DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 23 MARCH 2026 introduced the new limitations that the at least one polymer coating extends within the pores and partially occludes the pores. Applicant noted that support for this is found in paragraphs 0041-0042, 0044, 0056, and 0064-0068 of the instant specification. The Examiner was unable to find explicit support for the coating extending into the pores in these areas of the instant specification, despite paragraph 0066 stating the application of the coating via techniques such as chemical vapor deposition, atomic layer deposition, and solvent coating which are known to be able to accomplish the coating described in amended instant claim 1. However, the Examiner found numerous examples of the application of various coatings that are drawn into the pores of membranes before drying, in paragraphs 0103-0119 of the instant specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Appeal Brief filed on 30 JULY 2026 have been fully considered.
In view of Applicant’s arguments, the Final rejection mailed on 4/30/2026 is withdrawn and prosecution is reopened to provide clarity of the Office’s position.
Applicant argues, regarding instant claim 1, that McManaway teaches stacked membrane layers which will not inherently have layers that occlude the pores of adjacent layers and that there is no reason to modify Sbriglia with McManaway and therefore instant claim 1 is allowable (Appeal Brief filed 30 JULY 2026, Page 2 to Page 3, Paragraph 1). The argument is moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. McManaway is not necessary for the rejection of instant claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 to stand, as Sbriglia teaches the composite membrane, Wang teaches the coating within the pores, which then occludes the pores, and Mutsumi teaches the pore size. Therefore, instant claim 1 is not allowable.
Applicant argues, regarding instant claim 1, that Wang teaches a PVA coating that is not present during filtration because the PVA coating dissolves and restores the structure characteristics of the original filter body. At best, the PVA coating is temporary during preparation of the membrane and disappears upon wetting the membrane while the instant application describes coatings that exist during filtration. Therefore, instant claim 1 is allowable (Appeal Brief filed 30 JULY 2026, Page 3, Paragraph 2 to Page 4, Paragraph 1). The argument is not persuasive because Wang explicitly teaches that the function of the PVA coating is to filter particles from a solution that are desired to keep, wherein the particles can be re-released from the surface of the membrane via the dissolution of the PVA coating (Paragraph 0007, Machine Translation). The released particles cannot be released from the membrane if the coating is dissolved prior to filtration. Applicant only described the first half of paragraph 0019 of the machine translation which states that most of the PVA on the surface of the membrane can be dissolved within 5 seconds. However, it is noted in the remainder of said paragraph Wang goes on to state, “However, the PVA attached to the microporous membrane body will remain in the aqueous solution for more than 10 minutes, thus playing the role of releasing the target particles after filtration”. Wang further teaches that a buffer solution is added to the membrane before filtration to activate the PVA layer, dissolving most of the PVA layer but maintaining a thin layer of PVA adsorbed on the surface of the membrane which enables the re-release of the enriched target particles (Paragraph 0020, Machine Translation). These teachings by Wang clearly describe a PVA coating is present during a filtration step. Furthermore, instant claim 1 has no description of how long the coating should last on the membrane prior to wearing off/dissolving. Therefore, instant claim 1 is not allowable.
Applicant argues that instant claims 2-5, 8-9, 11-19, and 26-30 either depend upon instant claim 1 or contain the same elements argued above and so are allowable because instant claim 1 is allowable (Appeal Brief filed 30 JULY 2026, Page 4, Paragraph 2 to Page 5). This argument is not persuasive since instant claim 1 is not allowable as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-19, 26, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sbriglia, US Patent Application No. US 20160032069 A1 (hereinafter Sbriglia), in view of Wang et al, Chinese Patent Application No. CN 110652889 A (hereinafter Wang), and Mutsumi, Japanese Patent Application No. JP 2018131520 A (hereinafter Mutsumi).
