Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2019/0313385 A1) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0394743 A1).
6, YANG teaches a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives, from a base station, single downlink control information used for scheduling a plurality of cells [abstract, par 0092, A method for wireless communications performed by a base station (BS) is provided. The method generally includes generating DCI, the DCI scheduling at least one transmission, according to a first DCI format. The first DCI format is compressed relative to a second DCI format and includes a carrier indicator field (CIF) and/or a rate- matching indicator field. The BS transmits the DCI to a user equipment (UE). The DCI
may schedule PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., TT! bundling repetitions). PDSCH may be scheduled/transmitted only within the same cell if (e.g., when) the CIF is not included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is not configured), and the PDSCH repetitions are transmitted in different cells if (e.g., when) the CIF is included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is configured). Multiple CIFs may be included in the same PDCCH and each CIF can indicate a cell on which a scheduled PDSCH repetition is located. The UE may be scheduled (e.g., configured or indicated) with different rate-matching patterns for different PDSCH repetitions],
wherein the downlink control information includes an indication for rate matching [par 0091, the UE receives the DCI in a PDCCH. The rate-matching indicator field indicates whether a scheduled PDSCH is rate-matched around the scheduling PDCCH. According to certain aspects, the UE determines the rate-matching pattern for the PDSCH based on the indication];
wherein the indication is indicated as a rate matching indication field included in the downlink control information [par 0126, 0176, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, PDSCH is repeatedly transmitted from different TRPs such as 1400, 1420 illustrates an example in which a specific resource area 1435 indicated by the rate matching indicator field included in a single DCI 1425 is not used for repeated transmissions 1430 and 1432 of the same PDSCH from TRP 1 and TRP 2]
and wherein the rate matching indication field specifies a combination that indicates a plurality of rate matching patterns applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with the group[par 0126, 0131, As an example, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901. The above-described information is rate matching pattern information and may be configured for each cell, for each BWP, or for each TRP (or TCI state)]
YANG fail to show and a processor that performs rate matching based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with a group, wherein the rate matching pattern is determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups.
In an analogous art Park show and a processor that performs rate matching based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with a group [par 0123, 0124, In the NR system, the UE may receive up to 4 RateMatchPatterns per cell and per BWP configured through a higher signal. When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups],
wherein the rate matching pattern is determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups [par 0124-0126, When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups. The UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, and the corresponding value is 1 910, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is not used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission 905].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YANG and Park because by transmit a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the first rate matching resource information, and to transmit a second PDSCH in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the second rate matching resource information a baes station may provide efficient data transmission to a UE in a wireless communication system [park, par 0011, 0012]
8. YANG and Park demonstrate the terminal according to claim 6, wherein the processor applies a rate matching pattern, based on the combination specified by the rate matching indication field, to a physical downlink shared channel [YANG par 0091, the UE receives the DCI in a PDCCH. The rate-matching indicator field indicates whether a scheduled PDSCH is rate-matched around the scheduling PDCCH. According to certain aspects, the UE determines the rate-matching pattern for the PDSCH based on the indication].
9, YANG and Park defines the terminal according to claim 6, YANG fail to show wherein the processor determines a size of the rate matching indication field based on a number of combinations indicating applicability of one or more rate matching patterns to each of the plurality of cells
In an analogous art Park show wherein the processor determines a size of the rate matching indication field based on a number of combinations indicating applicability of one or more rate matching patterns to each of the plurality of cells [par 0126, On the other hand, if the corresponding value is 0 915, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission. “Rate matching indicator” may consist of up to two bits, and each bit may inform whether each rateMatchPatternGroup is used for PDSCH transmission. If both bits indicate 1, the base station informs the UE that the resource area composed of the RB and the symbol level composed of the union of the two rateMatchPatternGroups is not used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission. According to application spec par 0039, The size of the rate matching indicator field may be, for example, 0, 1, or 2 bits, depending on whether rateMatchPatternGroup1 and/or rateMatchPatternGroup2 is configured for multiple resource elements (REs)]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YANG and Park because by transmit a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the first rate matching resource information, and to transmit a second PDSCH in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the second rate matching resource information a baes station may provide efficient data transmission to a UE in a wireless communication system [park, par 0011, 0012]
10, YANG and Park disclose the terminal according to claim 6, YANG fail to show wherein the receiver further receives, from the base station, rate matching configuration information including multiple combinations that indicate applicability of one or more rate matching patterns to each of the plurality of cells; and the processor performs the rate matching based on one combination specified by the rate matching indication field from the multiple combinations.
