DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn et al (US 10,504,315 B2) in view of Jeong (US 2008/0006564 A1) and further in view of Wakabayashi et al (US 2016/0335830 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Dunn teaches
a method for controlling a banknote accumulation device, the banknote accumulation device, i.e., ATM (100) as mentioned at col. 4, lines 21-32, and as illustrated at figure 1, comprising a receiving cavity, i.e., access mouth (201), as illustrated in figure 2 and as mentioned at col. 4, lines 59-65 and infeed end region (301) as mentioned at col. 5, lines 27-38 and as illustrated in figure 3, a banknote conveying mechanism, i.e., transport belts (306, 308, 310, 312) of transport members (302, 303, 304, 305) as illustrated in figure 3, and a support plate driving mechanism, i.e., implied at col. 5, lines 48-55, noting lines 52-55 which states “[a]lternatively or additionally, rollers, gears, wheels, plates, or the like, may be used to urge one or more media items along the transport path 202, 204” as well as the stepper motor mentioned in relation to figure 8 and as mentioned at col. 8, lines 9-14, stating “[a]s shown best in FIG. 8, the clamp member 410 of the clamping mechanism 380 is moved towards or away from the upper transport belt 312 by a stepper motor (not shown) which is coupled to the clamp member 410 by a scissor mechanism 810”, wherein the receiving cavity, i.e., cash slots (107, 108), as illustrated in figure 1, and noting the infeed end region (301) as illustrated in figure 3, has an inlet, comprises a first opening (107, 108, 301) configured to receive banknotes to be accumulated into the receiving cavity, i.e., inside end region (301), a support plate, i.e., implied at col. 5, lines 48-55, noting lines 52-55, is movably disposed in the receiving cavity (301) to support banknotes; the banknote conveying mechanism, i.e., transport belts (306, 308, 310, 312) of transport members (302, 303, 304, 305) as illustrated in figure 3, is configured to drive banknotes to pass through the first opening (107, 108, 301) into the receiving cavity (301) so that the banknotes are stacked on the support plate, i.e., implied at col. 5, lines 48-55, noting lines 52-55; and the support plate driving mechanism, i.e., the motor as mentioned at col. 8, lines 9-14, is drivingly connected to the support plate, i.e., implied at col. 5, lines 48-55, noting lines 52-55, and is configured to drive the support plate, i.e., implied at col. 5, lines 48-55, noting lines 52-55, to move along a direction in which the banknotes are stacked, noting that the upper portion, i.e., represented by transport belt (308), moves in concert with the lower portion, i.e., represented by transport belt (306), as illustrated in figure 3, which is considered to be in the direction of stacking of the banknotes, so as to grip the banknote stack with sufficient force,
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity, controlling the support plate to move to increase a height of banknote accumulation space; and controlling the banknote conveying mechanism to convey the abnormal banknote into the receiving cavity, as mentioned at col. 6, lines 37-42, col. 7, line 28-col. 8, line 8, col. 8, lines 41-65, and col. 9, lines 4-29, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, Dunn does not expressly teach, a support plate; and
after the abnormal banknote is conveyed into the receiving cavity, controlling the support plate to move to a banknote receiving position so that the height of the banknote accumulation space in the receiving cavity is a preset height.
Regarding Claim 1, Dunn does not expressly teach, but Jeong teaches
a support plate, i.e., push plate (110), as illustrated in figures 2a and 2b and as mentioned at paragraphs 28 and 29, for example; and
after the abnormal banknote is conveyed into the receiving cavity, controlling the support plate (110) to move to a banknote receiving position, i.e., interpreted as the state during a money deposit operation, as mentioned in paragraph 27, so that the height of the banknote accumulation space in the receiving cavity is a preset height, as mentioned at paragraphs 32 and 33.
[0032] The money deposit operation of the recyclebox will be described with reference to FIG. 2A. The paper money 1, which is to enter an automatic teller machine through the deposit port 302 along a main conveyance path (not shown) of the automatic teller machine, enters the recyclebox by the counterclockwise rotation of the conveying roller 360. Then, the paper money 1 passes between the feed roller 320 that is rotated in a clockwise direction and the guide roller 330 that comes in contact with the outer periphery of the feed roller 320 and is rotated together with the feed roller, and is stacked on the push plate 110.
