DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 28th 2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance. The amendments to the claims have overcome the previous 112(a) and 112(b) rejections, thus the rejections are withdrawn. The previous 103 rejections of the claims have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Fujii in further view of Kim US 2011/0104556 A1. New rejections follow.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites “extending the third direction” which should be corrected to “extending in the third direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 12, & 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. WO 2014024432 A1 and further in view of Kim US 2011/0104556 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, as shown in Fujii Annotated Figure 4 below, Fujii discloses a power storage module (battery system) with an array including a plurality of power storage devices (battery stack [Page 1 Lines 19-26]), further comprising:
a first surface and a second surface, which is opposite the second surface (Figure 4)
the first surface and second surface arranged in a first direction (Figure 4)
the plurality of power storage devices arranged in a third direction (Figure 4)
a first restraint member on the first surface and a second restraint member on the second surface extending in the third direction (Figure 4)
Fujii Annotated Figure 4
As illustrated in Figure 4 above, the dimension of the power storage devices in the second direction (width wise) is larger than the dimension of the power storage devices in the first direction (height wise).
Additionally, Fujii discloses a pair of end plates provided at both ends of the array arranged in the third direction [Page 2 Lines 13-14], as shown by Items 3 in Fujii Annotated Figure 4 above. Further, Fujii discloses that each of the power storage devices comprises a pair of output terminals on the first surface (also shown in Annotated Figure 4 above; Figure 8 Items 13) [Page 4 Lines 51-54].
Fujii discloses that the first restraint member has one or more openings (holes as shown in Figure 4 above) passing through the first restraint member in the first direction wherein the one or more openings includes a first opening, as shown in Figure 4 below. Fujii discloses that the plurality of power storage devices includes a first-end side power storage device adjacent to one of the pair of end plates and a second-end side power storage device adjacent to another of the pair of end plates (see Figure 4 below):
Fujii Annotated Figure 4
Fujii illustrates that the first opening is shown to overlap the terminals of the power storage devices, and overlaps the first-end side power storage device and the second-end side power storage device. However, Fujii fails to disclose that the first opening continuously extends in the third direction and continuously overlaps one of the pair of output terminals of all of the plurality of power storage devices including the first-end side power storage device and the second-end power storage device.
Kim discloses a battery module similar to that of Fujii, as shown in Figure 2 below of Kim. Kim discloses that the battery module comprises end plates, first and second restraint members, and a plurality of power storage devices comprising a first-end side power storage device adjacent to one end plate and a second-end side power storage device adjacent to the other end plate, similar to that of Fujii, as shown in Figure 2 below. Kim additionally discloses bus bars and bus bar holder plates (Items 110 and 100, respectively, in Figure 2) that connect to the terminals (Item 12 Figure 2) of the power storage devices, which are similar to Fujii’s first restraint member comprising bus bars accommodated in the openings and attached to the terminals of the power storage devices as shown in Figure 6 of Fujii below:
Kim Annotated Figure 2
Fujii Annotated Figure 6
Kim discloses that the bus bar holders have a continuous opening (Figures 2 & 3 Item 100a) that overlaps all of the terminals of all of the plurality of battery cells in the module, as shown in Figures 2 & 3. Kim discloses that this configuration for the bus bar holder plate allows for the bus bars to be attached to the terminals for each battery cell regardless of the volumes of the battery cells or the manufacturing tolerances of the electrode terminals due to the ability of the bus bars to slide within the continuous opening in the bus bar holder plate, and further discloses that if the volume of the battery cells were to change, there would not be a connection issue between the bus bars and the terminals as this structure is easily adaptable to volume changes of the battery cells [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the restraint member, comprising the bus bar holders, of Fujii to have to same configuration as that of Kim, thus providing a continuous opening in the lengthwise direction of the battery module, to provide a bus bar holder plate that is easily adaptable to volume changes of the battery cells within the battery module. Thus, modified Fujii discloses the first opening continuously extends in the third direction and continuously overlaps one of the pair of output terminals of all of the plurality of power storage devices including the first-end side power storage device and the second-end power storage device. This is further illustrated in Modified Fujii Annotated Figure 4 below:
