DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12, 19, 21-22 are pending.
Claim 22 is new
Claims 1 and 7 are amended.
Claims 13-18 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9, 11-12, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over DE-102006002198-B4 to Kaps (“Kaps”) and further in view of JP-2018-192727-A to Ishida (“Ishida”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kaps (1st embodiment Figs 1a-1e, espace.net NPL U English Translation “ET”) discloses a method for producing a fibre composite body (formed by two partial elements (1, 5) , Abstract line 1, Fig 1a-e, comprising the following steps:
providing a first mould (fig 1a) having at least one female mould part (female mould implicitly to receive and retains 1 and 5 Figs 1a and 1c respectively) and one male mould part (male mould implicitly applies pressure to 1, 5 in female mold Fig 1b and 1d);
introducing a fibrous raw material (2a, 2b with six textile layers of fiber structure shown in Fig 1a, 1d preassembled with matrix 3, 6 in partial elements 1 and 5, Abstract lines 1-3, Para 2, Para 32) and a binder (3 “matrix material/resin” (preassembled with 2a in Fig 1a), 6 “matrix system/injection resin” shown injected between 2b in Fig 1d, Fig 1a Para 2, Para 32 lines 1-2, Para 33 lines 3-5, Para 34 lines 4-11) into the female mould part;
activating the binder by an energy input (p, T) ( in two stages (i.e. multiple) Para 32, Fig 1b, 1d) into the mould to form a mould element (1, 5 “first and second partial elements”, Para 22, Figs 1a-1e show cross sections thereof) which is open to diffusion (melted material of parts 1, 5 (i.e. resin) (Para 34 lines 3-4, Para 35 lines 6-7) is liquified, flows, penetrates, interlocks with/into transition region (i.e. infiltrates) Para 32 lines 3-5, Para 33, Para 34 line 8, 10-11) ;
joining together the mould element (5) and a preform structure (1, Para 9, Para 12, Para 33, lines 1-5, Para 34 lines 4-11, Fig 1d-1e);
supplying a resin (3 “matrix material/resin” (preassembled with 2a in Fig 1a), 6 “injection resin”, Para 7-11, Para 15, Para 18, Para 33, lines 3-5, ), so that the resin infiltrates (just described above); at least partially into the mould element which is open to diffusion (just described above) and into the preform structure (just described); and
curing the resin (Para 32, line 6, Para 33 line 5, Para 34 line 3, 5, 11, Fig 1b, 1e), so that, as a result, the fibre composite body (Fig 1e) is formed without a boundary layer (resin penetrates, flows into, infiltrates and interlocks between 1 and 5, Para 33, Para 34; such that 1 and 5 are connected, “consolidated” (as described above and in Para 33, 36) which meaning of (“without a boundary layer” is consistent with the specification (Page 4 last Para 4, Page 5 Para 1-3) of the instant application.