[0033] In this case, the push plate 110 descends so that a money deposit space is secured in the recyclebox. Further, a stack guide 20 is swung downward and positioned on a conveyance path of paper money 1. Accordingly, the stack guide guides paper money 1 to be deposited, and the pickup roller 310 does not interfere with the paper money 1 that is moving along the conveyance path of paper money 1. In addition, a stack roller 10 should be positioned on the conveyance path of paper money 1 so that wings 10a of the stack roller push the end of the paper money 1 to be conveyed, causing the paper money 1 to be aligned and stacked.
Emphasis provided.
Note that paragraph 48 mentions the position sensor (83b) that detects the position of the stack roller (10), for example.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a support plate; and
after the abnormal banknote is conveyed into the receiving cavity, controlling the support plate to move to a banknote receiving position so that the height of the banknote accumulation space in the receiving cavity is a preset height, as taught by Jeong, in Dunn’s method for controlling a banknote accumulation device, for the purpose of effectuating Dunn’s implied support plate and for moving the plate and stack so that space is made to accommodate receiving a banknote during a deposit transaction.
Regarding Claim 1, Dunn does not expressly teach
the method comprising: determining whether a banknote to enter the receiving cavity is an abnormal banknote, wherein the abnormal banknote is a banknote that meets any one of the following conditions:
a tilt angle of the banknote exceeds a first preset value,
a length of the banknote exceeds a second preset value,
the banknote and another banknote are stuck together,
the banknote overlaps another banknote, or
a spacing between the banknote and an adjacent banknote is smaller than a third preset value;
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity is the abnormal banknote, controlling the support plate to move to increase a height of banknote accumulation space; and controlling the banknote conveying mechanism to convey the abnormal banknote into the receiving cavity.
Regarding Claim 1, Dunn does not expressly teach, but Wakabayashi teaches
the method comprising: determining, i.e., via banknote control section (11) as mentioned at paragraphs 61 and 62, whether a banknote (BL), as illustrated in figure 3a, to enter the receiving cavity, i.e., represented by conveyance section (13), as illustrated in figure 2, is an abnormal banknote, i.e. rejected banknote (BLR) as shown in figures 3b and 3c, wherein the abnormal banknote (BLR) is a banknote that meets any one of the following conditions:
a tilt angle, i.e., skew, as mentioned at paragraphs 87, 96 and 121 and as illustrated in figure 3c, for example, of the banknote exceeds a first preset value,
a length of the banknote exceeds a second preset value, as mentioned at paragraph 86, for example,
the banknote and another banknote are stuck together, i.e., overlapped, as mentioned at paragraph 87,
the banknote overlaps another banknote, as mentioned at paragraph 87, or
a spacing between the banknote and an adjacent banknote is smaller than a third preset value, as mentioned at paragraph 83, as illustrated in figures 3a and 3b;
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity (13) is the abnormal banknote, controlling the support plate, i.e., (38, 76), as taught by Takeuchi, to move to increase a height of banknote accumulation space, as taught by Dunn; and controlling the banknote conveying mechanism (813) to convey the abnormal banknote into the receiving cavity (13), as taught by Wakabayashi. Note also Wakabayashi’s banknote control section (11, 211, 311, 511, 611, 811) with memory (11M, 211M, 311M, 511M, 611M) as illustrated in figures 2, 12, 20, 21, 23, 28, 29 and 32 and as mentioned at paragraphs 4, 8, 58, 61, 62, 64, 68, 79, 80 and 83-89, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the method comprising: determining whether a banknote to enter the receiving cavity is an abnormal banknote, wherein the abnormal banknote is a banknote that meets any one of the following conditions:
a tilt angle of the banknote exceeds a first preset value,
a length of the banknote exceeds a second preset value,
the banknote and another banknote are stuck together,
the banknote overlaps another banknote, or
a spacing between the banknote and an adjacent banknote is smaller than a third preset value;
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity is the abnormal banknote, controlling the support plate to move to increase a height of banknote accumulation space; and controlling the banknote conveying mechanism to convey the abnormal banknote into the receiving cavity, as taught by Wakabayashi, in Dunn’s method for controlling a banknote accumulation device, for the purpose of identifying banknotes which are abnormal based upon various criteria such as based upon banknote tilt/angle, length of banknote, spacing between banknotes and banknotes are stuck together/overlapped.