Modified Fujii Annotated Figure 4
Additionally, Kim discloses in other embodiments that the bus bar holder plate has a similar structure to that of Fujii, wherein the bus bar holder plate has several openings arranged along the third direction (lengthwise direction of the battery module), as shown in Figures 4 & 5 of Kim. Therefore, Kim discloses alternative embodiments for bus bar holder plates, either having one continuous opening in the lengthwise direction or having multiple openings arranged along the lengthwise direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these configurations disclosed by Kim as alternatives to each other, and it would therefore be obvious to substitute one configuration, i.e. multiple openings arranged along the lengthwise direction of Fujii with another configuration, i.e. one continuous opening in the lengthwise direction of Kim with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, Fujii discloses that the plurality of power storage devices are arranged in the array such that the first surface faces the same direction [Page 4 Lines 55-57], as shown in Fujii Annotated Figure 5:
Fujii Annotated Figure 5
Regarding Claim 3, Fujii discloses that each of the plurality of power storage devices further comprises a valve on the first surface (Figure 8 Item 11) [Page 4 Lines 54-55]. As shown in Fujii Annotated Figure 6 below, Fujii discloses that the one or more openings of the first restraint member additionally comprises a second opening that extends in the third direction and overlaps the valves of all of the plurality of power storage devices including the first-end side power storage device and the second-end side power storage device:
Fujii Annotated Figure 6
Regarding Claim 9, Fujii discloses that the first restraint member has plural openings of the one or more openings, as shown in Figure 4, that are arranged in the second direction:
Fujii Figure 4
Regarding Claim 12, as mentioned with regards to Claim 9 above, modified Fujii discloses that the first restraint member has plural openings of the one or more openings, shown in Figure 4 above, overlapping all of the plurality of power storage devices. This is further illustrated in Fujii Annotated Figure 4 above.
Regarding Claim 16, similarly to Claim 1, as shown in Fujii Annotated Figure 4 below, Fujii discloses a power storage module (battery system) with an array including a plurality of power storage devices (battery stack [Page 1 Lines 19-26]), further comprising:
a first surface and a second surface, which is opposite the second surface (Figure 4)
the first surface and second surface arranged in a first direction (Figure 4)
the plurality of power storage devices arranged in a third direction (Figure 4)
a first restraint member on the first surface and a second restraint member on the second surface extending in the third direction (Figure 4)
Fujii Annotated Figure 4
As illustrated in Figure 4 above, the dimension of the power storage devices in the second direction (width wise) is larger than the dimension of the power storage devices in the first direction (height wise).
Additionally, Fujii discloses a pair of end plates provided at both ends of the array arranged in the third direction [Page 2 Lines 13-14], as shown by Items 3 in Fujii Annotated Figure 4 above. Further, Fujii discloses that each of the power storage devices comprises a pair of output terminals on the first surface (also shown in Annotated Figure 4 above; Figure 8 Items 13) [Page 4 Lines 51-54], and a valve on the first surface (Figure 8 Item 11) [Page 4 Lines 54-55].
Fujii discloses that the plurality of power storage devices includes a first-end side power storage device adjacent and closest to one of the pair of end plates and a second-end side power storage device adjacent and closest to another of the pair of end plates (see Figure 6 below):
Fujii Annotated Figure 6
Fujii discloses that the first restraint member has three openings passing through the first restraint member in the first direction, as shown in Figure 6 above. Fujii illustrates in Figure 6 above that two of the openings at both ends of the three openings overlap the terminals of the plurality of power storage devices, and the opening in the center of the three openings overlaps the valves of the plurality of power storage devices, and thus the three openings are arranged at predetermined intervals in the second direction.
However, Fujii fails to disclose that the each of the three openings continuously extends in the third direction and continuously overlaps all of the plurality of power storage devices including the first-end side power storage device and the second-end power storage device.
