Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0313385 A1) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0394743 A1)
6, YANG teaches a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives, from a base station, single downlink control information used for scheduling a plurality of cells [abstract, par 0092, A method for wireless communications performed by a base station (BS) is provided. The method generally includes generating DCI, the DCI scheduling at least one transmission, according to a first DCI format. The first DCI format is compressed relative to a second DCI format and includes a carrier indicator field (CIF) and/or a rate- matching indicator field. The BS transmits the DCI to a user equipment (UE). The DCI
may schedule PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., TT! bundling repetitions). PDSCH may be scheduled/transmitted only within the same cell if (e.g., when) the CIF is not included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is not configured), and the PDSCH repetitions are transmitted in different cells if (e.g., when) the CIF is included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is configured). Multiple CIFs may be included in the same PDCCH and each CIF can indicate a cell on which a scheduled PDSCH repetition is located. The UE may be scheduled (e.g., configured or indicated) with different rate-matching patterns for different PDSCH repetitions],
wherein the downlink control information includes an indication for rate matching [par 0091, the UE receives the DCI in a PDCCH. The rate-matching indicator field indicates whether a scheduled PDSCH is rate-matched around the scheduling PDCCH. According to certain aspects, the UE determines the rate-matching pattern for the PDSCH based on the indication];
wherein the indication is indicated as a rate matching indication field included in the downlink control information [par 0126, 0176, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, PDSCH is repeatedly transmitted from different TRPs such as 1400, 1420 illustrates an example in which a specific resource area 1435 indicated by the rate matching indicator field included in a single DCI 1425 is not used for repeated transmissions 1430 and 1432 of the same PDSCH from TRP 1 and TRP 2]
and wherein the rate matching indication field specifies a combination that indicates a plurality of rate matching patterns applied to each of the plurality of cells [par 0126, 0131, As an example, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901. The above-described information is rate matching pattern information and may be configured for each cell, for each BWP, or for each TRP (or TCI state)]
YANG fail to show and a processor that performs rate matching based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells, wherein the rate matching pattern is determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups.
Park show a processor that performs rate matching based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells [par 0123, 0124, In the NR system, the UE may receive up to 4 RateMatchPatterns per cell and per BWP configured through a higher signal. The RateMatchPattern may be one of the following. A resource area composed of an RB-level bitmap and a symbol-level bitmap within the BWP, and the corresponding resource area may be continuous or non-consecutive, and may appear repeatedly with a period of slot units. When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP],
wherein the rate matching pattern is determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups [par 0124-0126, When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups. The UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, and the corresponding value is 1 910, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is not used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission 905].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YANG and Park because by transmit a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the first rate matching resource information, and to transmit a second PDSCH in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the second rate matching resource information a baes station may provide efficient data transmission to a UE in a wireless communication system [park, par 0011, 0012]
8. YANG and Park demonstrate the terminal according to claim 6, wherein the processor applies a rate matching pattern, based on the combination specified by the rate matching indication field, to a physical downlink shared channel [YANG par 0091, the UE receives the DCI in a PDCCH. The rate-matching indicator field indicates whether a scheduled PDSCH is rate-matched around the scheduling PDCCH. According to certain aspects, the UE determines the rate-matching pattern for the PDSCH based on the indication].
9, YANG and Park defines the terminal according to claim 6, YANG fail to show wherein the processor determines a size of the rate matching indication field based on a number of combinations indicating applicability of one or more rate matching patterns to each of the plurality of cells
In an analogous art Park show wherein the processor determines a size of the rate matching indication field based on a number of combinations indicating applicability of one or more rate matching patterns to each of the plurality of cells [par 0126, On the other hand, if the corresponding value is 0 915, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission. “Rate matching indicator” may consist of up to two bits, and each bit may inform whether each rateMatchPatternGroup is used for PDSCH transmission. If both bits indicate 1, the base station informs the UE that the resource area composed of the RB and the symbol level composed of the union of the two rateMatchPatternGroups is not used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission. According to application spec par 0039, The size of the rate matching indicator field may be, for example, 0, 1, or 2 bits, depending on whether rateMatchPatternGroup1 and/or rateMatchPatternGroup2 is configured for multiple resource elements (REs)]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YANG and Park because by transmit a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the first rate matching resource information, and to transmit a second PDSCH in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the second rate matching resource information a baes station may provide efficient data transmission to a UE in a wireless communication system [park, par 0011, 0012]
10, YANG and Park disclose the terminal according to claim 6, YANG fail to show wherein the receiver further receives, from the base station, rate matching configuration information including multiple combinations that indicate applicability of one or more rate matching patterns to each of the plurality of cells; and the processor performs the rate matching based on one combination specified by the rate matching indication field from the multiple combinations.