In an analogous art Park show wherein the receiver further receives, from the base station, rate matching configuration information including multiple combinations that indicate applicability of one or more rate matching patterns to each of the plurality of cells [par 0123, 0124 In the NR system, the UE may receive up to 4 RateMatchPatterns per cell and per BWP configured through a higher signal. The RateMatchPattern may be one of the following. When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups].
and the processor performs the rate matching based on one combination specified by the rate matching indication field from the multiple combinations [par 0126, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, and the corresponding value is 1 910, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is not used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission 905. On the other hand, if the corresponding value is 0 915, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YANG and Park because by transmit a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the first rate matching resource information, and to transmit a second PDSCH in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the second rate matching resource information a baes station may provide efficient data transmission to a UE in a wireless communication system [park, par 0011, 0012]
11. YANG teaches a communication method performed by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, single downlink control information used for scheduling a plurality of cells [abstract, par 0092, A method for wireless communications performed by a base station (BS) is provided. The method generally includes generating DCI, the DCI scheduling at least one transmission, according to a first DCI format. The first DCI format is compressed relative to a second DC! format and includes a carrier indicator field (CIF) and/or a rate-matching indicator field. The BS transmits the DCI to a user equipment (UE). The DCI may schedule PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., TTI bundling repetitions). PDSCH may be scheduled/transmitted only within the same cell if (e.g., when) the CIF is not included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is not configured), and the PDSCH repetitions are transmitted in different cells if (e.g., when) the CIF is included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is configured). Multiple CIFs may be included in the same PDCCH and each CIF can indicate a cell on which a scheduled PDSCH repetition is located. The UE may be scheduled (e.g,., configured or indicated) with different rate-matching patterns for different PDSCH repetitions],
wherein the downlink control information includes an indication for rate matching[par 0091, the UE receives the DCI in a PDCCH. The rate-matching indicator field indicates whether a scheduled PDSCH is rate-matched around the scheduling PDCCH. According to certain aspects, the UE determines the rate-matching pattern for the PDSCH based on the indication];
wherein the indication is indicated as a rate matching indication field included in the downlink control information [par 0126, 0176, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, PDSCH is repeatedly transmitted from different TRPs such as 1400, 1420 illustrates an example in which a specific resource area 1435 indicated by the rate matching indicator field included in a single DCI 1425 is not used for repeated transmissions 1430 and 1432 of the same PDSCH from TRP 1 and TRP 2]
and wherein the rate matching indication field specifies a combination that indicates a plurality of rate matching patterns applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with the group[par 0126, 0131, As an example, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901. The above-described information is rate matching pattern information and may be configured for each cell, for each BWP, or for each TRP (or TCI state)]
YANG fail to show performing rate matching based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with a group, wherein the rate matching pattern is determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups.
In an analogous art Park show performing rate matching based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with a group[par 0123, 0124, In the NR system, the UE may receive up to 4 RateMatchPatterns per cell and per BWP configured through a higher signal. When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups],
wherein the rate matching pattern is determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups [par 0124-0126, When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups. The UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, and the corresponding value is 1 910, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is not used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission 905].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YANG and Park because by transmit a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the first rate matching resource information, and to transmit a second PDSCH in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the second rate matching resource information a baes station may provide efficient data transmission to a UE in a wireless communication system [park, par 0011, 0012]
12. YANG conveys a base station comprising: a processor that generates single downlink control information used for scheduling a plurality of cells [par 0098, A method for wireless communications by a base station (BS), comprising generating downlink control information (DCI), scheduling at least one transmission, according to a first DCI format that is compressed relative to a second DCI format, wherein the first DCI format includes at least one of: a carrier indicator field (CIF) or a rate-matching indicator field]
wherein the downlink control information includes an indication for rate matching[par 0091, the UE receives the DCI in a PDCCH. The rate-matching indicator field indicates whether a scheduled PDSCH is rate-matched around the scheduling PDCCH. According to certain aspects, the UE determines the rate-matching pattern for the PDSCH based on the indication];
and a transmitter that transmits the downlink control information to a terminal [abstract, par 0092, A method for wireless communications performed by a base station (BS) is provided. The method generally includes generating DCI, the DC! scheduling at least one transmission, according to a first DCI format. The first DCI
format is compressed relative to a second DCI format and includes a carrier indicator field (CIF) and/or a rate-matching indicator field. The BS transmits the DCI to a user equipment (UE). The DCI may schedule PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., TT! bundling repetitions). PDSCH may be scheduled/transmitted only within the same cell if (e.g., when) the CIF is not included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is not configured), and the PDSCH repetitions are transmitted in different cells if (e.g., when) the CIF is included in the DCI (e.g., if CIF for URLLC PDCCH is configured). Multiple CiFs may be included in the same PDCCH and each CIF can indicate a cell on which a scheduled PDSCH repetition is located. The UE may be scheduled (e.g., configured or indicated) with different rate- matching patterns for different PDSCH repetitions],
wherein the indication is indicated as a rate matching indication field included in the downlink control information [par 0126, 0176, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, PDSCH is repeatedly transmitted from different TRPs such as 1400, 1420 illustrates an example in which a specific resource area 1435 indicated by the rate matching indicator field included in a single DCI 1425 is not used for repeated transmissions 1430 and 1432 of the same PDSCH from TRP 1 and TRP 2]
and wherein the rate matching indication field specifies a combination that indicates a plurality of rate matching patterns applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with the group[par 0126, 0131, As an example, the UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901. The above-described information is rate matching pattern information and may be configured for each cell, for each BWP, or for each TRP (or TCI state)]
YANG fail to show wherein the terminal performs rate matching for a downlink shared channel based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with a group, the rate matching pattern being determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups.
