DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, 13-15, 17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. U.S. Patent No. 10,068,551 (hereinafter Choi) in view of Albrecht et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0005898 (hereinafter Albrecht).
Consider claim 1, Choi teaches a computing device comprising (Figure 1): a display (Figure 1); a display driver circuit configured to convert code words to analog signals for driving output at the display (Figure 1, DAC 114/116 Figure 2, 216); one or more processors (Figure 1, processing device 100) configured to provide code words to the display driver circuit for driving output at the display (column 3, lines 1-8, bits); and circuitry configured to:
determine that analog dimming of the display is in progress (Figure 1 and column 2, lines 45-50, the display circuitry 124 may modify or further adjust the analog control signals and may combine the analog control signals with other inputs to operate the backlight at the operating level specified by the display controller 120. Thus, the controller determines an analog signal in order to modify or adjust the analog control signals. column 3, lines 54-64, standby mode or low-power (power and thus current) and further refers to dimly illumination other pixels), wherein the analog dimming includes varying a power supplied to the display (column 3, lines 54-64, standby mode or low-power (power and thus current) and further refers to dimly illumination other pixels); based on determining that the analog dimming of display is in progress select an operating mode of the computing device to be dimmed mode (column 3, lines 54-64, a fingerprint scan to exit a standby mode is, therefore, one example of a situation for which it may be desirable to brightly illuminate some display pixels (e.g., in a fingerprint scanning region) while dimly illuminating other pixels. column 2, lines 45-50, the display circuitry 124 may modify or further adjust the analog control signals…to operate the backlight at the operating level specified by the display controller 120); and select a gamma curve used by the display driver circuit for converting code words provided by the one or more processors configured to provide code words to the display driver circuit (column 3, lines 1-8, 256 bits to represent 256 greyscale values. Figure 1, gamma curves in 122) for driving output at the display to brightness levels based on the operating mode of the computing device (Figure 1, Standby mode and HB mode), wherein: the gamma curve is selected from a plurality of gamma curves (Figure 1, gamma curves 132, 134 and 136), the operating mode is one of the dimmed mode or a non-dimmed mode (Figure 1, standby mode and HB mode, see also column 3, lines 54-64 (e.g. exit a low-power or standby mode)), when the operating mode is the dimmed mode, the selected gamma curve comprises a first value gamma curve (Figure 1 and column 3, lines 9-22, gamma curve 136) , wherein the first value gamma curve maps a first plurality of code words to brightness levels less than a threshold (Figure 1, gamma curve 136, levels (and corresponding bits) less than 80L (see luminance axis)), and when the operating mode is the non-dimmed mode, the selected gamma curve comprises a second value gamma curve (Figure 1 and column 3, lines 9-22, gamma curve 132 or 134), wherein the first value is higher than the second value (Figure 1, gamma curve 136 is located to the right with respect to 132 or 134), wherein the second value gamma curve maps a second plurality of code words to brightness levels less than the threshold (Figure 1, gamma curve 132, level (and corresponding bits) less than 80L), a number of the first plurality of code words being greater than a number of the second plurality of code words (Figure 1, bits corresponding to gamma curve 136 being greater than bits corresponding to gamma curve 132 since gamma curve 136 is located to the right with respect to gamma curve 132).
Choi does not appear to specifically disclose direct current and based on determining that the direct current dimming of the display is in progress, select an operating mode of the computing device to be a dimmed mode and apply a dimming layer in a digital domain to digitally dim the display.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Albrecht teaches dynamic dimming ranges (abstract) and further teaches direct current ([0024], DC source) and based on determining that the direct current dimming of the display is in progress (Figure 13, determine if knee point change in 102. Figure 13, analog control signal in 108. [0072], the knee point is a threshold luminance value that is used to determine whether light sources 64 are to be controlled using an analog control scheme (considered as direct current dimming) or a digital control scheme (e.g., a PWM scheme). The knee point also controls the dimming range that is achievable under a PWM dimming scheme), select an operating mode of the computing device to be a dimmed mode (Figure 13, determine if knee point change in 102. Figure 13, PWM 108. [0032], digital (e.g. pulse-width modulation) diming scheme), and apply a dimming layer in a digital domain to digitally dim the display ([0032], digital (e.g. pulse-width modulation) diming scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a dimming layer in a digital domain as taught by Albrecht with the benefit that backlight control circuitry may determine which dimming scheme to use based on the desired backlight brightness as suggested in [0032].