Kaps does not disclose wherein the fibrous raw material is fibre chips made of semi-finished fibre products or fibres, and the fibre products or fibres are cut into small pieces;
Ishida (English Translation “ET” pages 1-6, Figs 1-8 ) discloses a method of producing by moulding a composite fiber part with a fibrous raw material wherein the fibrous raw material (10 “chopped sheet” [i.e. fibrous raw material made of a semi-finished fiber product], ET Abstract, Page 2 Para 7 beginning “An embodiment of the fiber base material….”, Para 8 beginning Examples of the method for…”, is fibre chips cut into small pieces (“formed of fiber chopped into small pieces” chopped into “25-50 mm lengths, with a diameter of 7microm” [i.e. fiber chips cut into small pieces] , ET Page 2 Para 7 beginning “An embodiment of the fiber base material….”, lines 2--8 Para 8, beginning “The production method of the chopped sheet is…”m Fig 1a )
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the method for producing a fibre composite body and the method of moulding a composite fiber part with a fibrous raw material is fibre chips made of semi-finished fibre products, and the fibre products are cut into small pieces, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method for producing a fibre composite body of Kaps and the teaching of a method of moulding a composite fiber part with a fibrous raw material that is fibre chips of Ishida, to modify the fibrous raw material of method of Kaps, such that it is a fibrous raw material is fibre chips made of semi-finished fibre products are cut into small pieces, with the motivation improve the fluidity and formability (Ishida ET Page 1, Para 4 beginning “As a fiber…” lines 2-6) during molding, the properties of noise having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Kaps and Ishida discloses the method according to claim 1 The method according to wherein the binder (3,6) is added to the fibrous raw material (2) (as described in paragraph 8 of this document).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Kaps and Ishida discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the binder is thermoplastic (Para 15, line 4-5), thermosetting, or a mixture of both.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Kaps and Ishida discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein one or more textile layers (2a, 2b each with 6 layers, Fig 1a, 1b, as described in Paragraph 5 of this document) are integrated into the mould element (1,5) which is open to diffusion (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Kaps and Ishida discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein one or more textile layers (2a of 1, 2b of 5) are integrated when joining together (Fig 1d, Abstract lines 4-5, Para 10, lines 1-2, Claim 1 (“connection of 1 to 5”; Claims 2, 3 “consolidation of 1 and 5”) the mould element (1, 5) which is open to diffusion and the preform structure (1) (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding the combination of Kaps and Ishida, discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the energy input (p, T) takes place in multiple stages (as described in paragraph 5 of this document; specifically Kaps discloses a first stage (Fig 1b forms 1 via (p,T) 1); a second stage (implicit in Fig 1d 5 is formed without matrix; a third stage Fig 1e joins 5 to 1 via (p,T), Para 10, Para 13-16 Figs).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Kaps and Ishida discloses the method according to claim 1 , wherein the at least one female mould part (as described in paragraph 5 of this document) is made of a duroplastic material or of a thermoplastic material ( matrix/resin 3 or 6, Para 13 line 5, Para 14 line 1, Para 15 line 4, Para 33 line 3, Para 34 lines 1-1 ) or of a mixture of duroplastic and thermoplastic material.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Kaps and Ishida discloses the method according to claim 1 , wherein the mould element (1, 5) which is open to diffusion (as described in paragraph 5 of this document) is connected to a structural segment (thermoplastic film Para 16, perforated with holes, Para 17, 1 ”interlocking 1 and 5, Para 18, Fig 1c-1e show an irregular drip-like segment between 1 and 5 ), in particular in a form-fitting (toothed interface, drip-like in transition region between 1 and 5, Abstract lines 4-11; Para 16 manner, Figs 1c-1e).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Kaps and Ishida discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the fibrous raw material is fibre chips (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 22, Kaps discloses a method for producing a fibre composite body (formed by two partial elements (1, 5) , Abstract line 1, Fig 1a-e, comprising the following steps:
providing a first mould (fig 1a) having at least one female mould part (female mould implicitly to receive and retains 1 and 5 Figs 1a and 1c respectively) and one male mould part (male mould implicitly applies pressure to 1, 5 in female mold Fig 1b and 1d);