Kim discloses a battery module similar to that of Fujii, as shown in Figure 2 below of Kim. Kim discloses that the battery module comprises end plates, first and second restraint members, and a plurality of power storage devices comprising a first-end side power storage device adjacent to one end plate and a second-end side power storage device adjacent to the other end plate, similar to that of Fujii, as shown in Figure 2 below. Kim additionally discloses bus bars and bus bar holder plates (Items 110 and 100, respectively, in Figure 2) that connect to the terminals (Item 12 Figure 2) of the power storage devices, which are similar to Fujii’s first restraint member comprising bus bars accommodated in the openings and attached to the terminals of the power storage devices as shown in Figure 6 of Fujii below:
Kim Annotated Figure 2
Fujii Annotated Figure 6
Kim discloses that the bus bar holders have a continuous opening (Figures 2 & 3 Item 100a) that overlaps all of the terminals of all of the plurality of battery cells in the module, as shown in Figures 2 & 3. Kim discloses that this configuration for the bus bar holder plate allows for the bus bars to be attached to the terminals for each battery cell regardless of the volumes of the battery cells or the manufacturing tolerances of the electrode terminals due to the ability of the bus bars to slide within the continuous opening in the bus bar holder plate, and further discloses that if the volume of the battery cells were to change, there would not be a connection issue between the bus bars and the terminals as this structure is easily adaptable to volume changes of the battery cells [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the restraint member, comprising the bus bar holders, of Fujii to have to same configuration as that of Kim, thus providing a continuous opening in the lengthwise direction of the battery module, to provide a bus bar holder plate that is easily adaptable to volume changes of the battery cells within the battery module. Thus, modified Fujii discloses the first opening continuously extends in the third direction and continuously overlaps one of the pair of output terminals of all of the plurality of power storage devices including the first-end side power storage device and the second-end power storage device.
These benefits disclosed by Kim, more specifically having battery module components that are easily adaptable to volume changes of the battery cells during operation, would also apply to the third opening at the center of the three openings that overlaps the valves of all of the power storage devices. The benefits would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as a way to solve issues such as battery module assembly requiring precise alignment of the holes in the restraint member with the exact positioning of the valves of each battery cell. As disclosed by Kim, the benefit of having one continuous opening instead of multiple openings arranged along the lengthwise direction would reduce the sensitivity of tight manufacturing tolerances, and this would apply to both the openings overlapping the terminals of the battery cells as well as the openings overlapping the valves of the battery cells. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the openings overlapping the valves as in Fujii to instead have one continuous opening overlapping all of the valves in the third direction as in Kim. This is further illustrated in Modified Fujii Annotated Figure 4 below:
Modified Fujii Annotated Figure 4
Additionally, Kim discloses in other embodiments that the bus bar holder plate has a similar structure to that of Fujii, wherein the bus bar holder plate has several openings arranged along the third direction (lengthwise direction of the battery module), as shown in Figures 4 & 5 of Kim. Therefore, Kim discloses alternative embodiments for bus bar holder plates, either having one continuous opening in the lengthwise direction or having multiple openings arranged along the lengthwise direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these configurations disclosed by Kim as alternatives to each other, and it would therefore be obvious to substitute one configuration, i.e. multiple openings arranged along the lengthwise direction of Fujii with another configuration, i.e. one continuous opening in the lengthwise direction of Kim with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 6 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii and Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kusunoki et al JP 2013/073915 A.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Fujii discloses the power storage module with regards to Claim 1, further comprising an insulating separator between adjacent power storage devices (spacer that insulates adjacent batteries Figure 8 Item 7) [Page 5 Lines 22-23].
Fujii is silent as to a protrusion on the separator that fits into the hole.
Kusunoki discloses a battery pack with a plurality of unit cells, top and bottom covers, and spacers [0016]. Kusunoki discloses that the spacers (Figure 3 Item 8) are arranged between each of the unit cells (Figure 3 Items 7) [0025]. Kusunoki discloses that the spacers are comprised of synthetic resin, which is insulating [0027], and further comprise an insulating member [0028]. Thus Kusunoki discloses a separator between the power storage devices that is insulating, similar to that of Fujii.
