DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/03/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 13 and 14 are amended. Claims 2 and 8 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/03/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 4, 7, 10, and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly discovered art Suzuki et al. (US 2019/0373585), hereinafter Suzuki.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0364586), hereinafter Li, in further view of Suzuki et al. (US 2019/0373585), hereinafter Suzuki.
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches: A method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a network, configuration information related to a configured uplink (UL): “receiving the first UL grant, the second uplink grant UL grant, and the latency parameter of the logical channel for which the first UL grant is used from the base station” (Li ¶ 0016), selecting, by the UE, a logical channel to which the configured UL grant is applicable: “The UE determines, based on the latency parameter required by the service QoS from the eNB, that only a UL grant of a first TTI length from the eNB can be used for a logical channel whose latency parameter is higher than a preset threshold, or that a UL grant of a second TTI length from the eNB is used for a logical channel whose latency parameter is lower than a preset threshold” (Li ¶ 0092); transmitting, by the UE, a first data unit related to the selected logical channel via a first UL transmission according to the configured UL grant: See Li Fig. 6 below where the MAC PDU is sent via the corresponding UL grant.
Li Fig. 6
Li does not teach: wherein the configuration information comprises first information related to periodic UL resources and second information related to disable waking-up for monitoring an UL grant; and, wherein a timer related to the UL retransmission is not started after the first transmission based on the second information; and transmitting, by the UE, a second data unit related to the selected logical channel via a second UL transmission according to the configured UL grant.
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki teaches: wherein the configuration information comprises first information related to periodic UL resources and second information related to disable waking-up for monitoring an UL grant: “a first aspect of the present invention provides a terminal apparatus including: a reception unit that receives a PDCCH including downlink control information; and a transmission unit that transmits a PUSCH including a transport block, based on detection of the PDCCH. The transmission unit triggers non-adaptive retransmission without waiting for a feedback for preceding transmission in a bundle, when a parameter TTIbundling of an RRC layer is configured to be TRUE” (Suzuki ¶ 0010), in other words the configuration information includes a bundle of UL resources to be transmitted without monitoring for additional UL grants; and, wherein a timer related to the UL retransmission is not started after the first transmission based on the second information: a timer is never started in Suzuki, nor would one be given the retransmissions of Suzuki are commanded to begin immediately after initial transmission: “The three non-adaptive retransmissions are triggered without waiting for a feedback (uplink grant and HARQ feedback) for the preceding transmission” (Suzuki ¶ 0080); and transmitting, by the UE, a second data unit related to the selected logical channel via a second UL transmission according to the configured UL grant: “When a higher layer (RRC layer) parameter ttiBundling is configured, a single uplink grant may be used for scheduling transmission of four PUSCHes in four consecutive subframes within a single cell. A set of the four PUSCHes is also referred to as a bundle. Transmission of the four PUSCHes corresponds to the same HARQ process and the same transport block (uplink data)” (Suzuki ¶ 0080), in other words the second data unit (repeated transmission) is transmitted related to the selected logical channel as the first PUSCH transmission because it is a repeated transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Li with Suzuki for the purpose of enhancing uplink capability. According to Suzuki: “transmission of a PUSCH in UpPTS of a special subframe is under study as a solution for enhancing an uplink capacity (NPL 1)” (Suzuki ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 7, Li teaches: A user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations: “Physical components of the terminal include physical components such as a processor 1420, a memory 1440, a transmitter 1430, a receiver 1410, and an antenna” (Li ¶ 0086) comprising: receiving, from a network, configuration information related to a configured uplink (UL): “receiving the first UL grant, the second uplink grant UL grant, and the latency parameter of the logical channel for which the first UL grant is used from the base station” (Li ¶ 0016), selecting, by the UE, a logical channel to which the configured UL grant is applicable: “The UE determines, based on the latency parameter required by the service QoS from the eNB, that only a UL grant of a first TTI length from the eNB can be used for a logical channel whose latency parameter is higher than a preset threshold, or that a UL grant of a second TTI length from the eNB is used for a logical channel whose latency parameter is lower than a preset threshold” (Li ¶ 0092); transmitting, by the UE, a first data unit related to the selected logical channel via a first UL transmission according to the configured UL grant: See Li Fig. 6 above where the MAC PDU is sent via the corresponding UL grant.
Li does not teach: wherein the configuration information comprises first information related to periodic UL resources and second information related to disable waking-up for monitoring an UL grant; and, wherein a timer related to the UL retransmission is not started after the first transmission based on the second information; and transmitting, by the UE, a second data unit related to the selected logical channel via a second UL transmission according to the configured UL grant.