Regarding Claim 2, Dunn does not expressly teach wherein in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity is the abnormal banknote, controlling the support plate to move to increase the height of the banknote accumulation space comprises:
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity is the abnormal banknote, controlling the support plate to move a set distance away from the first opening along the direction in which the banknotes are stacked; or
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity is the abnormal banknote, controlling the support plate to move to an initial position, wherein the initial position is a position of the support plate in the receiving cavity farthest from the first opening along the direction in which the banknotes are stacked.
Regarding Claim 2, Dunn teaches wherein in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity (301) is the abnormal banknote, as taught by Wakebayashi, controlling the support plate, as taught by Takeuchi and implied by Dunn, to move to increase the height of the banknote accumulation space comprises:
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity (301) is the abnormal banknote, as taught by Wakebayashi, controlling the support plate, as taught by Takeuchi and implied by Dunn, to move a set distance away from the first opening along the direction in which the banknotes are stacked, as taught by Dunn; or
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity (301) is the abnormal banknote, as taught by Wakebayashi, controlling the support plate, as taught by Takeuchi and as implied by Dunn, to move to an initial position, wherein the initial position is a position of the support plate in the receiving cavity (301) farthest from the first opening (301) along the direction in which the banknotes are stacked, as taught by Dunn.
Regarding Claim 6, Dunn teaches wherein the banknote conveying mechanism (306, 308, 310, 312) comprises a first roller (411) and a second roller (414) disposed opposite each other at the first opening (301), as illustrated in figure 4, and a motor drivingly connected to the first roller (411), i.e., via the superstructure, as mentioned at col. 8, lines 9-27, the method further comprising:
determining whether a banknote accumulation process is over, i.e., implied by the mention that the clamp force is automatically controlled at mentioned at col. 9, lines 4-20; and
in response to determining that the banknote accumulation process is over, controlling the motor to drive the first roller (411) to rotate in a set direction and controlling the support plate, as taught by Takeuchi, to move to an initial position, wherein the set direction is a rotation direction of the first roller (411) capable of driving a banknote to move along a banknote-in direction, the banknote-in direction is a moving direction of a banknote entering the receiving cavity (201, 301) from the first opening (301), and the initial position is a position of the support plate, as taught by Takeuchi, in the receiving cavity (211) farthest from the first opening (201, 301) along the direction in which the banknotes are stacked, as taught by Takeuchi. See also Dunn, col. 1, lines 24-27, col. 4, line 59-col. 5, line 26 and col. 6, line 62-col. 7, line 3, for example.
Regarding Claim 7, see the rejection of Claim 1, above, noting that Dunn’s apparatus performs the method as described in Claim 1, above.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn et al (US 10,504,315 B2) in view of Jeong (US 2008/0006564 A1), further in view of Wakabayashi et al (US 2016/0335830 A1), further in view of Kim (US 2017/0240373 A1) and further in view of OH et al (US 2020/0302725 A1).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Dunn teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 4, Dunn does not expressly teach wherein the banknote accumulation device further comprises a plurality of limiting members arranged in sequence along a banknote-in direction and a limiting member driving mechanism, wherein the limiting member driving mechanism is capable of driving each of the plurality limiting members to move to an extended position or a retracted position, wherein the banknote-in direction is a moving direction of a banknote entering the receiving cavity from the first opening, when the each of the plurality limiting members is at the extended position, the each of the plurality limiting members extends to a movement path of a banknote moving in the receiving cavity along the banknote-in direction, and when the each of the plurality limiting members is at the retracted position, the each of the plurality limiting members exits the movement path, the method further comprising:
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity is the abnormal banknote, controlling the limiting member driving mechanism to drive the each of the plurality limiting members located at the extended position to move to the retracted position.
