DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claim set and Applicant’s remarks filed September 11, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-11 are canceled. Claims 12-22 are new. Thus, claims 12-22 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Interpretation
The recitation of:
(i) Claim 12, lines 1-2 and Claim 20, lines 1-2 recite “for aiding weight loss in the therapeutic treatment of excess weight, in the prevention and/or treatment of obesity and morbid obesity of a subject”; and
(ii) Claim 12, lines 6-10 and Claim 20, lines 7-10, recite “being intended to be used in a process which comprises at least one step of administering an effective quantity of said injectable composition to said subject into the submucosa of the gastrointestinal tract during an endoscopic procedure in order to obtain a long-lasting elevation of the mucosa for at least 3 hours.
(iii) Claim 21, lines 1-2, recite “for increasing the feeling of satiety, for limiting the feeling of hunger, or for managing excess fat of a subject; wherein said composition in lines 6-9 recite, “being intended to be used in a process which comprises at least one step of administering an effective quantity of said injectable composition to said subject into the submucosa of the gastrointestinal tract during an endoscopic procedure in order to obtain a long-lasting elevation of the mucosa for at least 3 hours”.
Thus, by meeting the structural limitations of either claim 12, claim 20 or claim 21 the intended uses of recitations (i)-(iii) as discussed above will be fulfilled. As MPEP 2111.02 states “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”.
In addition, the recitation of:
(iv) Claim 13 which recites “wherein in an ex vivo model of pork belly mucosa, after injection of said composition into the submucosa of the intestinal tract, at least 50% of the height of the initial elevation of the mucosa is still present 14 hours after injection”; the Examiner reasonably interprets this limitation to be a consequence of administering the recite injectable composition of claim 12.
Thus, when meeting the structural limitations of the injectable composition required in claim 12, the functional limitation of (iv) as discussed above will be fulfilled.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
With respect to the objections and/or rejections mailed in the non-final office action on December 26, 2024:
All objections and rejections recited in the non-final discussed above are withdrawn in view of Applicant canceling claims 1-11 as discussed in the Claim Status section above.
New Claim Objections
Claims 12, 14, 17 and 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12, line 5; Claim 20, line 6 and Claim 21, line 5 each recite the phrase “said injectable composition having a viscosity comprised between 0.01 Pa.s and 40 Pa.s. The Examiner respectfully notes the word “comprised” within this context is inappropriate as the viscosity is a physical characteristic of the polymer chosen among polysaccharides and polysaccharide derivatives as evidenced by Applicant reciting “said injectable composition having a viscosity”. Thus, to promote clarity the Examiner suggests deleting the word “comprised” within each claim as discussed above.
Claim 12, line 6; Claim 20, line 7 and Claim 21, line 6 each recite “said injectable composition being intended to be used” which is missing the transitional word “and” immediately before the phrase “said injectable composition”. Thus, to promote clarity the Examiner suggests inserting the word “and” as discussed above.
Claim 14, lines 1-2, recite “said polymer selected from” which is inconsistent with the recitation of the phrase “at least one polymer chosen among” in lines 3-4 of claim 12, from which claim 14 depends. Thus, to promote clarity the Examiner suggests replacing the “selected from” in line 1 and line 3 of claim 14 with the phrase “chosen among”.
Claim 17, line 3, recites a superfluous “and” between the phrase “hyaluronic acid” and the word “having”. Thus, to promote clarity the Examiner suggests deleting the word “and” as discussed above.
Appropriate correction is required.
New Claim Rejections
The following are new ground(s) or modified rejections necessitated by Applicant's amendment, filed on September 11, 2025, where the limitations in pending claims 1-11 have been canceled and claims 12-22 have been newly added. Therefore, rejections from the previous Office Action, dated December 26, 2024, have been withdrawn as discussed in the Withdrawn Objections and Rejections section above.
35 USC § 102
(I) Claims 12-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DiLuccio et al. (Published 03 March 2017, US-20170056561-A1, PTO-892).
Regarding claims 12-16 and 21, DiLuccio teaches a hyaluronic acid hydrogel preparation formulated with taurolidine in aqueous solutions of hyaluronic acid (e.g. the polysaccharide, required in claim 12, line 4, claim 14, line 2 and claim 21, line 4), crosslinked with 1,4-butanediol diglycidyl ether (BDDE) (e.g. said polymer is crosslinked, required in claim 12, line 6 and claim 21, line 5), where three concentrations of taurolidine were prepared including 6% taurolidine, see paragraph [0119].
DiLuccio teaches formulation 13079-12 in Tables 1 and 3 which correspond to a 6% taurolidine formulation comprising high-molecular weight (HMW) hyaluronic acid, see pg. 10, Table 1.
DiLuccio teaches formulation 13079-12 exhibited a viscosity of 6.68 Pa·s (e.g. the viscosity, required in claim 12, line 5 and claim 21, line 5), see pg. 11, Table 3.