Kusunoki discloses, as further illustrated in Annotated Figures 5 & 6 below, that the spacers have protruding portions (Figure 5 Items 50a & 50b) that are formed at the bottom of the spacers to engage with holes (Figure 6 Item 53) in the bottom plate (Figure 6 Item 9) [0028]. Thus Kusunoki discloses a separator with a protrusion (Items 50a & 50b) that fits into the hole (Item 53) of the second restraint member (bottom plate 9).
Annotated Figures 5 & 6
Kusunoki discloses that a battery array with this configuration prevents detachment of the covers from the cell components and strengthens the fastening force between the unit cells [0013]. Kusunoki discloses that by incorporating an insulating part within the separator, the unit cells can be insulated and the need for additional parts is reduced and the configuration can thus be simpler [0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the insulating separators of Kusunoki, with the protrusion fitting into the holes of the bottom cover, in the battery array of Fujii to achieve a battery with insulation and strengthened fastening force between the unit cells.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Fujii discloses the power storage module with regards to Claim 6, with the modification of Kusunoki. Kusunoki further discloses that the separators (spacers Item 8) have an additional protruding part (Item 48) [0028] comprising a fitting part (Item 49) that engages with part of the restraint member (inner cover member 11) [0028]. Kusunoki discloses that the restraint member (inner cover member 11) comprises a cutout (Item 65) that engages with the fitting part of the separator (spacer 8) [0033]. Thus, as further shown in Annotated Figures 9 & 10 below, Kusunoki discloses a restraint member comprising cutouts corresponding to the separators, wherein the separators have fitting parts the contact two inner side surfaces of the cutouts.
Annotated Figures 9 & 10
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii and Kim as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Park et al. US 2012/0115004 A.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Fujii discloses that the first restraint member has the plurality of holes, as mentioned with regards to Claim 12 above. However, Fujii does not disclose that the second restraint member has a plurality of openings passing through the second restraint member in the first direction.
Park discloses two restraint members for a battery array having the same structure (“fixing members” Figure 1 Items 41) [0041], and more specifically discloses that the two restraint members can comprise openings (vent holes) [0013].
Park discloses that a battery array with this configuration provides a battery that is stably fixed [0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the second restraint member of Fujii to have the same configuration as the first restraint member of Fujii, as suggested by Park, to achieve a battery array that is stably fixed.
Thus, modified Fujii discloses, with the further modification of Park, that the second restraint member has a plurality of openings passing through the second restraint member in the first direction.
Claims 14-15 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii and Kim as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawano US 2020/0194750 A1.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Fujii is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. As mentioned above, Fujii discloses a pair of end plates provided at both ends of the array arranged in the third direction [Page 2 Lines 13-14], as shown by Items 3 in Fujii Annotated Figure 4 below.
Fujii further discloses that the first restraint member includes a main body having a plate shape extending in the third direction and facing the first surface of the plurality of power storage devices, and a pair of arms extending parallel to the first direction from the main body, facing the array in the third direction:
Fujii Annotated Figure 4
Fujii additionally discloses that each end plate has a first surface facing the array in the third direction and a second surface opposite the first surface, see Fujii Annotated Figure 9 below:
Fujii Annotated Figure 9
Fujii discloses that the end plates have screw holes formed therein, shown as Items 3a & 3b in Figures 6 & 7, and that the restraint members have through-holes formed therein [Page 7 Lines 4-9], shown as Items 4a & 4b in Figure 11.
Fujii discloses that the through-holes in the restraint members overlap the screw holes formed in the end plates, as shown in Figure 6, and as further shown in Annotated Figure 7 below, the holes can be seen to overlap.
