DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, claim 20 depends from claim 5; however, claim 5 has been cancelled. As such, the dependency of claim 20 renders the claim unclear because it is not apparent which claim provides the base limitations from which claim 20 further depends. For purposes of examination, claim 20 is interpreted as depending from claim 4, closest preceding claim from which claim 20 could logically depend based on the claim structure and subject matter. However, Applicant is required to amend the claim dependency to properly reference an existing claim in order to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20 improperly depends from claim 5, which has been cancelled, and therefore does not properly refer to an existing claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li CN 207106755 U in view of Cai et al. CN 109383678 A and Cai et al. CN 206068046 U.
Regarding independent claim 4, Li discloses [a children's vehicle, having an unfolded state and a folded state,] (Fig. 3 & 4; As shown in Fig. 3, Li illustrates the children’s vehicle in an unfolded state. Additionally, as shown in Fig. 3, Li illustrates the children's vehicle in a folded state.) [the children's vehicle comprising a main vehicle frame 31 extending in a front-rear direction,] (Fig. 1; As shown in Fig. 1, Li illustrates the children's vehicle comprising a main vehicle frame extending in a front-rear direction.) [two front wheels 2 disposed respectively on left and right sides of a bottom-front portion of the main vehicle frame,] (Fig. 1; Page 3, lines 29-30); [two pedal parts arranged on a portion of the main vehicle frame] (Fig. 1-4; As shown in Fig. 1-4, Li illustrates two pedal parts arranged on a portion of the main frame 31.) [a rear wheel 4 disposed at a bottom-rear portion of the main vehicle frame,] (Fig. 1; Page 3, lines 30-31) and [a lock mechanism 10 for locking the children's vehicle in the unfolded state,] (Fig. 3; Page 4, lines 22-32) [each front wheel comprises a front wheel frame, a front wheel body rotatably connected to the front wheel frame around a front wheel axle,] (Annotation of Fig. 1 of Li; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 below, Cai et al. illustrates each front wheel 2 comprising a front wheel body rotatably connected to the front wheel frame around a front wheel axle.) [each front wheel comprises a front wheel frame, a front wheel body rotatably connected to the front wheel frame around a front wheel axle,] (Annotation of Fig. 1 of Li; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 below, Cai et al. illustrates each front wheel 2 comprising a front wheel body rotatably connected to the front wheel frame around a front wheel axle.) [wherein the children's vehicle further comprises a joystick 1 extending upwardly inclined from front to rear,] (Fig. 1; As shown in Fig. 1, Li illustrates a joystick 1 extending upwardly inclined from front to rear.) [a connecting bar 33 with one end portion rotatably connected to the joystick and the other end portion rotatably connected to a portion of a seat 5;] (Fig. 2; As shown in Fig. 2, Li illustrates a connecting bar 33 with one end portion rotatably connected to the joystick 1 (via the third rotating shaft 8) and the other end portion rotatably connected to a portion of a seat 5 (via the fourth rotating shaft).) [wherein a lower portion of the joystick is rotatably connected to a front portion of the main vehicle frame;] (Fig. 1; As shown in Fig. 1, Li illustrates a lower portion of the joystick is rotatably connected to a front portion of the main vehicle frame via a rotary shaft 6) [and the two pedal parts are disposed on left and right sides of the joystick respectively,] (Fig. 1-4; As shown in Fig. 1-4, Li illustrates wherein the pedal parts are disposed on left and right sides of the joystick 1 respectively.) [when the children's vehicle switches from the unfolded state to the folded state, the joystick is folded close to the main vehicle frame.] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Li illustrates the joystick 1 is folded close to the main vehicle frame, when in the folded state.) [the children's vehicle further comprises a steering rod that is rotatably disposed on the joystick around its own axis,] (Annotated Fig. 2 of Li; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 2 below, Li illustrates a steering rod rotatably passed through the joystick along its own axis with a steering wheel being further fixedly disposed on an upper portion of the steering rod.) [and a steering drive mechanism for driving the front wheels to rotate relative to connecting rods to realize steering is further disposed between the steering rod and the front wheels on the left and right sides.] (Fig. 2 of Li; Page 3, lines 35-36 of Li)
Annotation of Fig. 2 of Li
Li does not disclose a sliding member slidably disposed on the main vehicle frame in the front-rear direction, first connecting rods, one end portion of each of which is rotatably connected on the main vehicle frame, and second connecting rods rotatably connected between the first connecting rods and the sliding member, the front wheels frames are rotatably mounted on other end portions of the first connecting rods; the second connecting rods drive the first connecting rods to close to the main vehicle frame, and the two front wheels are folded close to the left and right sides of the main vehicle frame respectively.
