DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahar et al (PG-PUB US 2017/0370013) in view of Zarrin et al (WO 2013/109789, cited in IDS) and Yokota et al (PG-PUB US 2016/0200573, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Bahar et al disclose an electrolysis system for generating ozone (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a plurality of electrolytic cells 11-11’’ coupled to fluid conduits for generating ozone (i.e., a fluid manifold, a plurality of electrolytic cells …, Figure 32, paragraphs [0115] – [0117]); and
(2) an enclosure 50 for recirculating generated ozone with a recirculation loop through the enclosure and the electrolytic cells (i.e., a tank …, the fluid recirculates …, Figure 32, paragraph [0115]).
Bahar teaches that an ozone sensor 310 in a flow cell is provided within the enclosure 50 for monitoring ozone concentration (Figure 32, paragraph [0115]), but does not teach the ozone sensor 310 being outside of the enclosure 50. However, Zarrin et al disclose an electrolysis system for generating ozone (ABSTRACT & paragraph [0030]). Zarrin teaches that the apparatus comprises an ozone reservoir 500 coupled to an ozonator 400 having an electrolytic cell, wherein at least one ozone sensor 16 1 &161R is provided outside of the ozone reservoir 500 for monitoring ozone concentration (Figure 1A, paragraphs [0035] & [0039]). Also, Zarrin teaches a recirculate loop 550 (Figure 1A, paragraph [0053]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the ozone sensor outside of the ozone tank of Bahar as suggested by Zarrin because it is an art-recognized equivalent arrangement for an ozone sensor in an electrolysis system for generating ozone.
Bahar teaches that ozone is generated from electrolytic cells 11-11’’ (Figure 32, paragraph [0115]) while Zarrin teaches that ozone is generated from the electrolytic cell (paragraph [0035]), but Bahar/Zarrin does not teach each of the electrolytic cells being switchable between on and off states. However, Yokota et al disclose an electrolysis system (ABSTRACT). Yokota teaches that a plurality of electrolytic cells 1a-1d is coupled to the fluid supply line, wherein each of the electrolytic cell is individually connected and/or disconnected from the system through the respective valves 2/3 and switches 4 for controlling on/off operation status (Figure 1, paragraphs [0016] – [0017]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate switches and valves coupled to each respective electrolytic cell as suggested by Yokota in order to individually control the on/off state operation within the device of Bahar/Zarrin.
Regarding claim 2, Bahar teaches that the electrolytic cells are connected in parallel (Figure 32). Yokota teaches that the electrolytic cells are connected in parallel (Figure 1, paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Bahar teaches that each of the electrolytic cells 11-11’’ is coupled to the respective fluid conduit branched from the supply line (Figure 32). Yokota teaches that each of the electrolytic cell is coupled to the respective fluid conduit branched from the fluid supply line (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Yokota teaches that each of the electrolytic cell is electrically connected to the respective switch 4 for controlling the on/off operation status (Figure 1, paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 8, Bahar teaches that each of the electrolytic cells 11-11’’is substantially the same (Figure 32).Yokota teaches that each of the electrolytic cell may be made the same in design, shape, and materials (paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, Bahar teaches that the electrolysis system can be used to generate ozone and a gaseous exhaust 334 is provided for venting ozone through an ozone depletion catalyst (Figure 32, paragraph [0115]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahar et al (PG-PUB US 2017/0370013), Zarrin et al (WO 2013/109789, cited in IDS), and Yokota et al (PG-PUB US 2016/0200573, cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Themy et al (PG-PUB US 2012/0273367, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 9. Bahar/Zarrin/Yokota does not each of the electrolytic cell connected to a respective power source. However, Themy et al disclose an electrolysis system (ABSTRACT). Themy teaches that the apparatus comprises a plurality of electrolytic cells linked in parallel, wherein each of the electrolytic cell is connected to a respective power source for independently adjusting input voltage and current (Figure 1B, paragraphs [0038] –[0039]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a power source for each of the electrolytic cell as suggested by Themy in order to independently adjust voltage and current of the respective electrolytic cell within the device of Bahar/Zarrin/Yokota.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in light of the applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-9, and 11 are rejected. Claims 13-14, 16-19, and 22-26 are withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795