DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The present application’s status as a 371 of PCT/CN2020/074502, filing date 02/07/2020, is hereby acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s comments regarding the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation (see Pg. 14), the again requests that Applicant provide the “additional examples of corresponding structure(s) [found] throughout the application as originally filed”, should these additional examples be of particular relevance to Applicant’s claimed invention.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 14-17, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections of independent claims 1, 10, 19, and 25 and their respective dependent claims have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 10, Applicant argues that Wu, Yonemura, and Parron fail to teach or suggest “receiving, by a device and from a first vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the first vehicle, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system; determining, by the device and based at least in part on the sensing characteristic, a classification, for the first vehicle, of a plurality of classifications corresponding to different sensing capabilities,” The Examiner is in agreement with Applicant’s arguments, as neither Wu, Yonemura, nor Parron outright teach or suggest the claimed receiving of a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the first vehicle, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system and determining, by the device and based at least in part on the sensing characteristic, a classification, for the first vehicle, of a plurality of classifications corresponding to different sensing capabilities. While Wu does teach determining a classification of the first vehicle (see at least [0063] and [0071]), the classification is not made with respect to a received sensing characteristic of at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system.
Regarding independent claims 19 and 25, these claims include limitations similar to those discussed above with respect to independent claims 1 and 10, in particular those pertaining to the transmission/reception of a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the device, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system. Therefore, the Examiner is in agreement with Applicant’s arguments that neither Wu, Yonemura, nor Parron outright teach or suggest each of the claimed limitations of independent claims 19 and 25.
Accordingly, the 35 USC 103 rejections of independent claims 1, 10, 19, and 25 and their respective dependent claims has been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Wu, Park, and Parron.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 1, filed 0, with respect to "Compact Prosecution" have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that “[under] the policy of “compact” prosecution, Applicant submits that the Notice of References Cited serves as an acknowledgement that the Office conducted a full search and examination regarding the application and claims, and that no further search or consideration of the claims is required in this application.”, citing specifically to MPEP § 904.03 and MPEP § 2103. The Examiner again respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument, and respectfully maintains the assertion that Applicant has misinterpreted Office search policy. MPEP § 904 recites (emphasis added): “Following the first Office action, the examiner need not ordinarily make a second search of the prior art, unless necessitated by amendments to the claims by the applicant in a reply to the first Office action, except to check to determine whether any reference which would appear to be substantially more pertinent than the prior art cited in the first Office action has become available subsequent to the initial prior art search…In subsequent actions, where the search is brought up-to-date and/or where a further search is made, the examiner must indicate on the IFW search notes form that the search has been updated and/or identify the additional field(s) of search.” That is, amendments to the claims by the applicant in a reply to the first Office action can necessitate further search.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “transmitting, to the first vehicle, an identifier of the classification of the first vehicle to the first vehicle.” However, the second recitation of “to the first vehicle” is rendered redundant by the first recitation “transmitting, to the first vehicle…” The Examiner recommends removing the second recitation of “to the first vehicle”.
Claim 15 recites “the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the first vehicle, an identifier of the classification of the first vehicle to the first vehicle.” However, the second recitation of “to the first vehicle” is rendered redundant by the first recitation “transmit, to the first vehicle…” The Examiner recommends removing the second recitation of “to the first vehicle”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 25, “means for transmitting, to a master vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic”
Paragraph [0016] of the written description recites: “In some instances, a plurality of vehicles that are traveling together on a roadway (referred to herein as a "platoon") may communicate with one another to share information associated with each of the vehicles within the platoon. The platoon of vehicles may be formed through a series of communications that designates communication parameters for communicating with one another (e.g., via V2Vcommunications) and/or RSUs while traveling within the platoon.” [0047] further recites; “Sensor 280 may include one or more devices capable of sensing one or more characteristics of an environment of device 200… As described herein, sensor data generated by sensors 280 may be communicated (e.g., via communication interface 270) to another device to permit the sensor data to be used by the other device to perform one or more operations.” Therefore, “means for transmitting…” is being interpreted as V2V communications or RSUs (roadside units).
In claim 25, “means for receiving, from the master vehicle … a sensor data sharing profile”
Paragraph [0049] of the written description recites: “In some aspects, device 200 includes means for performing one or more processes described herein and/or means for performing one or more operations of the processes described herein. For example, the means for performing the processes and/or operations described herein may include bus 210, processor 220, memory 230, storage component 240, input component 250, output component 260, communication interface 270, sensors 280, and/or any combination thereof.” Therefore, “means for receiving…” is being interpreted as a device including any of the above components or combination of components, including but not limited to communication interface 270.
In claim 25, “means for sharing the sensor data, associated with the sensor system, with one or more vehicle”
Paragraph [0049] of the written description is recited above and lists components and/or combinations of components usable for performing the claimed processes/operations of processes. Therefore, “means for sharing the sensor data” is being interpreted as a device including any of the above components or combination of components, including but not limited to communication interface 270.
In claim 25, “means for detecting a second characteristic associated with the platoon;”
Paragraph [0049] of the written description is recited above and lists components and/or combinations of components usable for performing the claimed processes/operations of processes. Therefore, “means for detecting” is being interpreted as a device including any of the above components or combination of components.
In claim 25, “means for overriding…the parameter of the sensor data sharing profile…”
Paragraph [0049] of the written description is recited above and lists components and/or combinations of components usable for performing the claimed processes/operations of processes. Therefore, “means for overriding” is being interpreted as a device including any of the above components or combination of components.
In claim 32, “means for configuring one or more sensor sharing message generation rules…”
Paragraph [0049] of the written description is recited above and lists components and/or combinations of components usable for performing the claimed processes/operations of processes. Therefore, “means for configuring” is being interpreted as a device including any of the above components or combination of components.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim, “receiving, by a device… a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the first vehicle… determining, by the device, a first sensor data sharing profile… transmitting, by the device and to the first vehicle, the first sensor data sharing profile.”
Paragraph [0004] of the written description recites “In some aspects, a device may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to determine a classification of a first vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon; and cause, based at least in part on the classification, the first vehicle to share sensor data” Paragraph [0031] further recites “In some aspects, virtualized storage 115-3 may store information associated with one or more sensor systems of one or more of vehicles 130 to permit a sensor data sharing system to determine a classification of vehicles 130 and/or sensor data sharing profiles for the vehicles 130.” Therefore, the claimed device is being interpreted as a processor and memory made to perform the claimed activities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “and transmitting, to the second vehicle, a platoon update to reassign the second vehicle to a second sensor data sharing profile different from the first sensor data sharing profile, of the first vehicle, and a third sensor data sharing profile, previously provided to the second vehicle.” However, while the written description does provide support for transmitting, to the second vehicle, a platoon update to reassign the second vehicle to a second sensor data sharing profile different from the first sensor data sharing profile (see at least [0087], in particular that pertaining to causing the second vehicle to share second sensor data with the first vehicle according to a second sensor data sharing profile that is different from the first sensor data sharing profile), the written description fails to sufficiently teach or suggest reassigning the second vehicle to a second sensor data sharing profile different from both the first sensor data sharing profile and a third sensor data sharing profile. While Applicant alleges that “support may be found at paragraphs 57 and 58 of the specification” (see Pg. 13 of Applicant’s Remarks), the Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts that neither paragraph 57 nor 58 teach or suggest reassigning the second vehicle to a second sensor data sharing profile different from both the first sensor data sharing profile and a third sensor data sharing profile. Therefore, the above-discussed limitations amount to new matter.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed in the 35 USC 112(a) rejection above, the written description fails to sufficiently teach or suggest recites “and transmitting, to the second vehicle, a platoon update to reassign the second vehicle to a second sensor data sharing profile different from the first sensor data sharing profile, of the first vehicle, and a third sensor data sharing profile, previously provided to the second vehicle.” That is, due to lack of disclosure in the claims and the written description, the nature of the third sensor data sharing profile previously provided to the second vehicle is rendered indefinite. Therefore, claim 4 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-19, 22-25, and 28-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2018/0279096 A1), hereinafter Wu, in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0349850 A1), hereinafter Park, and in further view of Parron et al. (US 2020/0211402 A1), hereinafter Parron.