Regarding Claim 1, Sbriglia teaches a polyparaxylylene polymer article that can be expanded to form a porous article (i.e., one expanded polyparaxylylene (ePPX) membrane; Abstract) that has a node (Fig. 7A, #10) and fibril (Fig. 7a, #20) structure (i.e., said ePPX membrane having a microstructure comprising nodes, fibrils and pores; Paragraph 0001) and shows spaces between connected nodes and fibrils (i.e., said nodes being interconnected by said fibrils and said pores being a void space between said nodes and fibrils; Fig. 7A; Paragraph 0074). Sbriglia further teaches that a thin polyparaxylylene polymer film may be applied to a polytetrafluoroethylene substrate to from a composite structure (i.e., a composite membrane) and that the different microstructures can be measured by a difference in porosity (i.e., coupled on one side to at least one additional porous substrate; Paragraph 0044).
Sbriglia does not teach the at least one ePPX membrane having at least one polymer coating thereon, wherein the at least one polymer coating extends within the pores and partially occludes the pores.
However, Wang teaches the use of a release layer made of poly vinyl alcohol (PVA) on a filter membrane with a parylene layer on its surface (i.e., the at least one ePPX membrane having at least one polymer coating thereon; Paragraphs 0007-00011, Machine Translation) wherein the release layer is adhered by soaking, filtering, spin coating or spraying and the PVA release layer forms inside the pores (i.e., wherein the at least one polymer coating extends within the pores and partially occludes the pores; Paragraph 0046, Machine Translation) with the benefit of making the membrane re-release target particles more easily (Paragraph 0007, Machine Translation).
Wang is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to microporous filtration membranes with a release layer (Paragraph 0002, Machine Translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the membrane taught by Sbriglia with the release layer on the surface of and in the pores of the membrane as taught by Wang because the release layer would allow for the membrane to release particles that are attached to the membrane surface more easily.
Sbriglia in view of Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the organic solvent nanofiltration membrane has an average pore size of about 0.1 nm to about 5 nm.
Mutsumi pertains to a parylene separation membrane (Paragraph 0001, Machine Translation). Mutsumi teaches that it is known to utilize a pore size of 0.1 to 10 nm for a parylene membrane because the membrane is capable of separating solutes that are larger than the pore size from a solvent that is smaller than the pore size (Paragraphs 0013 and 0015, Machine Translation).
Mutsumi’s disclosure of 0.1 to 10 nm pore size encompasses claimed 0.1 to 5 nm. A prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to have selected the pore size that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang further teaches immersion adhesion method of the membrane to apply the release layer (i.e., wherein the polymer coating is on one or both sides of the ePPX membrane; Paragraph 0015, Machine Translation) which would apply the coating to all sides of the membrane.
Regarding Claim 3, Sbriglia further teaches that the article has a node and fibril structure (Paragraph 0001) and that a thin polyparaxylylene polymer film may be applied to a polytetrafluoroethylene substrate to from a composite structure (Paragraph 0044).
Wang further teaches immersion adhesion method of the membrane to apply the release layer (i.e., wherein the nodes and fibrils are at least partially coated with said polymer coating; Paragraph 0015, Machine Translation) which would apply the coating to all sides of the membrane and naturally to the nodes and fibrils.
Regarding Claim 4, Wang further teaches that the degree of PVA hydrolysis is above 70%, which results in stronger hydrogen bonds between PVA molecules, which is a physical form of cross-linking, making the PVA coating more difficult to dissolve (i.e., wherein the at least one polymer coating is cross-linked; Paragraph 0021, Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang further teaches the use of PVA as a release layer (i.e., wherein the at least one polymer coating comprises at least one of polyvinyl alcohol (PVA); Paragraph 0008, Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 8, Sbriglia further teaches that the polymer substrate may be an expanded polytetrafluoroethylene membrane (i.e., wherein the additional porous substrate is a porous polyolefin; Paragraph 0011).
Regarding Claim 9, Sbriglia further teaches that the polymer substrate may be an expanded polytetrafluoroethylene membrane (i.e., wherein the additional porous substrate comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE); Paragraph 0011).
