DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/17/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues (pp 5-7) that the prior art of record (Chuang, Zhang) do not teach on the amendment “wherein the virtual network simulates at least one of a 5G Core, an open distributed unit (0-DU), or an open radio unit (O-RU)” to the independent claims.
In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully agrees. An updated search was conducted and a new art was discovered to read on this limitation for 5G Core: US 2022/0095122 A1 (Emani). Although the argument is persuasive, Chuang still teaches on most of the limitations of the independent claims.
Chuang teaches on virtual network simulation for various types of network systems and devices ([0043]). However, Chuang is silent on wherein the virtual network simulates a 5G Core.
Emani teaches wherein the virtual network simulates a 5G Core. See Emani, [0023] FIG. 2 shows 5G core network nodes that can be simulated by the system. Abstract: The system can provide a graphical user interface enabling a user to define a test including a test request and a criterion that a response to the test request needs to satisfy. The processor can create a virtual instance of the network including a virtual instance of a 5G NR node and a virtual instance of a second node.
It would have been obvious to modify Chuang per Emani as it would allow the modified system to provide a complete network testing process by including the ability to test all variations of networks by using virtual simulation/instances.
Please see updated rejection below in view of:
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 13, 15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0013992 A1 (Chuang) in view of US 2022/0095122 A1 (Emani)
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0013992 A1 (Chuang) in view of US 2022/0095122 A1 (Emani) further in view of US Patent 11,829,280 B1 (Zhang)
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “An apparatus for testing a device for integration into a computer network, the apparatus configured to” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 13, 15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0013992 A1 (Chuang) in view of US 2022/0095122 A1 (Emani).
Regarding Claim 1:
Chuang teaches A method of testing a device for integration into a computer network, ([0037] … these capabilities may be used to debug errors that have occurred and/or to test capabilities of the electronic device such as client service, network services, remote configuration of the electronic device, management of a control plane, etc. … Therefore, the communication techniques may improve the performance of the electronic device and the system, and thus may increase customer satisfaction when using the electronic device and the system.) comprising:
implementing (ie. emulating) a virtual network (VN) that virtualizes at least a portion of the computer network ([0005] associated with a virtual client in a wireless network) by one or more virtual machines (VMs) (ie. virtual client(s)); ([0005] When the processor executes the program instructions, the electronic device emulates client functionality associated with a virtual client in a wireless network. [0037] By generating fictitious wireless traffic that is then communicated using the wired communication protocol, these communication techniques may facilitate testing and/or debugging of the computer (and, more generally, a deployment that includes the electronic device). For example, the electronic device may simulate traffic associated with multiple virtual clients, so that functions of the computer ( e.g., authentication or assignment of network addresses) can be tested. … The electronic device may be capable of emulating an arbitrary (i.e., large) number of virtual clients, so that the testing and/or debug operations can be performed efficiently and at scale.)
executing a testing scenario on the virtual network (ie. emulate client functionality) to generate network traffic from the virtual network; ([0036] During operation, the electronic device may emulate client functionality associated with a virtual client in a wireless network. [0037] By generating fictitious wireless traffic that is then communicated using the wired communication protocol, these communication techniques may facilitate testing and/or debugging of the computer. … Alternatively or additionally, these capabilities may be used to debug errors that have occurred and/or to test capabilities of the electronic device such as client service, network services, remote configuration of the electronic device, management of a control plane, etc.)
providing the generated network traffic as input data (ie. emulated traffic, frames) to a network device under test (NDUT) (ie. computer); running the NDUT to generate test result data (ie. response data); ([0036] During operation, the electronic device may emulate client functionality associated with a virtual client in a wireless network, where the virtual client is implemented in software in the electronic device, and emulating the client functionality includes generating a first frame that is compatible with a wireless communication protocol and is associated with fictions wireless communication with the virtual client. Then, the electronic device may provide, to a computer, a second frame that includes at least a portion of the first frame, where the second frame is compatible with a wired communication protocol. Next, the electronic device may receive, from the computer, a response message based at least in part on the first frame, where the response message includes information associated with a service provided by the computer. Moreover, the electronic device may assess the service (such as whether the service is operating correcting) based at least in part on the information and may selectively perform the remedial action based at least in part on the assessment.)