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a method, comprising:
determining, by the device..., a classification, for the first vehicle,
Wu teaches ([0063]): "In some aspects, one or more of the UEs 115 may include a UE platooning communication manager 101. For example, the UE 115 may be a vehicle (e.g., a vehicle equipped or otherwise configured to communicate using the described wireless techniques) that is a part of a group of platooning vehicles. As one example where the UE 115 is the lead vehicle in the platoon, the UE platooning communication manage 101 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles." Here, the first vehicle corresponds to a vehicle in the platoon other than the lead vehicle and the device corresponds to the UE of the lead vehicle of the platoon. ([0071]): "For example, the lead vehicle 205 may obtain communications from the vehicles in the platoon via direct communications and/or via relayed communications. The communications may be based on platooning operations of the vehicles and/or other communications originating from the vehicles. Based on the communications, the lead vehicle 205 may determine the number of vehicles within the group of platooning. In some aspects, the lead vehicle may use this information to assign sequential identifiers (e.g., VIDs) to the vehicles forming the platoon of vehicles. The sequential identifier for each vehicle may be based on the order or position that the vehicle is located within the platoon. For example, the lead vehicle may assign VID=1 to itself since it is the first vehicle in the platoon, VID=2 to the next vehicle in the platoon (e.g., the vehicle immediately behind the lead vehicle 205), and so on." Thus, the classification of the first vehicle is the vehicle's VID; in this case, VID=2 for the first vehicle.
determining, by the device, a first sensor data sharing profile, for the first vehicle and corresponding to the classification, to cause the device to share first sensor data with a second vehicle of the plurality of vehicles according to the classification,
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. "
determining, by the device, a sensor data sharing profile, for the first vehicle and corresponding to the classification, to cause the device to share first sensor data with a second vehicle of the plurality of vehicles according to the classification,
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. "
and transmitting, by the device and to the first vehicle, the first sensor data sharing profile.
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. " Wu even further teaches ([0078]): "At 230, the lead vehicle 205 may transmit information associated with the assigned resources to be used for inter-vehicle communication between the group of platooning vehicles... The transmission may be a broadcast transmission to all platooning vehicles and/or a unicast transmission to each vehicle in the platoon."
However, Wu does not outright teach receiving, by a device and from a first vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the first vehicle, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system; and determining, by the device and based at least in part on the sensing characteristic, a classification, for the first vehicle, of a plurality of classifications corresponding to different sensing capabilities, wherein each sensing capability of the different sensing capabilities corresponds to a different sensing characteristic of a plurality of sensing characteristics. Park teaches an in-vehicle vehicle control device with platooning applications, comprising:
receiving, by a device and from a first vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the first vehicle,
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors."
wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system;
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors."
determining, by the device and based at least in part on the sensing characteristic, a classification, for the first vehicle, of a plurality of classifications corresponding to different sensing capabilities,
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors." Park even further teaches ([0278]): "Further, it is possible to select a vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range as a leader vehicle. As a result, the leader vehicle can transmit control information for platooning with a message using the saved resources." While this paragraph discusses in particular the classification of a leader vehicle, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the classification of a leader of the platoon implies the classification of the other platoon vehicles as non-leaders.
wherein each sensing capability of the different sensing capabilities corresponds to a different sensing characteristic of a plurality of sensing characteristics;
Park teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors." Park further teaches ([0278]): "Further, it is possible to select a vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range as a leader vehicle. As a result, the leader vehicle can transmit control information for platooning with a message using the saved resources." While this paragraph discusses in particular the classification of a leader vehicle, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the classification of a leader of the platoon implies the classification of the other platoon vehicles as non-leaders.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the teachings of Park to provide receiving, by a device and from a first vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the first vehicle, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system; and determining, by the device and based at least in part on the sensing characteristic, a classification, for the first vehicle, of a plurality of classifications corresponding to different sensing capabilities, wherein each sensing capability of the different sensing capabilities corresponds to a different sensing characteristic of a plurality of sensing characteristics. Wu and Park are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle sensor data sharing in platooning applications. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Park, as sharing the sensing ranges of the sensor systems of platoon vehicles advantageously allows for collection of sensor data in specific areas, wherein the sensing ranges may be corrected to not overlap in consideration of the positions of the other platooning vehicles, as recognized by Park (see at least [0266] and [0269]). The teachings of Park provide the additional benefit of selecting a platoon leader vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range, as recognized by Park (see at least [0278]).
However, Wu does not outright teach that the first sensor data sharing profile identifies at least one of: a sensor data indicator that identifies whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or an information type indicator that identifies whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data. Parron teaches drone-based traffic control and V2X enhancements, comprising:
wherein the first sensor data sharing profile identifies at least one of: a sensor data indicator that identifies whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or an information type indicator that identifies whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data;
Parron teaches ([0115]): "In yet other aspects, collaborative vehicle steering (or distributed control) can take place. In at least these aspects, a vehicle may partially take control over the controlled vehicle when the controlled vehicle has limited information or line-of-sight necessary to make steering decisions or other decisions. In one alternative, the controlling vehicle provides sensor information or other needed information to the controlled vehicle, using communications depending on proximity between the controlled and controlling vehicle. In these aspects, the controlled vehicle has full autonomy on steering using the provided information. In another alternative, the controlled vehicle can provide any available sensor information to the controlling vehicle, and the controlling vehicle thereafter takes control of steering, etc. for the controlled vehicle. In yet another alternative, the controlling vehicle may provide some steering commands to the controlled vehicle, but the controlled vehicle will rely on its own sensor data for steering where the sensor data is useful for steering. For example, the controlled vehicle may control speed but direction can be determined by the controlling vehicle. This can occur, for example, when the controlling vehicle is a UAV with improved line-of-sight to direct steering direction. Before starting distributive control, a handshake can be performed between the vehicles to share the type of sensor data available at each side and to agree on the split of the steering function between the vehicles." Here, the handshake between the vehicles serves as a sensor data sharing profile which indicates whether to share a type of sensor data available at each side. Therefore, the Examiner has interpreted this arrangement as also identifying whether not to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system (i.e., in the case where the type of sensor data is not available at each side of the arrangement).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu and Park to incorporate the teachings of Parron to provide that the first sensor data sharing profile identifies at least one of: a sensor data indicator that identifies whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or an information type indicator that identifies whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data. Wu, Park, and Parron are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle platooning/cooperative driving. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Parron, as incorporating the sensor data sharing profile of Parron advantageously improves navigation of the vehicle(s) by allowing for control based on sensor information provided by another vehicle, as recognized by Parron (see at least [0115]).
Regarding claim 2, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wu further teaches:
the classification is further determined based at least in part on a position of the first vehicle within the platoon relative to a third vehicle of the platoon.
Wu teaches ([0071]): "In some aspects, the lead vehicle may use this information to assign sequential identifiers (e.g., VIDs) to the vehicles forming the platoon of vehicles. The sequential identifier for each vehicle may be based on the order or position that the vehicle is located within the platoon. For example, the lead vehicle may assign VID=1 to itself since it is the first vehicle in the platoon, VID=2 to the next vehicle in the platoon (e.g., the vehicle immediately behind the lead vehicle 205), and so on." Here, the use of "and so on" implies the assignment of a VID=3 to a third vehicle of the platoon relative to the position of the first vehicle of the platoon. FIG. 10 provides an example with up to 10 participating vehicles.