In an analogous art Park show wherein the receiver further receives, from the base station, rate matching configuration information including multiple combinations that indicate applicability of one or more rate matching patterns to each of the plurality of cells [par 0123, 0124 In the NR system, the UE may receive up to 4 RateMatchPatterns per cell and per BWP configured through a higher signal. The RateMatchPattern may be one of the following. When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups].
and the processor performs the rate matching based on one combination specified by the rate matching indication field from the multiple combinations [par 0126, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, and the corresponding value is 1 910, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is not used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission 905. On the other hand, if the corresponding value is 0 915, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YANG and Park because by transmit a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the first rate matching resource information, and to transmit a second PDSCH in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the second rate matching resource information a baes station may provide efficient data transmission to a UE in a wireless communication system [park, par 0011, 0012]
11. YANG teaches a communication method performed by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, single downlink control information used for scheduling a plurality of cells [abstract, par 0092, A method for wireless communications performed by a base station (BS) is provided. The method generally includes generating DCI, the DCI scheduling at least one transmission, according to a first DCI format. The first DCI format is compressed relative to a second DC! format and includes a carrier indicator field (CIF) and/or a rate-matching indicator field. The BS transmits the DCI to a user equipment (UE). The DCI may schedule PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., TTI bundling repetitions). PDSCH may be scheduled/transmitted only within the same cell if (e.g., when) the CIF is not included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is not configured), and the PDSCH repetitions are transmitted in different cells if (e.g., when) the CIF is included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is configured). Multiple CIFs may be included in the same PDCCH and each CIF can indicate a cell on which a scheduled PDSCH repetition is located. The UE may be scheduled (e.g,., configured or indicated) with different rate-matching patterns for different PDSCH repetitions],
wherein the downlink control information includes an indication for rate matching[par 0091, the UE receives the DCI in a PDCCH. The rate-matching indicator field indicates whether a scheduled PDSCH is rate-matched around the scheduling PDCCH. According to certain aspects, the UE determines the rate-matching pattern for the PDSCH based on the indication];
wherein the indication is indicated as a rate matching indication field included in the downlink control information [par 0126, 0176, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, PDSCH is repeatedly transmitted from different TRPs such as 1400, 1420 illustrates an example in which a specific resource area 1435 indicated by the rate matching indicator field included in a single DCI 1425 is not used for repeated transmissions 1430 and 1432 of the same PDSCH from TRP 1 and TRP 2]
and wherein the rate matching indication field specifies a combination that indicates a plurality of rate matching patterns applied to each of the plurality of cells [par 0126, 0131, As an example, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901. The above-described information is rate matching pattern information and may be configured for each cell, for each BWP, or for each TRP (or TCI state)]
YANG fail to show performing rate matching based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells, wherein the rate matching pattern is determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups.
In an analogous art Park show performing rate matching based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells [par 0123, 0124, In the NR system, the UE may receive up to 4 RateMatchPatterns per cell and per BWP configured through a higher signal. The RateMatchPattern may be one of the following. A resource area composed of an RB-level bitmap and a symbol-level bitmap within the BWP, and the corresponding resource area may be continuous or non-consecutive, and may appear repeatedly with a period of slot units. When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP],
wherein the rate matching pattern is determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups [par 0124-0126, When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups. The UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, and the corresponding value is 1 910, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is not used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission 905].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YANG and Park because by transmit a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the first rate matching resource information, and to transmit a second PDSCH in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the second rate matching resource information a baes station may provide efficient data transmission to a UE in a wireless communication system [park, par 0011, 0012]
12. YANG conveys a base station comprising: a processor that generates single downlink control information used for scheduling a plurality of cells [par 0098, A method for wireless communications by a base station (BS), comprising generating downlink control information (DCI), scheduling at least one transmission, according to a first DCI format that is compressed relative to a second DCI format, wherein the first DCI format includes at least one of: a carrier indicator field (CIF) or a rate-matching indicator field]
wherein the downlink control information includes an indication for rate matching[par 0091, the UE receives the DCI in a PDCCH. The rate-matching indicator field indicates whether a scheduled PDSCH is rate-matched around the scheduling PDCCH. According to certain aspects, the UE determines the rate-matching pattern for the PDSCH based on the indication];
and a transmitter that transmits the downlink control information to a terminal [abstract, par 0092, A method for wireless communications performed by a base station (BS) is provided. The method generally includes generating DCI, the DC! scheduling at least one transmission, according to a first DCI format. The first DC!
