DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vijverberg et. al. (US20080124474, herein Vijverberg), in the view of Colyer et. al. (US20170190931, herein Colyer).
Regarding Claims 1, 5, 7-9, 18, 19, 20, 21, 28, Vijverberg teaches clear coatings [0029] comprising: binder copolymer with 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate as monomer [0106] which is at least one OH-functional (meth)acrylic copolymer as constituent (A1).
Vijverberg teaches binder of polyester polyols [0094] with trimethylolpropane [0111], which indicates the branched polyester polyol; and functional crosslinkers may contain one or more polyester polyols [0084], but does not explicitly teach the branched OH-functional polyester formation process.
However, Colyer teaches the three steps reaction producing branched OH-functional polyester as constituent (A2): step (a) of reacting a polyol comprising at least three hydroxyl groups with an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid having from 6 to 36 carbon atoms or an esterifiable derivative of the aliphatic dicarboxylic acid to form a hydroxyl-functional first intermediate product. [0016] reads on the step (a); wherein, step (a) of moles of the polyol to moles of the dicarboxylic acid or esterifiable derivative of the aliphatic dicarboxylic acid is from about 2.0 to about 2.5 moles of the polyol per mole of the dicarboxylic acid or esterifiable derivative of the aliphatic dicarboxylic acid. [0011], overlaps the claimed range.
The hydroxyl-functional first intermediate product prepared in step (a) is then reacted with a cyclic carboxylic acid anhydride to form a carboxylic acid-functional second intermediate product. [0030] reads on the step (b); wherein, the equivalent ratio in step (b) of hydroxyl groups of the first intermediate product to anhydride groups of the cyclic carboxylic acid anhydride is from about 1.0 to about 1.25 equivalents of hydroxyl groups per carboxylic anhydride groups. [0011] matches the claimed range.
In a third step (c), from least about two carboxylic acid groups to all of the carboxylic acid groups of the second intermediate product are reacted with an epoxide-functional compound having one epoxide group to form the hyperbranched polyol. [0035] reads on the step (c), wherein, the equivalent ratio in step (c) of carboxylic acid groups of the second intermediate product to epoxide groups of the epoxide-functional compound is from about 1.0 to about 2.5 equivalents of carboxylic acid groups per equivalents epoxide groups. [0011], matches the claimed range.
The hyperbranched polyol [0035] as the product of the step a-c, hence, reads on the (A2) at least one branched OH-functional polyester as constituent (A2), which is obtainable by performing steps (a), (b) and (c), which can lead to the branched OH-functional polyester (A2) has an OH-number in the range of from 100 to 145 mg KOH/g of polyester solids.
Colyer further teaches crosslinker reactive with hydroxyl groups; which could be reactive with the hydroxyls as well as with carboxylic acid groups the hyperbranched polyols. [0056] reads on the (B1) at least one crosslinking agent as constituent (B1), which is different from both constituents (A1) and (A2) and which contains crosslinkable functional groups, which can be at least crosslinked with OH-functional groups.
Colyer teaches the A2 concentration as “hyperbranched polyol, 5% to about 60% by weight” [0039] overlaps the claimed range.
Vijverberg and Colyer are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, that of the branched polyester polyol based top coating composition for automotive industry.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vijverberg to add the teachings of Colyer and provide said the three steps reaction producing branched OH-functional polyester as constituent (A2), in the range of “hyperbranched polyol, 5% to about 60% by weight” [0039] and the crosslinker reactive with hydroxyl groups; which could be reactive with the hydroxyls as well as with carboxylic acid groups the hyperbranched polyols. [0056] reads on the (B1) into the composition development.
The motivation to do so would be that to achieve the desired property of the coatings of the invention produced from the coating compositions of the invention adhere excellently even to electrocoats, surfacer coats, basecoat systems or typical, known clearcoat systems that have already cured, they are outstandingly suitable not only for use in automotive OEM finishing but also for automotive refinish or for the modular scratchproofing of automobile bodies that have already been painted. [0079] as taught by Colyer.
Additionally, examiner notes that the claim 1 is product by process claim, wherein, the patentable weight is given to product/composition, not to the process by which the polymer was made.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claims 2, 16, Vijverberg teaches the coating compositions according to the invention may be one-component [0091]
Regarding Claim 3, Vijverberg teaches the base coat can be water borne or solvent borne. [0099] comprises volatile organic solvent [0098]
Regarding Claims 4, 17, 22, Vijverberg teaches wherein the binder and the cross-linker together amount to at least 90 wt % of the solids content of the coating composition, which overlaps the claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 6, Vijverberg teaches the coating composition comprises cross-linkers with at least two (free) isocyanate groups, example, hexamethylene diisocyanate [0088] lies in the claimed range.
Regarding Claims 10, 13, Vijverberg teaches applying the coating compositions to a substrate to form a coating [0030] then coating is cured at a temperature of at least 60° C [0033].