Regarding Claim 7, Suzuki teaches: wherein the configuration information comprises first information related to periodic UL resources and second information related to disable waking-up for monitoring an UL grant: “a first aspect of the present invention provides a terminal apparatus including: a reception unit that receives a PDCCH including downlink control information; and a transmission unit that transmits a PUSCH including a transport block, based on detection of the PDCCH. The transmission unit triggers non-adaptive retransmission without waiting for a feedback for preceding transmission in a bundle, when a parameter TTIbundling of an RRC layer is configured to be TRUE” (Suzuki ¶ 0010), in other words the configuration information includes a bundle of UL resources to be transmitted without monitoring for additional UL grants; and, wherein a timer related to the UL retransmission is not started after the first transmission based on the second information: a timer is never started in Suzuki, nor would one be given the retransmissions of Suzuki are commanded to begin immediately after initial transmission: “The three non-adaptive retransmissions are triggered without waiting for a feedback (uplink grant and HARQ feedback) for the preceding transmission” (Suzuki ¶ 0080); and transmitting, by the UE, a second data unit related to the selected logical channel via a second UL transmission according to the configured UL grant: “When a higher layer (RRC layer) parameter ttiBundling is configured, a single uplink grant may be used for scheduling transmission of four PUSCHes in four consecutive subframes within a single cell. A set of the four PUSCHes is also referred to as a bundle. Transmission of the four PUSCHes corresponds to the same HARQ process and the same transport block (uplink data)” (Suzuki ¶ 0080), in other words the second data unit (repeated transmission) is transmitted related to the selected logical channel as the first PUSCH transmission because it is a repeated transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Li with Suzuki for the purpose of enhancing uplink capability. According to Suzuki: “transmission of a PUSCH in UpPTS of a special subframe is under study as a solution for enhancing an uplink capacity (NPL 1)” (Suzuki ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 13, Li teaches: An apparatus for a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations: “Physical components of the terminal include physical components such as a processor 1420, a memory 1440, a transmitter 1430, a receiver 1410, and an antenna” (Li ¶ 0086) comprising: receiving, from a network, configuration information related to a configured uplink (UL): “receiving the first UL grant, the second uplink grant UL grant, and the latency parameter of the logical channel for which the first UL grant is used from the base station” (Li ¶ 0016), selecting, by the UE, a logical channel to which the configured UL grant is applicable: “The UE determines, based on the latency parameter required by the service QoS from the eNB, that only a UL grant of a first TTI length from the eNB can be used for a logical channel whose latency parameter is higher than a preset threshold, or that a UL grant of a second TTI length from the eNB is used for a logical channel whose latency parameter is lower than a preset threshold” (Li ¶ 0092); transmitting, by the UE, a first data unit related to the selected logical channel via a first UL transmission according to the configured UL grant: See Li Fig. 6 above where the MAC PDU is sent via the corresponding UL grant.
Li does not teach: wherein the configuration information comprises first information related to periodic UL resources and second information related to disable waking-up for monitoring an UL grant; and, wherein a timer related to the UL retransmission is not started after the first transmission based on the second information; and transmitting, by the UE, a second data unit related to the selected logical channel via a second UL transmission according to the configured UL grant.
Regarding Claim 13, Suzuki teaches: wherein the configuration information comprises first information related to periodic UL resources and second information related to disable waking-up for monitoring an UL grant: “a first aspect of the present invention provides a terminal apparatus including: a reception unit that receives a PDCCH including downlink control information; and a transmission unit that transmits a PUSCH including a transport block, based on detection of the PDCCH. The transmission unit triggers non-adaptive retransmission without waiting for a feedback for preceding transmission in a bundle, when a parameter TTIbundling of an RRC layer is configured to be TRUE” (Suzuki ¶ 0010), in other words the configuration information includes a bundle of UL resources to be transmitted without monitoring for additional UL grants; and, wherein a timer related to the UL retransmission is not started after the first transmission based on the second information: a timer is never started in Suzuki, nor would one be given the retransmissions of Suzuki are commanded to begin immediately after initial transmission: “The three non-adaptive retransmissions are triggered without waiting for a feedback (uplink grant and HARQ feedback) for the preceding transmission” (Suzuki ¶ 0080); and transmitting, by the UE, a second data unit related to the selected logical channel via a second UL transmission according to the configured UL grant: “When a higher layer (RRC layer) parameter ttiBundling is configured, a single uplink grant may be used for scheduling transmission of four PUSCHes in four consecutive subframes within a single cell. A set of the four PUSCHes is also referred to as a bundle. Transmission of the four PUSCHes corresponds to the same HARQ process and the same transport block (uplink data)” (Suzuki ¶ 0080), in other words the second data unit (repeated transmission) is transmitted related to the selected logical channel as the first PUSCH transmission because it is a repeated transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Li with Suzuki for the purpose of enhancing uplink capability. According to Suzuki: “transmission of a PUSCH in UpPTS of a special subframe is under study as a solution for enhancing an uplink capacity (NPL 1)” (Suzuki ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 14, Li teaches: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a user equipment (UE) to perform operations: “Physical components of the terminal include physical components such as a processor 1420, a memory 1440, a transmitter 1430, a receiver 1410, and an antenna” (Li ¶ 0086) comprising: receiving, from a network, configuration information related to a configured uplink (UL): “receiving the first UL grant, the second uplink grant UL grant, and the latency parameter of the logical channel for which the first UL grant is used from the base station” (Li ¶ 0016), selecting, by the UE, a logical channel to which the configured UL grant is applicable: “The UE determines, based on the latency parameter required by the service QoS from the eNB, that only a UL grant of a first TTI length from the eNB can be used for a logical channel whose latency parameter is higher than a preset threshold, or that a UL grant of a second TTI length from the eNB is used for a logical channel whose latency parameter is lower than a preset threshold” (Li ¶ 0092); transmitting, by the UE, a first data unit related to the selected logical channel via a first UL transmission according to the configured UL grant: See Li Fig. 6 above where the MAC PDU is sent via the corresponding UL grant.