Regarding Claim 11, Sbriglia further teaches that a thin polyparaxylylene polymer film may be applied to a polytetrafluoroethylene substrate to from a composite structure (Paragraph 0044) and that the substrate may be an expanded polytetrafluoroethylene membrane (i.e., wherein the organic solvent nanofiltration membrane is a polymer coated ePPX-ePTFE composite membrane; Paragraph 0006).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang further teaches the use of PVA as a release layer (i.e., wherein the at least one polymer coating includes a different polymer than polyparaxylylene; Paragraph 0008, Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 13, Sbriglia further teaches that polyparaxylylene (PPX) polymers include PPX-N, PPX-AF4, PPX-VT4, and combination thereof (i.e., wherein the ePPX membrane comprises a polyparaxylylene polymer selected from PPX-N, PPX-AF4, PPX-VT4, or any combination thereof; Paragraph 0042).
Regarding Claim 14, Mutsumi further teaches that the parylene membrane is preferably used as a composite membrane with a porous membrane and a support, with example supports including porous membranes, resin sheets, and nonwoven fabrics (i.e., further comprising at least one porous support; Paragraphs 0043-0044, Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 15, Mutsumi further teaches that the parylene membrane is preferably used as a composite membrane with a porous membrane and a support, with example supports including porous membranes, resin sheets, and nonwoven fabrics (i.e., wherein the at least one porous support is a membrane; Paragraphs 0043-0044, Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 16, Sbriglia teaches a polyparaxylylene polymer article that can be expanded to form a porous article (i.e., one expanded polyparaxylylene (ePPX) membrane; Abstract) that has a node (Fig. 7A, #10) and fibril (Fig. 7a, #20) structure (i.e., said ePPX membrane having a microstructure comprising nodes, fibrils and pores; Paragraph 0001) and shows spaces between connected nodes and fibrils (i.e., said nodes being interconnected by said fibrils and said pores being a void space between said nodes and fibrils; Fig. 7A; Paragraph 0074). Sbriglia further teaches that a thin polyparaxylylene polymer film may be applied to a polytetrafluoroethylene substrate to from a composite structure (i.e., a composite membrane) and that the different microstructures can be measured by a difference in porosity (i.e., coupled on one side to at least one additional porous substrate; Paragraph 0044).
Sbriglia does not teach the at least one ePPX membrane having at least one polymer coating thereon, wherein the at least one polymer coating extends within the pores and partially occludes the pores.
However, Wang teaches the use of a release layer made of poly vinyl alcohol (PVA) on a filter membrane with a parylene layer on its surface (i.e., the at least one ePPX membrane having at least one polymer coating thereon; Paragraphs 0007-00011, Machine Translation) wherein the release layer is adhered by soaking, filtering, spin coating or spraying and the PVA release layer forms inside the pores (i.e., wherein the at least one polymer coating extends within the pores and partially occludes the pores; Paragraph 0046, Machine Translation) with the benefit of making the membrane re-release target particles more easily (Paragraph 0007, Machine Translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the membrane as taught by Sbriglia with the release layer in the pores of the membrane as taught by Wang because the release layer would allow for the membrane to release particles that are attached to the membrane surface more easily.
Sbriglia in view of Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the organic solvent nanofiltration membrane has an average pore size of about 0.1 nm to about 5 nm.
However, Mutsumi teaches that it is known to utilize a pore size of 0.1 to 10 nm for a parylene membrane because the membrane is capable of separating solutes that are larger than the pore size from a solvent that is smaller than the pore size (Paragraphs 0013 and 0015, Machine Translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the composite membrane made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang with the pore size as taught by Mutsumi because the pore size would enable the separation of solvents from solutes.
Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi does not teach the explicit average pore size of about 0.1 nm to about 5 nm in the instant claim. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to have selected the pore size that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi.
Furthermore, the limitation “a solution to be passed through (a) comprising at least one solute having a first molecular weight and at least one organic solvent having a second molecular weight, wherein the second molecular weight is less than the first molecular weight” is directed toward materials or articles worked upon by the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. The inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus holds no patentable weight. See MPEP §2115.
Regarding Claim 17, the limitation “wherein the solute is a pharmaceutical molecule, a petrochemical molecule, a plant extract, a vegetable oil, an animal extract, a cellular extract, a protein, an enzyme, a lipid, an organic catalyst or an inorganic catalyst” is directed toward materials or articles worked upon by the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. The inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus holds no patentable weight. See MPEP §2115.