Regarding Claim 11, Vijverberg teaches Suitable substrates can be of metal, synthetic material (plastics), optionally pretreated, e.g., with a primer, for a clear coat, with a base coat. Curing may be carried out at ambient temperature [0101] collectively reads on applying a basecoat coating material composition to substrate with primer as first coating, and then a top coat as second coating film, and then jointly cured.
Regarding Claim 12, Vijverberg teaches the coating composition according to the invention can be applied to a substrate in any desirable manner, such as by spraying [0100].
Regarding Claims 14, 15, 26, 27, Vijverberg and Colyer collectively teach the coating composition, including branched OH-functional polyester formation, “the clearcoat coating composition can include the disclosed hyperbranched polyol.” [0073]; in the range of “hyperbranched polyol, 5% to about 60% by weight” [0039] overlaps the claimed range as taught by Colyer as set forth in to claim 1 above, which is capable of functioning as flow enhancer and levelling agent, hence, the using of branched OH-functional polyester as flow enhancer and levelling agent is the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) [See MPEP 2144.07]
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claims 23-25, Vijverberg teaches it is further preferred that the coating composition is also substantially pigment-free; Substantially pigment-free means that the coating composition comprises substantially no pigment particles. [0029] indicates the exclusion of pigment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Vijverberg does not only teach glycidyl-functional binders [0084], but also explicitly teaches the binder of polyester polyols [0094] with trimethylolpropane [0111], which indicates the branched polyester polyol; and functional crosslinkers may contain one or more polyester polyols [0084], as analogous art, Colyer teaches the specific polyester polyol as hyperbranched polyol [0039] and crosslinker reactive with hydroxyl groups; which could be reactive with the hydroxyls as well as with carboxylic acid groups the hyperbranched polyols. [0056] reads on the (B1) matches the crosslinking agent as constituent (B1) contains crosslinkable functional groups, which can be at least crosslinked with OH-functional groups. [Instant App. US20230061744; 0095], wherein, the hyperbranched polyol and crosslinker included in the coating composition of Colyer collectively match the instant application, which can further lead to the desired property of the coatings of the invention produced from the coating compositions of the invention adhere excellently even to electrocoats, surfacer coats, basecoat systems or typical, known clearcoat systems that have already cured, they are outstandingly suitable not only for use in automotive OEM finishing but also for automotive refinish or for the modular scratchproofing of automobile bodies that have already been painted. [0079] as taught by Colyer, matches the cured clear coatings on pre-coated substrates can be obtained, which have an excellent appearance in terms of a minimized or even non-existent die-back [Instant App. US20230061744; 0009]; furthermore, the composition as taught by Vijverberg can lead to the achieving excellent carwash resistance or e.g. excellent reparability [0024] and resulting in high gloss car wash-resistant coatings [0025] as taught by Vijverberg, which indicate the appearance integrity of the clear coating upon hot and humid environment during carwash, hence, can match the “improved appearance in terms that no die-back and no pinches are observed, even at hot and humid conditions.” [Instant App. US20230061744; 0181].
In response to applicant’s argument that “modifying Viijverberg to replace the epoxy-functional polyester with an OH-functional polyester of Colyer would have rendered Viijverberg inoperable for its intended purpose and also changed its principle of operation” is not persuasive.
In this case, Viijverberg explicitly teaches the epoxy-functional acrylic binders [0007], and polyester crosslinkers [0072], and Vijverberg further teaches binder of polyester polyols [0094] with trimethylolpropane [0111], which indicates the branched polyester polyol; and functional crosslinkers may contain one or more polyester polyols [0084], which lead to high gloss car wash-resistant coating composition [0025], as analogues art, Colyer teaches the specific polyester polyol [0039] as branched polyol and crosslinker [0056], which lead to desired property of the coatings of the invention produced from the coating compositions of the invention adhere excellently even to electrocoats, surfacer coats, basecoat systems or typical, known clearcoat systems that have already cured, they are outstandingly suitable not only for use in automotive OEM finishing but also for automotive refinish or for the modular scratchproofing of automobile bodies that have already been painted. [0079] as taught by Colyer, via the combine of the collectively match the excellent appearance in terms of a minimized or even non-existent die-back [Instant App. US20230061744; 0024].
The combination of two compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to for a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose may be prima facie obvious. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 445, 169.
Additionally, Viijverberg explicitly teaches the epoxy-functional acrylic binders [0007], wherein, Colyer also teaches the second intermediate product are reacted with an epoxide-functional compound having one epoxide group to form the hyperbranched polyol [0035], collectively match the second intermediate product are reacted with an epoxide-functional compound having one epoxide group (i.e. a mono-epoxide compound) to form the hyperbranched polyester polyol [Instant App. US20230061744; 0086], epoxide-functional compound may be an epoxy ester [Instant App. US20230061744; 0090], which indicates the epoxy ester serve as reactant in Viijverberg and Colyer, and both of them do not teach away the instant application.
Correspondence
/Z.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767