Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the combination of Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao do not disclose "the PUCCH configuration comprises a flag indicating a transmit power boost is to be applied for NACK transmissions" and "transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the PUCCH signal including a NACK for the data transmission based on the PUCCH transmit power control parameter, a PUCCH format of the PUCCH signal, the flag, and one of the first NACK transmission configuration or the second NACK transmission configuration," as recited in amended claim 1. Specifically, Applicant argues that none of the references, individually, disclose all of the claimed parameters. However, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As discussed in the claim rejections, the combination of the references discloses all of the claimed parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 12, 18, 193, 196-199, 201-202, 204, 207-210, 212-213, 215-216 and 219-223 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Imari et al. (US 2019/0053217) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0368453), and further in view of Rao et al. (US 2014/0293811)
Regarding claim 1, Al-Imari discloses a method of wireless communication (Al-Imari, paragraph [0010], wirelessly communicating), comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station (BS), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a PUCCH transmit power control parameter for a PUCCH signal, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a first negative acknowledgement (NACK) transmission configuration associated with a first PUCCH format, wherein the first NACK transmission configuration comprises a first NACK transmission power increment, (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC),
wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format, wherein the second NACK transmission configuration comprises a second NACK transmission power increment (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC);
wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises indicating a transmit power boost is to be applied for NACK transmissions (Al-Imari, paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC);
receiving, by the UE from the BS, a data transmission (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0022], downlink signal may comprise a data signal); and
transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) signal including a NACK for the data transmission (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH) based on the PUCCH transmit power control parameter, a PUCCH format of the PUCCH signal, the flag, and one of the first NACK transmission configuration or the second NACK transmission configuration (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520).
Al-Amari does not explicitly disclose a flag, and does not explicitly disclose that multiple different PUCCH transmission configurations (different sets of ACK/NACK power offset parameters) are present in a same configuration.
Lee discloses the PUCCH configuration comprises a first NACK transmission configuration associated with a first PUCCH format and the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration comprises a second NACK transmission power increment (Lee, paragraph [0285], URLLC service has a higher priority and reliability; paragraph [0286]-[0292], power boosting degree based ratio of NACK bits to ACK bits, drop lower priority ACK bits, power control parameter considering priority of services, PUCCH format 1/2/3 power parameter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for each PUCCH configuration to include multiple PUCCH configurations indicating different increases to a transmit power of the PUCCH signal, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve power by selectively increasing transmission power only an amount necessary to satisfy transmission requirements.
Rao discloses the transmission configuration includes a flag indicating whether a transmit power boost is to be applied for transmissions (Rao; paragraph [0035], power boosting flag).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for each configuration to include a flag indicating whether to increase a transmit power of the signal as in Rao, for each PUCCH configuration comprising a NACK transmission power increment, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve power by efficiently notifying whether to selectively increase transmission power only for types of transmissions that need higher power.
Regarding claim 8, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, a PUCCH transmit power control parameter comprises a first transmit power offset for a non-NACK transmission, and wherein the first NACK transmission power increment comprises a second transmit power offset different from the first transmit power offset (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Regarding claim 9, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the second transmit power offset corresponds to a higher transmit power than the first transmit power offset (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Regarding claim 12, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first NACK transmission configuration includes: receiving, by the UE from the BS, at least one of a NACK-specific PUCCH format 0 configuration, a NACK-specific PUCCH format 1 configuration, a NACK-specific PUCCH format 2 configuration, a NACK-specific PUCCH format 3 configuration, or a NACK-specific PUCCH format 4 configuration (Lee, paragraph [0293], PUCCH format 1/2/3 parameters defined so that power is determined by bits of transmitted uplink control information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include plurality of transmit power parameters for different PUCCH formats, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to attempt to use a power for each PUCHH format in accordance with 3GPP standards.
Regarding claim 18, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises: a first resource allocation for a non-NACK transmission; and a second resource allocation different from the first resource allocation (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0031], different configurations to transmit ACK and NACK may comprise different resource blocks).
Regarding claim 193, Al-Imari discloses an apparatus for wireless (Al-Imari, paragraph [0010], transmission receiver capable of wirelessly communicating with nodes of a wireless network), the apparatus comprising:
an interface configured to obtain a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration from a network entity, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a PUCCH transmit power control parameter for a PUCCH signal, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a PUCCH transmit power control parameter, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a first negative acknowledgement (NACK) transmission configuration associated with a first PUCCH format, wherein the first NACK transmission configuration comprises a first NACK transmission power increment, (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC),
wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC);
wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises indicating a transmit power boost is to be applied for NACK transmissions (Al-Imari, paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC);
a processing system configured to communicate with the network entity in accordance with the PUCCH transmit power control parameter, a PUCCH format of the PUCCH signal, the flag, and one of the first NACK transmission configuration or the second NACK transmission configuration (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC).