Cai et al. ‘678 teaches [a seat 7 fixedly arranged at a rear portion of the main vehicle frame,] (Fig. 2; Page 2, Abstract; As shown in Fig. 2, Cai et al. ‘678 illustrates a seat 7 being fixedly attached to a rear portion of the frame.) [a sliding member 1 slidably disposed on the main vehicle frame in the front-rear direction,] (Fig. 6; As shown in Fig. 6, Cai et al. illustrates a sliding member 1 with sliding grooves 11 disposed in the front-rear direction.) [first connecting rods 4, one end portion of each of which is rotatably connected on the main vehicle frame,] (Fig. 5; As shown in Fig. 5, Cai et al. illustrates first connecting rods 4 with each of its end portion being rotatably connected to the main vehicle frame.) [and second connecting rods 3 rotatably connected between the first connecting rods and the sliding member,] (Fig. 5; As shown in Fig. 5, Cai et al. illustrates second connecting rods 3 rotatably connected between the first connecting rods and the sliding member.) [the front wheels frames are rotatably mounted on other end portions of the first connecting rods;] (Fig. 5; As shown in Fig. 5, Cai et al. illustrates the front wheels 82 being mounted on the other end of the first connecting rods.) [the second connecting rods drive the first connecting rods to close to the main vehicle frame, [connecting rods and move backward, when the vehicle frame is in the folded state,] (Fig. 7 of Cai et al. ‘678; As shown if Fig. 7, Cai et al. illustrates that when the vehicle is transitioned into the folded state, the wheels 82 move backwards and are folded together with the main vehicle frame 1.) and [the two front wheels are folded close to the left and right sides of the main vehicle frame respectively.] (Fig. 7; As shown in Fig. 7, Cai et al. illustrates the second connecting rods 3 driving the first connecting rods 4 to close to the main vehicle frame, and the two front wheels 82 are folded close to the left and right sides of the main vehicle frame respectively)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the sliding member, first connecting rod, and second connecting rod configuration of Cai et al. with the children’s vehicle of Li with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the front wheels to fold in a compact manner when the vehicle is folded, thus providing a flatter and more compact folded structure for easier storage and mobility.
Li, as modified above, does not disclose two pedal part fixedly arranged at a front portion of the main vehicle frame, the steering drive mechanism comprises connecting rod sets respectively disposed between the first connecting rods and the front wheels, each connecting rod set comprises a third connecting rod and a fourth connecting rod, one end portion of the third connecting rod and one end portion of the fourth connecting rod are rotatably connected to each other, the other end portion of the third connecting rod is rotatably connected to the respective first connecting rod, the other end portion of the fourth connecting rod is rotatably connected to the respective front wheel frame.
