Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, encompassing claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 8-12, in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 13-4, 16-19, and 22-26 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokota et al (PG-PUB US 2016/0200573, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Yokota et al disclose an electrolysis system (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a fluid supply line (i.e., a fluid manifold, Figure 1, paragraph [0013] –[0015]);
(2) a plurality of electrolytic cells 1a-1d coupled to the fluid supply line, wherein each of the electrolytic cell is individually connected and/or disconnected from the system through the respective valves 2/3 and switches 4 for controlling on/off operation status (i.e., a plurality of electrolytic cells… are independently switchable between an on state and an off state, Figure 1, paragraphs [0016] – [0017]).
Yokota teaches that the electrolytic cell can be used to generate ozone (paragraph [0003]).
Moreover, the limitation of “for use in the production of ozone” is recited in preamble. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding claim 2, Yokota teaches that the electrolytic cells are connected in parallel (Figure 1, paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Yokota teaches that each of the electrolytic cell is coupled to the respective fluid conduit branched from the fluid supply line (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Yokota teaches that each of the electrolytic cell is electrically connected to the respective switch 4 for controlling the on/off operation status (Figure 1, paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 8, Yokota teaches that each of the electrolytic cell may be made the same in design, shape, and materials (paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Yokota teaches that a tank/vessel is connected to the fluid supply line (Figure 1, paragraph [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota et al (PG-PUB US 2016/0200573, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Themy et al (PG-PUB US 2012/0273367, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 9. Yokota does not each of the electrolytic cell connected to a respective power source. However, Themy et al disclose an electrolysis system (ABSTRACT). Themy teaches that the apparatus comprises a plurality of electrolytic cells linked in parallel, wherein each of the electrolytic cell is connected to a respective power source for independently adjusting input voltage and current (Figure 1B, paragraphs [0038] –[0039]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a power source for each of the electrolytic cell as suggested by Themy in order to independently adjust voltage and current of the respective electrolytic cell within the device of Yokota.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokota et al (PG-PUB US 2016/0200573, cited in IDS) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Bahar et al (PG-PUB US 2017/0370013).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Yokota teaches that the electrolysis may be used to generate ozone and a tank 21 is provided for supply fluid (Figure 1, paragraphs [0003] & [0016]), but does not teach a vent with the tank or an ozone sensor in a flow cell. However, Bahar et al disclose an electrolysis system (ABSTRACT). Bahar teaches that the electrolysis system can be used to generate ozone and a gaseous exhaust 334 is provided for venting ozone through an ozone depletion catalyst and an ozone sensor 310 is provided for monitoring ozone concentration within an enclosure 50 (Figure 32, paragraph [0115]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide an exhaust port and an ozone sensor in an enclosure as suggested by Bahar in order to vent the generated gas and monitor generated ozone concentration when the device of Yokota being used for generating ozone.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 8-12 are rejected, Claims 13-4, 16-19, and 22-26 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795