Al-Amari does not explicitly disclose a flag, and does not explicitly disclose that multiple different PUCCH transmission configurations (different sets of ACK/NACK power offset parameters) are present in a same configuration.
Lee discloses the PUCCH configuration comprises a first NACK transmission configuration associated with a first PUCCH format and the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration comprises a second NACK transmission power increment (Lee, paragraph [0285], URLLC service has a higher priority and reliability; paragraph [0286]-[0292], power boosting degree based ratio of NACK bits to ACK bits, drop lower priority ACK bits, power control parameter considering priority of services, PUCCH format 1/2/3 power parameter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for each PUCCH configuration to include multiple PUCCH configurations indicating different increases to a transmit power of the PUCCH signal, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve power by selectively increasing transmission power only an amount necessary to satisfy transmission requirements.
Rao discloses the transmission configuration includes a flag indicating whether a transmit power boost is to be applied for transmissions (Rao; paragraph [0035], power boosting flag).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for each configuration to include a flag indicating whether to increase a transmit power of the signal as in Rao, for each PUCCH configuration comprising a NACK transmission power increment, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve power by efficiently notifying whether to selectively increase transmission power only for types of transmissions that need higher power.
Regarding claim 196, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 217, wherein the mechanism to increase reliability comprises at least one of: increased transmission power; use of at least one of different time resources or frequency resources; transmitting the NACK feedback with repetition; or transmitting the NACK feedback on an uplink channel without multiplexing other signals therein (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0005], ACK/NACK feedback; paragraph [0035], transmit the NACK with more repetitions; paragraph [0038], transmitting NACK information with enhanced reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH;, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Regarding claim 197, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 196, wherein the repetition comprises at least one of: repetition in space using multiple beams, repetition in frequency, or repetition in time therein (Al-Imari, paragraph [0035], transmit the NACK with more repetitions).
Regarding claim 198, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 217, wherein the processing system communicates with the network entity in accordance with the acknowledgment feedback mode by: generating the NACK feedback for transmission to the network entity; or monitoring for the NACK feedback transmitted from the network entity in accordance with the acknowledgment feedback mode (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0005], ACK/NACK feedback; paragraph [0035], transmit the NACK with more repetitions; paragraph [0038], transmitting NACK information with enhanced reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH;, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Regarding claim 199, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the of claim 217, wherein the signaling comprises a downlink control information with a field indicating the acknowledgment feedback mode (Al-Imari, paragraph [0022], downlink control signal PDCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520).
Regarding claim 201, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 193. Al-Imari does not explicitly disclose, but Lee discloses wherein the signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or radio resource control (RRC) message (Lee, paragraph [282], configured via RRC signaling and/or MAC-CE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use RRC signaling and/or MAC-CE to configure power control commands, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conform to well known methods.
Regarding claim 202, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 201, wherein the RRC message comprises a RRC setup message, a RRC reconfiguration message, a RRC reestablishment message, or a RRC resume message (Lee, paragraph [282], configured via RRC signaling and/or MAC-CE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use RRC signaling and/or MAC-CE to configure power control commands, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conform to well known methods.
Claims 204 and 207-209 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 193 and 196-198, respectively.
Claims 210 and 212-213 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 199 and 201-202, respectively.
Claims 215 and 216 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 193. Al-Imari additionally discloses at least one antenna in paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 217, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 193, wherein the NACK transmission configuration is associated with an acknowledgment feedback mode in which a NACK feedback is transmitted with a mechanism to increase reliability relative to positive acknowledgment (ACK) feedback transmitted in the acknowledgment feedback mode or a second acknowledgment feedback mode (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0005], ACK/NACK feedback; paragraph [0038], transmitting NACK information with enhanced reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH;, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520).
Claims 218 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 117.
Regarding claim 219, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first NACK transmission configuration is associated with a first logical channel that is configured to serve ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) traffic, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration is associated with a second logical channel that is configured to serve non-URLLC traffic (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC) (Lee, paragraph [0295], ULRRC, non-ULRRC).