Cai et al. ‘046 teaches [a pedal part fixedly arranged at a front portion of the main vehicle frame,] (Fig. 1; Page 5, lines 28-30) [the steering drive mechanism comprises connecting rod sets respectively disposed between the connecting rods and the front wheels, each connecting rod set comprises a third connecting rod 421 and a fourth connecting rod 423,] (Fig. 1; As shown in Fig. 1, Cai et al. illustrates connecting rod sets comprising the third connecting rods 421 and the fourth connecting rods 423.) [one end portion of the third connecting rod and one end portion of the fourth connecting rod are rotatably connected to each other,] (Fig. 1 & 2; As shown in Fig. 1 & 2, Cai et al. illustrates one end portion of the third connecting rod 421 and one end portion of the fourth connecting rod 423 are rotatably connected to each other.) [the other end portion of the third connecting rod is rotatably connected to the respective first connecting rod, the other end portion of the fourth connecting rod is rotatably connected to the respective front wheel,] (Fig. 1 & 2; As shown in Fig. 1 & 2, Cai et al. illustrates the other end portion of the third connecting rod being rotatably connected to the first connecting rod and the other end portion of the fourth connecting rod 423 is rotatably connected to the front wheel 21, 22 (via the rotatably connection with the third connecting rod 421.))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the steering drive mechanism of Cai et al. ‘046 with the children’s vehicle of Li, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for coordinated steering of the front wheels through mechanical linkages, thus improving maneuverability and directional control of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Li, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above including wherein [the steering drive mechanism further comprises a drive assembly disposed between the steering rod and the connecting rod sets on the left and right sides for driving the fourth connecting rods on the left and right sides to move.] (Fig. 1 of Cai ‘046; As shown in Fig. 1, Cai et al. illustrates the steering drive mechanism further comprising a drive assembly disposed between the steering rod 41 and the connecting rod sets on the left and right sides for driving the fourth connecting rods 423 on the left and right sides to move.)
Regarding claim 13, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein each front wheel comprises a front wheel frame and a front wheel body,] (Annotation of Fig. 1 of Li above; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1, Li illustrates each front wheel comprising a front wheel frame and a front wheel body.) [a joint rod 422 is disposed on the front wheel frame,] (Fig. 2 of Cai et al. ‘046; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 2, Cai et al. illustrates a joint rod 422 disposed on the front wheel frame.) and [the fourth connecting rod and the first connecting rod are disposed parallel to each other,] (Cai et al. ‘046; A shown in Fig. 1 ) and [the first connecting rod and the fourth connecting rod are respectively rotatably connected to two end portions of the joint rod.] (First annotation of Fig. 2 of Cai et al. ‘046; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 2 below, Cai et al. illustrates the first connecting rod being rotatably connected to the joint rod 422. Additionally, Cai et al. illustrates the fourth connecting rod 423 being rotatably connected to the joint rob via the third connecting rod 421.)
First Annotation of Fig. 2 of Cai et al. ‘046
Li, as modified, does not explicitly disclose on the left and right sides of the children's vehicle, a parallelogram is formed between the first connecting rod, the third connecting rod, the fourth connecting rod and the joint rod. However, according to MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B) (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)), changing the shape of known elements does not confer patentability when such a modification does not alter the function or operation of the system. In this case, forming a parallelogram structure between the main vehicle frame, the drive connecting rod, and the third connecting rods on the left and right sides would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art is it merely reconfigures the known system without yielding an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 14, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the steering rod is rotatably passed through the joystick around axis of the steering rod,] (Annotated Fig. 2 of Li; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 2 above, Li illustrates a steering rod rotatably passed through the joystick along its own axis with a steering wheel being further fixedly disposed on an upper portion of the steering rod.) [a steering wheel is further fixedly disposed on the upper portion of the steering rod,] (Fig. 1 of Li; As shown in Fig. 1, Li illustrates a steering wheel disposed on the upper portion of the steering rod.) and [when the children's vehicle is folded, the steering rod is folded close to the main vehicle frame together with the joystick.] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Li illustrates the steering rod is folded close to the main vehicle frame, when in the folded state.)
Regarding claim 15, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the children's vehicle further comprises a seat 5 disposed on the main vehicle frame,] (Fig. 1 of Li; Page 4, lines 1-4) and [when the children's vehicle is in the folded state, the steering wheel is folded close to the seat.] (Fig. 4 of Li; As shown in Fig. 4, Li illustrates the steering wheel being folded next to the seat when in the folded state.)
