DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the claims directed to an optoelectronic device and the embodiment of Figs 2-3 in the reply filed on 02/20/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant indicated that claims 1-12, 26-38 read on the elected embodiment. The examiner disagrees and points out that claims 11, 12, 30 and 35 do not read on the elected embodiment for the following reasons:
Claim 11 discloses a limitation “an inter-diffused material layer formed at an interface between two other layers, wherein the two other layers comprises a first material and a second material that is metallic and is different from the first material.” This limitation is not disclosed in the description of the embodiment of Figs 2-3.
Claim 12 is dependent on claim 11.
New claim 30 discloses a limitation “a layer of an intermetallic compound formed between the first spacer and the first opto-mechanical component as a product of attaching the first opto-mechanical component to the base using the first solder layer in a presence of the first spacer.” This limitation is not disclosed in the description of the embodiment of Figs 2-3.
New claim 35 discloses a limitation “an emitter attached to the fiber mount.” This limitation is not disclosed in the description of the embodiment of Figs 2-3.
Accordingly, claims 11, 12, 30 and 35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
The new claims disclose limitations “the first set of spacers and the second set of spacers”, there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations, since claims 1 and 26 on which they depend do not disclose a set of spacers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masumoto et al. (2010/0314745) found in IDS, hereinafter ‘745.
Regarding claim 1, Figs 3-4 of ‘745 disclose a device comprising:
1. “a base [PCB ceramic substrate 38] with a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE); and
an opto-mechanical component [copper pillar 34, semiconductor die 32] with a second CTE attached to a surface of the base via a solder layer [44], and
wherein a spacer [42,40] is disposed within the solder layer [44] to attach the opto-mechanical component to the base.”
The limitation “optical device” has been considered, but not given a patentable weight since it only appears in the preamble. Coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) is an inherent characteristic of every material.
Regarding claims 2-4, 6-10, 36-38, Figs 3-4 of ‘745 further disclose:
2. “wherein the first CTE and the second CTE differ by greater than a threshold amount.” PCB ceramic substrate and copper pillar will inherently have different CTEs, “threshold amount” is not defined by the claim and can be considered to be any value.
3. “wherein the opto-mechanical component [32,34] includes at least one of: a fiber mount, a carrier, a prism, a lens, a waveguide device, a metal layer [copper pillar 34], or a chip-on-submount (CoS) [semiconductor die 32].”
4. “wherein opposing surfaces of the base [top of 38] and the opto-mechanical component [bottom of pillar 34, bottom of die 32] are substantially parallel.” See Fig 4
6. “wherein a spacing between the base [38] and the opto-mechanical component [34] is based on a thickness of the spacer [42,40].” See Fig 4.
7. “wherein the spacer [42,40] includes at least one of: gold, nickel, aluminum, or dielectric [gold].”
8. “wherein the spacer [42,40] is independent of the base [38] and the opto-mechanical component [34].” See Fig 3.
9. “wherein the spacer [42,40] is a pillar structure attached to or formed from a portion of the base [38] or the opto-mechanical component.” See Fig 3.
10. “wherein a plurality of discrete spacer sections [42,40], of the spacer, form a plurality of attachment points between the base [38] and the opto-mechanical component [32].” See Fig 4
36. “wherein the solder layer [44] is associated with less than a threshold thickness.” The value of “threshold thickness” is not specified by the claim and can be any value.
37. “wherein a thickness of the solder layer [44] corresponds to a thickness of the spacer [42,40].” See Fig 4.
38. “wherein the base [38] is disposed against a first surface [bottom] of the spacer [42,40], and
wherein the opto-mechanical component [34] is disposed against a second surface [top] of the spacer [42,40].”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 26-29, 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘745 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyokawa et al. (2019/0372303) found in IDS, hereinafter ‘303.
Regarding claim 5, Figs 3-4 of ‘745 disclose a device as described above, but do not disclose:
5. “wherein a thickness of the solder layer is less than or equal to 10 micrometers.”
However, paragraph 0020 discloses the height of the spacer 42 to be 10-20 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the thickness of the spacer and the solder layer to less than or equal to 10 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 26-28, Figs 3-4 of ‘745 disclose a device as described above, but do not disclose one of the components to be a fiber mount and the other component to be a CoS with an emitter.
