Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-3, 5 and 8, these claims recite the term “sylectogram” which appears to be misspelled. It appears that “sylectogram” should be changed to --syllectogram--.
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any additional errors of which applicant become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, this claim recites a method for the analysis of a liquid with suspended bodies and further recites a container element containing whole or conditioned blood. Claim 1 further recites the feature of obtaining, from the information connected to the blood, elasticity of the suspended. It is unclear what constitutes the relation between the liquid with suspended bodies and the whole or conditioned blood. Clarification is required.
In addition, this claim recites a means for removing and delivering a desired quantity of blood and a duct connected to the measurement window. It should be noted that no relation between the means for removing and delivering and the duct has been given. It is, however, essential in order for the blood to be sent to the measurement window, and thus for the definition of the invention, that the means and duct be in relation. Clarification is required.
Also, the phrase of “said duct” of line 6 lacks a proper antecedent basis. Further, it is unclear what is meant by the phrase of “said duct and said bubbles not interacting with the blood” of line 6. It appears that there is some interactions between the duct, bubbles and blood, at least due to the containment of the blood by the duct and bubbles. Clarification is required.
Furthermore, this claim recites the phrase of “said duct is calibrated”, but it is unclear what is meant by this phrase. How and in what manner is the duct calibrated? Clarification is required.
The phrase of “the information” of line 9 lacks a proper antecedent basis.
In addition, claim 1 recites that “the processor generating on each occasion a connected sylectorgram” (emphasis added). It is unclear what is meant by “each occasion” and how an occasion is defined (i.e. is it time, a specific blood?). Clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites a method for the analysis of a liquid with suspended bodies. However, it appears that said method does not disclose any method step. Rather, it appears that claim 1 is only described as using a device/system comprising a container element, a means for removing and delivering, a duct, a measurement window, a photometer and a processor. This renders claim 1 unclear. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 2, this claim recites a method for the analysis of specific blood as in claim 1. However, claim 1 discloses a method for the analysis of a liquid with suspended bodies. This inconsistency renders claim 2 unclear and clarification is required.
Claim 2 also recites the phrase of “the ESR” in line 2 which lacks a proper antecedent basis. Also, it is unclear what is meant by ESR as it has not been defined beforehand. Furthermore, it is unclear how and in what manner the ESR is obtained since claim 1 doesn’t disclose anything related to ESR.
Furthermore, claim 2 recites that ESR is obtained by measuring an area subtended by part of the syllectogram, which is unclear. Firstly, such reference to an area subtended by part of the syllectogram can only apply if the syllectogram contains the parametric information processed in geometric form. It is unclear how an area beneath part of the syllectogram can be defined in analytical form. Secondly the description only describes that the erythro sedimentation rate is obtained by measuring the area beneath the transmittance curve from the moment when redistribution of the red blood cells has completed and the red blood cells have resumed their natural disc form (or from the moment the blood is completely stopped) to the moment the flow of the liquid is restarted. It is unclear how the sedimentation could be linked to another part of the syllectogram as it has to be linked to a moment where the red blood cells are allowed to sediment. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 3, this claim recites that the viscosity is obtained by subtracting from the time measured in correspondence with a line of formation of the syllectogram, the time measured in correspondence with a line of the same syllectogram, which is unclear. It is unclear how said lines are defined. The description only describes
that the viscosity is obtained by subtracting from the time at which the flow is stopped (and which is the beginning of the moment when the blood stops completely and the red blood cells redistribute and resume their disc shape) the time at which the blood is completely stopped (and at which redistribution of the red blood cell has completed and the red blood cells have resumed their natural disc form). It is unclear how the viscosity could be linked to another part of the syllectogram. The description and drawings only describe linking the viscosity to this particular part of the syllectogram. This clarification is required.
Regarding claim 4, this claim recites that the elasticity of the red blood cells is obtained by multiplying the interval between the positions and of the syllectogram by a factor comprised between 120 and 130. However, it is unclear how the claimed “the positions” are defined. Furthermore, this phrase lacks a proper antecedent basis. It appears that positions 32 and 43 of figure 2 can be explicitly defined as disclosed in the specification. The description describes that the elasticity of the red blood cells is obtained by multiplying the interval which defines the time required for the red blood cells to resume the disc form, which starts when the flow is stopped and ends when the blood stops completely. The clarification is required.
In addition, the phrase “the red blood cells” of lines 2-3 lacks a proper antecedent basis. Also, the phrase “the interval” of line 3 lacks a proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 5, this claim recites that the hematocrit is obtained by using the time measured in correspondence with the line of the syllectogram.
However, it is unclear how the claimed “time measured in correspondence with the line” is defined. Furthermore, the phrase “the line” lacks a proper antecedent basis. It appears that line 43 of figure 2 can be explicitly defined as disclosed in the specification. The description describes that the hematocrit is obtained by using the time at which the blood is completely stopped (and at which redistribution of the red blood cell has completed and the red blood cells have resumed their natural disc form) The clarification is required.
