DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 12/23/2025 has been considered and entered. The response was considered but was not found to be persuasive. Therefore, rejections in view of Lumby et al. (CA 3 043 439 A1) are maintained.
The amendment to claim 7 overcomes the rejection under 35 USC 112(d) which is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 – 7, 10 – 14, 16 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lumby et al. (CA 3 043 439 A1)
In regards to claim 5, Lumby teaches lubricating oil composition for slideway applications comprising additive [0001]. The composition can comprise a phosphonate diester having a structure which is analogous to the structure of the friction modifier of formula I of the claim and having R groups (i.e., R5 are each C4 and R4 can be C18) similar to the hydrocarbyl groups having chain lengths thus providing R groups including dibutyl octadecylphosphonate which can be present at from 0.01 to 0.5% [0013 – 0016]. Also, Lumby teaches phosphorus antiwear compounds such as phosphates and their sulfur analogs (i.e., thiophosphates) including R groups that provides dibutyl thiophosphates in amounts of from 0.08 to 0.5% [0040 – 0043].
Lumby teaches the composition having thiophosphate meeting the limitation of the claimed structure when in the structure of formula II of the claims, R4 is OR”, X2 is SR”, X1 is S, m is 0, n is 1, R5 is R” and R” is hydrocarbyl having 1 to 18 carbon atoms.
In regards to claims 6, 7, Lumby teaches the composition having the antiwear meeting the claimed limitations as previously discussed.
In regards to claim 10, Lumby teaches the composition which can comprise corrosion inhibitors comprising ingredients such as fatty acid esters and polyglycols which are known to function as solubility enhancing agents [0056, 0058]. The composition also comprises carrier fluids as supplemental additives which appear to also provide the function of solubility enhancers [0040].
In regards to claim 11, Lumby teaches the composition comprising lubricating base oil at amounts of from about 85 to 99.5% and the additives as balance in minor amounts [0037].
In regards to claims 12 – 14, Lumby teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated. The additive would be expected to have similar antiwear performance as claimed. When the composition which are metal working fluids are used in machine parts such as slideway apparatuses having such metal working surfaces, the method of applying such composition to the metal surfaces would of such machines would be intrinsically performed (abstract).
In regards to claims 16 – 22, Lumby teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients and thus would be expected to have similar properties. The composition comprises mineral base oil such as Group I base oil [0072]. The composition will be suitable for providing the intended use of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lumby does not teach the claimed phosphonate and thiophosphate combination. The argument is not persuasive.
Lumby teaches phosphorus friction modifiers that encompasses the phosphonate of the claim. Also, other phosphorus compounds such as phosphates and sulfur analogs are taught which encompasses the thiophosphate of the claims. Both are present in amounts overlapping the claimed range.
Applicant argues that the combination of friction modifier and antiwear additives of the claims unexpectedly improved friction properties and antiwear properties when an amine phosphate is used in the claimed composition. The argument is not persuasive.
The claimed composition does not comprise an amine phosphate but a phosphate, phosphite, phosphonate but no amine phosphate.
The result is not persuasive.
The results merely demonstrate intrinsic properties of dibutyl octadecyl phosphonate as compared to the properties of dimethyl octadecyl phosphonate. There was no demonstration of synergistic benefits not demonstration of criticality amounts of the ingredients in the composition. Since different antiwear and/or friction modifier compounds would generally be expected to have different activity in oil, the differences in properties are not a demonstration of unexpected results. Also, merely reciting that antiwear compounds should not provide improved friction benefits or friction modifiers should not provide improved antiwear benefits is not a demonstration of unexpected results. Phosphorus compounds are generally known to provide multifunctional properties such as antiwear, anti-friction, extreme pressure agent, etc.
Applicant has thus failed to provide inventive examples that are commensurate in scope with the claims and demonstrates unexpected results sufficient for rebutting the case of obviousness.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771