Regarding claim 3, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, Wu does not outright teach that the sensing characteristic is received in a vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communication from the first vehicle. Park further teaches:
the sensing characteristic is received in a vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communication from the first vehicle.
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Park, and Parron to further incorporate the teachings of Park to provide that the sensing characteristic is received in a vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communication from the first vehicle. Wu, Park, and Parron are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle sensor data sharing in platooning applications. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Park, as sharing the sensing ranges of the sensor systems of platoon vehicles advantageously allows for collection of sensor data in specific areas, wherein the sensing ranges may be corrected to not overlap in consideration of the positions of the other platooning vehicles, as recognized by Park (see at least [0266] and [0269]). The teachings of Park provide the additional benefit of selecting a platoon leader vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range, as recognized by Park (see at least [0278]).
Regarding claim 5, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wu further teaches:
determining the sensor data sharing profile comprises: selecting the first sensor data sharing profile from a plurality of stored sensor data sharing profiles,
Wu teaches ([0017]): "Some examples of the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described above may further include processes, features, means, or instructions for identifying a pre-configured resource pool available to use in the group of platooning vehicles. Some examples of the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described above may further include processes, features, means, or instructions for selecting, from the pre-configured resource pool, the assignment of the time-frequency radio resources." Wu further teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like."
However, Wu does not outright teach that each of the plurality of stored sensor data sharing profiles identifies the at least one of the sensor data indicator or the information type indicator. Parron further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of stored sensor data sharing profiles identifies the at least one of the sensor data indicator or the information type indicator.
Parron teaches ([0115]): " Before starting distributive control, a handshake can be performed between the vehicles to share the type of sensor data available at each side and to agree on the split of the steering function between the vehicles." Here, the handshake between the vehicles serves as a sensor data sharing profile which indicates whether to share a type of sensor data available at each side. Therefore, the Examiner has interpreted this arrangement as also identifying whether not to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system (i.e., in the case where the type of sensor data is not available at each side of the arrangement).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Park, and Parron to further incorporate the teachings of Parron to provide that each of the plurality of stored sensor data sharing profiles identifies the at least one of the sensor data indicator or the information type indicator. Wu, Park, and Parron are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle sensor data sharing in platooning applications. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Parron, as incorporating the sensor data sharing profile of Parron advantageously improves navigation of the vehicle(s) by allowing for control based on sensor information provided by another vehicle, as recognized by Parron (see at least [0115]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wu further teaches:
the sensor data sharing profile further identifies a transmission frequency associated with transmitting the first sensor data from the first vehicle to the second vehicle
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like. Accordingly, the communication resource requirement may include one or more frequencies, tones, channels, etc., in the frequency domain along with, in some instances, a certain number of time periods, e.g., symbol periods, TTI, subframes, etc., in the time domain." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. "
Regarding claim 7, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wu further teaches:
transmitting, to the first vehicle, an identifier of the classification of the first vehicle to the first vehicle.
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies." Wu even further teaches ([0078]): At 230, the lead vehicle 205 may transmit information associated with the assigned resources to be used for inter-vehicle communication between the group of platooning vehicles to the first platooning vehicle 210 and the second platooning vehicle 215."
Regarding claim 8, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wu further teaches:
detecting a change in at least one of a sensing capability associated with the platoon or a sensing requirement associated with the platoon,
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, the sequential identifiers for some or all of the vehicles in the platoon may change as vehicles leave and/or are added to the group of platooning vehicles… In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles..." Wu further teaches ([0077]): "In some aspects, (not shown in process 200), the assigned time-frequency radio resources may be used by the lead vehicle 205 to create a communication schedule to be used for inter-vehicle communications. The communication schedule may need to be updated according to a periodic schedule and/or as-needed (e.g., when vehicles leave and/or are added to the platoon)." Wu even further teaches ([0078]): "At 230, the lead vehicle 205 may transmit information associated with the assigned resources to be used for inter-vehicle communication between the group of platooning vehicles... The transmission may be a broadcast transmission to all platooning vehicles and/or a unicast transmission to each vehicle in the platoon."
wherein the sensor data sharing profile of the first vehicle is transmitted based at least in part on the change.
Wu teaches ([0078]): "At 230, the lead vehicle 205 may transmit information associated with the assigned resources to be used for inter-vehicle communication between the group of platooning vehicles... The transmission may be a broadcast transmission to all platooning vehicles and/or a unicast transmission to each vehicle in the platoon." Wu further teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles… The other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly, e.g., update sequential identifiers for the platooning vehicles, change communication schedules and/or time-frequency radio resources used for communications, and the like." Wu even further teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like."
Regarding claim 9, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Wu further teaches:
the sensor data is first sensor data,
Wu teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies."
the method further comprising: determining a second characteristic of the second vehicle;
Wu teaches ([0071]): "For example, the lead vehicle 205 may obtain communications from the vehicles in the platoon via direct communications and/or via relayed communications. The communications may be based on platooning operations of the vehicles and/or other communications originating from the vehicles. Based on the communications, the lead vehicle 205 may determine the number of vehicles within the group of platooning. In some aspects, the lead vehicle may use this information to assign sequential identifiers (e.g., VIDs) to the vehicles forming the platoon of vehicles. The sequential identifier for each vehicle may be based on the order or position that the vehicle is located within the platoon. For example, the lead vehicle may assign VID=1 to itself since it is the first vehicle in the platoon, VID=2 to the next vehicle in the platoon (e.g., the vehicle immediately behind the lead vehicle 205), and so on."
and transmitting, to the second vehicle, at least one of the second characteristic of the second vehicle or a second sensor data sharing profile associated with the second characteristic of the second vehicle to cause the second vehicle to share second sensor data with one or more vehicles of the plurality of vehicles,
Wu teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles). For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select a first subset of time-frequency radio resources to a first group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with odd-numbered VIDs) and a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies." Wu even further teaches ([0063]): "In some aspects, one or more of the UEs 115 may include a UE platooning communication manager... As one example where the UE 115 is the lead vehicle in the platoon, the UE platooning communication manager 101 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles... The UE platooning communication manager may transmit an indication of the assigned time-frequency radio resources to the vehicles in the platoon." As the lead vehicle is a vehicle in the platoon, the Examiner has interpreted the above as transmitting, to the second vehicle, at least one of the second characteristic of the second vehicle or a second sensor data sharing profile associated with the second characteristic of the second vehicle to cause the second vehicle to share second sensor data with one or more vehicles of the plurality of vehicles.
wherein the second sensor data sharing profile is different from the first sensor data sharing profile,
Wu teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles). For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select a first subset of time-frequency radio resources to a first group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with odd-numbered VIDs) and a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies."
wherein the second sensor data is associated with a sensor of the second vehicle.
Wu teaches ([0067]): "It is to be understood that references to a vehicle may generally refer to a UE 115, as is described herein. For example, a vehicle may be configured as a UE 115 to perform wireless communications in a wireless communication system using any of the described and/or future wireless communication systems. The vehicle may support V2V, V2X, V2I, etc., wireless communications." Wu further teaches ([0098]): "FIG. 6 shows a block diagram 600 of a wireless device 605 that supports methods to enable efficient intra-platoon communication, in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. Wireless device 605 may be an example of aspects of a UE 115 as described herein. Wireless device 605 may include receiver 610, platooning communication manager 615, and transmitter 620." Wu even further teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu still further teaches ([0076]): "For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select a first subset of time-frequency radio resources to a first group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with odd-numbered VIDs) and a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies." The second vehicle is included in the first group of vehicles and communications are known to include vehicle sensor data. Each vehicle (and thus each UE) may be equipped with a wireless device (i.e., a sensor) which receives and transmits wireless communications. Therefore, the sensor data associated with the second vehicle is associated with a second sensor.