Regarding claim 16, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [when the vehicle frame is in the unfolded state or the folded state, axis lines of the front wheel axles on the left and right sides extend parallel to or co-linear with each other.] (Fig. 3 & 4 of Li; As shown in Fig. 3 & 4, Li illustrates that when the vehicle frame is in the unfolded state or the folded state, the axis lines of the front wheel axles on the left and right sides extend parallel to or co-linear with each other.)
Annotation of Fig. 1 of Li
Regarding claim 17, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [two rear wheels disposed on the left and right sides of the bottom-rear portion of the main vehicle frame,] (Fig. 1 of Li) and [when the children's vehicle is in the unfolded state, a distance between the two front wheels in the left-right direction is greater than a distance between the rear wheel.] (Fig. 5 of Cai et al. ‘678)
Regarding claim 18, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [when the children's vehicle is in the folded state, the distance between the two front wheels in the left-right direction is equal to the distance between the two rear wheels.] (Fig. 2 of Li)
Regarding claim 19, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [when the children's vehicle is switched from the unfolded state to the folded state the joystick is folded between the two front wheels.] (Fig. 7 of Cai et al. ‘678; As shown if Fig. 7, Cai et al. illustrates that when the vehicle is transitioned into the folded state, the wheels 82 move backwards and are folded between the two front wheels.)
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li CN 207106755 U in view of Cai et al. CN 109383678 A and Cai et al. CN 206068046 U and further in view of Alen US 2588109 A.
Regarding claim 8, Li, as modified, further discloses wherein [a steering lever 431 extending in the front-rear direction] (Fig. 2 of Cai et al. ‘046; As shown in Fig. 2, Cai et al. illustrates a steering lever 431 extending in a front-rear direction.) and [fixedly connected to the guide column 424 joint at a front end portion thereof,] (Fig. 2 of Cai et al. ‘046; As shown in Fig. 2, Cai et al. illustrates the steering lever being indirectly connected to the guide column 424 through the frame members 1.) and [a drive connecting rod disposed at a rear end portion of the steering lever,] (Second annotation of Fig. 2 of Cai et al. ‘046 below; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 1 below, Cai et al. illustrates a drive connecting rod disposed at the rear end portion of the steering lever 431.) [the drive connecting rod is connected with the rear end portion of the steering lever so as to be relatively rotatable and relatively slidable along the length direction of the steering lever,] (Second annotation of Fig. 2 of Cai et al ‘406 below; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 2 below, Cai et al. illustrates the drive connecting rod disposed at the rear end portion of the steering lever 431, thus having the drive connecting rod be relatively rotatable and relatively slidable (via the slide groove 431a) along the length direction of the steering lever.) and [left and right end portions of the drive connecting rod are respectively rotatably connected to the third connecting rods on the left and right sides or rotatably connected to the fourth connecting rods on the left and right sides.] (Fig. 1 & 2 of Cai et al ‘406; As shown in Fig. 1 & 2, Cai et al. illustrates the left and right end portions of the drive connecting rod being connected to the steering lever 431, which is rotatably connected to the fourth connecting rod 423. The fourth connecting rod is further rotatably connected to the third connecting rod 421. Therefore, the left and right portions of the driving connecting rod are indirectly and rotatably connected to the third and fourth connecting rods 421, 423.)
Second Annotation of Fig. 2 of Cai et al. ‘046
Li, as modified, does not disclose wherein the drive assembly comprises a universal joint rotatably disposed on the main vehicle frame and fixedly connected with the steering rod.
Alen teaches the drive assembly comprises [a universal joint 20 rotatably disposed on the main vehicle frame and fixedly connected with the steering rod.] (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 20-24)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the universal joint of Atlando with the children’s vehicle of Li, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for flexible and reliable transmission of steering motion between the steering rod and the drive assembly, even when the components are at different angles during folding or operation.