indicating a performance of the NDUT (ie. response message indicating whether operating correctly) for the generated network traffic; ([0036] the electronic device may receive, from the computer, a response message based at least in part on the first frame, where the response message includes information associated with a service provided by the computer. Moreover, the electronic device may assess the service (such as whether the service is operating correcting) based at least in part on the information. [0037] These capabilities may be used to debug errors that have occurred and/or to test capabilities of the electronic device such as client service, network services, remote configuration of the electronic device, management of a control plane, etc. … Therefore, the communication techniques may improve the performance of the electronic device and the system, and thus may increase customer satisfaction when using the electronic device and the system.)
and determining if the NDUT passes the testing scenario based on the performance indicated by the test result data, ([0036] The electronic device may assess the service (such as whether the service is operating correcting) based at least in part on the information and may selectively perform the remedial action based at least in part on the assessment.)
wherein the virtual network simulates at least one of a Long Term Evolution (LTE) core, User Equipment (UE), or an LTE eNB. ([0043] These capabilities may facilitate testing of the physical instance of the electronic device and systems that include the physical instance of the electronic device. Note that the physical instance of the electronic device may include: an AP or a client device (which is sometimes referred to 'user equipment' or UE, or a portable electronic device, such as a smartphone). [0135] Networking subsystem 1214 can include a Bluetooth networking system, a cellular networking system ( e.g., a 3G/4G network such as UMTS, LTE, etc. [0144] radio units.)
Chuang teaches on virtual network simulation for various types of network systems and devices ([0043]). However, Chuang is silent on wherein the virtual network simulates a 5G Core.
Emani teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a system and method to simulate operation of a 5G wireless telecommunication network, prior to deploying, to detect problems, Abstract.
Emani also teaches wherein the virtual network simulates a 5G Core. ([0023] FIG. 2 shows 5G core network nodes that can be simulated by the system. Abstract: The system can provide a graphical user interface enabling a user to define a test including a test request and a criterion that a response to the test request needs to satisfy. The processor can create a virtual instance of the network including a virtual instance of a 5G NR node and a virtual instance of a second node.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify Chuang per Emani to include wherein the virtual network simulates a 5G Core. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide a complete network testing process by including the ability to test all variations of networks by using virtual simulation/instances.
Regarding Claim 8:
Chuang teaches An apparatus for testing a device for integration into a computer network, ([0037] … these capabilities may be used to debug errors that have occurred and/or to test capabilities of the electronic device such as client service, network services, remote configuration of the electronic device, management of a control plane, etc. … Therefore, the communication techniques may improve the performance of the electronic device and the system, and thus may increase customer satisfaction when using the electronic device and the system.) the apparatus configured to
implement (ie. emulate) a virtual network (VN) that virtualizes at least a portion of the computer network ([0005] associated with a virtual client in a wireless network) by one or more virtual machines (VMs) (ie. virtual client(s)); ([0037] By generating fictitious wireless traffic that is then communicated using the wired communication protocol, these communication techniques may facilitate testing and/or debugging of the computer (and, more generally, a deployment that includes the electronic device). For example, the electronic device may simulate traffic associated with multiple virtual clients, so that functions of the computer ( e.g., authentication or assignment of network addresses) can be tested. … The electronic device may be capable of emulating an arbitrary (i.e., large) number of virtual clients, so that the testing and/or debug operations can be performed efficiently and at scale.)
execute a testing scenario on the virtual network (ie. emulate client functionality) to generate network traffic from the virtual network; ([0036] During operation, the electronic device may emulate client functionality associated with a virtual client in a wireless network. [0037] By generating fictitious wireless traffic that is then communicated using the wired communication protocol, these communication techniques may facilitate testing and/or debugging of the computer. … Alternatively or additionally, these capabilities may be used to debug errors that have occurred and/or to test capabilities of the electronic device such as client service, network services, remote configuration of the electronic device, management of a control plane, etc.)
provide the generated network traffic as input data (ie. emulated traffic, frames) to a network device under test (NDUT) (ie. computer); running the NDUT to generate test result data (ie. response data); ([0036] During operation, the electronic device may emulate client functionality associated with a virtual client in a wireless network, where the virtual client is implemented in software in the electronic device, and emulating the client functionality includes generating a first frame that is compatible with a wireless communication protocol and is associated with fictions wireless communication with the virtual client. Then, the electronic device may provide, to a computer, a second frame that includes at least a portion of the first frame, where the second frame is compatible with a wired communication protocol. Next, the electronic device may receive, from the computer, a response message based at least in part on the first frame, where the response message includes information associated with a service provided by the computer. Moreover, the electronic device may assess the service (such as whether the service is operating correcting) based at least in part on the information and may selectively perform the remedial action based at least in part on the assessment.)
