DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 30 MARCH 2026 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the amendment of claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-9 and the cancellation of claims 10-20 have been acknowledged.
Pending Claims: 1-9
Cancelled Claims: 10-20
In view of the amendment to claim 1, the specification, and the cancellation of claims 10-20, the new matter has been removed from the application and the priority has been restored to that of the provisional application.
In view of the amendment to the drawings, the drawing objections have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to the specification, the objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claim 9, the claim interpretation has been rendered moot.
In view of the amendment to claims 1-2 and 5 and the cancellation of claims 10, 13, 16, and 19, the previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claim 1 and the cancellation of claims 10-15 and 17-20, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claims 1 and 9, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claim 1, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been modified.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 30 MARCH 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, regarding instant claim 1, that Witte teaches a total flow quiescent vertical column and so cannot teach the column coupled to the recirculation conduit which defines a slipstream architecture as required in instant claim 1. Therefore, instant claim 1 is allowable (Arguments filed 30 MARCH 2026, Page 9).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to instant claim 1 and Witte have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Due to the amendments to instant claim 1, Witte is no longer required for the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. Furthermore, Kresnyak teaches a recirculation stream from the hydro cyclone liquid coming from the bottom to the latent heat exchanger and the use of a decanting separator to remove solids from this recirculating line, wherein it is known to do total flow or slipstream configurations as desired. Therefore, instant claim 1 is not allowable.
Applicant argues that Witte and Holtzapple are incompatible because Holtzapple teaches high velocity flow to scour the titanium heat exchanger tubes which is at odds with the settling column and so the combination of the prior art render each other inoperable. Therefore, instant claim 1 is allowable (Arguments filed 30 MARCH 2026, Page 10).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, Applicant is referencing the instant specification with regard to the high velocity salt scouring to prevent fouling on the tubes of the heat exchanger. Holtzapple, US Patent Application No. US 20190301808 A1 (hereinafter Holtzapple), does not teach anything to do with high velocity flow and so Applicant’s argument is moot. Holtzapple teaches that scale may accumulate on the tubes of the heat exchanger, but teaches the use of pH control, chemical washing cycles, or acoustic cavitation to prevent or remove scaling (Paragraph 0068) and Kresnyak teaches that the main purpose of separating the bulk heating in the heat exchanger and evaporation in the heated hydrocyclone is to prevent scale from forming on the heat exchanger, while also teaching the use of gravity or decanting solid/liquid separation devices on the concentrated brine before recirculating the brine. The existing combination of Holtzapple with Kresnyak is not incompatible and would not be rendered inoperable when combined. Therefore instant claim 1 is not allowable.
Applicant argues that instant claims 2-9 depend upon instant claim 1 and are allowable for the same reasons as instant claim 1 (Arguments filed 30 MARCH 2026, Page 11).
Regarding Applicant’s argument, instant claim 1 is not allowable and so instant claims 2-9 are also not allowable.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 6, “the top of the hydroclone” in lines 2-3 of the claim should read “the top vapor outlet of the hydroclone” do agree with the amendments of claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtzapple, US Patent Application No. US 20190301808 A1 (hereinafter Holtzapple), in view of Kresnyak et al, US Patent No. US 6355145 B1 (hereinafter Kresnyak).
Regarding Claim 1, Holtzapple teaches heat exchanger technology applicable in vapor-compression desalination of seawater and brackish water (i.e., a desalination system; Fig. 1, #10; Paragraph 0003) that comprises raw seawater (Fig. 1, #21) that enters a plurality of latent heat exchangers (i.e., a latent heat exchanger configured to receive saltwater; Fig. 1, #200A-E) that are shell and tube heat exchangers with an evaporator side inlet (i.e., the latent heat exchanger including tubes with an interior that is configured to circulate supersaturated brine with suspended salts; Fig. 1, #202; Paragraph 0048) with a vapor evaporator outlet (Fig. 1, #204) that flows through a compressor (i.e., a compressor that receives at least a portion of the flow; Fig. 1, #50) before flowing into the condenser side of the latent heat exchanger via a condenser inlet (i.e., an output of the compressor recirculating at least a portion of the flow back to the latent heat exchanger; Fig. 1, #208; Paragraph 50). Holtzapple further teaches the routing of the concentrated brine (Fig. 1, #34) to recover heat by heat exchanging with the incoming seawater (Paragraph 0052) and that a synergistic benefit can occur with the recovery of salts from the concentrated brine stream through a crystallizer, specifically listing sodium chloride, for the purpose of making the process achieve zero liquid discharge to eliminate the need for brine disposal to both minimize environmental damage and reduce costs associated with discharging brine back into the ocean (Paragraph 0069).
Holtzapple does not teach a hydroclone configured to receive a flow from the latent heat exchanger, the hydroclone having a top vapor outlet and a bottom liquid outlet, a compressor that receives at least a portion of the flow exiting the top vapor outlet of the hydroclone, a quiescent vertical column coupled to the recirculation circuit intermediate the bottom liquid outlet and the latent heat exchanger, wherein the quiescent vertical column is configured to receive settling salt from the supersaturated brine flowing through the recirculation conduit, and does not explicitly teach a recirculation conduit coupled between the bottom liquid outlet of the hydroclone and the latent heat exchanger.