Regarding claim 9, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the end portions of the drive connecting rod, the third connecting rods, and the fourth connecting rods are rotatably connected to each other around same center lines of rotation respectively.] (Fig. 1 & 2 of Cai et al ‘406; As shown in Fig. 1 & 2, Cai et al. illustrates the left and right end portions of the drive connecting rod being connected to the steering lever 431, which is rotatably connected to the fourth connecting rod 423. The fourth connecting rod is further rotatably connected to the third connecting rod 421. Therefore, the left and right portions of the driving connecting rod is indirectly and rotatably connected to the third and fourth connecting rods 421, 423.)
Regarding claim 10, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein a rotating shaft 434 is fixedly disposed in drive connecting rod,] (Fig. 2 of Cai et al ‘406; As shown in Fig. 2, Cai et al. illustrates the driving rod being part of the steering lever 431. The steering lever is direct connected to the rotating shaft 434. Therefore, forming an indirect connection between the driving connecting rod and the rotating shaft 434.) [the steering lever 431 is provided with a sliding groove 431a extending along its own length direction, and the rotating shaft can be relatively rotatable and relatively slidable through the sliding groove.] (Fig. 1; Page 4, lines 45-48)
Li, as modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein the rotating shaft is fixedly disposed in the middle of the drive connecting rod. However, according to MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)), the rearrangement of know elements does not confer patentability when such a modification does not alter the function or operation of the system. In this case, disposing the rotating shaft into the middle of the driving connecting rod would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art is it merely reconfigures the known system without yielding an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 11, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the third connecting rods 421 on the left and right sides are parallel to each other.] (Fig. 1 of Cai et al ‘406; As shown in Fig. 1, Cai et al. illustrates the third connecting rods 421 on the left and right sides being parallel to each other.)
Li, as modified, does not explicitly disclose a parallelogram structure that is formed between the main vehicle frame, the drive connecting rod, and the third connecting rods on the left and right sides. However, according to MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B) (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)), changing the shape of known elements does not confer patentability when such a modification does not alter the function or operation of the system. In this case, forming a parallelogram structure between the main vehicle frame, the drive connecting rod, and the third connecting rods on the left and right sides would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art is it merely reconfigures the known system without yielding an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 12, Li, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the third connecting rods 421 on the left and right sides are of equal length.] (Fig. 1 of Cai et al ‘406; As shown in Fig. 1, Cai et al. illustrates the third connecting rods 421 on the left and right sides being equal length.)
Li, as modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein the third connecting rods on the left and right sides are not parallel to each other. However, according to MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)), the rearrangement of know elements does not confer patentability when such a modification does not alter the function or operation of the system. In this case, arranging the third connecting rods, so as to make them not parallel to each other, would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art is it merely reconfigures the known system without yielding an unexpected result.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li CN 207106755 U in view of Cai et al. CN 109383678 A and further in view of Wu et al. CN 106515829 A.
Regarding claim 20, Li, as modified, does not disclose fifth connecting rods disposed between the main vehicle frame and the front wheels, one end portion of each of the fifth connecting rod is rotatably connected to the main vehicle frame and the other end thereof is rotatably connected to the respective front wheel, the fifth connecting rods and the first connecting rods are parallel to each other, and when the children's vehicle is in folding, the fifth connecting rods and the first connecting rods are folded close to the sides of the main vehicle frame together.