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches a device, comprising:
one or more memories;
Wu teaches ([0158]): "The functions described herein may be implemented in hardware, software executed by a processor, firmware, or any combination thereof. If implemented in software executed by a processor, the functions may be stored on or transmitted over as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium."
and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to:
Wu teaches ([0158]): "The functions described herein may be implemented in hardware, software executed by a processor, firmware, or any combination thereof. If implemented in software executed by a processor, the functions may be stored on or transmitted over as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium."
determine... a classification, for the first vehicle,
Wu teaches ([0063]): "In some aspects, one or more of the UEs 115 may include a UE platooning communication manager 101. For example, the UE 115 may be a vehicle (e.g., a vehicle equipped or otherwise configured to communicate using the described wireless techniques) that is a part of a group of platooning vehicles. As one example where the UE 115 is the lead vehicle in the platoon, the UE platooning communication manage 101 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles." Here, the first vehicle corresponds to a vehicle in the platoon other than the lead vehicle and the device corresponds to the UE of the lead vehicle of the platoon. Wu further teaches ([0071]): "For example, the lead vehicle 205 may obtain communications from the vehicles in the platoon via direct communications and/or via relayed communications. The communications may be based on platooning operations of the vehicles and/or other communications originating from the vehicles. Based on the communications, the lead vehicle 205 may determine the number of vehicles within the group of platooning. In some aspects, the lead vehicle may use this information to assign sequential identifiers (e.g., VIDs) to the vehicles forming the platoon of vehicles. The sequential identifier for each vehicle may be based on the order or position that the vehicle is located within the platoon. For example, the lead vehicle may assign VID=1 to itself since it is the first vehicle in the platoon, VID=2 to the next vehicle in the platoon (e.g., the vehicle immediately behind the lead vehicle 205), and so on." Thus, the classification of the first vehicle is the vehicle's VID; in this case, VID=2 for the first vehicle.
determine a first sensor data sharing profile, for the first vehicle and corresponding to the classification, to cause the device to share first sensor data with a second vehicle of the plurality of vehicles according to the classification,
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. " The claimed second vehicle corresponds to the lead vehicle of the platoon.
and transmit, to the first vehicle, the first sensor data sharing profile.
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. " Wu even further teaches ([0078]): "At 230, the lead vehicle 205 may transmit information associated with the assigned resources to be used for inter-vehicle communication between the group of platooning vehicles... The transmission may be a broadcast transmission to all platooning vehicles and/or a unicast transmission to each vehicle in the platoon."
However, Wu does not outright teach receiving, from a first vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the first vehicle, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system; and determining, based at least in part on the sensing characteristic a classification, for the first vehicle, of a plurality of classifications corresponding to different sensing capabilities, wherein each sensing capability of the different sensing capabilities corresponds to a different sensing characteristic of a plurality of sensing characteristics. Park teaches an in-vehicle vehicle control device with platooning applications, comprising:
receive, from a first vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the first vehicle,
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors."
wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system;
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors."
determine, based at least in part on the sensing characteristic a classification, for the first vehicle, of a plurality of classifications corresponding to different sensing capabilities,
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors." Park even further teaches ([0278]): "Further, it is possible to select a vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range as a leader vehicle. As a result, the leader vehicle can transmit control information for platooning with a message using the saved resources." While this paragraph discusses in particular the classification of a leader vehicle, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the classification of a leader of the platoon implies the classification of the other platoon vehicles as non-leaders.
wherein each sensing capability of the different sensing capabilities corresponds to a different sensing characteristic of a plurality of sensing characteristics;
Park teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors." Park further teaches ([0278]): "Further, it is possible to select a vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range as a leader vehicle. As a result, the leader vehicle can transmit control information for platooning with a message using the saved resources." While this paragraph discusses in particular the classification of a leader vehicle, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the classification of a leader of the platoon implies the classification of the other platoon vehicles as non-leaders.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the teachings of Park to provide receiving, from a first vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the first vehicle, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system; and determining, based at least in part on the sensing characteristic a classification, for the first vehicle, of a plurality of classifications corresponding to different sensing capabilities, wherein each sensing capability of the different sensing capabilities corresponds to a different sensing characteristic of a plurality of sensing characteristics. Wu and Park are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle sensor data sharing in platooning applications. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Park, as sharing the sensing ranges of the sensor systems of platoon vehicles advantageously allows for collection of sensor data in specific areas, wherein the sensing ranges may be corrected to not overlap in consideration of the positions of the other platooning vehicles, as recognized by Park (see at least [0266] and [0269]). The teachings of Park provide the additional benefit of selecting a platoon leader vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range, as recognized by Park (see at least [0278]).
However, Wu does not outright teach that the sensor data sharing profile identifies at least one of: a sensor data indicator that identifies whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or an information type indicator that identifies whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data. Parron teaches drone-based traffic control and V2X enhancements, comprising:
wherein the first sensor data sharing profile identifies at least one of: a sensor data indicator that identifies whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or an information type indicator that identifies whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data;
Parron teaches ([0115]): "In yet other aspects, collaborative vehicle steering (or distributed control) can take place. In at least these aspects, a vehicle may partially take control over the controlled vehicle when the controlled vehicle has limited information or line-of-sight necessary to make steering decisions or other decisions. In one alternative, the controlling vehicle provides sensor information or other needed information to the controlled vehicle, using communications depending on proximity between the controlled and controlling vehicle. In these aspects, the controlled vehicle has full autonomy on steering using the provided information. In another alternative, the controlled vehicle can provide any available sensor information to the controlling vehicle, and the controlling vehicle thereafter takes control of steering, etc. for the controlled vehicle. In yet another alternative, the controlling vehicle may provide some steering commands to the controlled vehicle, but the controlled vehicle will rely on its own sensor data for steering where the sensor data is useful for steering. For example, the controlled vehicle may control speed but direction can be determined by the controlling vehicle. This can occur, for example, when the controlling vehicle is a UAV with improved line-of-sight to direct steering direction. Before starting distributive control, a handshake can be performed between the vehicles to share the type of sensor data available at each side and to agree on the split of the steering function between the vehicles." Here, the handshake between the vehicles serves as a sensor data sharing profile which indicates whether to share a type of sensor data available at each side. Therefore, the Examiner has interpreted this arrangement as also identifying whether not to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system (i.e., in the case where the type of sensor data is not available at each side of the arrangement).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu and Park to incorporate the teachings of Parron to provide that the first sensor data sharing profile identifies at least one of: a sensor data indicator that identifies whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or an information type indicator that identifies whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data. Wu, Park, and Parron are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle platooning/cooperative driving. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Parron, as incorporating the sensor data sharing profile of Parron advantageously improves navigation of the vehicle(s) by allowing for control based on sensor information provided by another vehicle, as recognized by Parron (see at least [0115]).
Regarding claim 11, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wu further teaches:
the classification is further determined based at least in part on a position of the first vehicle within the platoon.
Wu teaches ([0071]): "In some aspects, the lead vehicle may use this information to assign sequential identifiers (e.g., VIDs) to the vehicles forming the platoon of vehicles. The sequential identifier for each vehicle may be based on the order or position that the vehicle is located within the platoon. For example, the lead vehicle may assign VID=1 to itself since it is the first vehicle in the platoon, VID=2 to the next vehicle in the platoon (e.g., the vehicle immediately behind the lead vehicle 205), and so on."