DiLuccio teaches high-molecular weight hyaluronic acid (HMW) includes molecular weights of 750 kDa – 1.0 MDa, see paragraph [0119]. DiLuccio teaches more preferably the hyaluronic acid has a molecular weight of at least 1 million Da or more (e.g. 1000 kDa) (e.g. the molecular weights of hyaluronic acid, required in claims 15-16), see paragraph [0015].
The Examiner respectfully notes when the hyaluronic acid has a molecular weight of 1,000,000 Daltons (e.g. 1,000 kDa) as taught by DiLuccio above, it would read on the at least one polymer having a molecular weight of greater than 800 kDa as required in instant claim 15 and having a molecular weight between 900 and 4000 kDa, required in instant claim 16.
DiLuccio teaches the composition can be formulated as an injectable formulation (e.g. the injectable composition, required in claim 12, line 1 and claim 21, line 1), see paragraph [0051].
DiLuccio teaches solvents that can be used to solubilize hyaluronic acid include water, saline or other salt solutions and buffer solutions (e.g. phosphate buffered saline) (e.g. isotonic saline solution, required in claim 12, line 3 and claim 21, line 3), see paragraph [0056].
DiLuccio teaches the components and/or the resulting novel compositions can be sterilized prior to use, (e.g. the sterile isotonic saline solution, required in claim 12, line 3).
Thus, the teachings of DiLuccio as discussed above anticipate instant claims 12-16 and 21.
(II) Claims 12-16, 19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bourdon et al. (Published 05 February 2015, US-20150038457-A1, PTO-892).
Regarding claims 12-16, 19 and 21-22, Bourdon teaches an injectable composition (e.g. the composition, required in claim 12, line 1 and claim 21, line 1) comprising at least hyaluronic acid or a salt thereof and an effective amount of at least mepivacaine or a salt thereof (e.g. the anesthetic agent, required in claim 19), see abstract.
Bourdon teaches the hyaluronic acid optionally has an average molecular weight ranging from 50,000 to 10,000,000 Daltons, and may be crosslinked hyaluronic acids (e.g. the polymer, required in claim 12, line 4 and line 6, claim 14 and claim 21, line 4 and line 5), see abstract; and is preferably ranging from 500,000 to 4,000,000 Daltons, see paragraph [0051].
The Examiner respectfully notes when the hyaluronic acid taught by Bourdon above has a molecular weight of 4,000,000 Daltons (e.g. 4,000 kDa) as discussed above it would read on the at least one polymer having a molecular weight of greater than 800 kDa as required in instant claim 15 and having a molecular weight between 900 and 4000 kDa, required in instant claim 16.
Bourdon teaches the composition may have a complex viscosity of between about 5 Pa·s and about 450 Pa·s when measured at about 1 Hz, see paragraph 0150].
The Examiner respectfully notes when the composition has a complex viscosity of 5 Pa·s as taught by Bourdon above this viscosity will read on the viscosity of the composition as recited in instant claim 12, line 5 and instant claim 21, line 5.
Bourdon teaches the composition may further comprise at least a balanced salt solution, see paragraph [0131]; wherein Bourdon exemplifies a phosphate buffered saline as the balanced salt solution (e.g. the isotonic saline solution, required in claim 12, line 3 and claim 21, line 3).
Bourdon teaches the composition is both sterile and injectable (i.e. the sterile isotonic saline solution, required in claim 12, line 3 and claim 21, line 3), see paragraph [0114].
Bourdon teaches when the hyaluronic acid is crosslinked, said crosslinked hyaluronic acid has preferably a degree of modification ranging from 0.1 to 20%, preferably 0.4 to 10%, see paragraph [0067].
The Examiner respectfully notes when said crosslinked hyaluronic acid of Bourdon has a degree of modification of 10% or 20% as discussed above, the teachings of Bourdon read on the degree of crosslinking as recited in instant claim 22.
Thus, the teachings of Bourdon as discussed above anticipate instant claims 12-16, 19 and 21-22.
35 USC § 103
Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morales Molina et al. (Published 14 November 2018, EP-3400930-A1, IDS filed 06/14/2022) in view of Miyamoto et al. (Published 03 March 2011, US-20110053885-A1, PTO-892).
Regarding claims 12-22, Morales Molina teaches a composition comprising the following steps:
1) mixing a gel of a water-soluble polymer derived from cellulose (e.g. a polysaccharide derivative, required in claim 12, line 4; claim 20, line 5; and claim 21, line 4); having a viscosity of 3,000 to 5,000 mPa*s (e.g. 3 to 5 Pa·s) (e.g. the viscosity, required in claim 12, line 5; claim 20, line 6; and claim 21, line 5); in a 2% aqueous solution with an aqueous solvent; wherein Morales Molina exemplifies the 2% aqueous solution to be physiological saline (e.g. a sterile isotonic solution, required in claim 12, line 3; claim 20, line 4; and claim 21, line 3), see paragraph [0056];
2) mixing the solution obtained in step a) with hyaluronic acid, the Examiner reasonably interprets the hyaluronic acid in the composition of Morales Molina to be linear hyaluronic acid, required in claim 4, line 4; and
3) optionally, a dye (e.g. a coloring agent, required in claim 19, line 3) and/or one or more active ingredients or excipients is incorporated during step a) or after obtaining said composition in a). See paragraph [0018].
