DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant’s amendment filed on August 19, 2025. In particular, claim 1 which has been amended to limit the element “M” as well as narrowing the ratio of x/y. It also states that the composite oxide particles have hexagonal, tetragonal or cubic crystal structures. This combination of limitations was not present at the time of the previous office action. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al (KR 10-1182194, please see machine translation for English translation and mapping) in view of Liu, Nanocrystalline CsxWO3 particle, Materials Characterization, 84, (2013) 182-187.
Regarding claims 1-2, Son teaches a near infrared absorbing material (Abstract) particles comprising AxByOz (page 5) where A can be Cs (Examples), B is W (Examples) which is CsxWyOx (tungsten bronze). The ratios of the subscripts are as follows: 0.001 ≤ x/y ≤ 1 and 3 < z/y ≤ 5 (page 3). Son teaches that this composition is crystallized with an annealing temperature (page 5) of 400 to 800 C for 0.2 to 2 hours under inert atmosphere.
However, Son does not explicitly state that the annealing will bring up the particular crystal structures as recited.
Liu teaches that annealing tungsten oxides will bring upon the formation of hexagonal crystal structure (page 183) at 600-900 C for 1 hour under nitrogen atmosphere.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the composite tungsten oxide of Son have the hexagonal crystal structure after annealing as taught by Liu. It would have been nothing more than using a known crystallization annealing method in a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. _, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 4, Son teaches that the particle size is from 10 to 50 nm (page 6, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, modified Son teaches that the hexagonal crystal structure has lattice constants of a=7.404 and c=7.609 (Liu, third paragraph of results and discussion).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al (KR 10-1182194, please see machine translation for English translation and mapping) in view of Liu, Nanocrystalline CsxWO3 particle, Materials Characterization, 84, (2013) 182-187 and Suzuki et al (US 2010/0220388).
The discussion regarding Son and Liu in paragraph 4 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 6, Son fails to teach that the surface of the particles is coated with a compound containing one or more elements selected from Si, Ti, Zr and Al.
Suzuki teaches tungsten oxide which is coated with Si, Ti, Zr or Al ([0130]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coat the particles of modified Son with the Si, Ti, Zr or Al of Suzuki. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of improving weather resistance (Suzuki, [0130]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 19, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Kumagai and Yoshio do not teach the recited particles.
Examiner’s response: These references are no longer used in the above rejections and therefore, applicant’s arguments with regard to these references are considered moot.
Applicant’s argument: Liu does not teach the recited particles.
Examiner’s response: Liu is no longer used as a primary reference. Son is used as the primary reference which teaches the chemical formula of the recited particle. Liu is used as a secondary reference to teach the formation of the hexagonal crystal structure upon annealing of the particles.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764