Consider claim 3, Choi and Albrecht teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Choi teaches wherein: the display further comprises a fingerprint sensor in a first area of the display (column 3, lines 54-64 and figure 1, 118), and the circuitry is configured to: determine a fingerprint verification procedure using the fingerprint sensor is in progress (column 3, lines 54-64), and based on determining the fingerprint verification procedure is in progress, select the operating mode of the computing device to be a dimmed mode (column 3, lines 54-64, a fingerprint scan to exit a standby mode is, therefore, one example of a situation for which it may be desirable to brightly illuminate some display pixels (e.g., in a fingerprint scanning region) while dimly illuminating other pixels).
Consider claim 4, Choi and Albrecht teach all the limitations of claim 3. In addition, Choi teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: determine the fingerprint verification procedure is complete; and based on determining the fingerprint verification procedure is complete, select the operating mode of the computing device to be the non-dimmed mode (column 3, lines 23-27, when the processing device 100 exits the low brightness setting, the display controller 120 may recalibrate and instruct the primary DAC 114 to provide output voltages that follow a different, higher-power gamma curve, such as the gamma curve 132 (see also column 3, lines 54-64)).
Consider claim 5, Choi and Albrecht teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Choi teaches wherein in the dimmed mode, a dimming is applied to the display (Figure 1, Standby mode and 122), and wherein in the non-dimmed mode, the dimming layer is not applied to the display (Figure 1, HB mode and 122). Brush teaches the dimming layer (figure 13 and [0032], PWM in 108, see motivation to combine in claim 1).
Consider claim 7, Choi and Albrecht teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Choi teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: determine the analog dimming of the display is complete (column 3, lines 54-64, fingerprint authentication to unlock. Figure 1 and column 2, lines 45-50, ADC); and based on determining the analog domain dimming of the display is complete (column 3, lines 54-64), select the operating mode of the computing device to be the non-dimmed mode (column 3, lines 54-64, exits low-power mode). Furthermore, Albrecht teaches direct current in [0024].
Consider claim 9, Choi and Albrecht teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Choi teaches one or more processors (Figure 1, 100) is configured to provide different code words to achieve a desired brightness level of the display based on the operating mode (column 3, lines 1-8, bits to represent greyscale values).
Consider claim 10, Choi and Albrecht teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Choi teaches wherein the circuitry is part of an application processor (Figure 1, 100. Column 9, lines 37-46, application program interfaces).
Consider claim 11, it includes the limitations of claim 1 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 13, it includes the limitations of claim 3 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 14, it includes the limitations of claim 4 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 15, it includes the limitations of claim 5 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 17, it includes the limitations of claim 7 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 19, it includes the limitations of claim 9 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 20, it includes the limitations of claim 1 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 21, it includes the limitations of claim 1 and thus rejected by the same reasoning. In addition, Choi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium that when executed by a computing device causes the computing device (column 8, lines 63-65) to perform a method of displaying images by the computing device (Figure 1, 100, standby mode and HB mode).
Claim(s) 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Albrecht as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiao U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0319381 (hereinafter Xiao).
Consider claim 8, Choi and Albrecht teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Choi does not appear to disclose the first value gamma curve is a gamma curve 4.0, and wherein the second value gamma curve is a gamma curve 2.2.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Xiao teaches determining a target gamma curve in (abstract) and further teaches the first value gamma curve is a gamma curve 4.0, and wherein the second value gamma curve is a gamma curve 2.2 (Figure 3, gamma parameter is 2 or 4. In addition, [0068], gamma parameter may be 2.2).
Therefore, it would obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide different gamma parameters as taught by Xiao with the benefit that different modes of the display device may correspond to different gamma parameters as suggested in [0063]. In addition, the two gamma curves shown in figure 3 by Xia are related to the art as suggested in [0030].
Consider claim 18, it includes the limitations of claim 8 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (see new reference Albrecht).
Conclusion
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621