Fujii Annotated Figure 7
As shown in Annotated Figure 7, Fujii illustrates that the holes and the through-holes are formed in the sides of the end plates and the restraint members, respectively. However, Fujii fails to disclose that the screw holes in the end plates are formed specifically on the second (outer) surface of the end plates and that the through-holes in the restraint members are formed in the pair of arms facing the array when viewed in the third direction, such that the holes and the through-holes overlaps when viewed in the third direction.
Kawano discloses a battery module comprising restraint members (binding bars) and end plates [Abstract]. Kawano discloses that the restraint members comprise a pair of arms (“fixing parts” Figure 1 Items 42), similar to that of Fujii, that extend around the outer surface of the end plates and are fixed to the end plates by setscrews [0059], as shown in Figure 1. As shown in Figure 2, Kawano discloses that the pair of arms comprise through holes that align with holes in the surface of the end plates (see Annotated Kawano Figure 2).
Annotated Kawano Figure 2
Thus, Kawano discloses holes in the end plates on the outer surface of the end plate, wherein the holes in the pair of arms of the restraint members overlap with the holes of the end plates, as viewed in the third direction (length of the battery array) shown in Figures 1 & 2 of Kawano.
Kawano discloses that a battery module with this structure can be used as a battery system for a vehicle [0089], similar to that of Fujii.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the exact positioning of the through-holes in the restraint members and the holes in the end plates as a variable that can be altered without a substantial change in the performance or application of a battery module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the exact positioning of the through-holes in the restraint members and the holes in the end plates to be positioned so as to be overlapping on the second (outer) surface of the end plate, as recited in the claim, based on the suggested embodiment of Kawano for a vehicle battery module, which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a suitable alternative to the configuration of Fujii with an expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 14, as mentioned with regards to Claim 17 above, modified Fujii discloses that the first restraint member comprises a main body with a plate shape extending in the third direction and a pair of arms extending parallel to the first direction from the main body to the array, as illustrated in Fujii Annotated Figure 4 above with regards to Claim 1.
Additionally, modified Fujii discloses that the second restraint member has a main body and a pair of arms, as shown in Fujii Annotated Figures 4 & 6 below.
Fujii Annotated Figures 4 & 6
Fujii discloses that the pair of arms of the first restraint member extend from the main body to the pair of arms of the second restraint member, as shown in Figure 4 below:
Fujii Annotated Figure 4
Regarding Claim 15, Fujii discloses that the second restraint member is made of a single plate (as shown in Figure 6, Fujii illustrates that the second restraint member is made of one piece):
Fujii Figure 6
Additionally, Fujii illustrates in Figures 11 & 6 that the width of the main body is the same as the width of the arm in the second direction:
Fujii Figures 11 & 6
Claims 4 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. WO 2014024432 A1 in further in view of Motohashi et al. US 2016/0141735 A1.
Regarding Claim 4, as shown in Fujii Annotated Figure 4 below, Fujii discloses a power storage module (battery system) with an array including a plurality of power storage devices (battery stack [Page 1 Lines 19-26]), further comprising:
a first surface and a second surface, which is opposite the second surface (Figure 4)
the first surface and second surface arranged in a first direction (Figure 4)
the plurality of power storage devices arranged in a third direction (Figure 4)
a first restraint member on the first surface and a second restraint member on the second surface extending in the third direction (Figure 4)
Fujii Annotated Figure 4
As illustrated in Figure 4 above, the dimension of the power storage devices in the second direction (width wise) is larger than the dimension of the power storage devices in the first direction (height wise).
Fujii discloses that the power storage module has a second restraint member (fixing plate Figure 4 Item 9), however is silent as to the second restraint member having a plurality of openings passing through in the first direction and a plurality of heat conductive member in the plurality of openings, respectively, and heat-exchangeably contacting the second surface.
