DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 12 depends on now cancelled claim 2. For purposes of examination claim 12 is dependent on claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10-11, 16-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spearman et al. (US 2018/0071118 A1) in view of McEntire et al. (US 2007/0259029 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Spearman discloses A catheter (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2a), comprising: an elongated body (generally where 4 is pointing) defining one or more lumen (at 6); the elongated body comprising a biodegradable crosslinked polymer ([0028], first aqueous-swellable biocompatible and biodegradable polymer or mixture of polymers; also a list of possible materials are found in [0034]); wherein: the biodegradable crosslinked polymer has a differentiated crosslinked density through a cross-sectional portion of the elongated body (stent body/catheter can be made of a first and second aqueous-swellable polymer that has different densities to alter the swellable [0029] the second layer may be less swellable due to relative increase in density); the differentiated crosslinked density leads to differentiated swelling of the elongated body due to water uptake ([0029], different density material is used such that the second layer may be less swellable).
However, Spearman does not explicitly disclose that the crosslinked polymers include citrate, xylitol and 1,8-octanediol.
McEntire teaches a medical device used on the body being made of a material that includes citrate, xylitol and octanediol ([0070], teaches the use of these three materials and any mixtures thereof).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman with the material of citrate, xylitol and 1,8-octanediol as taught by McEntire because the substation of one well-known material for another is well-known in the art and does not alter the overall function of the device ([0070]).
With regard to claim 4, Spearman discloses further comprising: a delivery system comprising at least one moiety (22 barrier layer) embedded within the elongated body, the moiety configured to controllably release an agent encapsulated within the moiety ([0046], control transport solvents and solutes along the lumen wall).
With regard to claim 10, Spearman discloses further comprising: an anchoring mechanism configured to anchor the catheter to tissue (anchoring is due to the surface friction of the outside of the catheter once it has swelled as shown in Fig. 1c, [0045] and as shown in Fig. 2a, [0006]).
With regard to claim 11, Spearman discloses wherein: the anchoring mechanism includes any one or combination of: surface roughness of the catheter ([0006], [0045], the outer surface after swelling forms an anchor by pushing against the lumen of the body); nano- or micro- structures formed on a surface of the catheter; porous structures formed on a surface of the catheter; or adhesion moieties formed on a surface of the catheter.
With regard to claim 16, Spearman discloses A method of administering peripheral nerve block, the method comprising: inserting a catheter (claim 12) in tissue of a patient, the catheter comprising a biodegradable crosslinked polymer ([0028], first aqueous-swellable biocompatible and biodegradable polymer or mixture of polymers; also a list of possible materials are found in [0034]); wherein: the biodegradable crosslinked polymer has a differentiated crosslinked density through a cross-sectional portion of the elongated body (stent body/catheter can be made of a first and second aqueous-swellable polymer that has different densities to alter the swellable [0029] the second layer may be less swellable due to relative increase in density); the differentiated crosslinked density leads to differentiated swelling of the elongated body due to water uptake ([0029], different density material is used such that the second layer may be less swellable); allowing the catheter to swell so as to cause catheter anchorage to the tissue ([0006]); delivering agent via the catheter ([0046], 22 delivers solvents and solutes through the lumen); and allowing the catheter to biodegrade ([0041]).
However, Spearman does not explicitly disclose that the crosslinked polymers include citrate, xylitol and 1,8-octanediol.
McEntire teaches a medical device used on the body being made of a material that includes citrate, xylitol and octanediol ([0070], teaches the use of these three materials and any mixtures thereof).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman with the material of citrate, xylitol and 1,8-octanediol as taught by McEntire because the substation of one well-known material for another is well-known in the art and does not alter the overall function of the device ([0070]).
With regard to claim 17, Spearman discloses wherein: swelling is the only form of tissue anchorage for the catheter (Fig. 1 and 2 show no other tissue anchorage).
With regard to claim 18, Spearman discloses wherein: the catheter includes an elongated body (see Fig. 1a and Fig. 2a) defining one or more lumen (6 or 24); swelling at or near the one or more lumen is less than swelling at an outer periphery of the elongated body ([0029]).
With regard to claim 20, Spearman discloses further comprising: delivering agent via at least one moiety embedded within the catheter (barrier layer 22 delivers solvents and solutes along the lumen, [0046]).
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spearman et al. (US 2018/0071118 A1) in view of McEntire et al. (US 2007/0259029 A1) and in further view of Ramos et al. (US 2015/0366462 A1).
With regard to claim 3, Spearman/McEntire discloses the claimed invention except for a sensor.
Ramos teaches catheter (Fig. 1 and 3) further comprising: a monitoring system comprising at least one moiety embedded within the elongated body, the moiety configured as a sensor [[0028], temperature sensor 20 is embedded in the catheter 10).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire with the embedded sensor as taught by Ramos for the purpose of transmitting information wirelessly to an external display to monitor the conditions within the body ([0028]).
With regard to claim 5 and 21, Spearman/McEntire discloses the claimed invention except for an embedded moiety for modulating flow.
Ramos teaches an embedded sensor (20) that is used to modulate flow of an agent through the lumen or portion of the elongated body ([0028], temperature data is used to manage treatment (abstract) and is therefore considered to “modulate” flow. Further definition of the term modulate may help to overcome the current rejection).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire with the embedded sensor as taught by Ramos for the purpose of transmitting information wirelessly to an external display to monitor the conditions within the body ([0028]).
With regard to claim 6, Spearman discloses a delivery system comprising an encapsulation material (22) that releases an agent upon degradation of the encapsulation or a shape memory material that releases an agent upon being activated ([0046]); and a modulation system (the system of the expandable catheter in combination with the barrier layer) that controls the degradation of the encapsulation material or controls the activation of the shape memory material (.
