DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species I, claims 1-7, 10-15 and 19-23 in the reply filed on August 4, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8, 9, 16-18, and 24-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 4, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 10-15, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bae et al. (US 2017/0355811).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 6, and 10-14: Bae et al. teaches the compound
(fig. 1), which is the instant claimed compound of claim 1 where Ar is an arylene, namely
; Y1 is EW, which is a haloalkyl/CF3; Y2 is Ak, Ak is alkylene; Z is -CH2- thereby making at least one Z not -N(CH3)2-; the claimed x is 1, FG is a substituted alkyl, namely a bromine substituted alkyl; Ra is methyl/alkyl, the claimed m, which is x in the reference is 45 or 65, and the claimed n, which is y in the reference, is 35 or 55. The
moiety is the
of the reference. Y2 is Ak is alkylene, such as -CH2-, Z is -CH2-, Ak is alkylene, such as -CH2-, x would be 1 and FG is a bromine substituted C2 alkyl. When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art (MPEP 2131).
Regarding claim 15: Bae et al. teaches FG is a bromine substituted C2 alkyl (see structure). The salt of a bromine comprises an anion.
Regarding claim 19: Bae et al. teaches a structure (see above) that is free of ether linkages.
Regarding claim 20: Bae et al. teaches a composition comprising the compound (abstract).
Regarding claim 21: Bae et al. teaches the composition comprises a polymer (abstract).
Regarding claim 22: Bae et al. teaches the composition comprises a membrane (abstract).
Regarding claim 23: Bae et al. teaches a stress of at least 30 MPa and/or a strain of at least 40% (fig. 5). Since the reference does not teach exposing to 6M KOH at 120°C for 7 days, this chart shows the stress and strain prior to exposure to 6M KOH at 120°C for 7 days.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US 2017/0355811).
Regarding claim 3: Bae et al. teaches more broadly the structure of the polymer as
(para. 7) where R2 can be
(para. 24) and n can be 1-20 (para. 24). This overlaps with the claimed structure where Ar, Ew, Ra, m, n and x are defined above as in claim 1, and the “n” of the reference is 13-20. In this case Z is -CH2-, and FG is a substituted alkyl when n is above 13, or a ammonium cation when n is 13. While Bae et al. does not show the structure of the embodiment where n =13-20 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select n as 13-20 and would have been motivated to do so since Bae et al. teaches it is an acceptable embodiment to achieve the disclosed invention.
Regarding claim 4: Bae et al. teaches the aromatic group can be
(para. 20). When this substitution is made for the aromatic component while the moieties EW, Ak, Z, FG, m, n, and x are as defined above in claim 1, this is the claimed compound. While Bae et al. does not show the structure of the embodiment where the aromatic group is as claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the aromatic group as disclosed and would have been motivated to do so since Bae et al. teaches it is an acceptable embodiment to achieve the disclosed invention.
Regarding claim 5: Bae et al. teaches the aromatic group can be
(para. 20) and R2 can be
where R is an alkyl group (para. 24). When this substitution is made for the aromatic component and the R2 component, while the moieties EW, Ak, Ra, m, n, and x are as defined above in claim 1, this is the claimed compound. While Bae et al. does not show the structure of the embodiment where the aromatic group and R2 group are as claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the aromatic and R2 groups as disclosed and would have been motivated to do so since Bae et al. teaches it is an acceptable embodiment to achieve the disclosed invention.
Regarding claim 7: Bae et al. teaches the R2 can be
where R is an alkyl group (para. 24). When this substitution is made for the R2 component, while the moieties EW, Ak, Ra, m, n, and x are as defined above in claim 1, this is the claimed compound. While Bae et al. does not show the structure of the embodiment where the R2 group is as claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the R2 groups as disclosed and would have been motivated to do so since Bae et al. teaches it is an acceptable embodiment to achieve the disclosed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10-15, and 19-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,024,576. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of the instant claim 1 reads on the copolymer of claim 1 of the patent. The Ar in the instant reads on Ar1 and Ar2 of the patent. CF3 is the EW and Y1 of the instant. The moiety of R1 to Ra in the patent shown in claim 1 and further embodied in claim 3 reads on the instant Y2-Z-Ak-FG arm, and is also a substituted alkyl, which is how the instant Ra is defined. Therefore, the copolymer of the patent and the compound of the instant are overlapping in scope.
Claims 1-7, 10-15, and 19-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,826,746. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the polymer of the claims of the patent reads on the compound of the instant claims. Ar from the patent is Ar from the instant, EW from the patent is Ew from the instant, and the Y2-Z-Ak-FG arm of the instant overlaps with the branch after the first Ar group in the polymer of the patent.
Claims 1-7, 10-15, and 19-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,770. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the polymer of claim 1 of the patent reads on the compound of the instant claims. Ar from the patent is Ar from the instant, EW from the patent is Ew from the instant, and the Y2-Z-Ak-FG arm of the instant overlaps with the branch after the first Ar group in the polymer of the patent.
Claims 1-7, 10-15, and 19-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- of U.S. Patent No. 11,621,433. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the polymer of the patent overlaps with the polymer of the instant claims. The Ar unit in the patent reads are the Ar units in the instant. R1 can be halomethyl, which reads on Y1 and EW of the instant. The R2 moiety of the patent can have the formula II, which reads on the Y2-Z-Ak-FG arm since n can be 2-20 and R3 can overlap with the FG groups of the instant.
Claims 1-3, 11-15 and 19-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,236,196. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The polymer of claim 10 of the patent reads on the compound of the instant where Ar in the patent is Ar in the instant, CF3 is EW and Y1 in the instant, and R2 in the patent is the Y2-Z-Ak-FG arm of the instant and Ra of the instant since it is also a substituted alkyl group.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, 13-15, and 19-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,987,664. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the polymer of the patent overlaps with the claimed polymer. The Ar of the instant polymer overlap with the three aryl groups, Y1 and EW of the instant polymer overlap with CF3 of the polymer of the patent and the Y2-Z-Ak-FG arm of the instant and Ra overlap with the branched moiety, since it is a substituted alkyl.
Claims 1-7, 10-15 and 19-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-8 and 10-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,435,504. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The polymer of claim 10 of the patent reads on the compound of the instant where Ar in the patent is Ar in the instant, CF3 is EW and Y1 in the instant, and R2 in the patent is the Y2-Z-Ak-FG arm of the instant and Ra of the instant since it is also a substituted alkyl group.
Contact Information
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767