Li does not teach: wherein the configuration information comprises first information related to periodic UL resources and second information related to disable waking-up for monitoring an UL grant; and, wherein a timer related to the UL retransmission is not started after the first transmission based on the second information; and transmitting, by the UE, a second data unit related to the selected logical channel via a second UL transmission according to the configured UL grant.
Regarding Claim 14, Suzuki teaches: wherein the configuration information comprises first information related to periodic UL resources and second information related to disable waking-up for monitoring an UL grant: “a first aspect of the present invention provides a terminal apparatus including: a reception unit that receives a PDCCH including downlink control information; and a transmission unit that transmits a PUSCH including a transport block, based on detection of the PDCCH. The transmission unit triggers non-adaptive retransmission without waiting for a feedback for preceding transmission in a bundle, when a parameter TTIbundling of an RRC layer is configured to be TRUE” (Suzuki ¶ 0010), in other words the configuration information includes a bundle of UL resources to be transmitted without monitoring for additional UL grants; and, wherein a timer related to the UL retransmission is not started after the first transmission based on the second information: a timer is never started in Suzuki, nor would one be given the retransmissions of Suzuki are commanded to begin immediately after initial transmission: “The three non-adaptive retransmissions are triggered without waiting for a feedback (uplink grant and HARQ feedback) for the preceding transmission” (Suzuki ¶ 0080); and transmitting, by the UE, a second data unit related to the selected logical channel via a second UL transmission according to the configured UL grant: “When a higher layer (RRC layer) parameter ttiBundling is configured, a single uplink grant may be used for scheduling transmission of four PUSCHes in four consecutive subframes within a single cell. A set of the four PUSCHes is also referred to as a bundle. Transmission of the four PUSCHes corresponds to the same HARQ process and the same transport block (uplink data)” (Suzuki ¶ 0080), in other words the second data unit (repeated transmission) is transmitted related to the selected logical channel as the first PUSCH transmission because it is a repeated transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Li with Suzuki for the purpose of enhancing uplink capability. According to Suzuki: “transmission of a PUSCH in UpPTS of a special subframe is under study as a solution for enhancing an uplink capacity (NPL 1)” (Suzuki ¶ 0005).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Suzuki as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Lu et al. (US 2022/0151015), hereinafter Lu.
Regarding Claim 4, Li teaches: The method of claim 1.
Li and Suzuki do not teach: based on the first transmission that is based on the second information, the UE is not allowed to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the retransmission.
Regarding Claim 4, Lu teaches: based on the first transmission that is based on the second information, the UE is not allowed to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the retransmission: “The terminal configured with the DRX cycle only monitors the downlink control instruction in an active state, and turns off the receiver circuit in the remaining time and enters a dormant state . . . the network configures a DRX function for the terminal, so that the terminal discontinuously monitors a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to save power for the terminal” (Lu ¶ 0044 - 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Li and Suzuki with Lu for the purpose of saving power. According to Lu: “A basic mechanism for DRX is to configure a DRX cycle for the terminal. The terminal configured with the DRX cycle only monitors the downlink control instruction in an active state, and turns off the receiver circuit in the remaining time and enters a dormant state, which can significantly reduce the power consumption: the longer the DRX cycle, the lower the power consumption” (Lu ¶ 0044).
Regarding Claim 10, Li teaches: The UE of claim 7.
Li and Suzuki do not teach: based on the first transmission that is based on the second information, the UE is not allowed to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the retransmission.
Regarding Claim 10, Lu teaches: based on the first transmission that is based on the second information, the UE is not allowed to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the retransmission: “The terminal configured with the DRX cycle only monitors the downlink control instruction in an active state, and turns off the receiver circuit in the remaining time and enters a dormant state . . . the network configures a DRX function for the terminal, so that the terminal discontinuously monitors a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to save power for the terminal” (Lu ¶ 0044 - 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Li and Suzuki with Lu for the purpose of saving power. According to Lu: “A basic mechanism for DRX is to configure a DRX cycle for the terminal. The terminal configured with the DRX cycle only monitors the downlink control instruction in an active state, and turns off the receiver circuit in the remaining time and enters a dormant state, which can significantly reduce the power consumption: the longer the DRX cycle, the lower the power consumption” (Lu ¶ 0044).
Conclusion
/B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473