introducing a fibrous raw material (2a, 2b with six textile layers of fiber structure shown in Fig 1a, 1d preassembled with matrix 3, 6 in partial elements 1 and 5, Abstract lines 1-3, Para 2, Para 32) and a binder (3 “matrix material/resin” (preassembled with 2a in Fig 1a), 6 “matrix system/injection resin” shown injected between 2b in Fig 1d, Fig 1a Para 2, Para 32 lines 1-2, Para 33 lines 3-5, Para 34 lines 4-11) into the female mould part;
activating the binder by an energy input (p, T) ( in two stages (i.e. multiple) Para 32, Fig 1b, 1d) into the mould to form a mould element (1, 5 “first and second partial elements”, Para 22, Figs 1a-1e show cross sections thereof) which is open to diffusion (melted material of parts 1, 5 (i.e. resin) (Para 34 lines 3-4, Para 35 lines 6-7) is liquified, flows, penetrates, interlocks with/into transition region (i.e. infiltrates) Para 32 lines 3-5, Para 33, Para 34 line 8, 10-11) ;
joining together the mould element (5) and a preform structure (1, Para 9, Para 12, Para 33, lines 1-5, Para 34 lines 4-11, Fig 1d-1e);
supplying a resin (3 “matrix material/resin” (preassembled with 2a in Fig 1a), 6 “injection resin”, Para 7-11, Para 15, Para 18, Para 33, lines 3-5, ), so that the resin infiltrates (just described above); at least partially into the mould element which is open to diffusion (just described above) and into the preform structure (just described); and
curing the resin (Para 32, line 6, Para 33 line 5, Para 34 line 3, 5, 11, Fig 1b, 1e), so that, as a result, the fibre composite body (Fig 1e) is formed without a boundary layer (resin penetrates, flows into, infiltrates and interlocks between 1 and 5, Para 33, Para 34; such that 1 and 5 are connected, “consolidated” (as described above and in Para 33, 36) which meaning of (“without a boundary layer” is consistent with the specification (Page 4 last Para 4, Page 5 Para 1-3) of the instant application.
Kaps does not disclose wherein the fibrous raw material is fibre chips made of semi-finished fibre products or fibres, and the fibre products or fibres are cut into small pieces;
Ishida (English Translation “ET” pages 1-6, Figs 1-8 ) discloses a method of producing by moulding a composite fiber part with a fibrous raw material wherein the fibrous raw material (10 “chopped sheet” [i.e. fibrous raw material made of a semi-finished fiber product], ET Abstract, Page 2 Para 7 beginning “An embodiment of the fiber base material….”, Para 8 beginning Examples of the method for…”, is fibre chips cut into small pieces (“formed of fiber chopped into small pieces” chopped into “25-50 mm lengths, with a diameter of 7microm” [i.e. fiber chips cut into small pieces] , ET Page 2 Para 7 beginning “An embodiment of the fiber base material….”, lines 2--8 Para 8, beginning “The production method of the chopped sheet is…” Fig 1a )
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the method for producing a fibre composite body and the method of moulding a composite fiber part with a fibrous raw material is fibre chips made of semi-finished fibre products, and the fibre products are cut into small pieces, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method for producing a fibre composite body of Kaps and the teaching of a method of moulding a composite fiber part with a fibrous raw material that is fibre chips of Ishida, to modify the fibrous raw material of method of Kaps, such that it is a fibrous raw material is fibre chips made of semi-finished fibre products are cut into small pieces, with the motivation improve the fluidity and formability (Ishida ET Page 1, Para 4 beginning “As a fiber…” lines 2-6) during molding, the properties of noise having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kaps (first embodiment Figs 1a-1e), and Ishida, and further in view of Kaps ( third embodiment Figs 8a-c).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Kaps (first embodiment Figs 1a-1e, Para 37, 38, 41 ), and Ishida discloses the method according to claim 1, including the mould element (5), which is open to diffusion (as described in paragraph 5 of this document), and the preform structure (1).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the method of the combination of Kaps (first embodiment) and Ishida and the method (Kaps 3rd embodiment) wherein one or more functional elements are arranged, in(to) the mould element which is open to diffusion and/or in(to) the preform structure in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method of the combination of Kaps (1st embodiment) and Ishida, and the teaching of the method of Kaps (3rd embodiment) wherein one or more functional elements are arranged, in(to) the mould element which is open to diffusion and/or in(to) the preform structure of (Kaps 3rd embodiment), to modify the preform structure (1) such that acts as a functional element (like Kaps 3rd embodiment), with the motivation to provide structural reinforcement to in the mould element (Para 41, lines 1), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Kaps (first embodiment Figs 1a-1e) and Ishida discloses the method according to claim 1, including the mould element (5), which is open to diffusion (as described in paragraph 5 of this document), and the preform structure (1).
