DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-25, in the reply filed on 10/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 26-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group of invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/03/2025.
Priority
The present application was filed as a proper National Stage (371) entry of PCT Application No. PCT/AU202/051396, filed 12/18/2020. Acknowledgment is also made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) to Application No. 2019904865, filed on 12/20/2019 in Australia.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 01/23/2023, 12/21/2023 and 08/12/2024 are considered, initialed and are attached hereto.
The information disclosure statement filed 02/20/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
See specifically, on IDS filed 02/20/2025, non-patent literature no. 5, Chinese Search Report, Application No. 20200800940646, is not provided in English and there is no concise explanation of its relevance. Non-patent literature citation No. 5 is lined through.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “0.08 siemens/m2 to about 0.6 siemens/m2”; it appears that the “2” is a typographical error and should be recited as a superscript (m2).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al., US PG Pub No. 2010/0216256A1 (IDS entered 01/23/2023).
Cheng et al. teach (see e.g., para [0010]) a biosensor (sensor for detection a bioanalyte), comprising a substrate, a pair of terminal electrodes on the substrate (see para [0010], a source electrode and a drain electrode), the pair of electrodes shown as in mutually spaced apart and opposing relation to one another (see for example Figures 1 and 9), and a non-insulating sensing element applied to the surface of the substrate between and in contact with the pair of terminal electrodes wherein the sensing element provides a conduction path between the terminal electrodes, wherein the sensing element comprises an oxygen deficient metal oxide layer and a bioanalyte binding site (see Cheng at para [0010], a functionalized nanobelt on the substrate, the nanobelt having functionalized surface linked to one or more detector molecules for binding a biological analyte, see para [0042], the nanobelt comprising an oxide such as ZnO, thereby also addressing claim 2). The device of Cheng et al. such that when a voltage is applied across the sensor, an electrical signal is generated proportional to a change in conductance of the sensing element corresponding to binding of a bioanalyte to the binding site (see as cited above, and paras [0035], Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng teach the nanobelt structural component is not longer than 100 µm, the cross section on the order of tens of nanometers (see para [0043]), given this description and the figures, and considering Cheng’s nanobelt is a nanometer sized rectangular structure, Cheng appears to anticipate the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4, Cheng is teaching metal oxide layers formed using sputtering for deposition (see for example, paras [0057], [0072]).
Regarding claims 5-7, the bioanalyte binding site of Cheng et al. is anchored to the nanobelt (the oxygen deficient metal oxide layer) via and intermediate layer, a layer produced by silanization with a silanizing agent having a terminal functionality as claimed, specifically see Cheng teach APTES (Figures 5 and 15, for example; see also para [0044], APTES with terminal NH2 active end for binding).
Regarding claims 9-12 and 14, Cheng is teaching a bioanalyte binding site that is a biomolecule (e.g., antibodies, paras [0036], [0046]-[0050], see para [0048] including antibody fragments).
Regarding claim 20, see Cheng teach contacting the sensor with sample solution (see para [0015], and also Examples, and further para [0066], Cheng teach sample solutions, such as blood or other biological fluids), applying a voltage across the sensor (see Figure 9 for example), detecting an electrical signal generated that is proportional to a change in conductance corresponding to detection of bioanalyte upon binding (para [0010], [0015], [0034]; see also para [0004]).
Regarding claim 21, see as cited above, Cheng teaches binding site that is a biomolecule (see as cited above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (cited previously above).
Although Cheng is considered to anticipate the claim, see further regarding claim 3, the claimed range of 50nm to 200µm as thickness is further obvious over the cited prior art because “on the order of tens of nanometers” encompasses a range thickness that substantially overlaps the claimed range, specifically because a cross section on the order of tens of nanometers is a range of anywhere from 10-90 nm, which falls within (and as such, addresses) the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05. Specifically, it would have been obvious to have arrived at thicknesses within the claimed range by trying from the values disclosed within the prior art range, on the order of tens of namometers (10-90nm thickness), since the prior art is teaching these dimensions as suitable for the nanobelt material of Cheng.
Regarding claim 8, although Cheng teach a biosensor substantially as claimed (see as cited in detail previously above).
Cheng does teach, semiconducting nanobelts are advantageously used in the sensors because of their small size and their electrical conductivity being sensitive to the type and concentration of molecules absorbed on their surfaces (para [0037]). Cheng et al. teach having “a suitable conductivity (or resistivity) for use in FET device (para [0042]).
Further, see Applicant’s originally filed specification at para [0084], which teaches sputtering as a way to create ZnO thin films (paras [0083]-[0084], sputtering parameters selected to engineer thin films with electrical conductivities in the range of 0.08-0.6 S/m2, the instant specification indicates this range of conductivity gives maximum sensitivities.
Cheng is teaching metal oxide layers formed using sputtering for deposition (see for example, paras [0057], [0072]).
Therefore, although Cheng fails to teach that the nanobelt material (the oxygen-deficient metal oxide layer) has a conductance that falls within the range of about 0.08-0.6 siemens/m2, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the conductance of the nanobelt material of Cheng fall within this claimed range (the claimed range considered a sensitive conductance) because Cheng is teaching the same type of metal oxide material encompassed by Applicant’s disclosed suitable materials (e.g., ZnO), and is teaching forming nanobelt materials with techniques comprising sputter deposition, which Applicant’s originally filed specification supports is responsible for conductivity with maximum sensitivity. As a result, although not specifically disclosing the same values, it would be expected that since Cheng’s device appears structurally consistent with that which is presently claimed, it would be expected that this component of the biosensor exhibit the same functional ability in terms of conductance.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. in view of Yi Toh et al., Aptamers as a replacement for antibodies in enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay, Biosensors and Bioelectronics, 64, (2015), p. 392-403 (5 pages).