format is compressed relative to a second DCI format and includes a carrier indicator field (CIF) and/or a rate-matching indicator field. The BS transmits the DCI to a user equipment (UE). The DCI may schedule PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., TT! bundling repetitions). PDSCH may be scheduled/transmitted only within the same cell if (e.g., when) the CIF is not included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is not configured), and the PDSCH repetitions are transmitted in different cells if (e.g., when) the CIF is included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is configured). Multiple CiFs may be included in the same PDCCH and each CIF can indicate a cell on which a scheduled PDSCH repetition is located. The UE may be scheduled (e.g., configured or indicated) with different rate- matching patterns for different PDSCH repetitions],
wherein the indication is indicated as a rate matching indication field included in the downlink control information [par 0126, 0176, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, PDSCH is repeatedly transmitted from different TRPs such as 1400, 1420 illustrates an example in which a specific resource area 1435 indicated by the rate matching indicator field included in a single DCI 1425 is not used for repeated transmissions 1430 and 1432 of the same PDSCH from TRP 1 and TRP 2]
and wherein the rate matching indication field specifies a combination that indicates a plurality of rate matching patterns applied to each of the plurality of cells [par 0126, 0131, As an example, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901. The above-described information is rate matching pattern information and may be configured for each cell, for each BWP, or for each TRP (or TCI state)]
YANG fail to show wherein the terminal performs rate matching for a downlink shared channel based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells, the rate matching pattern being determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups.
In an analogous art Park show wherein the terminal performs rate matching for a downlink shared channel based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells[par 0123, 0124, In the NR system, the UE may receive up to 4 RateMatchPatterns per cell and per BWP configured through a higher signal. The RateMatchPattern may be one of the following. A resource area composed of an RB-level bitmap and a symbol-level bitmap within the BWP, and the corresponding resource area may be continuous or non-consecutive, and may appear repeatedly with a period of slot units. When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP],
the rate matching pattern being determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups[par 0124-0126, When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups. The UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, and the corresponding value is 1 910, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is not used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission 905].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YANG and Park because by transmit a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the first rate matching resource information, and to transmit a second PDSCH in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the second rate matching resource information a baes station may provide efficient data transmission to a UE in a wireless communication system [park, par 0011, 0012]
Response to Arguments
Specifically, independent claim 6 is amended to recite, in part, "wherein the indication is indicated as a rate matching indication field included in the downlink control information, and wherein the rate matching indication field specifies a combination that indicates a plurality of rate matching patterns applied to each of the plurality of cells." Independent claims 11 and 12 are amended to recite substantially similar limitations. Claims 8-10 are amended to depend from independent claim 6.
Specifically, regarding limitation (i), the Examiner recognizes that Yang fails to teach performing rate matching based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells, wherein the rate matching pattern is determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups. See Office Action, page 4. Applicant agrees, and thus it is undisputed that Yang cannot teach limitation (i).
That is, Park at most teaches receiving 4 RateMatchPatterns per single cell and the RateMatchPatterns being determined based on the rateMatchPatternGroup information relating to different rate match pattern groups. However, Park fails to teach performing rate matching based on 4 RateMatchPatterns applied to each of multiple cells. Thus, Park fails to teach "a processor that performs rate matching based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells," as arranged by limitation (i). Therefore, Park fails to remedy the defects of Yang with respect to limitation (i) of amended independent claim 6.
However, Yang fails to teach that the indicator directly specifies a combination that indicates which patterns are applied to each of the specific cells. In addition, in Yang, the indicator only selects a state, which is different from the claimed using the field to specify a combination (e.g., a bitmap or index) that maps multiple patterns to multiple cells in a single DCI. Thus, Yang cannot teach above limitation (ii) of amended independent claim 6.
Park fails to supply which Yang lacks with respect to limitation (ii) because Park makes no mention of the rate matching indication field specifying a combination that indicates a plurality of rate matching patterns applied to each of the plurality of cells. Thus, Park fails to remedy the defects of Yang with respect to limitation (ii) of amended independent claim 6.
Further, even assuming arguendo a skilled person were to combine Yang and Park, in the manner suggested by the Examiner, the combination would still fail to render amended independent claim 6 obvious, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had no motivation to supply the missing elements without the benefit of Applicant's own disclosure as a guide.
The examiner respectfully disagrees paragraphs 0126, and 0176, shows the rate matching indicator field included in a single DCI, and also the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1.
Paragraph 0131, rate matching pattern information and may be configured for each cell,
Therefore the examiner’s broadest reasonable interpretation Yang discloses that an rate match indication is indicated in downlink control information, wherein the rate matching pattern maybe configured for each cell.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468