indicating a performance of the NDUT (ie. response message indicating whether operating correctly) for the generated network traffic; ([0036] the electronic device may receive, from the computer, a response message based at least in part on the first frame, where the response message includes information associated with a service provided by the computer. Moreover, the electronic device may assess the service (such as whether the service is operating correcting) based at least in part on the information. [0037] These capabilities may be used to debug errors that have occurred and/or to test capabilities of the electronic device such as client service, network services, remote configuration of the electronic device, management of a control plane, etc. … Therefore, the communication techniques may improve the performance of the electronic device and the system, and thus may increase customer satisfaction when using the electronic device and the system.)
and determine if the NDUT passes the testing scenario based on the performance indicated by the test result data, ([0036] The electronic device may assess the service (such as whether the service is operating correcting) based at least in part on the information and may selectively perform the remedial action based at least in part on the assessment.)
wherein the virtual network simulates at least one of a Long Term Evolution (LTE) core, User Equipment (UE), or an LTE eNB. ([0043] These capabilities may facilitate testing of the physical instance of the electronic device and systems that include the physical instance of the electronic device. Note that the physical instance of the electronic device may include: an AP or a client device (which is sometimes referred to 'user equipment' or UE, or a portable electronic device, such as a smartphone). [0135] Networking subsystem 1214 can include a Bluetooth networking system, a cellular networking system ( e.g., a 3G/4G network such as UMTS, LTE, etc. [0144] radio units.)
Chuang teaches on virtual network simulation for various types of network systems and devices ([0043]). However, Chuang is silent on wherein the virtual network simulates at least one of a 5G Core, an open distributed unit (0-DU), or an open radio unit (O-RU).
Emani teaches wherein the virtual network simulates a 5G Core. ([0023] FIG. 2 shows 5G core network nodes that can be simulated by the system. Abstract: The system can provide a graphical user interface enabling a user to define a test including a test request and a criterion that a response to the test request needs to satisfy. The processor can create a virtual instance of the network including a virtual instance of a 5G NR node and a virtual instance of a second node.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify Chuang per Emani to include wherein the virtual network simulates a 5G Core. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide a complete network testing process by including the ability to test all variations of networks by using virtual simulation/instances.
Regarding Claim 15:
Chuang teaches A non-transient computer readable medium that stores computer executable instructions, ([0132] Fig 12, Memory subsystem 1212 includes one or more devices for storing data and/or instructions for processing subsystem 1210 and networking subsystem 1214) which when executed the instructions perform operations comprising:
implementing (ie. emulating) a virtual network (VN) that virtualizes at least a portion of the computer network ([0005] associated with a virtual client in a wireless network) by one or more virtual machines (VMs) (ie. virtual client(s)); ([0037] By generating fictitious wireless traffic that is then communicated using the wired communication protocol, these communication techniques may facilitate testing and/or debugging of the computer (and, more generally, a deployment that includes the electronic device). For example, the electronic device may simulate traffic associated with multiple virtual clients, so that functions of the computer ( e.g., authentication or assignment of network addresses) can be tested. … The electronic device may be capable of emulating an arbitrary (i.e., large) number of virtual clients, so that the testing and/or debug operations can be performed efficiently and at scale.)
executing a testing scenario on the virtual network (ie. emulate client functionality) to generate network traffic from the virtual network; ([0036] During operation, the electronic device may emulate client functionality associated with a virtual client in a wireless network. [0037] By generating fictitious wireless traffic that is then communicated using the wired communication protocol, these communication techniques may facilitate testing and/or debugging of the computer. … Alternatively or additionally, these capabilities may be used to debug errors that have occurred and/or to test capabilities of the electronic device such as client service, network services, remote configuration of the electronic device, management of a control plane, etc.)
providing the generated network traffic as input data (ie. emulated traffic, frames) to a network device under test (NDUT) (ie. computer); running the NDUT to generate test result data (ie. response data); ([0036] During operation, the electronic device may emulate client functionality associated with a virtual client in a wireless network, where the virtual client is implemented in software in the electronic device, and emulating the client functionality includes generating a first frame that is compatible with a wireless communication protocol and is associated with fictions wireless communication with the virtual client. Then, the electronic device may provide, to a computer, a second frame that includes at least a portion of the first frame, where the second frame is compatible with a wired communication protocol. Next, the electronic device may receive, from the computer, a response message based at least in part on the first frame, where the response message includes information associated with a service provided by the computer. Moreover, the electronic device may assess the service (such as whether the service is operating correcting) based at least in part on the information and may selectively perform the remedial action based at least in part on the assessment.)
