uDETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant’s amendment filed on February 20, 2026. In particular, claim 1 has been amended to include the limitations of claim 2 as well as presents new limitations which define an organic solvent. The new grounds of rejection set forth below move the arguments from the previous claim 2 into the present claim 1 and further addresses the newly presented limitations. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuzaki et al (US 2018/0282564) in view of Komatsu (US 2014/0022321).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuzaki teaches an ink composition (Abstract), a water-insoluble colorant (pigment) ([0133]), a compound which reads on formula (1) such as Noigen-149D (HLB: 11.5, R1 =17, m1=8, n1=0) or Emanon 1112 (HLB: 13.7, R1 =11, m1=12, n1=0) ([0088]) or a compound which reads on formula (2) such as Emanon-3299RV (HLB: 19.2, R2=17, R3=17, m2=250, n2=0) and water (Abstract). Matsuzaki teaches that the ink composition further comprises a glycol ether or a C4-C12 alkane diol ([0143]). Matsuzaki teaches that the organic solvent can also include propylene glycol which is a C3 alkanediol.
Matsuzaki teaches that other additives can be added to the ink ([0148]), however, fails to teach that the ink contains a polyethylene oxide wax.
Komatsu teaches an ink composition which is an aqueous ink ([0076]) and incorporates oxidized polyethylene wax ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the oxidized polyethylene wax of Komatsu as an additive of the ink of Matsuzaki. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of providing gloss and smoothness and rub fastness to the dried ink surface (Komatsu, [0055]).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuzaki teaches that the ink further comprises a dispersing agent ([0076]).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuzaki teaches an inkjet printing method of performing printing by causing an inkjet printer to discharge a droplet of the ink according to claim 1 and attaching the droplet to a printing medium (Claims).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuzaki teaches that the printing medium is non-absorbing (Claim 19).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuzaki teaches a printing medium to which the ink according to claim 1 is attached (Examples and claims).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuzaki teaches a that the printing medium is non-absorbing (Claim 19).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below:
Applicant’s argument: The ink composition of Matsuzaki comprises a resin dissolving solvent as an essential component. None of the glycol ether, the C3-C12 alkanediol, and the C2-C3 alkanediol are equivalent to the resin dissolving solvent of Matsuzaki, and thus, claim 1 as amended does not encompass the essential resin dissolving solvent of Matsuzaki.
Examiner’s response: Claim 1 opens with the transitional phrase “an ink comprising” and the word “comprising” is open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements. Please refer to MPEP 211.03, section I. As such, the presence of the resin dissolving solvent in Matsuzaki does not preclude its use as a prior art reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764