Regarding Claim 4, Dunn does not expressly teach, but Kim teaches wherein the banknote accumulation device, i.e., the ATM as mentioned in paragraphs 6-9, further comprises a plurality of limiting members, i.e., movable stopper (160), arranged in sequence along a banknote-in direction, as illustrated in figures 4a and 4b and noting the directional arrow in figure 4a indicating the banknote in direction, and a limiting member driving mechanism, i.e., the driving motor as mentioned at paragraphs 46-53, noting in particular paragraph 51, first sentence, mentioning “[a]t this time, when the movable stopper 160 is rotated through the operation of the driving unit (not illustrated) and vertically protrudes from the stack guide 150 as illustrated in FIG. 5A, the stopper body 163 installed in the stopper case 162 protrudes from the stack guide 150 and regulates the front end of a banknote guided by the stack guide 150, in case where the banknote is introduced into the storage space 111”, wherein the limiting member driving mechanism is capable of driving each of the plurality (of) limiting members (160) to move to an extended position or a retracted position, wherein the banknote-in direction is a moving direction of a banknote entering the receiving cavity, i.e., storage space (111), from the first opening, i.e., between nip rollers (131, 132), when the each of the plurality (of) limiting members (160) is at the extended position, as illustrated in figures 4a-5b and as mentioned at paragraphs 46-53, the each of the plurality (of) limiting members extends to a movement path of a banknote moving in the receiving cavity (111), as illustrated in figures 3-5b, along the banknote-in direction, and when the each of the plurality (of) limiting members (160) is at the retracted position, as illustrated in figures 4a and 5b, the each of the plurality (of) limiting members (160) exits the movement path, i.e., after passing through the nip rollers (131, 132), the method further comprising:
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity (111) is the abnormal banknote, as taught by Wakabayashi, controlling the limiting member driving mechanism to drive the each of the plurality (of) limiting members (160) located at the extended position to move to the retracted position, as mentioned at Kim paragraphs 46-53 and as illustrated in figures 3-5b, for example.
Note that it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 4, Dunn does not expressly teach, but Oh teaches a plurality of limiting members (160) as illustrated in figures 4a, 4b and 5, for example.
Regarding Claim 4, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the banknote accumulation device further comprises a plurality of limiting members arranged in sequence along a banknote-in direction and a limiting member driving mechanism, wherein the limiting member driving mechanism is capable of driving each of the plurality limiting members to move to an extended position or a retracted position, wherein the banknote-in direction is a moving direction of a banknote entering the receiving cavity from the first opening, when the each of the plurality limiting members is at the extended position, the each of the plurality limiting members extends to a movement path of a banknote moving in the receiving cavity along the banknote-in direction, and when the each of the plurality limiting members is at the retracted position, the each of the plurality limiting members exits the movement path, the method further comprising:
in response to determining that the banknote to enter the receiving cavity is the abnormal banknote, controlling the limiting member driving mechanism to drive the each of the plurality limiting members located at the extended position to move to the retracted position, as taught by Kim and Oh, in Dunn’s method for controlling a banknote accumulation device, for the purpose of justifying/registering each size of banknotes.
Regarding Claim 5, Dunn does not expressly teach further comprising:
after the abnormal banknote is conveyed into the receiving cavity, controlling the limiting member driving mechanism to drive a target limiting member to move to an extended position, wherein the plurality of limiting members of the banknote accumulation device correspond to different types of banknotes respectively, and the target limiting member is one of the plurality of limiting members corresponding to a next banknote to enter the receiving cavity.
Regarding Claim 5, Dunn does not expressly teach, but Kim teaches further comprising:
after the abnormal banknote, as taught by Wakabayashi, is conveyed into the receiving cavity (111), controlling the limiting member driving mechanism, as mentioned at paragraphs 46-53, to drive a target limiting member to move to an extended position, as illustrated in figures 3-5b, wherein the plurality of limiting members (160) of the banknote accumulation device, i.e., the ATM as mentioned at paragraphs 6-9, correspond to different types of banknotes respectively, as illustrated in figures 3 and 4b, noting the different sized banknotes stacked together and justified/registered with the right hand side of space (111), and the target limiting member (160) is one of the plurality of limiting members (160) as taught by Oh, corresponding to a next banknote to enter the receiving cavity (111), noting that the stack guide (150) as taught by both Kim and Oh moves to position the members (160) to the proper location for justifying each length size of banknotes, for example..