However, Kresnyak teaches passing a contaminated water stream (Fig. 2, #10) through a preheater (Fig. 2, #18), which can be combined with another preheater (Fig. 2, #26) into a single multi-service preheater as it is well known by those skilled in the art, and then into a heated separator (Fig. 2, #20) which can include a cyclonic separator (i.e., hydroclone) where the vapor is fed into a compressor (Fig. 2, #32) and the blowdown or concentrate (Fig. 2, #24) is discharged from the bottom of the heated separator (i.e. a hydroclone configured to receive a flow from the latent heat exchanger, the hydroclone having a top vapor outlet and a bottom liquid outlet, a compressor that receives at least a portion of the flow exiting the top vapor outlet of the hydroclone; Col. 5, Line 59 to Col. 6, Line 62) where some of the blowdown is sent to a solid/liquid separation device such as a decanting separator or gravity separator (i.e., a quiescent vertical column coupled to the recirculation circuit intermediate the bottom liquid outlet and the latent heat exchanger; Fig. 2, #50) as a slipstream to remove solids (i.e., wherein the quiescent vertical column is configured to receive settling salt from the supersaturated brine flowing through the recirculation conduit) and recovered liquid is further passed through the preheater (Fig. 2, #26) for heat recovery (i.e., a recirculation conduit coupled between the bottom liquid outlet of the hydrocyclone and the latent heat exchanger; Col. 7, Line 49 to Col. 8, Line 3). Kresnyak further teaches that the heated separator and heat exchanger provides a method for removing contaminants from a feed stream while preventing the fouling of and formation of scale on both the heated separator and the heat exchanger (Col. 3, Lines 40-59) and also teaches that the solid/liquid separation process is particularly advantageous when the major objective is to recover a compound as a solid or when the compound is of significant commercial value (Col. 7, Line 49 to Col. 8, Line 3). Both Holtzapple and Kresnyak teach the recovery of heat from the concentrated brine stream by heat exchanging the concentrated brine with the feed water stream, Kresnyak just teaches that combining heat exchangers with different services is well known in the art.
Kresnyak is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a highly efficient water distillation process (Col. 1, Lines 8-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the desalination apparatus taught by Holtzapple with the heated separator taught by Kresnyak because the heated separator would prevent both fouling and scale formation on the heated separator and the heat exchanger and to include the decanting separator in the recirculation line as taught by Kresnyak because both Holtzapple and Kresnyak teach that there are advantages of zero liquid discharge, recovery of solids from the fluid stream, and if the solid component has commercial value.
Regarding Claim 2, Holtzapple further teaches a steam injection line (i.e., steam injector; Fig. 1, #29) to allow a portion of the expanded steam (Fig. 1, #15) to be injected into the stream of pretreated seawater (i.e., further comprising a steam injector that applies steam to the saltwater prior to entry into the latent heat exchanger; Fig. 1, #21; Paragraph 0048).
Regarding Claim 3, Holtzapple further teaches a vertical mounting of the heat exchanger to prevent the sagging of tubes (Fig. 7; Paragraph 0064) and that the latent heat exchanger can be constructed from titanium for the purpose of resisting corrosion from high temperature seawater (i.e., wherein the tubes are vertical titanium tubes; Paragraph 0073).
Regarding Claim 7, Holtzapple further teaches an overhead vapor stream flowing from evaporator vapor outlet (Fig. 1, #204) to compressors (Fig. 1, #50) and then desuperheaters (Fig. 1, #30) and then into the condenser side (Fig. 1, #208) of the same latent heat exchanger (Fig. 1, #200A-E) as the evaporator vapor outlet came from (i.e., a desuperheater that receives superheated steam from the compressor and removes the superheat prior to recirculating stream to the latent heat exchanger; Paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 9, Holtzapple further teaches a vertical mounting of the heat exchanger to prevent the sagging of tubes (Fig. 7; Paragraph 0064) and that the latent heat exchanger can be constructed from titanium for the purpose of resisting corrosion from high temperature seawater (i.e., wherein the latent heat exchanger includes a plurality of parallel titanium tubes arranged in a vertical orientation; Paragraph 0073).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sun et al, Chinese Patent No. CN 207187964 U (hereinafter Sun).
Regarding Claim 4, Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak does not teach wherein the hydroclone further comprises a rotating impellor.
However, Sun teaches providing a hydrocyclone (Fig. 1, #6) with a rotating impellor (i.e., wherein the hydroclone further comprises a rotating impellor; Fig. 1, #4) for the purpose of eliminating the air column that forms inside the hydrocyclone so that the air column will not cause poor classification results (Paragraph 0007, Machine Translation).
Sun is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a hydrocyclone that can be used for slurry concentration and liquid degassing (Paragraph 0004, Machine Translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to add the rotating impellor taught by Sun to the hydroclone made obvious by Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak because it would eliminate the formation of an air column in the hydroclone which would prevent the air column from producing poor classification results.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilson, US Patent No. US 20160145122 A1 (hereinafter Wilson).