Regarding claim 6, this claim recites that the density of the red blood cells is obtained using the value, which is unclear. More particularly, it is unclear what constitutes the claimed “value”. It appears that the recited value refers to a value of the hematocrit which is claimed in claim 5. However, the amended claim now depends on claim 1, instead of claim 5 so that it is unclear how the density of red blood cells can be obtained using the value of the hematocrit as no value of the hematocrit has been obtained beforehand. It appears that claim 6 should thus necessarily be written as dependent on claim 5.
In addition, even if claim 6 is amended to be dependent on claim 5, the phrase “the value” lacks a proper antecedent basis. Also, the phrase “the red blood cells” lacks a proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 7, this claim recites that the hemoglobin is obtained on the basis of the time measured at the line of the syllectogram. However, it is unclear how the claimed “time measured with the line” is defined. Furthermore, the phrase “the line” lacks a proper antecedent basis. It appears that line 43 of figure 2 can be explicitly defined as disclosed in the specification. The description describes that hemoglobin is obtained on the basis of the time at which the blood is completely stopped (and at which redistribution of the red blood cell has completed and the red blood cells have resumed their natural disc form). The clarification is required.
Regarding claim 8 recites that the anemia factor is obtained using the time measured in correspondence with the line (43) of the syllectogram. However, it is unclear how the claimed “time measured in correspondence with the line” is defined. Furthermore, the phrase “the line” lacks a proper antecedent basis. It appears that line 43 of figure 2 can be explicitly defined as disclosed in the specification. The description describes that anemia factor is obtained using the time at which the blood is completely stopped (and at which redistribution of the red blood cell has completed and the red blood cells have resumed their natural disc form). The clarification is required.
Claim 8 further discloses using “the decay time of the calibration liquid”, which is unclear and lacks a proper antecedent basis. No delay time nor a calibration liquid have been defined beforehand. Moreover, it is unclear what is meant by a decay time and how it is defined. No clarification of this feature was found in the description. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 9, this claim 9 discloses that “the aggregation factor is obtained by multiplying the integral of the area of the syllectogram”. Firstly, such reference to an area of the syllectogram can only apply if the syllectogram contains the parametric information processed in geometric form (see figure 2). It is unclear how an area of the syllectogram can be defined in analytical form. Secondly, it is unclear how the claimed phrase “the integral of the area” is defined. Furthermore, the phrase “the ingetral of the area” lacks a proper antecedent basis. It appears that the area (37) of the syllectogram in figure 2 can be explicitly defined as disclosed in the specification. The description describes that the aggregation factor is obtained by multiplying the integral of the area beneath the transmittance curve from the moment when redistribution of the red blood cells has completed and the red blood cells have resumed their natural disc form (or from the moment the blood is completely stopped) to the moment the flow of liquid is restarted. The clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Galiano (WO 2019/202621 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as far as the claim is understood, Galiano discloses a method for the analysis of a liquid with suspended bodies (page 1, lines 5-7; page 4, lines 14-19), stressed by forces, said method using at least one test-tube container element (22, figure 1) containing whole or conditioned blood (page 10, line 21), said container being advantageously present in a distributor (21, figure 1), a mean for removing and delivering a desired quantity of said blood in a controlled manner (11, figure 1; page 10, lines 18-21), said desired quantity being preceded and followed by a separator bubble (page 15, lines 17-27; page 17, lines 16-21; page 19, lines 26-28), said duct and said bubbles not interacting with the blood (Galiano discloses that the pipe is made of Teflon which is hydro repellent [page 10, line 4] and air bubbles [page 17, lines 16-21] as also described in the application which describes a water-repellent duct [page 9, lines 17 and 32] and air bubbles [page 10, line 30]), said duct being connected to a measurement window (figures 1-4; page 5, lines 2-10 and 29-32) where said duct is calibrated (page 6, lines 14-22; page 7, lines 5-11 and page 16, lines 12-14), said measurement window being associated with a photometer (16, 17, figure 1; page 10, lines 11-13) cooperating with a processor (18, 20, figure 1; page 10, lines, 14-17) for processing the information detected by the photometer, said blood remaining in the measurement window for a predetermined and controlled period of time (page 20, line 32 - page 21, line 6; page 22, lines 1-6; figure 5), the processor generating on each occasion a connected syllectogram containing parametric information supplied by the photometer (page 22, lines 1-3, 16-21 and 24-26; figure 5) which is processed in geometric form and/or analytical form, said parametric information connected to the specific blood is processed on the basis of specific algorithms configured to obtain one or more of the following factors: Viscosity; Elasticity of the suspended bodies; Density of the liquid; Hematocrit value; Hemoglobin; Anemia factor and Aggregation factor (page 9, line 33 - page 10, line 2; page 12, lines 24-31; page 14, lines 3-5; page 16, line 32 - page 17, line 8; page 22, lines 4-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galiano (WO 2019/202621 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, as far as the claim is understood, Galiano discloses determining the erythrocyte sedimentation rate (ESR) by correlating it to the kinetics of aggregation of red cells itself expressed from point C to point D in figure 5 (page 22, lines 4-21) which correspond to the start point and the end point of the area defined in claim 2. Galiano discloses thus correlating the ESR and the aggregation of red cells from the same part of the syllectogram as disclosed in claims 2 and 9. Using the factors as defined in claims 2 and 9 is thus merely one of several straightforward possibilities from which the skilled person would select, in accordance with circumstances, without the exercise of inventive skill, when doing the correlations. Thus, the specific factor utilized would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the needs of particular application and involving only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, as far as the claim is understood, Galiano discloses that the part between point B and point C corresponds to the redistribution of red blood cells (shape recovery) (page 21, line 29 - page 22, line 3). It is well-known that the time course of shape recovery is a function of the elastic and viscous properties of the red blood cells. It would thus be obvious for the skilled person to determine the viscosity and the elasticity for the time between points B and C (which is the time of redistribution/shape recovery). Using the factors as defined in claims 3 and 4 is thus merely one of several straightforward possibilities from which the skilled person would select, in accordance with circumstances, without the exercise of inventive skill, when doing the correlations/calculations. Thus, the specific factor utilized would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the needs of particular application and involving only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galiano (WO 2019/202621 A1) in view of Ciotti et al (WO 2008/012276 A1).
Regarding claims 5-7, as far as the claim is understood, it is known from Ciotti et al that point C (figure 1, which corresponds to point C, figure 1 in Galiano) can be correlated to the hematocrit and hemoglobin (page 6, lines 16-18). It is further well-known that since the hematocrit is the ratio of the volume of red blood cells to whole blood volume, the density of blood has a linear relationship to the hematocrit. Using the factors as defined in claims 5-7 is thus merely one of several straightforward possibilities from which the skilled person would select, in accordance with circumstances, without the exercise of inventive skill, when doing the correlations/calculations. Thus, the specific factor utilized would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the needs of particular application and involving only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galiano (WO 2019/202621 A1) in view of Galiano et al (WO 2007/128684 A1).
Regarding claim 8, as far as the claim is understood, it is known from Galiano et al that the anemia factor can be obtained using the time at the point P (which corresponds to point C in Galiano) (page 9, lines 5-10; figure 2; claim 3). Using the factors as defined in claim 8 is thus merely one of several straightforward possibilities from which the skilled person would select, in accordance with circumstances, without the exercise of inventive skill, when doing the correlations/calculations. Thus, the specific factor utilized would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the needs of particular application and involving only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galiano (US 9,494,507 B2) in view of Gable et al (US 8,936,755 B2).
Regarding claim 1, as far as the claim is understood, Galiano discloses a method for the analysis of a liquid with suspended bodies (col.1, lines 8-11), stressed by forces, said method using at least one test-tube container element (22, figure 2) containing whole or conditioned blood (col.7, lines 3-6), said container being advantageously present in a distributor (21, figure 2), a mean for removing and delivering a desired quantity of said blood in a controlled manner (11, figure 2), said duct not interacting with the blood (Galiano discloses that the pipe is made of Teflon which is hydro repellent [col.6, line 46]), said duct being connected to a measurement window (figures 2-5) where said duct is calibrated, said measurement window being associated with a photometer (16, 17, figure 2) cooperating with a processor (18, 20, figure 2) for processing the information detected by the photometer, said blood remaining in the measurement window for a predetermined and controlled period of time (col.3, lines 29-42, col.9, lines 20-45; figures 2-5), the processor generating on each occasion a connected syllectogram containing parametric information supplied by the photometer (col.7, lines 39-45) which is processed in geometric form and/or analytical form, said parametric information connected to the specific blood is processed on the basis of specific algorithms configured to obtain one or more of the following factors: Viscosity; Elasticity of the suspended bodies; Density of the liquid; Hematocrit value; Hemoglobin; Anemia factor and Aggregation factor (col.4, lines 1-2,col.6, lines 10-11). Although Galiano does not disclose the use of a bubble between multiple liquids, such use is well known in the art as disclosed by Gable et al (col.14, line 63-col.15, line 8) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teachings of Gable et al in the device of Galiano in view of the desire to prevent longitudinal mixing of liquids as they flow through passageway resulting in further improving an analysis of liquid samples.
Regarding claims 2-9, as far as the claim is understood, the specific configuration and factor utilized for the liquid analysis would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the needs of particular application and involving only routine skill in the art.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Forsell (US 8,900,514 B2) is cited for disclosing a device for determining the erythrocyte sedimentation rate.
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KEVIN K PYO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878