Detailed Action
Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 12-13, 15-17, 21, 23, 26-29, 31, 33, 35, 38-44, and 48 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 12-13, 15-17, 21, 23, 26-29, 31, 33, 35, and 38-39, drawn to a pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivative) and the elected species Compound 29 in the reply filed on 11/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 16, 28-29, 33, 38-44, and 48 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups II-III or unelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 21, 23, 26-27, 31, and 35 are being examined on the merits herein.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made final.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 12-13, 23, and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
All notation across claims used to refer to the same groups must be standardized. For example “C(O)” in Claim 13 denotes the same group described in Claim 1, “C(=O)”; however, the notation is different across the claims.
Claim 27 recites “--C(=O)-” instead of “-C(=O)-”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 21, 23, 26-27, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9, and 12 recite where C, S, P, C(=O), or C(O) is “bonded to a phenyl ring”. It is unclear whether a phenyl ring refers to the phenyl depicted in Chemical Formula IV or some other phenyl. To resolve the ambiguity, applicant is recommended to amend “a phenyl” to “the phenyl”. Claims 8, 13, 15, 17, 21, 23, 26-27, and 35 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 1 recites “X is a moiety bonded to Linker 1”. However, the definition of Linker I and the compounds embodied in Claim 31 suggest that X is Linker I, bonded directly to N, rather than some moiety bonded to N and Linker I. Applicant is recommended to amend the above limitation to “X is Linker I”. Claims 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 21, 23, 26-27, and 35 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 35 reads “Ba’ is a bond”. However, Claim 1, upon which Claim 35 depends, precludes “bond” from acceptable embodiments of Ba’.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 21, 23, 26-27, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Howard (WO2007039752, cited in 6/30/2022 IDS).
Howard teaches compound 23 on Page 43:
in which the following definitions of examined Formula I apply: Q1, Q2, Q3, Q5, and Q7 are H; Q4 is -ORm, wherein Rm is C1alkyl; X is absent; Y is O; Q6 is C3alkyldiyl; B and B’ are each a bond; A1 is CONH; A-1 is pyrrole substituted with C1alkyl; B1 is a bond; A2 is CONH; A-2 is pyrrole substituted with C1alkyl; B2 is a bond; a1 and a2 are each 1; E1 is C(O) and e1 is 1; e2 is 0; and F1 is OMe.
With respect to Claims 8-9, 12-13, 15, and 17, Linker I is absent. The cited claims do not require the presence of a Linker attached to X.
With respect to Claim 35, alternatively the Howard compound may be reinterpreted such that Ba’, Bb’, and Bc’ are all a bond according to Chemical Formula VII.
Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 26-27, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (WO2017089894, published 2017).
Kim teaches Compound 54a (Page 199):
, in which the following definitions of examined Chemical Formula I apply: Q1, Q2, Q3, and Q7 are H; Q4 is methoxy; Q5 is hydroxy; Q6 is C5alkylene; Y is O; X is Linker I; Linker I is Chemical Formula IV
, wherein Ra and Rb are each H, s is 0 and G is
; Rc and Rd are H; W is C(O)NR’ wherein R’ is H; L is a “connection unit” represented by
wherein t is 2, V is O, u is 2, and v is 2; Rz is ONH2; B and B’ are both a bond or a and b are both 0; D is
wherein A1 is O and A-1 is a 14-membered heterocycloalkylene:
; a2, e1, and e2 are 0; F1 is OCH3.
With respect to Claim 35, alternatively the Kim compound may be reinterpreted such that Ba’, Bb’, and Bc’ are all a bond according to Chemical Formula VII.
Double Patenting
PROVISIONAL:
1. Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 26-27, and 35 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 13-18 of copending Application No. 17420007 (hereinafter referred to as Legochem).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of glucuronic acid-pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivative compounds.
Legochem teaches Compound 124 (Claim 18):
, in which the following definitions of examined Chemical Formula I apply: Q1, Q2, Q3, and Q7 are H; Q4 is methoxy; Q5 is hydroxy; Q6 is C5alkylene; Y is O; X is Linker I; Linker I is Chemical Formula IV
, wherein Ra and Rb are each H, s is 0 and G is
; Rc and Rd are H; W is C(O)NR’ wherein R’ is H; L is a “connection unit” represented by
wherein t is 2, V is O, u is 2, and v is 2; Rz is ONH2; B and B’ are both a bond or a and b are both 0; D is
wherein A1 is O, A-1 is a substituted 14-membered heterocycloalkylene:
, and B1 is C(O); a2 is 0; E1 is OCH2, wherein e1 is 1; e2 is 0; F1
wherein each member is C. (Applicant does not limit the substituents on the F1 ring, which are glucuronic acid and an ester in the Legochem compound.)
With respect to Claim 35, alternatively the Legochem compound may be reinterpreted such that Ba’, Bb’, and Bc’ are all a bond according to Chemical Formula VII.
Since both applications teach glucuronic acid-pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivative compounds, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Legochem.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
NONPROVISIONAL:
1. Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 26-27, and 35 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 12398124 (hereinafter referred to as Legochem).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of glucuronic acid-pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives.
Legochem teaches the following compound in Col 159:
, in which the following definitions of examined Chemical Formula I apply: Q1 is Me; Q2, Q3, and Q7 are H; Q4 is methoxy; Q5 is hydrogen; Q6 is C5alkylene; Y is O; X is Linker I; Linker I is Chemical Formula IV
, wherein Ra and Rb are each H, s is 0 and G is
; Rc and Rd are H; W is C(O)NR’ wherein R’ is H; L is a “connection unit” represented by
, wherein t is 2, V is O, u is 0 and v is 1; Rz is C1alkyl; B and B’ are both a bond or a and b are both 0; D is
wherein A1 is O and A-1 is a 14-membered heterocycloalkylene:
; a2, e1, and e2 are 0; F1 is OCH3.