Cheng et al. teach a biosensor substantially as claimed (see as cited above, for example, teaching antibody), however, fails to teach protein-binding scaffold as the capture protein (see species, at claim 13).
Yi Toh teach compared to antibodies, aptamers are smaller in size, can be easily modified, are cheaper to produce and can be generated against a wide array of target molecules (see abstract, page 5, Section 3.), see further Yi Toh teach aptamers are applicable in different sensing tools, including biosensors (see page 6).
It would have been further prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cheng et al. in order to provide aptamer as the ligand at the biosensor instead of antibody as an obvious matter of a simple substitution of one art recognized binding partner for targeting an analyte for another, one motivated to rely on an aptamers because of the advantages of aptamers over antibodies (advantages regarding size, easily modified, cheaper to produce). One having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Yi Toh teach aptamers as usable for different sensing tools, including biosensors (the device of Cheng is a biosensor device).
Claim(s) 15, 16 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. in view of Spanuth, US PG Pub No. US PG Pub No. 2006/0234300A1.
Cheng et al. teach bioanalyte binding site comprising an antibody for an antigen (see Cheng, paras [0013], [0035], [0046], [0047] detecting protein biomarkers, for example cardiac biomarker cTnI).
However, Cheng fails to teach binding site that binds IL-6 (claims 15 and 22), binding site that binds CRP (claim 16).
Spanuth et al. teach detecting biomarkers in an effort to assess cardiovascular risk in a patient with respect to administration of an anti-inflammatory drug, particularly NSAIDs or steroids (para [0002]). Spanuth teach measuring the level of markers, such as markers indicative of an inflammatory process, teaching examples of such markers include IL-6 and CRP (see para [0082]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the biosensor of Cheng et al., in order to target IL-6, and alternatively also CRP (claims 15, 16, 22 and 24), as an obvious matter of a simple substitution of one known biomarker of interest for another. In particular, the prior art (Cheng et al.) is not particularly limited to any one biomarker, the biosensor taught as applicable for detection of bioanalyte (antibody detection of an antigen), Cheng teaching as an example, a cardiovascular biomarker (cTnI). Other known biomarkers of interest include each of IL-6 and CRP, both art recognized markers indicative of inflammatory processes, one further motivated to detect either of these markers for the purpose of assessing cardiovascular risk related to administration of NSAIDs or steroids. One having ordinary skill would have found it obvious to modify the biosensor to detect either of IL-6 or CRP for the protein bioanalyte of Cheng, and the results would have been predictable (predictably achieved detection).
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because each of IL-6 and CRP are protein biomarkers of interest in the prior art, and because Cheng is not particularly limited to a particular bioanalyte (would be expected usable, based on Cheng, for detection of other targeted protein analytes).
Regarding claim 23, the claim recites “wherein the change in conductance detected in a sample solution with a concentration of IL-6 of 4 femtomolar is about 9.2%”, it is noted that the recited functional language does not appear to recite or suggest any additional structure, other than that specific to the biosensor at claim 1 (claim 20 recites the biosensor of claim 1), targeting IL-6 (claims 22). As such, the claimed limitations at claim 23 read as a natural consequence of performing the method of claims 20 and 22, for example the “wherein” clause recited at claim 23 does not recite language that limits the claim to any particular structure/structural feature, rather reads as the result observed when the device is used on a sample with 4 femtomolar IL6. Because the limitation does not impart any specific additional claimed steps/elements to the method claimed, or structure to the claimed biosensor, it appears the cited prior art addresses the claim.
Regarding claim 25, the claim similarly recites “wherein the change in conductance detected in a sample solution with a concentration of CRP of 13 femtomolar is about 12.5%”, the same reasoning as applied in detail above also applies presently. Because the limitation does not impart any specific additional claimed steps/elements to the method claimed, or structure to the claimed biosensor, it appears the cited prior art addresses the claim.
Claim(s) 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. in view of Choong et al., WO0142508A2.
Regarding claim 17 and 19, see Cheng teach a ceramic substrate (Si3N4, paras [0039], [0041], [0050] and [0054]).
Although Cheng does teach substrate material that is silicon based, such as Si3N4, Cheng does not specifically refer to the material as “silicon wafer” (claims 17 and 19); further fails to teach polymer substrate (claim 17), such as polyimide (claim 18).
Choong et al. teach solid substrate material (for supporting electrodes), including silicon wafer, ceramics, polymer such as polyimide material (e.g., see page 18, lines 13-27, page 24, lines 27 to page 25, line 4).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the Si3N4 material in the form of a silicon wafer material as an obvious matter of applying a known materials for its art recognized purpose, see specifically Choong et al., solid substrates can be made from a wide variety of materials, preferred including silicon, such as silicon wafers. Cheng et al. teach silicon based substrates, however, is silent as to whether or not that material is provided as a “silicon wafer”. Considering it was known in the art to provide, as a substrate material supporting electrodes, silicon material that is a silicon wafer, it would have been obvious to have applied the known technique of Choong to the known product of Cheng.
Additionally, the modification is considered an obvious matter to try, namely selecting from the known list of suitable materials (Choong disclosed silicon wafer as an art recognized substrate materials).
One having ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success applying a known material for its art recognized, intended purpose.
Further, regarding claims 17 and 18, for the same reasons as applied above, it would be further obvious to have modified Cheng et al. in order to provide the substrate as a polymer material, namely polyimide also as in Choong et al., this modification additionally an obvious matter of a simple substitution of one know substrate material for another, both recognized in the prior art as usable for the same purpose (both known substrate materials for supporting an electrode). As indicated above, one having ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success applying a known material for its art recognized, intended purpose.
Correspondence
/ELLEN J MARCSISIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677