In an analogous art Park show wherein the terminal performs rate matching for a downlink shared channel based on a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with a group[par 0123, 0124, In the NR system, the UE may receive up to 4 RateMatchPatterns per cell and per BWP configured through a higher signal. When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups],
the rate matching pattern being determined based on the indication relating to different rate match pattern groups[par 0124-0126, When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups. The UE is configured by rateMatchPatternGroup information 910 and 915 composed of RateMatchPatterns through a higher signal, and when the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, and the corresponding value is 1 910, the UE may be instructed by the base station that the resource area composed of the RB and symbol level indicated by the corresponding rateMatchPatternGroup is not used for the corresponding PDSCH transmission 905].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YANG and Park because by transmit a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the first rate matching resource information, and to transmit a second PDSCH in a resource excluding the resource indicated by the second rate matching resource information a baes station may provide efficient data transmission to a UE in a wireless communication system [Park, par 0011, 0012]
Response to Arguments
Park fails to supply which Yang lacks with respect to limitation. That is, Park at most teaches the rate matching indicator, corresponding to the ratedMatchPatternGroup is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 and may be configured for each single cell. However, Park fails to teach that the rate matching indicator, corresponding to the ratedMatchPatternGroup, is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 and may be configured for each of multiple cells configured with a group. In fact, Park is silent to one or more rate matching patterns applied to each of the group of cells. Therefore, Park fails to remedy the defects of Yang with respect to limitation (i) of amended independent claim 6.
The examiner respectfully disagrees paragraph 0126, “the rate matching indicator (corresponding to that ratedMatchPatternGroup) is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1 901, and the corresponding value is 1 910”, the paragraph shows that the rate matching indicator, corresponding to the ratedMatchPatternGroup, is included in the non-fallback DCI format 1_1.
In paragraphs 0123, 0124 it is shown where, “In the NR system, the UE may receive up to 4 RateMatchPatterns per cell and per BWP configured through a higher signal”,
“When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups”, the paragraphs rate matching patterns per cell and per BWP, and pattern configured for each serving cell are incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups.
However, Yang does not contain any mention of the rate matching indication field specifying a combination that indicates a plurality of rate matching patterns applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with the group. Thus, Yang cannot teach above limitation (ii) of amended independent claim 6.
The examiner agrees that Yang doesn’t disclose the amended claim, but the applicant’s claim is rejected by Yang in view of Park. Therefore the combination of Yang and Park anticipates the applicant’s claim
Park fails to supply which Yang lacks with respect to limitation (ii) However, Park fails to teach that the UE is configured by rateMatchPattemGroup information composed of RateMatchPatterns applied to each of multiple cells configured with a group. In fact, Park is silent to one or more rate matching patterns applied to each of the group of cells. Thus, Park fails to remedy the defects of Yang with respect to limitation (ii) of amended independent claim 6.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the applicant claim does not state that the rate matching patterns applied to each of the group of cells. The claim state that the a rate matching pattern applied to each of the plurality of cells configured with a group.
In Park paragraphs 0123, 0124 it is shown where, “In the NR system, the UE may receive up to 4 RateMatchPatterns per cell and per BWP configured through a higher signal”,
“When configured for each serving cell, the subcarrier spacing to which the corresponding RateMatchPattern is applied is also provided, and when configured for each BWP, the corresponding RateMatchPattern is considered to follow the subcarrier spacing of the corresponding BWP. Corresponding resource areas may be configured separately and then incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups”, the paragraphs rate matching patterns per cell and per BWP, and pattern configured for each serving cell are incorporated into one or two rateMatchPatternGroups.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468