Regarding Claim 18, Sbriglia further teaches a polyparaxylylene polymer article (i.e., an article comprising) that can be expanded to form a porous article (i.e., one expanded polyparaxylylene (ePPX) membrane; Abstract) that has a node (Fig. 7A, #10) and fibril (Fig. 7a, #20) structure (i.e., said ePPX membrane having a microstructure comprising nodes, fibrils and pores; Paragraph 0001).
Regarding Claim 26, Sbriglia further teaches that the polyparaxylylene is applied to a substrate (i.e., wherein the at least one ePPX membrane is applied to a surface of the additional porous substrate; Fig. 2, #5; Paragraph 0043).
Wang further teaches immersion adhesion method of the membrane to apply the release layer (i.e., the at least one polymer coating is an outermost layer applied to at least a portion of the surface of the at least on ePPX membrane; Paragraph 0015, Machine Translation) which would apply the coating to all sides of the membrane so the PVA release layer will always be on an outermost layer.
Regarding Claim 28, Wang further teaches the use of a release layer made of poly vinyl alcohol (PVA) on a filter membrane with a parylene layer on its surface (Paragraphs 0007-00011, Machine Translation) wherein the release layer is adhered by soaking, filtering, spin coating or spraying and the PVA release layer forms inside the pores (i.e., wherein the at least one polymer coating fills a portion of the pores of the at least one ePPX membrane; Paragraph 0046, Machine Translation) with the benefit of making membrane re-release target particles more easily (Paragraph 0007, Machine Translation).
Mutsumi further teaches that it is known to utilize a pore size of 0.1 to 10 nm for a parylene membrane because the membrane is capable of separating solutes that are larger than the pore size from a solvent that is smaller than the pore size (i.e., such that an initial size of the pores is reduced to the average pore size of 0.1 nm to 5 nm; Paragraphs 0013 and 0015, Machine Translation).
Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi does not teach the explicit average pore size of about 0.1 nm to about 5 nm in the instant claim. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to have selected the pore size that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi.
Regarding Claim 29, Mutsumi further teaches that it is known to utilize a pore size of 0.1 to 10 nm for a parylene membrane because the membrane is capable of separating solutes that are larger than the pore size from a solvent that is smaller than the pore size (i.e., wherein a level of occlusion of the pores is at least partially dependent on a size of the at least one solute; Paragraphs 0013 and 0015, Machine Translation).
Claims 16-17 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi in view of Dietz US Patent Application No. 20130090488 A1 (hereinafter Dietz).
Regarding Claim 16, Sbriglia teaches a polyparaxylylene polymer article that can be expanded to form a porous article (i.e., one expanded polyparaxylylene (ePPX) membrane; Abstract) that has a node (Fig. 7A, #10) and fibril (Fig. 7a, #20) structure (i.e., said ePPX membrane having a microstructure comprising nodes, fibrils and pores; Paragraph 0001) and shows spaces between connected nodes and fibrils (i.e., said nodes being interconnected by said fibrils and said pores being a void space between said nodes and fibrils; Fig. 7A; Paragraph 0074). Sbriglia further teaches that a thin polyparaxylylene polymer film may be applied to a polytetrafluoroethylene substrate to from a composite structure (i.e., a composite membrane) and that the different microstructures can be measured by a difference in porosity (i.e., coupled on one side to at least one additional porous substrate; Paragraph 0044).
Sbriglia does not teach the at least one ePPX membrane having at least one polymer coating thereon, wherein the at least one polymer coating extends within the pores and partially occludes the pores.
However, Wang teaches the use of a release layer made of poly vinyl alcohol (PVA) on a filter membrane with a parylene layer on its surface (i.e., the at least one ePPX membrane having at least one polymer coating thereon; Paragraphs 0007-00011, Machine Translation) wherein the release layer is adhered by soaking, filtering, spin coating or spraying and the PVA release layer forms inside the pores (i.e., wherein the at least one polymer coating extends within the pores and partially occludes the pores; Paragraph 0046, Machine Translation) with the benefit of making membrane re-release target particles more easily (Paragraph 0007, Machine Translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the membrane as taught by Sbriglia with the release layer in the pores of the membrane as taught by Wang because the release layer would allow for the membrane to release particles that are attached to the membrane surface more easily.