Wu et al teaches [fifth connecting rods 105, 106 disposed between the main vehicle frame and the front wheels,] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Wu et al. illustrates fifth connecting rods 105 disposed between the main vehicle frame 3, 4 and the front wheels 300.) [one end portion of each of the fifth connecting rod is rotatably connected to the main vehicle frame and the other end thereof is rotatably connected to the respective front wheel,] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Wu et al. illustrates the fifth connecting rods 105, 106 being rotatably connected to the frame member 3, which is further rotatably connected to the front wheels.) [the fifth connecting rods and the first connecting rods are parallel to each other,] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Wu et al. illustrates the fifth connecting rods 105, 106 and the first connecting rods 101, 102 being parallel to each other.) and when the children's vehicle is in folding, the fifth connecting rods and the first connecting rods are folded close to the sides of the main vehicle frame together. (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Wu et al. illustrates the fifth 105, 106 and first 101, 102 connecting rods retracting closer to the sides of the vehicle frame 3, 4 when entering its folded state.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the fifth connecting rod of Wu et al. with the children’s vehicle of Li, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the front wheel assembly to fold in a more synchronized and compact manner, thus enhancing overall folding efficiency and reducing the storage footprint of the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/30/2026 (on Pages 1-7 of Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Le (D1), Cai et al. ‘678 (D2), and Cai et al. ‘046 (D3) fails to disclose or suggest the claimed children’s vehicle, particularly with respect to the driving mode involving pedal parts and a joystick, the steering mechanism for the front wheels, the folding configuration of the joystick relative to the main frame, and the inward folding movement of the front wheels toward the main vehicle frame. These arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that the driving mode of the claimed children’s vehicle differs fundamentally from the of LI because the present application recites two pedal parts disposed at the front of the main vehicle frame while a child sits on a seat at the rear and the steers using a joystick. This argument is not persuasive. Li explicitly illustrates (Fig. 1-4) pedal parts disposed on the left and right sides of the joystick, thus teaching the claimed configuration of two pedal parts positioned for a rider’s feet during operation of the vehicle. Furthermore, D2 explicitly illustrates a seat fixed at a rear portion of the main vehicle frame for supporting the rider. Additionally, D3 illustrates a pedal part disposed at a front portion of the vehicle frame. Therefore, the combination of Li, Cai et al. ‘678 (D2), and Cai et al. ‘046 (D3) collectively teaches the claimed configuration in which a rider sits on a seat while placing their feet on pedal parts located toward the front portion of the vehicle.
Applicant further argues that Li does not disclose a steering structure in which the front wheels are steered relative to a first connecting rods via a steering drive mechanism actuated by a steering rod. This argument is not persuasive because the rejection relies on Cai et al. ‘046 (D3) to teach the steering arrangement. As explained in the rejection, D3 discloses a direction control rod used to steer the front wheels through a linkage system connecting the steering rod to the wheel support structures. Incorporating the steering linkage of D3 into the children’s vehicle structure of Li would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to provide controlled steering of the front wheels.
Applicant also argues that the joystick folding mechanism in the present application, which involves a sliding member and connecting bar that causes the joystick to fold relative to the main vehicle frame differs from the folding mechanism disclosed in Li. This argument is not persuasive. Li already teaches a foldable children’s vehicle in which frame components pivot relative to each other to achieve a compact folded configuration. Cai et al. ‘678 (D2) further teaches frame components capable of relative movement for folding and compact storage. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that incorporating known linkage or sliding mechanisms into the folding structure of Li would predictably allow the joystick or steering member to fold relative to the main vehicle frame in order to further reduce the overall folded size.
Applicant further argues that the cited references fail to teach or suggest lateral inward folding of the front wheels toward the main vehicle frame. This argument is not persuasive. The connecting rod and linkage arrangements illustrated in Fig. 5 & 7 of Cai et al. ‘678 demonstrate a structure that laterally reposition the wheel relative to the frame member during inward folding. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the wheel structure of Cai et al ‘678 with the children’s vehicle of Li to achieve a more compact folded configuration and reduce the overall width of the vehicle during storage.
Application additionally contends that the cited references relate to children’s vehicles having different driving concepts and therefore would not be combined by one of ordinary skill in the art. This argument is not persuasive. Each of the cited references relates to children’s ride-on vehicles or strollers including frame structures, wheels, and folding mechanism. Because the references are directed to the same field of endeavor and address similar design considerations such as steering control and compact folding structures, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered their teachings in combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taylor et al. US 20040227340 A1 – comprises a foldable electric powered child riding vehicle including a front module pivotally connected to a rear module. In a riding configuration, the modules are secured together in a stretched (i.e., deployed) position. An electric drive of the vehicle may be enabled only after the modules have been secured in the stretched position. In a storage/transportation configuration, the modules are disengaged and rotationally folded.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611