DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laszczyk et al. (US 2018/0161842), hereinafter “Laszczyk.”
Regarding claims 1-2 and 9, Laszczyk teaches an aluminum alloy can body having an internal surface significantly higher in roughness than the external surface, the internal surface having an Ra>0.4 µm and the external surface having an Ra<0.3 µm (Abstract, [0027], [0035]-[0036], Fig. 1), which means that the external surface has a surface roughness that is at least 25% lower than that of the internal surface, which overlaps with the instantly claimed surface roughness ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Regarding the limitation “as measured by a surface profilometer”, note that patentable weight is given to the property and not to the method of measurement. Nonetheless, Laszczyk teaches that the surface roughness is measured according to standard NF EN ISO 4287 ([0046]), which meets the limitation of measuring the surface roughness by a surface profilometer.
As to claims 5 and 6, Laszczyk teaches wherein the aluminum alloy can body is made from a 3104 aluminum alloy ([0058]).
With respect to claim 8, Laszczyk teaches wherein the aluminum alloy can body is made from sheets having a gauge of 0.26 mm, which are then drawn and ironed ([0058]), which means that the aluminum alloy can body thickness is less than 0.26 mm, which satisfies the instantly claimed range of less than about 4 mm.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laszczyk (US 2018/0161842), as evidenced by Anderson et al. (Anderson, Kevin, et al. Properties and Selection of Aluminum Alloys. Materials Park, Ohio, Asm International, 2019, p. 338.), hereinafter “Anderson.”
Regarding claim 7, Laszczyk renders obvious the subject matter of claim 1, as detailed above. Furthermore, Lazczyk teaches wherein the aluminum alloy can body is made from a 3104 aluminum alloy ([0058]), which has a chemical composition comprising, in wt.%, 0.05-0.25% Cu, up to 0.8% Fe, 0.8-1.3% Mg, 0.8-1.3% Mg, 0.8-1.4% Mn, up to 0.6% Si, up to 0.10% Ti, up to 0.25% Zn, up to 0.05% impurities each, and a balance of Al, as evidenced by Anderson (Table 1), which is the same as instantly claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the examples of Lazczyk do not meet the limitations of the currently amended claim 1. In response, Examiner notes that the broad disclosure of Lazczyk teaches an aluminum alloy can body having an internal surface significantly higher in roughness than the external surface, the internal surface having an Ra>0.4 µm and the external surface having an Ra<0.3 µm (Abstract, [0027], [0035]-[0036], Fig. 1), which means that the external surface has a surface roughness that is at least 25% lower than that of the internal surface, which overlaps with the instantly claimed surface roughness ranges.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734