because all teachings are directed to method of treating insomnia with lemborexant. The combined teachings of reference claims, NCT03440424 and Murphy, together with general knowledge of lemborexant and insomnia treatment would provide an alternative safe administration regimen for patients with impaired hepatic function.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
The instant application shares at least one common inventor with reference patent. The instant application is not related to reference patent on the record and thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 22-24 of U.S. Patent No. 8268848 B2 in view of NCT03440424 (version 2, 09/05/2018 ) and Murphy et al. (Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine, Vol. 13, No. 11, 2017, Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2024, Cite No. 1, Lemborexant, A Dual Orexin Receptor Antagonist (DORA) for the Treatment of Insomnia Disorder: Results from a Bayesian, Adaptive, Randomized, Double-Bind, Placebo-Controlled Study).
Reference claims are directed to compound (1R,2S)-2-{[(2,4-Dimethylpyrimidin-5-yl)oxy]methyl}-2-(3-fluorophenyl)-N-(5-fluoropyridin-2-yl)cyclopropanecarboxamide (i.e. lemborexant) and method for treating sleep disorder (e.g. insomnia) with lemborexant.
Reference claims are silent about subjects having hepatic impairment classified under Child-Pugh classification and administration before bedtime.
As elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied herein as before, NCT03440424 teaches the single daily dose of lemborexant for treating insomnia and limitation of hepatic impairment classified under Child Pugh classification. Murphy teaches lemborexant (e.g. 5mg, 10mg per day) was taken 30 minutes before bedtime and 8h polysomnography PSG.
It’s common practice to administer sleep medicine before going to bed and dosage adjustment (administration timing, frequency, etc.) based on patient’s condition (e.g. hepatic function) is routine practice in treating insomnia. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of reference claims, NCT03440424 and Murphy, together with exploration/optimization based on general knowledge of lemborexant and insomnia and arrive at instant claims with reasonable expectation of success. An ordinary skilled would be motivated to combine the teachings of reference claims, NCT03440424 and Murphy because all teachings are directed to method of treating insomnia with lemborexant. The combined teachings of reference claims, NCT03440424 and Murphy, together with general knowledge of lemborexant and insomnia treatment would provide an alternative safe administration regimen for patients with impaired hepatic function.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
The instant application shares at least one common inventor with reference patent. The instant application is not related to reference patent on the record and thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 2 and 4-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7, 9-10, 12, 26, 28, 41 and 43 of copending Application No. 17/443,650 in view of NCT03440424 (version 2, 09/05/2018 ) and Murphy et al. (Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine, Vol. 13, No. 11, 2017, Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2024, Cite No. 1, Lemborexant, A Dual Orexin Receptor Antagonist (DORA) for the Treatment of Insomnia Disorder: Results from a Bayesian, Adaptive, Randomized, Double-Bind, Placebo-Controlled Study).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Reference claims are directed to a method of improving sleeping quality/efficiency (e.g. continuity of nocturnal sleep) and/or treating various sleep disorder (e.g. excessive daytime sleepiness) in a subject with irregular sleep-wake rhythm disorder, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of lemborexant or pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof.
Reference claims are silent about subjects having hepatic impairment classified under Child-Pugh classification and administration before bedtime.
The rationale of combining reference claims with NCT03440424 and Murphy is similar as elaborated in preceding non-statutory double patenting rejections. The combined teachings of reference claims, NCT03440424 and Murphy, together with general knowledge of lemborexant and sleep disorder treatment would provide an alternative administration regimen for treating sleep disorder (e.g. insomnia ) in patients with impaired hepatic function.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor with reference patent. The instant application is not related to reference patent on the record and thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 2 and 4-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21, 47 and 50 of copending Application No. 17/597,074 in view of NCT03440424 (version 2, 09/05/2018 ).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Reference claims are directed to a method of improving sleeping quality/efficiency and/or treating sleep disorder (e.g. reducing subjective sleep onset latency) in a subject, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of lemborexant or pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof.
Reference claim 47 and 50 recite a method for treating insomnia, comprising administering orally a dosage form comprising 5 mg or 10 mg of lemborexant or an equivalent dose of a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the method comprising orally administering the 5 mg dose of lemborexant or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to a patient no more than once per night and within a few minutes before going to bed, with at least 7 hours remaining before the planned time of awakening, wherein if the 5 mg dose is well tolerated but not effective, then the dose can be increased to 10 mg once daily.
Reference claims are silent about subjects having hepatic impairment classified under Child-Pugh classification.
The rationale of combining reference claims with NCT03440424 is similar as elaborated in preceding non-statutory double patenting rejections. The combined teachings of reference claims and NCT03440424, together with general knowledge of lemborexant and sleep disorder treatment would provide an alternative safe administration regimen for treating sleep disorder (e.g. insomnia ) in patients with impaired hepatic function.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor with reference patent. The instant application is not related to reference patent on the record and thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628