indicating a performance of the NDUT (ie. response message indicating whether operating correctly) for the generated network traffic; ([0036] the electronic device may receive, from the computer, a response message based at least in part on the first frame, where the response message includes information associated with a service provided by the computer. Moreover, the electronic device may assess the service (such as whether the service is operating correcting) based at least in part on the information. [0037] These capabilities may be used to debug errors that have occurred and/or to test capabilities of the electronic device such as client service, network services, remote configuration of the electronic device, management of a control plane, etc. … Therefore, the communication techniques may improve the performance of the electronic device and the system, and thus may increase customer satisfaction when using the electronic device and the system.)
and determining if the NDUT passes the testing scenario based on the performance indicated by the test result data. ([0036] The electronic device may assess the service (such as whether the service is operating correcting) based at least in part on the information and may selectively perform the remedial action based at least in part on the assessment.)
wherein the virtual network simulates at least one of a Long Term Evolution (LTE) core, User Equipment (UE), or an LTE eNB. ([0043] These capabilities may facilitate testing of the physical instance of the electronic device and systems that include the physical instance of the electronic device. Note that the physical instance of the electronic device may include: an AP or a client device (which is sometimes referred to 'user equipment' or UE, or a portable electronic device, such as a smartphone). [0135] Networking subsystem 1214 can include a Bluetooth networking system, a cellular networking system ( e.g., a 3G/4G network such as UMTS, LTE, etc. [0144] radio units.)
Chuang teaches on virtual network simulation for various types of network systems and devices ([0043]). However, Chuang is silent on wherein the virtual network simulates at least one of a 5G Core, an open distributed unit (0-DU), or an open radio unit (O-RU).
Emani teaches wherein the virtual network simulates a 5G Core. ([0023] FIG. 2 shows 5G core network nodes that can be simulated by the system. Abstract: The system can provide a graphical user interface enabling a user to define a test including a test request and a criterion that a response to the test request needs to satisfy. The processor can create a virtual instance of the network including a virtual instance of a 5G NR node and a virtual instance of a second node.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify Chuang per Emani to include wherein the virtual network simulates a 5G Core. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide a complete network testing process by including the ability to test all variations of networks by using virtual simulation/instances.
Regarding Claims 7, 13, 20:
Chuang (as modified by Emani) teaches on the inventions of claims 1, 8, 15 as described.
Chuang teaches wherein the NDUT is determined to pass the testing scenario in response to the performance of the NDUT indicated by the test result data meeting a benchmark (ie. initial configuration) corresponding to the testing scenario. ([0097] By suitable initial configuration of vUEs 812 and vAPs 810, many different complicated end-to-end system level testing suites can be performed. This footfall traffic map may be compared with the configured virtual paths traversed by the vUEs during the testing. Thus, this system provides for large-scale, repeatable, end-to-end system testing. [0098] The amount of traffic measured by the analytics server may be compared to the amount of uploaded and downloaded traffic reported by an FTP client application in each of the vUEs. Thus, this system also provides for large-scale, repeatable, end-to-end system testing.)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0013992 A1 (Chuang) in view of US 2022/0095122 A1 (Emani) further in view of US Patent 11,829,280 B1 (Zhang).
Regarding Claim 2:
Chuang (as modified by Emani) teaches on the invention of claim 1 as described.
Chuang teaches on an electronic device emulating a computer network to generate traffic for testing ([0036][0037]) and on pre-deployment testing ([0127]). However, Chuang (as modified by Emani) is silent on further comprising: integrating the NDUT into the computer network in response to the NDUT passing the testing scenario.
Zhang teaches, in the same field of endeavor, techniques are described for automatically generating and executing test cases as part of a containerization workflow, Abstract.
Zhang also teaches further comprising: integrating the NDUT into the computer network in response to the NDUT passing the testing scenario. (Col 14 ln 32-40, The deployment workflow includes a first stage that involves deploying a first containerized version of the software application to a test environment and a second stage that involves deploying a second containerized version of the software application to a production environment, and wherein the deployment workflow progresses from the first stage to the second stage responsive to receiving an indication that the plurality of test cases were successful.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify Chuang (as modified by Emani) by modifying Chuang per Zhang to include integrating the NDUT into the computer network in response to the NDUT passing the testing scenario. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the combined system to provide a complete cycle of the testing process by including the deploying of the device/vm after successful testing.
Conclusion & Contact Information
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 2454