Motohashi discloses a power storage module (battery unit) with a restraint member (a case) [0017]. Motohashi discloses that the restraint member comprises a heat conductive plate [0023], shown in Motohashi Annotated Figure 2 below, that has a plurality of openings and a plurality of heat conductive members:
Motohashi Annotated Figure 2
Motohashi discloses that the heat transfer material (Item 52) is disposed between the heat conductive plate and the battery unit [0024], thus the heat transfer material is in contact with the surface of the battery unit. Motohashi discloses that the plurality of openings (slits Item 50a) in the heat conductive plate (Item 50) are configured to make the plurality of heat conductive members (individual strips of heat transfer materials Items 52) movable and to permit the heat transfer materials to move between the front and backsides of the heat conductive plate [0037], thus filling the openings with heat conductive material. Thus, Motohashi discloses a second restraint member (heat conductive plate) with a plurality of openings (slits) and a plurality of heat conductive members (strips of heat conductive material) accommodated in the openings (heat transfer material movable through the slits) and where the heat conductive material is in contact with the second surface (heat transfer material in contact with battery unit). This is further illustrated in Motohashi Annotated Figure 3, showing a cross-section of the battery unit.
Motohashi Annotated Figure 3
Motohashi discloses that a battery with this configuration prevents deformation of the heat conductive material during press manufacturing [0007], which can lead to uneven distribution of heat conductive material and thus create a problem with the strength of the battery case [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate Motohashi’s heat conductive plate with the plurality of openings and plurality of heat conductive members in the plurality of openings in Fujii’s battery module to achieve a battery case with better strength and prevent deformation of the heat conductive material during pressing.
Regarding Claim 5, Fuji discloses that the array is placed on a cooling plate (Figure 9 Item 20) that is positioned on the outside of the array such that the second restraint member (fixing plate) is interposed between the array and the cooling plate, and thus heat-exchangeably in contact with all of the heat conductive members in the openings of the second restraint member (as modified by Motohashi with regards to Claim 4).
Claims 1, 2, 6, & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire et al US 10,355,259 in further view of Motohashi et al. US 2016/0141735 A1 and Lee et al US 10,629,878 B2.
Regarding Claim 1, Maguire discloses a battery pack with a plurality of power storage devices (Figure 2 [Column 4 Lines 24-26]), further comprising (shown in Annotated Figures 2 & 7 below):
a first surface and a second surface, which is opposite the second surface (Figure 2)
the first surface and second surface arranged in a first direction (Figure 2)
the plurality of power storage devices arranged in a third direction (Figure 7)
a restraint member on the first surface extending in the third direction (Figure 7)
a restraint member on the second surface extending in the third direction (Figure 7)
a first-end side power storage device adjacent one of the end plates and a second-end side power storage device adjacent the other end plate
an opening in the restraint member (Aperture 126 in Figure 7) passing through in the first direction and continuously extends in the third direction
the opening overlapping all of the power storage devices including the first-end side storage device and the second-end side storage device
Annotated Figures 2 & 7
Maguire discloses a pair of end plates (end walls Figure 6 Item 118) on both ends of the array [Column 5 Lines 28-33], also shown above in Figures 2 & 7.
Maguire fails to disclose that the respective dimensions of the plurality of power storage devices in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction is larger.
Lee discloses a battery pack wherein the height of each of the battery modules is greater than the width of each of the battery modules [Column 3 Lines 1-5]. This is further shown in Figures 1 & 2 of the disclosure.
Lee discloses that the battery pack is used in an electric or hybrid vehicle. [Column 4 Lines 6-11].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present disclosure to substitute the height to width ratio of Lee, wherein the battery module has a larger dimension in the second direction than in the first direction, into the battery pack of Maguire, to provide a battery for an electric or hybrid vehicle.
Modified Maguire is silent as to the plurality of power storage devices comprising a pair of output terminals on the first surface.
Motohashi discloses a power storage module (battery unit) accommodated in a case [0017]. Motohashi discloses that the power storage module comprises a plurality of battery cells [0018] that each comprise a pair of output terminals [0034] on the shorter side surface of the battery cells, shown as Items 24 in Figure 1.