Sbriglia in view of Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the organic solvent nanofiltration membrane has an average pore size of about 0.1 nm to about 5 nm.
However, Mutsumi teaches that it is known to utilize a pore size of 0.1 to 10 nm for a parylene membrane because the membrane is capable of separating solutes that are larger than the pore size from a solvent that is smaller than the pore size (Paragraphs 0013 and 0015, Machine Translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the composite membrane made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang with the pore size as taught by Mutsumi because the pore size would enable the separation of solvents from solutes.
Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi does not teach a solution to be passed through (a) comprising at least one solute having a first molecular weight and at least one organic solvent having a second molecular weight, wherein the second molecular weight is less than the first molecular weight.
However, Dietz teaches the removal of solubilized carboxylic acids (i.e., at least one solute) from oils (i.e., a solution) during pharmaceutical, chemical or industrial processing (Paragraph 0370) with the carboxylic acid being tetracosanoic acid, molecular weight of 368.63 gram/mol, (i.e., having a first molecular weight; Paragraphs 0010-0011) and the oil being gasoline, molecular weight 100.2 gram/mol, (i.e., at least one organic solvent having a second molecular weight, wherein the second molecular weight is less than the first molecular weight; Paragraph 0047) where the polymer poly-p-xylylene (i.e., PPX) is suitable for use in the separation membrane (Paragraph 0451) with the benefit of providing a simple, quick, and biocompatible separation of fatty acids from organic media (Paragraph 0006).
Dietz is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a method for separating carboxylic acids from organic solutions including passing the solution along a separation membrane (Paragraphs 0112-0119). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to use the membrane made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi for the separation of carboxylic acids as taught by Dietz because the membrane in the filtration device would provide a simple, quick, and biocompatible separation of fatty acids from organic media.
Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi in view of Dietz does not teach the explicit average pore size of about 0.1 nm to about 5 nm in the instant claim. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to have selected the pore size that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi in view of Dietz.
Furthermore, the limitation “a solution to be passed through (a) comprising at least one solute having a first molecular weight and at least one organic solvent having a second molecular weight, wherein the second molecular weight is less than the first molecular weight” is directed toward materials or articles worked upon by the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. The inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus holds no patentable weight. See MPEP §2115.
Regarding Claim 17, Dietz further teaches that the carboxylic acids are fatty acids (i.e. wherein the solute is a lipid; Paragraph 0022).
Furthermore, the limitation “wherein the solute is a pharmaceutical molecule, a petrochemical molecule, a plant extract, a vegetable oil, an animal extract, a cellular extract, a protein, an enzyme, a lipid, an organic catalyst or an inorganic catalyst” is directed toward materials or articles worked upon by the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. The inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus holds no patentable weight. See MPEP §2115.
Claims 19 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi in view of Dietz.
Regarding Claim 19, Sbriglia teaches a polyparaxylylene polymer article that can be expanded to form a porous article (i.e., one expanded polyparaxylylene (ePPX) membrane; Abstract) that has a node (Fig. 7A, #10) and fibril (Fig. 7a, #20) structure (i.e., said ePPX membrane having a microstructure comprising nodes, fibrils and pores; Paragraph 0001) and shows spaces between connected nodes and fibrils (i.e., said nodes being interconnected by said fibrils and said pores being a void space between said nodes and fibrils; Fig. 7A; Paragraph 0074). Sbriglia further teaches that a thin polyparaxylylene polymer film may be applied to a polytetrafluoroethylene substrate to from a composite structure (i.e., a composite membrane) and that the different microstructures can be measured by a difference in porosity (i.e., coupled on one side to at least one additional porous substrate; Paragraph 0044).
Sbriglia does not teach the at least one ePPX membrane having at least one polymer coating thereon, wherein the at least one polymer coating extends within the pores and partially occludes the pores.