Regarding claim 12, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wu further teaches:
the classification is further determined based at least in part on a vehicle to vehicle (V2V) communication received from the first vehicle relative to a third vehicle of the platoon.
Wu teaches ([0071]): "In some aspects, the lead vehicle may use this information to assign sequential identifiers (e.g., VIDs) to the vehicles forming the platoon of vehicles. The sequential identifier for each vehicle may be based on the order or position that the vehicle is located within the platoon. For example, the lead vehicle may assign VID=1 to itself since it is the first vehicle in the platoon, VID=2 to the next vehicle in the platoon (e.g., the vehicle immediately behind the lead vehicle 205), and so on." Here, the use of "and so on" implies the assignment of a VID=3 to a third vehicle of the platoon relative to the position of the first vehicle of the platoon.
Regarding claim 13, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wu further teaches:
determining the first sensor data sharing profile comprises: selecting the first sensor data sharing profile from a plurality of sensor data sharing profiles,
Wu teaches ([0017]): "Some examples of the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described above may further include processes, features, means, or instructions for identifying a pre-configured resource pool available to use in the group of platooning vehicles. Some examples of the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described above may further include processes, features, means, or instructions for selecting, from the pre-configured resource pool, the assignment of the time-frequency radio resources." Wu further teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like."
However, Wu does not outright teach that each of the plurality of sensor data sharing profiles identifies the at least one of the sensor data indicator or the information type indicator. Parron further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of sensor data sharing profiles identifies the at least one of the sensor data indicator or the information type indicator.
Parron teaches ([0115]): " Before starting distributive control, a handshake can be performed between the vehicles to share the type of sensor data available at each side and to agree on the split of the steering function between the vehicles." Here, the handshake between the vehicles serves as a sensor data sharing profile which indicates whether to share a type of sensor data available at each side. Therefore, the Examiner has interpreted this arrangement as also identifying whether not to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system (i.e., in the case where the type of sensor data is not available at each side of the arrangement).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Park, and Parron to further incorporate the teachings of Parron to provide that each of the plurality of sensor data sharing profiles identifies the at least one of the sensor data indicator or the information type indicator. Wu, Park, and Parron are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle sensor data sharing in platooning applications. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Parron, as incorporating the sensor data sharing profile of Parron advantageously improves navigation of the vehicle(s) by allowing for control based on sensor information provided by another vehicle, as recognized by Parron (see at least [0115]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wu further teaches:
wherein the first sensor data sharing profile further identifies a transmission frequency associated with transmitting the first sensor data from the first vehicle to the second vehicle.
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like. Accordingly, the communication resource requirement may include one or more frequencies, tones, channels, etc., in the frequency domain along with, in some instances, a certain number of time periods, e.g., symbol periods, TTI, subframes, etc., in the time domain." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. "
Regarding claim 15, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wu further teaches:
the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the first vehicle, an identifier of the classification of the first vehicle to the first vehicle.
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies." Wu even further teaches ([0078]): At 230, the lead vehicle 205 may transmit information associated with the assigned resources to be used for inter-vehicle communication between the group of platooning vehicles to the first platooning vehicle 210 and the second platooning vehicle 215."
Regarding claim 16, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wu further teaches:
the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a second characteristic of the second vehicle;
Wu teaches ([0071]): "For example, the lead vehicle 205 may obtain communications from the vehicles in the platoon via direct communications and/or via relayed communications. The communications may be based on platooning operations of the vehicles and/or other communications originating from the vehicles. Based on the communications, the lead vehicle 205 may determine the number of vehicles within the group of platooning. In some aspects, the lead vehicle may use this information to assign sequential identifiers (e.g., VIDs) to the vehicles forming the platoon of vehicles. The sequential identifier for each vehicle may be based on the order or position that the vehicle is located within the platoon. For example, the lead vehicle may assign VID=1 to itself since it is the first vehicle in the platoon, VID=2 to the next vehicle in the platoon (e.g., the vehicle immediately behind the lead vehicle 205), and so on."
and transmit, to the second vehicle, at least one of the second characteristic of the second vehicle or a second sensor data sharing profile associated with the second characteristic of the second vehicle to cause the second vehicle to share second sensor data with the one or more vehicles of the plurality of vehicles,
Wu teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles). For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select a first subset of time-frequency radio resources to a first group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with odd-numbered VIDs) and a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies." Wu even further teaches ([0063]): "In some aspects, one or more of the UEs 115 may include a UE platooning communication manager... As one example where the UE 115 is the lead vehicle in the platoon, the UE platooning communication manager 101 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles... The UE platooning communication manager may transmit an indication of the assigned time-frequency radio resources to the vehicles in the platoon." As the lead vehicle is a vehicle in the platoon, the Examiner has interpreted the above as transmitting, to the second vehicle, at least one of the second characteristic of the second vehicle or a second sensor data sharing profile associated with the second characteristic of the second vehicle to cause the second vehicle to share second sensor data with the one or more vehicles of the plurality of vehicles.
wherein the second sensor data sharing profile is different from the first sensor data sharing profile,
Wu teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles). For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select a first subset of time-frequency radio resources to a first group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with odd-numbered VIDs) and a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies."
and wherein the second sensor data is associated with a sensor of the second vehicle.
Wu teaches ([0067]): "It is to be understood that references to a vehicle may generally refer to a UE 115, as is described herein. For example, a vehicle may be configured as a UE 115 to perform wireless communications in a wireless communication system using any of the described and/or future wireless communication systems. The vehicle may support V2V, V2X, V2I, etc., wireless communications." Wu further teaches ([0098]): "FIG. 6 shows a block diagram 600 of a wireless device 605 that supports methods to enable efficient intra-platoon communication, in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. Wireless device 605 may be an example of aspects of a UE 115 as described herein. Wireless device 605 may include receiver 610, platooning communication manager 615, and transmitter 620." Wu even further teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu still further teaches ([0076]): "For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select a first subset of time-frequency radio resources to a first group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with odd-numbered VIDs) and a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies." The second vehicle is included in the first group of vehicles and communications are known to include vehicle sensor data. Each vehicle (and thus each UE) may be equipped with a wireless device (i.e., a sensor) which receives and transmits wireless communications. Therefore, the second sensor data is associated with a sensor of the second vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wu further teaches:
the device is collocated with the second vehicle.
Wu teaches ([0065]): "FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a process 200 that supports methods to enable efficient intra-platoon communication, in accordance with one or more aspects of the present disclosure. Process 200 may implement aspect(s) of the wireless communication system of FIG. 1. Process 200 may include a lead vehicle 205, a first platooning vehicle 210, and a second platooning vehicle 215, which each may be an example of a UE 115 as described herein."
Regarding claim 18, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 10. Wu further teaches:
the second vehicle is a lead vehicle of the platoon and the first vehicle is traveling behind the second vehicle.
Wu teaches ([0071]): "The sequential identifier for each vehicle may be based on the order or position that the vehicle is located within the platoon. For example, the lead vehicle may assign VID=1 to itself since it is the first vehicle in the platoon, VID=2 to the next vehicle in the platoon (e.g., the vehicle immediately behind the lead vehicle 205), and so on."