Morales Molina exemplifies the composition (preferably pharmaceutical solution) comprises or consists of: 0.0001% to 5% hyaluronic acid (e.g. the concentration of hyaluronic acid, required in claim 18); 0.005% to 2% sodium carboxymethylcellulose; fructose or inulin, qsf pH: 5-6; physiological saline, qsf; optionally, 0.0001-0.01% epinephrine; optionally, a dye (0.01-0.1 ml, preferably 0.05 ml, of a 0.1 to 5% solution) (e.g. the coloring agent, required in claim 19), see paragraph [0073].
Morales Molina teaches the hyaluronic acid can be of high or low molecular weight, wherein Morales Molina exemplifies hyaluronic acid of high molecular weight to be chains of said polysaccharide of more than 1,000 kDa and a molecular weight less than 1000 kDa are usually considered low molecular weight hyaluronic acid, see paragraph [0042].
Morales Molina teaches the compositions for use preferably as a lubricant in the treatment of syndromes or diseases affecting the joints, see paragraph [0022]. Morales Molina teaches said composition is a pharmaceutical composition formulated to be compatible with the selected administration route, for example injections by the parenteral route such as and including the intraarticular route, see paragraph [0093].
Morales Molina teaches a kit is further provided (e.g. the kit, required in claim 20), said kit comprising one or more containers containing the composition (preferably pharmaceutical solution) of the invention, and optionally, instructions for the use thereof, see paragraph [0028].
Although, Morales Molina does not teach (a) the composition comprises the first and second saline solutions, required in claim 17; (b) the kit comprises a catheter-type device, required in claim 20; and (c) wherein said polymer is crosslinked, required in claims 12, 15-17 and 20-22.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hyaluronic acid compositions, with respect to limitation (b), Morales Molina teaches the solution was administered with B/BRAUN OmnifixR 10 mL Luer-Lock syringes, which were coupled to a catheter measuring 200 to 240 cm in length with a 23-gauge endoscopic injection needle, when administering the composition of the invention, see paragraph [0144].
Additionally, the Examiner respectfully notes MPEP 2144.06(I) states “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)”.
With respect to limitations (a) and (c), Miyamoto teaches an injection solution for intra-articular administration for treating an arthritic disorder comprising a cross-linked hyaluronic acid (HA) derivative wherein part of the functional groups of a hyaluronic acid are cross-linked with a cross-linking group to the extent of 0.6% to 15% of cross-linking based on a total number of disaccharide units of hyaluronic acid as an active ingredient in such an amount that shows a long-lasting analgesic effect or a long-continuing analgesic effect, see paragraph [0008], paragraph [1].
Miyamoto teaches the injection solution described in [1], wherein the cross-linked hyaluronic acid has the following characteristics, see pg. 2, left column, paragraph #[10]; wherein the hyaluronic acid weight average molecular weight is from 500,000 to 2,500,000, see paragraph [0009]; and has a degree of cross-linking in the cross-linked hyaluronic acid derivative from 10% to 30% and the concentration of the solution of the cross-linked hyaluronic acid derivative is from 0.7% by weight to 2.0 % by weight, see paragraph [0013].
Miyamoto teaches an aqueous medium used for a solution of the cross-linked HA derivative as a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, and exemplifying water, physiological saline and phosphate buffered saline, see paragraph [0064].
The Examiner reasonably interprets the weight average molecular weight of hyaluronic acid as taught by Miyamoto above is measured in Daltons as evidenced by Morales Molina above.
With respect to recitations (i)-(iv) discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, the Examiner reasonably interprets recitations (i)-(iii) as intended uses; and recitation (iv) as a consequences of administering the injectable composition of claim 12. Thus, recitations (i)-(iv) would be met by the composition taught by the combination of Morales Molina and Miyamoto, as Morales Molina and Miyamoto meets all structural limitations recited in claims 12 and 20-21; and Morales Molina and Miyamoto teach their respective solutions for use in intraarticular injection as discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have incorporated limitations (a)-(c) into the teachings of Morales Molina above by including the crosslinked hyaluronic acid as taught by Miyamoto into the composition or kit as taught by Morales Molina as within the scope of the artisan as combining prior art elements according to known compositions to yield predictable results.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to create a composition for use as a lubricant in the treatment of syndromes or diseases affecting the joints as taught by Morales Molina; in particular incorporating the crosslinked hyaluronic acid solution of Miyamoto above into the solution as taught by Morales Molina above or as a separate solution as required in limitation (a) above, as Miyamoto teaches said crosslinked hyaluronic acid as an active ingredient in such an amount shows a long-lasting analgesic effect or a long-continuing analgesic effect as discussed above.
One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success to have included limitations (a)-(c) into the composition or kit as taught by Morales Molina above, as both Morales Molina and Miyamoto are drawn to injectable pharmacological solutions containing hyaluronic acids and physiological saline with overlapping molecular weights and concentrations for use in treatment of syndromes or diseases affecting the joints through intraarticular administration.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARET J CREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691