With respect to Claim 35, alternatively the Kim compound may be reinterpreted such that Ba’, Bb’, and Bc’ are all a bond according to Chemical Formula VII.
Since both claim sets teach glucuronic acid-pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivative compounds, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Legochem.
2. Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 26-27, and 35 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 9919057 (hereinafter referred to as Legochem).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives.
Legochem teaches the following compound:
in which the following definitions of examined Chemical Formula I apply: Q1 is Rm, wherein Rm is substituted aryl (Applicant teaches no limit to the degree or type of substitution in Spec: Page 39); Q2, Q3, Q5, and Q7 are H; Q4 is methoxy; Q6 is C5alkylene; Y is O; X is absent; D is
wherein A1 is O, A-1 is a 14-membered heterocycloalkylene:
, and B1 is a bond; a2, e1, and e2 are 0; F1 is
wherein all ring members are C.
Methods taught in the patent require the presence of the claimed compounds.
With respect to Claims 8-9, 12-13, 15, and 17, Linker I is absent. The cited claims do not require the presence of a Linker attached to X.
With respect to Claim 35, alternatively the Howard compound may be reinterpreted such that Ba’, Bb’, and Bc’ are all a bond according to Chemical Formula VII.
Since both claim sets teach pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Lego chem.
3. Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 26-27, and 35 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 9993568 (hereinafter referred to as Legochem).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives.
Legochem teaches the following compound:
in which the following definitions of examined Chemical Formula I apply: Q1 is Rm, wherein Rm is substituted aryl (Applicant teaches no limit to the degree or type of substitution in Spec: Page 39); Q2, Q3, Q5, and Q7 are H; Q4 is methoxy; Q6 is C5alkylene; Y is O; X is absent; D is
wherein A1 is O, A-1 is a 14-membered heterocycloalkylene:
, and B1 is a bond; a2, e1, and e2 are 0; F1 is
wherein all ring members are C.
Methods taught in the patent require the presence of the claimed compounds.
With respect to Claims 8-9, 12-13, 15, and 17, Linker I is absent. The cited claims do not require the presence of a Linker attached to X.
With respect to Claim 35, alternatively the Howard compound may be reinterpreted such that Ba’, Bb’, and Bc’ are all a bond according to Chemical Formula VII.
Since both claim sets teach pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Lego chem.
4. Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 26-27, and 35 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 10118965 (hereinafter referred to as Legochem).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives.
Legochem teaches the following compound:
in which the following definitions of examined Chemical Formula I apply: Q1 is Rm, wherein Rm is substituted aryl (Applicant teaches no limit to the degree or type of substitution in Spec: Page 39); Q2, Q3, Q5, and Q7 are H; Q4 is methoxy; Q6 is C5alkylene; Y is O; X is absent; D is
wherein A1 is O, A-1 is a 14-membered heterocycloalkylene:
, and B1 is a bond; a2, e1, and e2 are 0; F1 is
wherein all ring members are C.
Methods taught in the patent require the presence of the claimed compounds.
With respect to Claims 8-9, 12-13, 15, and 17, Linker I is absent. The cited claims do not require the presence of a Linker attached to X.
With respect to Claim 35, alternatively the Howard compound may be reinterpreted such that Ba’, Bb’, and Bc’ are all a bond according to Chemical Formula VII.
Since both claim sets teach pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Lego chem.
5. Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 26-27, and 35 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10183997 (hereinafter referred to as Legochem).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives.
Legochem teaches the following compound:
in which the following definitions of examined Chemical Formula I apply: Q1 is Rm, wherein Rm is substituted aryl (Applicant teaches no limit to the degree or type of substitution in Spec: Page 39); Q2, Q3, Q5, and Q7 are H; Q4 is methoxy; Q6 is C5alkylene; Y is O; X is absent; D is
wherein A1 is O, A-1 is a 14-membered heterocycloalkylene:
, and B1 is a bond; a2, e1, and e2 are 0; F1 is
wherein all ring members are C.
Methods taught in the patent require the presence of the claimed compounds.
With respect to Claims 8-9, 12-13, 15, and 17, Linker I is absent. The cited claims do not require the presence of a Linker attached to X.
With respect to Claim 35, alternatively the Howard compound may be reinterpreted such that Ba’, Bb’, and Bc’ are all a bond according to Chemical Formula VII.
Since both claim sets teach pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Lego chem.
6. Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17, 26-27, and 35 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10383949 (hereinafter referred to as Legochem).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives.
Legochem teaches the following compound:
in which the following definitions of examined Chemical Formula I apply: Q1 is Rm, wherein Rm is substituted aryl (Applicant teaches no limit to the degree or type of substitution in Spec: Page 39); Q2, Q3, Q5, and Q7 are H; Q4 is methoxy; Q6 is C5alkylene; Y is O; X is absent; D is
wherein A1 is O, A-1 is a 14-membered heterocycloalkylene:
, and B1 is a bond; a2, e1, and e2 are 0; F1 is
wherein all ring members are C.
Methods taught in the patent require the presence of the claimed compounds.
With respect to Claims 8-9, 12-13, 15, and 17, Linker I is absent. The cited claims do not require the presence of a Linker attached to X.
With respect to Claim 35, alternatively the Howard compound may be reinterpreted such that Ba’, Bb’, and Bc’ are all a bond according to Chemical Formula VII.
Since both claim sets teach pyrrolobenzodiazepine derivatives, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Lego chem.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Claims 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627