Annotated Figure 1
Although not explicitly shown in Maguire’s power storage module, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the plurality of power storage devices have output terminals to be able to extract power, and as disclosed by Motohashi, the electrode terminals (Items 24 Figure 1) electrically connect the non-illustrated electrode tabs of each battery cell to the battery module [0034], thus Motohashi discloses an identified, predictable solution, with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate a pair of output terminals as suggested by Motohashi on the first surfaces (short side surfaces) of the plurality of power storage devices of modified Maguire with reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.01 E.
Thus, modified Maguire discloses, with the modification of Motohashi’s terminals, that the plurality of power storage devices comprise a pair of terminals on the first surface, as shown in modified Maguire Annotated Figure 7 below. Thus, modified Maguire discloses that the opening (aperture 126) continuously overlaps the terminals of all of the plurality of power storage devices.
Modified Maguire Annotated Figure 7
Regarding Claim 2, as shown in Annotated Figure 2 below, modified Maguire discloses that the first surface of each of the plurality of power storage devices faces the same direction:
Annotated Figure 2
Regarding Claim 6, Maguire discloses that the battery pack array comprises separators (separator 64) disposed between two battery cells [Column 1 Lines 52-54], and further discloses a method for securing battery cells and spacers within an array mainly by limiting movement [Column 1 Lines 42-45]. Maguire discloses that the separators can be thermoplastic resin such as PPE, which is insulative [Column 8 Lines 29-30]. Maguire discloses that the method comprises the use of a protrusions (projections 94a in Figure 7) from the separator accommodated in a hole of one of the case walls (“aperture 126”, further shown in Figure 7) [Column 6 Lines 7-11]. Thus, Maguire discloses separators disposed between the battery cells in an array, wherein the separators insulate the battery cells from each other, and the separators comprise a protrusion fitted into a corresponding one of the plurality of openings.
Regarding Claim 7, Maguire discloses, as shown in Figure 7, that the opening (aperture 126) is a rectangular shape having four inner side surfaces (lengthwise of the array), overlapping the plurality of power storage devices. Maguire discloses that one surface (upper surface 130) of the protrusions (projections 94a) is in contact with one side of the opening (aperture 126) [Column 6 Lines 12-14] which limits the separator movement. Maguire further discloses that the projections can be larger such that a second surface (lower surface 134) of the protrusions (projections 94a) is in contact with the opening [Column 6 Lines 19-22], and later discloses that the opening (aperture) more closely matches the dimensions of the protrusions (projections) (Column 6 Lines 32-35], thus Maguire discloses a protrusion of the separator in contact with two inner side surfaces of the opening, where the two inner side surfaces face each other. This is further illustrated in Annotated Partial Figure 7 below.
Annotated Partial Figure 7
Maguire discloses that this configuration is desirable to further limit the movement of the separator [Column 6 Lines 19-22; Column 6 Lines 32-35].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to select the preferred embodiment of Maguire wherein the protrusion contacts two inner surfaces of the hole, the two inner surfaces facing each other, to achieve a battery array with even further limited movement of the separators.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 & 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection in view of Fujii further in view of Kim does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically regarding Claim 1, Applicant argues that none of the cited references disclose or suggest that that the opening in the first restraint member continuously extends in the third direction and continuously overlaps the terminals of all of the plurality of power storage devices including the first-end side power storage device and the second-end power storage device. Examiner respectfully points out as stated in the updated rejection above that Maguire does disclose that the opening in the first restraint member (aperture) does extend continuously in the third direction, and is shown to overlap all of the power storage devices including the first and second end side power storage devices. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Specifically regarding Claim 4, Applicant argues that none of the recited references, more specifically Motohashi, does not disclose a plurality of heat conductive members accommodated in the plurality of openings of the second restraint member and heat-exchangeably contacting the surface of the power storage devices. Examiner respectfully points out as stated in the updated rejection above that Motohashi does disclose that the second restraint member, which is used to modify that of Fujii, comprises a plurality of openings (slits) and also comprises a plurality of heat conductive members (individual strips of heat conductive material) that are movable and fill the openings (slits) of the second restraint member. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.G.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 8 July 2026