Regarding Claim 5, Holtzapple further teaches the use of the vapor evaporator outlet (Fig. 1, #204) that flows through the compressor (Fig. 1, #50) before flowing into the condenser side of the latent heat exchanger via a condenser inlet (Fig. 1, #208; Paragraph 50) and recycling both brine (Fig. 1, #25) and distilled water (Fig. 1, #27) through sensible heat exchangers (Fig. 1, #100) to preheat the seawater going into the latent heat exchangers (Paragraph 0052). Holtzapple further teaches that the heat engine for the initial steam source may come from waste heat sources (Paragraph 0046).
Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak does not teach wherein the hydroclone includes a jacket, and purged steam from the latent heat exchanger is configured to flow into the jacket to ensure high temperature is maintained.
However, Wilson teaches a high temperature water tank (Fig. 1, #102) in the form of a jacket around the hydroclones (i.e., the hydroclone includes a jacket; Fig. 1, #118, 102) for the purpose of carefully controlling the heat such that the process can flash water while sterilizing the unfinished water (i.e., to ensure high temperature is maintained; Paragraphs 0042-0044). Wilson further teaches that the flameless heat source (Fig. 1, #112) that is used to heat the high temperature water tank can comprise an industrial process heat source or a powerplant waste heat source (Paragraph 0036), and that preheating water by flameless methods includes virtually any form of waste heat (Paragraph 0030).
Wilson is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a water purification system (Abstract) that can treat salt water (Paragraph 0062). While Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak in view of Wilson does not explicitly teach purged steam from the latent heat exchange is configured to flow into the jacket, the sources teach the utilization of existing heat sources such as excess steam, hot distillate, and hot brine for preheating flows and for maintaining heat in critical areas of the evaporation process. According to Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S. 219, 189 USPQ 257 (1976) the Court held that "[t]he gap between the prior art and respondent’s system is simply not so great as to render the system nonobvious to one reasonably skilled in the art." Id. at 230, 189 USPQ at 261. Following the same rationale, (1) The base device taught by Holtzapple contains a latent heat exchanger/evaporator for generating purified water from a seawater source that receives heat from the return of steam generated from the evaporator section of the evaporator after it has been compressed, where the device would be modified by separating the latent heat exchanger and evaporator into a latent heat exchanger and hydroclone as taught by Kresnyak. Wilson further teaches adding a jacket to the hydroclone to maintain the temperature at a sufficient level to flash evaporate water. (2) Holtzapple teaches the use of hot distillate and brine to preheat the initial seawater stream and the use of waste heat sources for the generation of steam. Wilson teaches the use of waste heat for the use of heating the jacket around the hydroclones. (3) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hydroclone made obvious by Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak with the jacket taught by Wilson because the jacket would carefully control the temperature of the hydroclone to flash water and sterilize the unfinished water, and it would have been obvious to use existing in the latent heat exchanger because the steam would be the same source of compressed steam as the evaporator originally used in the teachings of Holtzapple, it would just be coming from the hydroclone taught by Kresnyak and a portion would be used to maintain the heat in the jacket as taught by Wilson (See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Furthermore, the limitation “to ensure high temperature is maintained” is directed toward an expected result from the practice or use of the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. Where the prior art product structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established because the devices meets the limitations of the claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP §2111.02 II).
Regarding Claim 6, Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak does not teach a demister configured to receive the flow that is substantially steam exiting the top vapor outlet of the hydroclone to remove minor amounts of entrained salt.
However, Wilson teaches a steam demister (Fig. 1, #168) used to coalesce and remove contaminated water droplets in the steam (i.e., a demister configured to receive the flow that is substantially steam exiting the top vapor outlet of the hydroclone to remove minor amounts of entrained salt; Paragraph 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the hydroclone as made obvious by Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak with the steam demister as taught by Wilson because the steam demister would remove contaminated water droplets in the steam.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Solomon et al, US Patent No. US 5472622 A (hereinafter Solomon).
Regarding Claim 8, Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak does not teach a lock hopper that removes a salt slurry from the quiescent vertical column.
However, Solomon teaches a salt basket (i.e., a lock hopper; Fig. 2, #50) which contains an isolation valve (Fig. 2, #I) to start or stop flow of salt crystals into the salt basket and a door (Fig. 1, #106) which retains the salt crystals within the salt basket until the salt is dumped to remove the salt crystals from the crystallizer (i.e., that removes a salt slurry from the quiescent vertical column; Fig. 2, #46; Col. 6, Lines 47-67 to Col. 7, Lines 1-12). Solomon further teaches that the salt basket reduces the expense and energy consumption of drying salt compared to alternative methods (Col. 1, Lines 41-67 to Col. 2, Lines 1-19).
Solomon is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to the crystallization of salts and to the application of zero liquid discharge type plants (Col. 1, Lines 5-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process made obvious by Holtzapple in view of Kresnyak with the salt basket as taught by Solomon because the salt basket would reduce the expense and energy consumption of the salt drying process.
Conclusion
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772