However, Wang teaches the use of a release layer made of poly vinyl alcohol (PVA) on a filter membrane with a parylene layer on its surface (i.e., the at least one ePPX membrane having at least one polymer coating thereon; Paragraphs 0007-00011, Machine Translation) wherein the release layer is adhered by soaking, filtering, spin coating or spraying and the PVA release layer forms inside the pores (i.e., wherein the at least one polymer coating extends within the pores and partially occludes the pores; Paragraph 0046, Machine Translation) with the benefit of making membrane re-release target particles more easily (Paragraph 0007, Machine Translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the membrane made obvious by Sbriglia with the release layer in the pores of the membrane as taught by Wang because the release layer would allow for the membrane to release particles that are attached to the membrane surface more easily.
Sbriglia in view of Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the organic solvent nanofiltration membrane has an average pore size of about 0.1 nm to about 5 nm.
However, Mutsumi teaches that it is known to utilize a pore size of 0.1 to 10 nm for a parylene membrane because the membrane is capable of separating solutes that are larger than the pore size from a solvent that is smaller than the pore size (Paragraphs 0013 and 0015, Machine Translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the composite membrane made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang with the pore size as taught by Mutsumi because the pore size would enable the separation of solvents from solutes.
Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi does not teach a filtration device comprising: a filtration housing comprising: at least one fluid inlet configured to direct a feed fluid into the filtration housing; and at least one fluid outlet configured to direct a filtrate from the filtration housing.
However, Dietz teaches the removal of solubilized carboxylic acids from oils during pharmaceutical, chemical or industrial processing (Paragraph 0370) using a separation membrane composed pf poly-(p-xylylene) (Paragraph 0451) in a dialyzer (i.e., a filtration device comprising: a filtration housing comprising; Fig. 7, #701) utilizing a cross-flow configuration in which a material flows across both sides of the membrane, with an inlet (i.e., at least one fluid inlet configured to direct a feed fluid into the filtration housing; Fig. 7, #709) and an outlet (i.e., and at least one fluid outlet configured to direct a filtrate from the filtration housing; Fig. 7, #710/711) for the purpose of completely removing solubilized fatty acids (Fig. 2; Paragraphs 0195 and 0338-0339).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the filtration device made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi to be in a cross-flow configuration as taught by Dietz because the device would be able to completely remove solubilized materials in the liquid.
Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi in view of Dietz does not teach the explicit average pore size of about 0.1 nm to about 5 nm in the instant claim. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to have selected the pore size that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi in view of Dietz.
Regarding Claim 30, Dietz further teaches that it is known to use a separation membrane composed pf poly-(p-xylylene) (Paragraph 0451) in a dialyzer utilizing a cross-flow configuration in which a material flows across both sides of the membrane, with two inlets and two outlets for each side for the purpose of completely removing solubilized fatty acids (i.e., wherein the at least one fluid outlet includes a first fluid outlet and a second fluid outlet and the at least one OSN membrane is positioned between the first and second fluid outlets; Fig. 2; Paragraph 0195).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Holmberg et al, International Patent Application No. WO 2017123507 A1 (hereinafter Holmberg).
Regarding Claim 27, Sbriglia further teaches an example of a PPX-AF4 film having a nominal thickness of 10 µm (i.e., wherein the at least one ePPX membrane has a thickness of about 1 µm to about 50 µm; Paragraph 0068).
Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi does not teach wherein the at least one polymer coating has a thickness of about 100 nm to about 5 µm.
However, Holmberg teaches that the coating for a membrane is preferably of a thickness that does not impact the water flux of the membrane (Paragraph 0057) with the coating being polyvinyl alcohol with a thickness of a range of 50 to about 500 nm (Paragraphs 0078-0079) with the primary purpose of the coating layer being to reduce fouling of the membrane (Paragraph 0005).
Holmberg is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to separation membranes and reducing the fouling on the surface of separation membranes (Paragraph 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the filtration device made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi to have a polymer coating of thickness 50 to 500 nm as taught by Holmberg because the thickness of the coating would provide anti-fouling benefits while not reducing the flux of the coated membrane.
Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi in view of Holmberg does not teach the explicit thickness of the polymer coating of about 100 nm to about 5 µm in the instant claim. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to have selected the thickness that corresponds to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Sbriglia in view of Wang in view of Mutsumi in view of Holmberg.
Conclusion
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772