DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 9, 11-12 and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotchin et al (WO 2014/188168. ‘168 hereafter) in view of Nelson et al (US 7,381,261, ‘261 hereafter).
Regarding claims 4-6, 9, 11-12 and 16-22, ‘168 discloses an panel comprising a gypsum matrix (page 3); fibers embedded in the gypsum matrix in an amount of at least 3 wt% relative to the gypsum (pages 3-4, page 7); a polymeric additive in an amount of at least 3 wt% relative to the gypsum overlapping the range of 0. 8 wt% to 9 wt% as in the present claims 1, 9 and 16-17 (page 8, Example 12, 5 wt % of polyvinyl acetate); wherein the fiber can be a glass fiber with a length range of 4 to 8 mm and diameter being 5 to 50 microns (page 8), wood fiber, cellulose fiber or synthetic polymer fiber with a form of particles of agglomerated fibers (pages 3-4, page 8 and Examples); the polymeric additive can be starch, polyvinyl acetate, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyvinyl alcohol or the like as recited in the present claim 6 (page 7 and Examples). ‘168 does not disclose that the gypsum panel further contains a phosphate additive, however, it is well-known in the art that phosphate additives such as sodium trimetaphosphate is a sag resistance agent in a gypsum board to reduce water absorption and significantly improve dimension stability of gypsum board as evidenced by ‘261 (see C7/L15-L30 of ‘261 and the references as cited in this paragraph), wherein the mount of phosphate additive can be in an range of 0.07% to 2.0 wt% based on the weight of gypsum (C7/L19-L21). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add phosphate as known in the art, to modify the gypsum board of ‘168, in order to render a gypsum board having better sag resistance. ‘168 also discloses that the panel is prepared from gypsum composition containing water being about 73 wt% based on total weight of the composition ([0174], 200/274.8=73 wt%), satisfying present claims 21-22.
Regarding claim 23, modified ‘168 teaches all the limitations of claim 6, ‘168 also discloses the polymer additive including polyvinyl acetal and starch which can be used as a mixture in the gypsum composition, wherein the amount of the polymeric additive preferably higher than 3 wt% with respect to gypsum (page 7), but ‘168 does not specifically set forth that each content of polyvinyl acetal and starch as recited in the claim. However, ‘168 discloses that the polymeric additives are used to adjust the fixing strength of the gypsum board (page 7), thus the content of the polymeric additive is a result effective variable in terms of fixing strength of the gypsum board. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust contents of the polyvinyl acetal and starch within the scope of the present claims so as to produce desired fixing strength, without undue experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/02/2026 have been fully considered and they are moot in view of new ground rejection as set forth above,
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782