The combination of Kaps (first embodiment) and Ishida does not disclose wherein the mould element (1 “stringer”) has one or more formations for the integration of coupling load elements.
Kaps (3rd embodiment Figs 1a-1e, Para 37, 38, 41) further discloses a method wherein one or more formations for the integration of coupling load elements (1 “first sub-element, a stringer (known in the art as a longitudinal structural, load supporting, reinforcement element) stiffener elements that, Para 41).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the method the combination of Kaps (first embodiment) and Ishida and the method of Kaps (3rd embodiment) wherein the mould element has one or more formations for the integration of coupling load elements, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method of the combination of Kaps (1st embodiment) and Ishida and the teaching of the method wherein one or more formations for the integration of coupling load element of Kaps ( 3rd embodiment), to modify the preform structure (1) such that has one or more formations for the integration of coupling load elements, with the motivation to provide structural reinforcement to in the mould element (Para 41, lines 1), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 4, 10, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kaps and Ishida as applied to claim 1, 3 and 19 and further in view of US-2014/0023515-A1 to Jones (“Jones”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Kaps (1st embodiment) and Ishida discloses a method for producing a fibre composite body according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a polyimide material is added to the fibrous raw material (102, 103).
Jones further discloses a method for producing a fibre composite body (abstract lines 1-2), wherein a polyimide material is added to the fibrous raw material (Para 16-22 Para 117, line 1-3, “acting as a initiator of curing” Para 131, lines 1-5, Para 132 lines 1-3, “acting as a toughening agent” Para 133 lines 1-6, Para 134 lines 1-2, Para 136 lines 1-6, Para .
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the method for producing a fibre composite body and the method for producing a fibre composite body wherein a polyimide material is added to the fibrous raw material, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method for producing a fibre composite body of the combination of Kaps and Ishida and the teaching of a method for producing a fibre composite body, wherein a polyimide material of Jones, to modify the method of the combination of Kaps and Ishida such that the resin includes a polyimide material, (like Jones) with the motivation to enhance curing and toughening of the molded body ”(Jones: “acting as a initiator of curing” Para 131, lines 1-5 ,“acting as a toughening agent” Para 133 lines 1-6), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Kaps and Ishida discloses the method for producing a fibre composite body according to claim 1, wherein the energy input (p, T) of at least one mold (as described in paragraph 8 of this document).
The combination of Kaps and Ishida does not disclose but does not disclose wherein the energy input (p, T) comprises vacuum pressing or over-pressure pressing or a closing force of the at least one mould.
Jones discloses wherein the energy input (p, T i.e. temperature and pressure) comprises vacuum pressing (Vacuum Assisted Resin Transfer Moulding (AKA:VARTM , resin infusion, or vacuum infusion Para 2, lines 18-23; having a simultaneous ambient curing step for first and second portions Para 13, step “e”, lines 1—7; and full vacuum pressure removing entrapped air Para 73, where continues on top page 5 lines 6-8) of the at least one mould (Para 13, line 5-6; Para 75 lines 1- 2, line 1, Fig 1).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the method for producing a fibre composite body and the method wherein the energy input (p, T) comprises vacuum pressing or over-pressure pressing or a closing force of the at least one mould, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method for producing a fibre composite body of the combination of Kaps and Ishida, and the teaching of the energy input (p, T) comprises wherein the energy input (p, T) comprises vacuum pressing of the at least one mould of Jones, to modify the method of the combination of Kaps and Ishida such that it includes vacuum pressing (like Jones) with the motivation to make the moulding process be more efficient (due to the simultaneous ambient (i.e. lower temp) curing step (Para 13, step “e”, lines 1—7), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Kaps and Ishida discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein: one or more textile layers (of fibrous raw material) are integrated into the mould element (as described in paragraphs 8) which is open to diffusion (as described in paragraphs 5 of this document).
the combination of Kaps and Ishida does not disclose wherein a polyimide material is added to the fibrous raw material.
