DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amending of claims 1-14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, the Applicant has argued (Remarks, pg.22-23) that Sato does not teach the formation of a protrusion in layer 12a.
The Examiner notes that the previous Office action mapped “a first compound semiconductor layer” to “fig.1 #11+12a” (non-final, pg.5) of Sato. When the first compound semiconductor is considered as #11+12a then the protrusion #11a is seen to be clearly located in a base surface on a side of the first surface (lower surface of #11+12a) of the first compound semiconductor layer (#11+12a) as is outlined in the current claim language.
Further, for arguments sake, even if ONLY layer #12a were considered to be “a first semiconductor layer”, the language in claim 1 describing the protrusion simply limits the location to be “a base surface located on a side of the first surface of the first compound semiconductor layer has a region including a protruding portion”. This language, put another way, is simply stating there is a base surface with a protruding portion “on a side of” the first surface of the first compound semiconductor layer. As seen in fig.1 of Sato, if the base surface were to be equated to be the bottom of layer #11, containing the protruding portion #11a, this identified base surface and protruding portion are each “on a side of the first surface of the first compound semiconductor layer” as they are located on the same lower side of the device as the first surface. Finally, note that “on” is not equated to direct physical contact as Merriam-Webster’s defines “on” to be “in close proximity”.
The argument is therefore not found persuasive.
Drawings
The drawings are accepted.
The Examiner notes the previous confusion surrounding figures 15/16 was related to the use of “91a” and “91b” as compared to the use of “91A” and “91B” in figure 1 to represent different elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections are withdrawn due to the current amendments.
Claim 1 and claims 2, and 4-7 via dependency are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to in the second to last line to change a closed grouping using “consisting” to an open grouping using “includes”. The specification as originally filed is only found to teach the closed grouping of figures and is not found to teach an open grouping of figures. Therefore, it is not clear that this claimed open grouping was in possession of the Applicant at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/2 as being anticipated by Sato et al. (WO 2018/221042; US 2020/0112141 used as a translation thereof).
With respect to claim 1, Sato discloses a light emitting element (fig.1) comprising: a laminated structure that includes a first compound semiconductor layer (fig.1 #11+12a, [0039]) that includes a first surface (fig.1 #11 lower)and a second surface (fig.1 #12a upper) different from the first surface, wherein the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer faces the first surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, an active layer (fig.1 #12b) that faces the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, and a second compound semiconductor layer (fig.1 #12c, [0039]) that includes a first surface (fig.1 #12c lower) and a second surface (fig.1 #12c upper), wherein the first surface of the second compound semiconductor layer faces the active layer, the second surface of the second compound semiconductor layer faces the first surface of the second compound semiconductor layer, and the first compound semiconductor layer, the active layer, and the second compound semiconductor layer are laminated (fig.1 layered atop each other); a first light reflecting layer (fig.1 #18); and a second light reflecting layer (fig.1 #16) on a side of the second surface of the second compound semiconductor layer, wherein the second light reflecting layer has a flat shape (fig.1 #16 central region), a base surface is on a side of the first surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, the base surface includes a first region (fig.1 near #11a) and a second region (fig.1 surfaces to left/right of #11a) different from the first region, the first region of the base surface includes a protruding portion (fig.1 #11a), the protruding portion protrudes in a direction away from each of the active layer and the second region of the base surface, the second region of the base surface surrounds the first region of the base surface, the second region of the base surface includes a flat surface (fig.1 surfaces to left/right of #11a), the first region of the base surface includes a first-A region (see annotated fig.11 below) and a first-B region (see annotated fig.11 below) different from the first-A region, the first-A region includes a top portion of the protruding portion (see annotated fig.11 below), the first-B region surrounds the first-A region (see annotated fig below), the first light reflecting layer is on at least the first-A region (fig.1 #18 on center of #11a), the first-A region includes a first curve, the first-A region is on the base surface that is in a cross-sectional shape, the base surface is cut along a virtual plane in a direction of the laminated structure, the first curve corresponds to an upwardly convex smooth curve (see annotated fig, curved area in first-A region), the first-B region includes a second curve, a complementary angle theta_CA of an angle (see annotated fig.11 below) is at an intersection of the second curve and a straight line, the second region of the base surface includes the straight line, a value of the complementary angle theta_CA of the angle is greater than 0 degrees (see annotated fig below, theta_CA larger than 0), the second curve includes at least a figure selected from a group of figures, and the group of figures includes a combination of a downwardly convex curve, a line segment, and a third curve (curves in first-B regions are similar to in first-A, and can be considered a third, undefined, curve with line segment).