However, such devices are well known in the art as evidenced by Fig 1 of ‘303, which discloses a CoS 18 with an emitter 20 and a fiber mount 28 attached to the base 16. ‘303 does not disclose the how the elements 18, 28 are attached to the base 16. ‘745 discloses that using a spacer and a solder to attach two elements to each other is advantageous for the purpose of avoiding short circuiting between contacts and providing effective solder volume control, see Figs 2 and 4 of ‘745.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of ‘745 into the device of ‘303 by using the spacer and solder attachment style to attach a CoS with an emitter and fiber mount to the base, since the combination would yield the predictable result of avoiding electrical short circuit between the contacts.
Thus, the claimed invention would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because “all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Combination of ‘303 and ‘745 discloses:
26. “a base [16] with a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE); and
an opto-mechanical component [28] with a second CTE attached to a surface of the base via a solder layer [44 of ‘745], and
wherein a spacer [42,40 of ‘745] is disposed within the solder layer [44 of ‘745] to attach the opto-mechanical component to the base.”
“wherein the opto-mechanical component includes a fiber mount [28],
wherein the first CTE [of the base 16] and the second CTE [of the fiber mount 28] differ by greater than a threshold amount,
wherein the optical device further comprises a chip-on-submount (CoS) [18] with a third CTE attached to the surface of the base [16] via a second solder layer [44 of ‘745],
wherein the first CTE [of the base 16] and the third CTE [of the CoS 18] differ by greater than the threshold amount, and
wherein a second spacer [42,40 of ‘745] is disposed within the second solder layer to attach the CoS [18] to the base [16].” The value of “threshold amount” is not specified by the claim and can be any value.
27. “wherein spacers [42,40 of ‘745] of the first set of spacers and the second set of spacers are formed from a gold material.”
28. “wherein spacers [42,40 of ‘745] of the first set of spacers and the second set of spacers are cylindrically shaped.”
Regarding claim 29, 31-34, combination of ‘745 and ‘303 disclose an optical device as described above, but do not disclose two sets of CoS emitters with corresponding optical fibers within the same device.
However, the examiner takes an official notice that devices with CoS emitters and fibers arrayed on the same base are well known in the art and only constitute multiplication of existing parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add a second combination of CoS emitter and fiber configured in the same way as the first one and attached to the base in the same way using spacers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Combination of ‘303 and ‘745 discloses:
29. “a base [16] with a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE); and
an opto-mechanical component [18] with a second CTE attached to a surface of the base via a solder layer [44 of ‘745], and
wherein a spacer [42,40 of ‘745] is disposed within the solder layer [44 of ‘745] to attach the opto-mechanical component to the base.”
“wherein the opto-mechanical component [18] is a first opto-mechanical component,
wherein the solder layer is a first solder layer [44 of ‘745],
wherein the spacer is a first spacer [42,40 of ‘745],
wherein the optical device further comprises a second opto-mechanical component [second CoS 18] with a third CTE [third CTE same as second CTE] attached to the surface of the base [16] via a second solder layer [44 of ‘745], and
wherein a second spacer [42,40 of ‘745] is disposed within the second solder layer [44 of ‘745] to attach the second opto-mechanical component [second CoS 18] to the base [16].”
31. “further comprising: a first emitter [20] attached to the first opto-mechanical component [18]; and
a second emitter [second emitter 20] attached to the second opto-mechanical
component [second CoS 18].”
32. “wherein an alignment tolerance for the first emitter [20] and the second emitter [second emitter 20] is less than a threshold amount.” The value of “threshold amount” is not specified by the claim and can be any value.
33. “wherein the first CTE and the second CTE differ by greater than a threshold amount, and
wherein the first CTE and the third CTE differ by greater than the threshold amount.” PCB ceramic substrate and copper pillars will inherently have different CTEs, “threshold amount” is not defined by the claim and can be considered to be any value.
34. “wherein the first opto-mechanical component is a first device sub-assembly that includes a first chip-on-submount (CoS) assembly [first 18] and a first fiber mount [first 28], and
wherein the second opto-mechanical component is a second device sub-assembly that includes a second chip-on-submount (CoS) assembly [second 18] and a second fiber mount [second 28].”
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant’s attention is drawn to the references cited on form PTO-892 which lists other references with similar features as the invention. However, none of them anticipate all the features of the pending claims.
Contact Info
/M. A. Golub-Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828