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions, the one or more instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the one or more processors to:
Wu teaches ([0158]): "The functions described herein may be implemented in hardware, software executed by a processor, firmware, or any combination thereof. If implemented in software executed by a processor, the functions may be stored on or transmitted over as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium."
receive, from the master vehicle… a sensor data sharing profile,
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. " Wu even further teaches ([0078]): "At 230, the lead vehicle 205 may transmit information associated with the assigned resources to be used for inter-vehicle communication between the group of platooning vehicles... The transmission may be a broadcast transmission to all platooning vehicles and/or a unicast transmission to each vehicle in the platoon." Wu still further teaches ([0089]): "In some aspects, vehicles transmitting during a particular symbol period may use non-overlapping frequency resources. For example, the vehicles with odd-numbered VIDs that are transmitting during the first symbol period may include VIDs 1 and 7 transmitting using a first frequency, VIDs 3 and 9 transmitting using a second frequency, and VID 5 transmitting using a third frequency during the first symbol period. The selection of the VID 1 and 7 for transmission may be based on the communication range of the vehicles within the platoon, e.g., selected to avoid collisions between the transmissions from VIDs 1 and 7."
wherein the sensor data sharing profile comprises a parameter associated with sharing sensor data, of the sensor system, with one or more vehicles of the plurality of vehicles;
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. "
share the sensor data, of the sensor system, with the one or more vehicles according to the sensor data sharing profile,
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. "
detect a second characteristic associated with the platoon;
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, the sequential identifiers for some or all of the vehicles in the platoon may change as vehicles leave and/or are added to the group of platooning vehicles… In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles..."
and override, based at least in part on the second characteristic, the parameter of the sensor data sharing profile to adjust sensor data sharing with the one or more vehicles.
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles… The other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly, e.g., update sequential identifiers for the platooning vehicles, change communication schedules and/or time-frequency radio resources used for communications, and the like." Wu further teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Thus, in order to account for vehicles leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles, sequential identifiers and time-frequency radio resources are updated (i.e., overridden).
However, Wu does not outright teach transmitting, to a master vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the device, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system; wherein the sensor data sharing profile is based at least in part on the sensing characteristic. Park teaches an in-vehicle vehicle control device with platooning applications, comprising:
transmit, to a master vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the device,
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors."
wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system;
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors."
... based at least in part on transmitting the sensing characteristic, a sensor data sharing profile,
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors." Park even further teaches ([0278]): "Further, it is possible to select a vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range as a leader vehicle. As a result, the leader vehicle can transmit control information for platooning with a message using the saved resources."
wherein the sensor data sharing profile is based at least in part on the sensing characteristic,
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors." Park even further teaches ([0278]): "Further, it is possible to select a vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range as a leader vehicle. As a result, the leader vehicle can transmit control information for platooning with a message using the saved resources."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the teachings of Park to provide transmitting, to a master vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the device, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system; wherein the sensor data sharing profile is based at least in part on the sensing characteristic. Wu and Park are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle sensor data sharing in platooning applications. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Park, as sharing the sensing ranges of the sensor systems of platoon vehicles advantageously allows for collection of sensor data in specific areas, wherein the sensing ranges may be corrected to not overlap in consideration of the positions of the other platooning vehicles, as recognized by Park (see at least [0266] and [0269]). The teachings of Park provide the additional benefit of selecting a platoon leader vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range, as recognized by Park (see at least [0278]).
However, Wu does not outright teach that the parameter relates to at least one of: whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data. Parron teaches drone-based traffic control and V2X enhancements, comprising:
wherein the parameter relates to at least one of: whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data;
Parron teaches ([0115]): "In yet other aspects, collaborative vehicle steering (or distributed control) can take place. In at least these aspects, a vehicle may partially take control over the controlled vehicle when the controlled vehicle has limited information or line-of-sight necessary to make steering decisions or other decisions. In one alternative, the controlling vehicle provides sensor information or other needed information to the controlled vehicle, using communications depending on proximity between the controlled and controlling vehicle. In these aspects, the controlled vehicle has full autonomy on steering using the provided information. In another alternative, the controlled vehicle can provide any available sensor information to the controlling vehicle, and the controlling vehicle thereafter takes control of steering, etc. for the controlled vehicle. In yet another alternative, the controlling vehicle may provide some steering commands to the controlled vehicle, but the controlled vehicle will rely on its own sensor data for steering where the sensor data is useful for steering. For example, the controlled vehicle may control speed but direction can be determined by the controlling vehicle. This can occur, for example, when the controlling vehicle is a UAV with improved line-of-sight to direct steering direction. Before starting distributive control, a handshake can be performed between the vehicles to share the type of sensor data available at each side and to agree on the split of the steering function between the vehicles." Here, the handshake between the vehicles serves as a sensor data sharing profile which indicates whether to share a type of sensor data available at each side. Therefore, the Examiner has interpreted this arrangement as also identifying whether not to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system (i.e., in the case where the type of sensor data is not available at each side of the arrangement).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu and Park to incorporate the teachings of Parron to provide that the parameter relates to at least one of: whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data. Wu, Park, and Parron are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle platooning/cooperative driving. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Parron, as incorporating the parameter of Parron advantageously improves navigation of the vehicle(s) by allowing for control based on sensor information provided by another vehicle, as recognized by Parron (see at least [0115]).
Regarding claim 22, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 19. Wu further teaches:
the parameter further relates to a transmission frequency associated with sharing the sensor data.
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles… The other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly, e.g., update sequential identifiers for the platooning vehicles, change communication schedules and/or time-frequency radio resources used for communications, and the like." Wu further teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like. Accordingly, the communication resource requirement may include one or more frequencies, tones, channels, etc., in the frequency domain along with, in some instances, a certain number of time periods, e.g., symbol periods, TTI, subframes, etc., in the time domain."
Regarding claim 23, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 19. Wu further teaches:
the parameter is overridden without notifying the master vehicle.
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, the sequential identifiers for some or all of the vehicles in the platoon may change as vehicles leave and/or are added to the group of platooning vehicles. Moreover, the platooning vehicle leading the platoon (e.g., lead vehicle 205) may also change dynamically. For example, the current lead vehicle 205 may exit the platoon (e.g., leave the road, lane, etc.) and the next vehicle in the platoon may assume the role as the new lead vehicle. In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles… The other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly, e.g., update sequential identifiers for the platooning vehicles, change communication schedules and/or time-frequency radio resources used for communications, and the like." Here, the current lead vehicle 205 exits the platoon, thereby resulting in transfer of the leader role to another vehicle. As the current lead vehicle 205 has left the platoon, it would no longer receive updated sequential identifiers and/or time-frequency radio resources, as only the "other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly".
Regarding claim 24, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 19. Wu further teaches:
the parameter is overridden until the second characteristic is no longer detected.
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles… The other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly, e.g., update sequential identifiers for the platooning vehicles, change communication schedules and/or time-frequency radio resources used for communications, and the like." Wu further teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Here, the characteristic refers to the leaving and/or entering of vehicles in the group of platooning vehicles. Thus, if there is no indication of vehicles leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles, the parameter will no longer be overridden, as the overriding is dependent upon vehicles leaving and/or entering.