With respect to claim 3, Sato teaches a light emitting element (fig.1) comprising: a laminated structure that includes a first compound semiconductor layer (fig.1 #11+12a,[0039]) that includes a first surface (fig.1 bottom of #11) and a second surface (fig.1 top of #12) different from the first surface, wherein the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer faces the first surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, an active layer (fig.1 #12b) that faces the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, and a second compound semiconductor layer (fig.1 #12c, [0039]) that includes a first surface (fig.1 #12c lower) and a second surface (fig.1 #12c upper) different from the first surface, wherein the first surface of the second compound semiconductor layer faces the active layer, the second surface of the second compound layer faces the first surface of the second compound semiconductor layer, and the first compound semiconductor layer, the active layer, and the second compound semiconductor layer are laminated (fig.1 layered atop each other); a first light reflecting layer (fig.1 #18); and a second light reflecting layer (fig.1 #16) on a side of the second surface of the second compound semiconductor layer (fig.1 center of #16), wherein the second light reflecting layer has a flat shape (fig.1 center of #16), a base surface is on a side of the first surface of the first compound semiconductor layer, the base surface includes a first region (fig.1 #11a) and a second region different from the first region (fig.1 area to left/right of #11a), the first region of the base surface includes a protruding portion (fig.1 #11a), the protruding portion protrudes in a direction away from each of the active layer and the second region of the base surface, the second region of the base surface surrounds the first region of the base surface (fig.1 area to left/right of #11a), the second region of the base surface includes a flat surface (fig.1 area to left/right of #11a), the first light reflecting layer is at least on a top portion of the first region of the base surface (fig.1 #18 on #11a), a complementary angle theta_CA of an angle is at an intersection of a curve and a straight line, the first region of the base surface includes the curve, the second region of the base surface includes the straight line, and the base surface is cut along a virtual plane in a direction of the laminated structure.
With respect to claim 4, Sato teaches a curvature radius R1 of the top portion of the first region of the base surface is greater than 1.5 x 10-5 m and less than 2 x 10-4 m (fig.3).
With respect to claim 5, Sato teaches a height H1 of the first region with respect to the flat surface of the second region is greater than 1 um and less than 5 um (fig.3 left edge of top curve).
With respect to claim 7, Sato teaches a diameter D1 of the first region of the base surface is greater than 3 x 10-6 m and less than 1 x 10-4 m ([0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Park et al. (US 2002/0105988).
With respect to claim 2, Sato teaches the device outlined above, including the adaptation of the lens height and the radius of curvature (fig.3), wherein changing the radius of curvature necessarily changes the angle at which the curved surface intersects the flat surface, but Sato does not teach the complementary angle theta_CA is greater than 1 ° and less than 6. Park teaches a related VCSEL integrated with a lens (fig.2) and further teaches that the radius of curvature is a result effective variable allowing for control of the shape of the laser light (fig.4/5, [0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the radius of curvature of the lens of Sato such that the complementary angle falls within 1-6 degrees as Park has demonstrated the radius of curvature to be a result effective variable allowing for control of the shape of the laser light and selection of a radius allowing for a 1-6 degree angle would allow for selection of a desired shape of the light (see also MPEP 2144.05 II A/B).
Please note the additional art cited in the Conclusion section below further demonstrating the lens edge characteristic to be a result effective variable.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato.
With respect to claim 6, Sato teaches the device outlined above, including the radius of curvature to be larger than the resonator length ([0045]) such that the optical field confinement is modified. Sato does not teach the light emitting element satisfies 1
≤
R1/LOR
≤
10, the R1 corresponds to a curvature radius of the top portion of the first region of the base surface, and the Lor corresponds to a resonator length of the light emitting element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to modify the device of Sato such that the radius of curvature divided by the resonator length is from 1-10 as Sato has demonstrated this ratio to be a result effective variable and a value falling within 1-10 would allow for selection of a desired field confinement and light loss amount ([0045]; see also MPEP 2144.05 II A/B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9465143 (col.7 lines 32-42), 11437785 (col.4 lines 15-24) and 2007/0295972 ([0028]) are found to further demonstrate the radius of curvature/lens edge portions to be result effective variables.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828