DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuzaki et al (US 2018/0273789).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuzaki ‘789 teaches an ink consisting essentially of:
A water-insoluble coloring agent ([0094])
A dispersing agent ([0083])
An oxidized polyethylene wax ([0068])
A compound represented by formula (1) such as Noigen-149D (HLB: 11.5, R1 =17, m1=8, n1=0) or Emanon 1112 (HLB: 13.7, R1 =11, m1=12, n1=0) ([0088]) or a compound which reads on formula (2) such as Emanon-3299RV (HLB: 19.2, R2=17, R3=17, m2=250, n2=0) ([0143])
Water ([0090])
A glycol ether ([0117])
A C3 alkanediol such as propanediol ([0117])
And a pH adjusting agent ([0157])
It is noted that the texanol is not mandatorily present.
Matsuzaki ‘789 fails to specifically exemplify the recited ink. However, it discloses each of the components of the ink, and teaches that they are all suitable for use in an ink. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the inks suggested by a reference, including selecting materials from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the ink suggested by Matsuzaki ‘789, including the claimed ink. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of Matsuzaki ‘789 to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would have been nothing more than using a known compounds in a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuzaki ‘789 teaches an inkjet printing method of performing printing by causing an inkjet printer to discharge a droplet of the ink according to claim 1 and attaching the droplet to a printing medium ([0194]).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuzaki ‘789 teaches that the recording medium is nonabsorbent or is poorly absorbent to ink ([0186]).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuzaki ‘789 teaches a printing medium to which the ink according to claim 1 is attached ([0194]).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuzaki ‘789 teaches that the recording medium is nonabsorbant or is poorly absorbent to ink ([0186]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764