Regarding claim 25, Wu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
means for receiving, from the master vehicle… a sensor data sharing profile,
Wu teaches ([0063]): "In some aspects, one or more of the UEs 115 may include a UE platooning communication manager 101. For example, the UE 115 may be a vehicle (e.g., a vehicle equipped or otherwise configured to communicate using the described wireless techniques) that is a part of a group of platooning vehicles. As one example where the UE 115 is the lead vehicle in the platoon, the UE platooning communication manage 101 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles." Here, the first vehicle corresponds to a vehicle in the platoon other than the lead vehicle and the device corresponds to the UE of the lead vehicle of the platoon. Wu further teaches ([0071]): "For example, the lead vehicle 205 may obtain communications from the vehicles in the platoon via direct communications and/or via relayed communications. The communications may be based on platooning operations of the vehicles and/or other communications originating from the vehicles. Based on the communications, the lead vehicle 205 may determine the number of vehicles within the group of platooning. In some aspects, the lead vehicle may use this information to assign sequential identifiers (e.g., VIDs) to the vehicles forming the platoon of vehicles. The sequential identifier for each vehicle may be based on the order or position that the vehicle is located within the platoon. For example, the lead vehicle may assign VID=1 to itself since it is the first vehicle in the platoon, VID=2 to the next vehicle in the platoon (e.g., the vehicle immediately behind the lead vehicle 205), and so on."
and wherein the sensor data sharing profile comprises a parameter associated with sharing sensor data, of the sensor system, with one or more vehicles of the plurality of vehicles;
Wu teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. "
means for sharing the sensor data, of the sensor system, with the one or more vehicles according to the sensor data sharing profile;
Wu teaches ([0063]): "In some aspects, one or more of the UEs 115 may include a UE platooning communication manager 101. For example, the UE 115 may be a vehicle (e.g., a vehicle equipped or otherwise configured to communicate using the described wireless techniques) that is a part of a group of platooning vehicles. As one example where the UE 115 is the lead vehicle in the platoon, the UE platooning communication manage 101 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles." Wu further teaches ([0069]): "At 220, the lead vehicle 205 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles. Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Wu even further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. "
means for detecting a second characteristic associated with the platoon;
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, the sequential identifiers for some or all of the vehicles in the platoon may change as vehicles leave and/or are added to the group of platooning vehicles… In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles..."
and means for overriding, based at least in part on the second characteristic, the parameter of the sensor data sharing profile to adjust sensor data sharing with the one or more vehicles.
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles… The other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly, e.g., update sequential identifiers for the platooning vehicles, change communication schedules and/or time-frequency radio resources used for communications, and the like." Wu further teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Thus, in order to account for vehicles leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles, sequential identifiers and time-frequency radio resources are updated (i.e., overridden).
However, Wu does not outright teach means for transmitting, to a master vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the apparatus, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system. Park teaches an in-vehicle vehicle control device with platooning applications, comprising:
means for transmitting, to a master vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the apparatus,
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors."
wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system;
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors."
...based at least in part on transmitting the sensing characteristic, a sensor data sharing profile,
Park teaches ([0269]): "As another embodiment, other vehicles pertaining to platooning can calculate sensing ranges in person and transmit the sensing ranges to a leader vehicle. Accordingly, the leader vehicle can correct the received sensing ranges not to overlap in consideration of the positions of the other vehicles." Park further teaches ([0266]): "Accordingly, the first another vehicle can sense data in the first area (first sensing range) using sensors such as a camera, a radar, and a lidar. Similarly, the second another vehicle can also sense data in the second area (second sensing range) using various sensors." Park even further teaches ([0278]): "Further, it is possible to select a vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range as a leader vehicle. As a result, the leader vehicle can transmit control information for platooning with a message using the saved resources."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the teachings of Park to provide means for transmitting, to a master vehicle of a plurality of vehicles traveling in a platoon, a sensing characteristic of a sensor system of the apparatus, wherein the sensing characteristic includes at least one of a range, a field of view, or a resolution of the sensor system. Wu and Park are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle sensor data sharing in platooning applications. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Park, as sharing the sensing ranges of the sensor systems of platoon vehicles advantageously allows for collection of sensor data in specific areas, wherein the sensing ranges may be corrected to not overlap in consideration of the positions of the other platooning vehicles, as recognized by Park (see at least [0266] and [0269]). The teachings of Park provide the additional benefit of selecting a platoon leader vehicle having the most communication resources in reserve due to a small sensing range, as recognized by Park (see at least [0278]).
However, Wu does not outright teach that the parameter relates to at least one of: whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data. Parron teaches drone-based traffic control and V2X enhancements, comprising:
wherein the parameter relates to at least one of: whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data;
Parron teaches ([0115]): "In yet other aspects, collaborative vehicle steering (or distributed control) can take place. In at least these aspects, a vehicle may partially take control over the controlled vehicle when the controlled vehicle has limited information or line-of-sight necessary to make steering decisions or other decisions. In one alternative, the controlling vehicle provides sensor information or other needed information to the controlled vehicle, using communications depending on proximity between the controlled and controlling vehicle. In these aspects, the controlled vehicle has full autonomy on steering using the provided information. In another alternative, the controlled vehicle can provide any available sensor information to the controlling vehicle, and the controlling vehicle thereafter takes control of steering, etc. for the controlled vehicle. In yet another alternative, the controlling vehicle may provide some steering commands to the controlled vehicle, but the controlled vehicle will rely on its own sensor data for steering where the sensor data is useful for steering. For example, the controlled vehicle may control speed but direction can be determined by the controlling vehicle. This can occur, for example, when the controlling vehicle is a UAV with improved line-of-sight to direct steering direction. Before starting distributive control, a handshake can be performed between the vehicles to share the type of sensor data available at each side and to agree on the split of the steering function between the vehicles." Here, the handshake between the vehicles serves as a sensor data sharing profile which indicates whether to share a type of sensor data available at each side. Therefore, the Examiner has interpreted this arrangement as also identifying whether not to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system (i.e., in the case where the type of sensor data is not available at each side of the arrangement).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu and Park to incorporate the teachings of Parron to provide that the parameter relates to at least one of: whether to share a type of sensor data of the sensor system, or whether to share a type of information that is associated with the sensor data. Wu, Park, and Parron are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle platooning/cooperative driving. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Parron, as incorporating the parameter of Parron advantageously improves navigation of the vehicle(s) by allowing for control based on sensor information provided by another vehicle, as recognized by Parron (see at least [0115]).
Regarding claim 28, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 25. Wu further teaches:
the parameter further relates to a transmission frequency associated with sharing the sensor data.
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles… The other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly, e.g., update sequential identifiers for the platooning vehicles, change communication schedules and/or time-frequency radio resources used for communications, and the like." Wu further teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like. Accordingly, the communication resource requirement may include one or more frequencies, tones, channels, etc., in the frequency domain along with, in some instances, a certain number of time periods, e.g., symbol periods, TTI, subframes, etc., in the time domain."
Regarding claim 29, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 25. Wu further teaches:
the parameter is overridden without notifying the master vehicle.
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, the sequential identifiers for some or all of the vehicles in the platoon may change as vehicles leave and/or are added to the group of platooning vehicles. Moreover, the platooning vehicle leading the platoon (e.g., lead vehicle 205) may also change dynamically. For example, the current lead vehicle 205 may exit the platoon (e.g., leave the road, lane, etc.) and the next vehicle in the platoon may assume the role as the new lead vehicle. In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles… The other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly, e.g., update sequential identifiers for the platooning vehicles, change communication schedules and/or time-frequency radio resources used for communications, and the like." Here, the current lead vehicle 205 exits the platoon, thereby resulting in transfer of the leader role to another vehicle. As the current lead vehicle 205 has left the platoon, it would no longer receive updated sequential identifiers and/or time-frequency radio resources, as only the "other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly".
Regarding claim 30, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 25. Wu further teaches:
the parameter is overridden until the second characteristic is no longer detected.
Wu teaches ([0072]): "In some aspects, vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles may transmit information indicative of them leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles… The other vehicles within the platoon of vehicles may receive this information and update their behavior accordingly, e.g., update sequential identifiers for the platooning vehicles, change communication schedules and/or time-frequency radio resources used for communications, and the like." Wu further teaches ([0069]): "Generally, the communication resource requirements may be the amount of time-frequency radio resources needed for each vehicle in the platoon of vehicles to perform inter-vehicle communications in order to exchange various vehicle information, e.g., traveling speed, traveling direction, separation distance between a particular vehicle and the adjacent vehicles, vehicle sensor data, information relayed from other vehicles within the platoon, the vehicle's sequential identifier (e.g., VID), and the like." Here, the characteristic refers to the leaving and/or entering of vehicles in the group of platooning vehicles. Thus, if there is no indication of vehicles leaving and/or entering the group of platooning vehicles, the parameter will no longer be overridden, as the overriding is dependent upon vehicles leaving and/or entering.