However, Spearman/McEntire does not disclose an embedded sensor.
Ramos teaches catheter (Fig. 1 and 3) further comprising: a monitoring system comprising at least one moiety embedded within the elongated body, the moiety configured as a sensor [[0028], temperature sensor 20 is embedded in the catheter 10).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire with the embedded sensor as taught by Ramos for the purpose of transmitting information wirelessly to an external display to monitor the conditions within the body ([0028]).
With regard to claim 7, Spearman discloses a delivery system comprising an encapsulation material (90) that releases an agent upon degradation of the encapsulation or a shape memory material that releases an agent upon being activated ([0055], [0004]); and a modulation system (the system of the expandable catheter in combination with the rails and coating 90 form a system that controls the delivery of the agent via the degradable coating, [0055]) that controls the degradation of the encapsulation material or controls the activation of the shape memory material ([0044]).
However, Spearman/McEntire does not disclose an embedded sensor.
Ramos teaches catheter (Fig. 1 and 3) further comprising: a monitoring system comprising at least one moiety embedded within the elongated body, the moiety configured as a sensor [[0028], temperature sensor 20 is embedded in the catheter 10). Ramos further teaches a power harvester ([0044]) in electrical connection with the embedded sensor.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire with the power harvester as taught by Ramos for the purpose of provide power to the sensor ([0044]).
With regard to claim 8, Spearman/McEntire discloses the claimed invention except for a wireless module.
Ramos teaches further comprising: a wireless module in electrical connection with the power harvester and in wireless communication with an operating module ([0046]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire with the wireless module as taught by Ramos for the purpose of reducing the need for additional components such as wires to be connected to the device ([0028]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spearman et al. (US 2018/0071118 A1) in view of McEntire et al. (US 2007/0259029 A1) and Ramos et al. (US 2015/0366462 A1) and in further view of Pursley (US 6,030, 371).
With regard to claim 9, Spearman/McEntire/Ramos teach the claimed invention except for electrodes.
Pursley teaches a catheter that can have sensors embedded in the walls (101/101’) that form a pair of electrodes configured to generate electrical stimuli (the use of the phrase “configured to” implies functional language and therefore only the structure must be taught in the prior art and be capable of performing the recited function, Col 8, lines 63-end).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire/Ramos with the electrodes as taught by Pursely because the substation of one known sensor for another is well known in the art and does not alter the overall function of the device.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spearman et al. (US 2018/0071118 A1) in view of McEntire et al. (US 2007/0259029 A1) and in further view of Edelman et al. (WO 2006/127907 A2).
With regard to claim 12, Spearman/McEntire teach the claimed invention except for epinephrine.
Edelman teaches epinephrine can be embedded within a controlled release polymer ([0068]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire with the epinephrine as taught by Edelman for the purpose of providing the heart with contractile support and further because the substation of one medication for another is well-known in the art and does not alter the overall function of the device ([0068]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spearman et al. (US 2018/0071118 A1) in view of McEntire et al. (US 2007/0259029 A1) and in further view of Patel (US 2006/0052766 A1).
With regard to claim 14, Spearman discloses the claimed invention except for a fluorescent polymer.
Patel teaches a catheter made of a polymer further having fluorescent polymer ([0024]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire with the fluorescent polymer as taught by Patel for the purpose of better visualization ([0024]).
Claim(s) 19, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spearman et al. (US 2018/0071118 A1) in view of McEntire et al. (US 2007/0259029 A1) and Ramos (US 2015/0366462 A1) and in further view of Imran (US 2012/0296259 A1).
With regard to claim 19, Spearman/McEntire discloses the claimed invention except for monitoring of the material degradation.
Ramos teaches the use of embedded sensors in a catheter ([0049]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire with the embedded sensor as taught by Ramos for the purpose of transmitting information wirelessly to an external display to monitor the conditions within the body ([0028]).
However, Spearman/McEntire/Ramos do not teach the sensor is one that monitors functionality and material degradation of the catheter.
Imran teaches a sensor as part of a medical system that can monitor the functionality and material degradation of a biodegradable material ([0015], “sensing the state of disintegration”).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire/Ramos teaches the monitoring of degradation as taught by Imran for the purpose of controlling the delivery of agent to the body ([0015]).
With regard to claim 22, Spearman discloses a delivery system comprising an encapsulation material (22) that releases an agent upon degradation of the encapsulation or a shape memory material that releases an agent upon being activated ([0046]); and a modulation system (the system of the expandable catheter in combination with the barrier layer 22) that controls the degradation of the encapsulation material or controls the activation of the shape memory material ([0044]).
However, Spearman/McEntire does not teach providing electrical power.
Ramos teaches providing electrical power ([0044, via a battery) to the monitoring moiety (sensor).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman with the electrical power as taught by Ramos for the purpose of provide power to the sensor ([0044]).
However, Spearman/McEntire/Ramos do not teach the monitoring of material degradation.
Imran teaches a sensor as part of a medical system that can monitor the functionality and material degradation of a biodegradable material ([0015], “sensing the state of disintegration”).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spearman/McEntire/Ramos teaches the monitoring of degradation as taught by Imran for the purpose of controlling the delivery of agent to the body ([0015]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-12, 14, 16-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is suggested that other structural elements of the catheter being described in order to overcome the current rejection.
Other relevant prior art includes Goldsborough et al. (US 2014/0295404 A1). Goldsborough teaches the use of citrate, xylitol, and 1,8-octanediol either individually or together [0064].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783