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn et al (US 10,504,315 B2) in view of Jeong (US 2008/0006564 A1), further in view of Wakabayashi et al (US 2016/0335830 A1), further in view of Kobayashi et al (US 9,978,197 B2) and further in view of Weng et al (US 2018/0072530 A1).
Regarding Claims 8, 9, 11 and 13-15, Dunn teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 8, Dunn teaches a cash processing apparatus, i.e., ATM (100), comprising a controller, as mentioned at col. 7, line 60-col. 8, line 8, a banknote-in device, i.e,. access mouth (201), as illustrated in figure 2, a temporary storage device, i.e., escrow (240), a banknote-out device, i.e., access mouth (201), at least one cash box (210, 230) and a conveyance passage (202, 205) which is configured to cause the banknote-in device (201), the temporary storage device (240), the banknote-out device (201) and the at least one cash box (210, 240) to be in communication with each other, wherein the controller is implied to be configured to execute executable programs to perform the method for controlling the banknote accumulation device (100) according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, Dunn does not expressly teach two separate banknote in and banknote out devices, i.e., interpreted as a separate banknote inlet and outlet.
Regarding Claim 8, Dunn does not expressly teach, but Kobayashi teaches two separate banknote in and banknote out devices, i.e., interpreted as a separate banknote inlet and outlet, i.e., depositing unit (201a, 210a) and dispensing unit (220a) as mentioned at col. 6, lines 17-21 and 63-65, as illustrated in figures 4a and 4b, for example.
Regarding Claim 8, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided two separate banknote in and banknote out devices, i.e., interpreted as a separate banknote inlet and outlet, as taught by Kobayashi, in Dunn’s method for the purpose of providing two separate inlets and outlets as is a common alternative in the art.
Regarding Claim 8, Dunn does not expressly teach
wherein the banknote accumulation device is the temporary storage device, the banknote-out device or the at least one cash box.
Regarding Claim 8, Dunn does not expressly teach, but Weng teaches
wherein the banknote accumulation device is the temporary storage device, i.e., stacking device (06) as illustrated in figures 9 and 10, the banknote-out device or the at least one cash box, i.e., recycle box (04) as illustrated in figures 9 and 10, for example.
Regarding Claim 8, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the banknote accumulation device is the temporary storage device, the banknote-out device or the at least one cash box, as taught by Weng, in Dunn’s banknote accumulation device, for the purpose of simplifying the stacking process to thus increase reliability as mentioned at paragraph 6, and as an obvious alternative to Dunn’s cassettes/stackers and escrow devices.
Regarding Claim 9, Dunn does not expressly teach wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine whether there is an abnormal banknote in the conveyance passage;
in response to determining that there is an abnormal banknote in the conveyance passage, suspend conveying a banknote into the conveyance passage; and
in response to determining that the abnormal banknote in the conveyance passage is conveyed into the receiving cavity of the banknote accumulation device, continue to convey a banknote into the conveyance passage.
Regarding Claim 9, Dunn does not expressly teach, but Wakabayashi teaches wherein the controller (11) is further configured to:
determine whether there is an abnormal banknote (BLR) as illustrated in figures 3b and 3c, in the conveyance passage (13);
in response to determining that there is an abnormal banknote (BLR) in the conveyance passage (13), suspend conveying a banknote into the conveyance passage (13), as mentioned at paragraph 127, which states in the first sentence, “when a deposit reject banknote is conveyed from the temporary holding switching section 20 at the same conveyance speed as the first conveyance section 21 upstream, the second conveyance section 22 rotates the respective rollers and the like by a conveyance amount corresponding to one banknote plus a small gap, and then immediately stops the rollers”; and
in response to determining that the abnormal banknote (BLR) in the conveyance passage (13) is conveyed into the receiving cavity (22, 22s) of the banknote accumulation device (10) as illustrated in figures 2 and 3a and 3b, continue to convey a banknote into the conveyance passage (13) do be directed to the proper sorting location via switching sections/gates (23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28) and to the specific cassettes (16, 17) as illustrated in figures 4, 9 and 20, for example.