Regarding claim 31, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 19. Wu further teaches:
the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the device, cause the one or more processors further to: configure one or more sensor sharing message generation rules according to the sensor data sharing profile.
Wu teaches ([0063]): "In some aspects, one or more of the UEs 115 may include a UE platooning communication manager 101. For example, the UE 115 may be a vehicle (e.g., a vehicle equipped or otherwise configured to communicate using the described wireless techniques) that is a part of a group of platooning vehicles. As one example where the UE 115 is the lead vehicle in the platoon, the UE platooning communication manage 101 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles." Wu further teaches ([0089]): "In some aspects, vehicles transmitting during a particular symbol period may use non-overlapping frequency resources. For example, the vehicles with odd-numbered VIDs that are transmitting during the first symbol period may include VIDs 1 and 7 transmitting using a first frequency, VIDs 3 and 9 transmitting using a second frequency, and VID 5 transmitting using a third frequency during the first symbol period. The selection of the VID 1 and 7 for transmission may be based on the communication range of the vehicles within the platoon, e.g., selected to avoid collisions between the transmissions from VIDs 1 and 7."
Regarding claim 32, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 25. Wu further teaches:
means for configuring one or more sensor sharing message generation rules according to the sensor data sharing profile.
Wu teaches ([0063]): "In some aspects, one or more of the UEs 115 may include a UE platooning communication manager 101. For example, the UE 115 may be a vehicle (e.g., a vehicle equipped or otherwise configured to communicate using the described wireless techniques) that is a part of a group of platooning vehicles. As one example where the UE 115 is the lead vehicle in the platoon, the UE platooning communication manage 101 may determine a communication resource requirement for the group of platooning vehicles." Wu further teaches ([0076]): "In some aspects (not shown in process 200), the lead vehicle 205 may use the assigned time-frequency radio resources to assign resources to the vehicles within the group of platooning vehicles (e.g., create a communication schedule for the platoon of vehicles).For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select time-frequency radio resources for the vehicles based on the sequential identifier of the vehicle... For example, the lead vehicle 205 may select... a second subset of time-frequency radio resources to a second group of vehicles in the platoon (e.g., vehicles with even-numbered VIDs)... For example, the first group of vehicles may communicate during a first time period using different non-overlapping frequencies and the second group of vehicles may communicate during a second time period using the different non-overlapping frequencies. "
Claim(s) 20 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, Park, and Parron in view of Okamoto (US 2014/0316671 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 19. However, Wu does not outright teach that the second characteristic relates to at least one of: another vehicle of the plurality of vehicles that has another sensor system with a higher sensing capability than the sensor system and that shares data according to the sensor data sharing profile, or an object moving within the field of view of a sensor of the sensor system. Okamoto teaches a platoon travel system, comprising:
the second characteristic relates to at least one of: another vehicle of the plurality of vehicles that has another sensor system with a higher sensing capability than the sensor system and that shares data according to the sensor data sharing profile, or an object moving within the field of view of a sensor of the sensor system.
Okamoto teaches ([0040]): "The nearby information sensor 40 detects the existence of vehicles before and behind the self-vehicle as well as an inter-vehicle distance to each of those vehicles, which may be implemented as radar, a camera, and the like. The nearby information sensor 40 outputs the information which shows a detection result to the ECU 10." Okamoto further teaches ([0129]): "More specifically, the join-in processor 14 of the ECU 10 in each of the platoon vehicles acquires, from the nearby information sensor 40 via the input part 12, the information which shows the inter-vehicle distance to the front vehicle. Then, the join-in processor 14 of the just-behind vehicle decelerates the self-vehicle, by outputting the drive information that instructs the deceleration to the travel system component 80 via the output part 16 while confirming the inter-vehicle distance to the just-ahead vehicle based on the acquired information. The join-in processor 14 of the just-behind vehicle adjusts, by decelerating the self-vehicle in this manner, the inter-vehicle distance to the just-ahead vehicle to the join-in allow distance that allows the join-in of the joining vehicle into the platoon. Further, the join-in allow distance may be set in advance according to the body size, the number of the joining vehicles and/or the other attributes of the joining vehicle."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Park, and Parron to incorporate the teachings of Okamoto to provide that the second characteristic relates to at least one of: another vehicle of the plurality of vehicles that has another sensor system with a higher sensing capability than the sensor system and that shares data according to the sensor data sharing profile, or an object moving within the field of view of a sensor of the sensor system. Wu, Park, Parron, and Okamoto are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle platooning. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Okamoto, as doing so provides the benefit of providing an appropriate amount of space for a vehicle joining the platoon, which can be based factors such as vehicle body size, and/or the number of joining vehicles, as recognized by Okamoto ([0129]).
Regarding claim 26, Wu, Park, and Parron teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 25. However, Wu does not outright teach that the second characteristic relates to at least one of: another vehicle of the plurality of vehicles that has another sensor system with a higher sensing capability than the sensor system and that shares data according to the sensor data sharing profile, or an object moving within the field of view of a sensor of the sensor system. Okamoto teaches a platoon travel system, comprising:
the second characteristic relates to at least one of: another vehicle of the plurality of vehicles that has another sensor system with a higher sensing capability than the sensor system and that shares data according to the sensor data sharing profile, or an object moving within the field of view of a sensor of the sensor system.
Okamoto teaches ([0040]): "The nearby information sensor 40 detects the existence of vehicles before and behind the self-vehicle as well as an inter-vehicle distance to each of those vehicles, which may be implemented as radar, a camera, and the like. The nearby information sensor 40 outputs the information which shows a detection result to the ECU 10." Okamoto further teaches ([0129]): "More specifically, the join-in processor 14 of the ECU 10 in each of the platoon vehicles acquires, from the nearby information sensor 40 via the input part 12, the information which shows the inter-vehicle distance to the front vehicle. Then, the join-in processor 14 of the just-behind vehicle decelerates the self-vehicle, by outputting the drive information that instructs the deceleration to the travel system component 80 via the output part 16 while confirming the inter-vehicle distance to the just-ahead vehicle based on the acquired information. The join-in processor 14 of the just-behind vehicle adjusts, by decelerating the self-vehicle in this manner, the inter-vehicle distance to the just-ahead vehicle to the join-in allow distance that allows the join-in of the joining vehicle into the platoon. Further, the join-in allow distance may be set in advance according to the body size, the number of the joining vehicles and/or the other attributes of the joining vehicle."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu, Park, and Parron to incorporate the teachings of Okamoto to provide that the second characteristic relates to at least one of: another vehicle of the plurality of vehicles that has another sensor system with a higher sensing capability than the sensor system and that shares data according to the sensor data sharing profile, or an object moving within the field of view of a sensor of the sensor system. Wu, Park, Parron, and Okamoto are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle platooning. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Okamoto, as doing so provides the benefit of providing an appropriate amount of space for a vehicle joining the platoon, which can be based factors such as vehicle body size, and/or the number of joining vehicles, as recognized by Okamoto ([0129]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mudalige (US 2010/0256852 A1) teaches platoon vehicle management, including setting a frequency of V2V communication in a platoon (see at least [0146]). Lesher et al. (US 2018/0188746 A1) teaches self-ordering of fleet vehicles in a platoon, including V2V communications used in ordering the platoon (see at least [0047]) and V2V communication using a radio frequency (RF) transmitter (see at least [0107]). Brooks et al. (US 2018/0322791 A1) teaches a vehicle convoy control system and method, including V2V communication using radio frequency (see at least [0137]) and sharing sensor data among vehicles of the convoy (see at least [0324]).
/F.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662