Jones further discloses a method of producing a fibre composite body (abstract lines 1-2), wherein a polyimide material (low density in micro-spheres: Para 17, line 4: Para 28 line 3, in resin: Para 30 lines 1-3, 5,7; and also in fibrous material: Para 31, line 1-3; in foam: Para 33 line 4; Claim 33) is added to the fibrous raw material (Para 2, line 2, Para 3, line 1-3, Para 12, lines 1-7,Para 50 lines 1-4, Para 59, lines 1-7).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the method for producing a fibre composite body and the method of producing a fiber composite body wherein a polyimide material is added to the fibrous raw material, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method for producing a fibre composite body of the combination of Kaps and Ishida and teaching of a method for producing a fibre composite body wherein a polyimide material is added (prior to molding) to the fibrous raw material of Jones, to modify the method of the combination of Kaps and Ishida such that the resin includes a polyimide material (of low density micro-spheres), (like Jones) with the motivation to lighten the weight of the molded body (Para 2, line 2, Para 3, line 1-3, Para 12, lines 1-7, Para 50 lines 1-4, Para 59, lines 1-7, having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Kaps, Ishida and Jones discloses method according to claim 19, wherein: the energy input (p,T i.e. pressure and temperature), takes place in multiple stages (as described in paragraph 5 of this document; specifically Kaps discloses a first stage (Fig 1b forms 1 via (p,T) 1); a second stage (implicit in Fig 1d 5 is formed without matrix; a third stage Fig 1e joins 5 to 1 via (p,T), Para 10, Para 13-16 Figs). and the energy input (p, T) comprises vacuum pressing (as described in paragraph 21 of this document) or over-pressure pressing or a closing force of the at least one mould (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/18/2025, with respect to claim 1-12, 19-21 rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) have been fully considered, in light of the amendment to claim 1 (removing the word “particular”), and are persuasive. The claim 1-12, 19-21 rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Specifically applicants arguments (a, b and c) to Kaps and Kaps in view of Ishida include:
Applicant states that the connected structure of Kaps contains a boundary layer this argument was presented in the response dated 12/09/2024, to which Examiner responded in non final dated 3/18/2025 that the argument was not persuasive. The same argument is repeated in the arguments of 06/18/2025.
Examiner responds, that the argument remains unpersuasive and suggests Applicant refer to the response in non-final and the opinion of the international search authority Applicant provided on 6/17/2022.
Applicant states that the combination modification in the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claim 21, would be “impossible”, citing a sentence in Kaps paragraph 8, Applicant stating “the short fibers would simply fall off”.
Examiner responds, that the sentence following in same paragraph 8 states, “The consolidation for example by matrix liquefaction or matrix injection and curing can also be done before mounting with the second sub-element.”, thus the dry fibers would be consolidated and cured, before mounting with second element, therefore the dry fiber would not “simply fall off”.
Applicant states that the obviousness rational of the combination modification of Kaps in view of Ishida , is one that a skilled person would not combine, because the references are non-analogous and directed to entirely different fields, because Ishida is for a printing system control method.
Examiner responds that:
Applicant is mistaken, as Ishida is for a reinforcing fiber base material and preform, i.e. a molding method with fibers, being analogous to that of Kaps.
Additionally, after the amendment of claim 1, to remove the limit “), in particular at least a part of a wheel”, it would be obvious to those skilled in the art to have combined a method of manufacturing any type of fibre composite body, which would include many possible types of bodies/components and end uses in various fields thereof.
A revised rejection (relying on Kaps and Ishida) in light of the amendments to claims 1, 7 and 22 is contained herein.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Mandel (US-20160114884-A1), Le Meur (US-20180334912-A1), Cadd (GB-2447964-B), Ducrot (WO-2017029121-A1), Denmead (CN-117885465-A), Breu (EP-2915659-B1) disclose fiber composite bodies and or methods for producing same, having fibrous raw material in the form of fiber chips made of semi-finished fiber products, cut into small pieces.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615