Regarding Claim 11, see the rejection of Claim 8, above.
Regarding Claim 13, see the rejection of Claim 8, above.
Regarding Claim 14, see the rejection of Claim 8, above.
Regarding Claim 15, see the rejection of Claim 8, above.
Claim(s) 10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn et al (US 10,504,315 B2) in view of Jeong (US 2008/0006564 A1), further in view of Wakabayashi et al (US 2016/0335830 A1), further in view of Kim (US 2017/0240373 A1), further in view of OH et al (US 2020/0302725 A1), further in view of Kobayashi et al (US 9,978,197 B2) and further in view of Weng et al (US 2018/0072530 A1).
Regarding Claims 10 and 16, Dunn teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 10, Dunn teaches a cash processing apparatus, i.e., ATM (100), comprising a controller, as mentioned at col. 7, line 60-col. 8, line 8, a banknote-in device, a temporary storage device, a banknote-out device, at least one cash box and a conveyance passage which is configured to cause the banknote-in device, the temporary storage device, the banknote-out device and the at least one cash box to be in communication with each other, wherein the controller is configured to execute executable programs to perform the method for controlling the banknote accumulation device according to claim 4, wherein the banknote accumulation device is the temporary storage device or the banknote-out device, wherein the banknote accumulation device further comprises a second opening, the second opening is positioned downstream of the plurality of limiting members in the banknote-in direction, as mentioned above with respect to the rejection of Claims 4 and 8, above.
Regarding Claim 10, Dunn does not expressly teach
a gate is movably provided at the second opening, the banknote accumulation device further comprises a gate driving mechanism drivingly connected to the gate, the gate driving mechanism is configured to drive the gate to move to an open position which enables the second opening to be open or a closed position which enables the second opening to be closed, and the gate driving mechanism is electrically connected to the controller, the controller is further configured to:
before controlling the limiting member driving mechanism to drive each of the plurality (of) limiting members located at the extended position to move toward the retracted position, control the gate driving mechanism to drive the gate located at the open position to move to the closed position.
Regarding Claim 10, Dunn does not expressly teach, but Wakabayashi teaches
a gate, i.e., switches (821-824) as mentioned at paragraph 4, switches (23-28) as illustrated in figure 4 and as mentioned at paragraphs 77-80, 240 and 251, for example, is movably provided at the second opening, i.e., rear exchange port (14R), the banknote accumulation device, i.e., banknote deposit/withdrawal device (10), further comprises a gate driving mechanism, i.e., motors (M1, M2) as mentioned in paragraphs 77-80, for example, implied to be drivingly connected to the gate (23-28 and 821-824), the gate driving mechanism (M1, M2) is configured to drive the gate (23-28 and 821-824) to move to an open position which enables the second opening (14R) to be open or a closed position which enables the second opening (14R) to be closed, and the gate driving mechanism (M1, M2) is electrically connected to the controller (11), the controller (11) is further configured to:
before controlling the limiting member driving mechanism, as taught by Weng, to drive each of the plurality (of) limiting members located at the extended position to move toward the retracted position, control the gate driving mechanism (M1, M2) to drive the gate (23-28 and 821-824) located at the open position to move to the closed position.
Regarding Claim 10, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a gate is movably provided at the second opening, the banknote accumulation device further comprises a gate driving mechanism drivingly connected to the gate, the gate driving mechanism is configured to drive the gate to move to an open position which enables the second opening to be open or a closed position which enables the second opening to be closed, and the gate driving mechanism is electrically connected to the controller, the controller is further configured to:
before controlling the limiting member driving mechanism to drive each of the plurality (of) limiting members located at the extended position to move toward the retracted position, control the gate driving mechanism to drive the gate located at the open position to move to the closed position, as taught by Wakabayashi and Weng, in Dunn’s banknote accumulation device, for the purpose of diverting and sorting banknotes using common mechanical gates and drivers in Dunn’s cash processing apparatus, as is well known in the art.
Regarding Claim 16, see the rejection of Claim 10, above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-11 and 13-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
February 6, 2026