Regarding claim 220, Al-Imari in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a third NACK transmission configuration that corresponds to a third PUCCH format, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a fourth NACK transmission configuration that corresponds to a fourth PUCCH format, and wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a fifth NACK transmission configuration that corresponds to a fifth PUCCH format (Al-Imari; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520) (Lee, paragraph [0285], URLLC service has a higher priority and reliability; paragraph [0286]-[0292], power boosting degree may be pre-defined for each ratio of NACK bits to ACK bits, drop lower priority ACK bits, power control parameter considering priority of services, PUCCH format 1/2/3 power parameter the Examiner interprets each pre-defined boosting degree and each type of service to be a distinct NACK transmission configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for each PUCCH configuration to include multiple PUCCH configurations indicating different increases to a transmit power of the PUCCH signal, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve power by selectively increasing transmission power only an amount necessary to satisfy transmission requirements.
Regarding claim 221, Al-Imari in view of Lee discloses the method of The method of wherein the first PUCCH format includes a PUCCH format 0, a PUCCH format 1, a PUCCH format 2, a PUCCH format 3, or a PUCCH format 4 (Lee, paragraph [0293], PUCCH format 1/2/3 parameters defined so that power is determined by bits of transmitted uplink control information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include plurality of transmit power parameters for different PUCCH formats, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to attempt to use a power for each PUCHH format in accordance with 3GPP standards..
Regarding claim 222, Al-Imari in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the PUCCH signal with the transmit power boost applied to the transmit power of the PUCCH signal (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520) (Lee, paragraph [0285], URLLC service has a higher priority and reliability; paragraph [0286]-[0292], power boosting degree may be pre-defined for each ratio of NACK bits to ACK bits, drop lower priority ACK bits, power control parameter considering priority of services, PUCCH format 1/2/3 power parameter the Examiner interprets each pre-defined boosting degree and each type of service to be a distinct NACK transmission configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for each PUCCH configuration to include multiple PUCCH configurations indicating different increases to a transmit power of the PUCCH signal, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve power by selectively increasing transmission power only an amount necessary to satisfy transmission requirements.
Regarding claim 223, Al-Imari in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 222, wherein the transmit power boost corresponds to the first NACK transmission power increment or the second NACK transmission power increment based on the PUCCH format of the PUCCH signal (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520) (Lee, paragraph [0285], URLLC service has a higher priority and reliability; paragraph [0286]-[0292], power boosting degree may be pre-defined for each ratio of NACK bits to ACK bits, drop lower priority ACK bits, power control parameter considering priority of services, PUCCH format 1/2/3 power parameter the Examiner interprets each pre-defined boosting degree and each type of service to be a distinct NACK transmission configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for each PUCCH configuration to include multiple PUCCH configurations indicating different increases to a transmit power of the PUCCH signal, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve power by selectively increasing transmission power only an amount necessary to satisfy transmission requirements.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Imari et al. (US 2019/0053217) in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao, and further in view of Gotoh et al. (US 2021/0045092).
Regarding claim 10, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the PUCCH transmit power control parameter comprises a first target power for a non-NACK transmission, and wherein the first NACK transmission power increment comprises a second target power different from the first target received power (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Al-Imari does not explicitly disclose first target received power.
Gotoh discloses the receiving the PUCCH transmission configuration includes: receiving, by the UE from the BS, a PUCCH configuration including: a target received power for a transmission; and the NACK transmission configuration including a second target received power different from the first target received power (Gotoh, paragraph [0128], multiple target received powers used in dynamic scheduling; paragraph [0152], PUCCH transmission power control for URLLC for transmitting ACK/NACK; paragraph [0153], PUCCH target received power configured).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include plurality of target received power parameters, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to express power parameters in accordance with known methods.
Regarding claim 11, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao, and further in view of Gotoh discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the second target received power is greater than the first target received power (Al-Imari, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Imari et al. (US 2019/0053217) in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2021/0084640).
Regarding claim 13, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the method of claim 1.
Al-Imari does not explicitly disclose, but Kang discloses wherein the PUCCH configuration further includes:, a beam parameter indicating a number of transmission beams (Kang, paragraph [0260], number of beams configured differently according to PUCCH format for information having a high priority such as NACK).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure a number of beams for NACK transmission, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to increase the reliability of the NACK transmission.
Regarding claim 14, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao, and further in view of Kang discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the PUCCH signal is a first PUCCH signal, and wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the first PUCCH signal including the NACK in a first beam direction; and transmitting, by the UE to the BS based on the beam parameter, a second PUCCH signal including the NACK in a second beam direction different from the first beam direction (Kang, paragraph [0275], base station receives PUCCH using beams in two directions by composite reception).
Regarding claim 15, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao, and further in view of Kang discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the beam parameter further indicates a beam sequence including the first beam direction and the second beam direction (Kang, paragraph [0275], base station may sequentially change the PUCCH beams, base station receives PUCCH using beams in two directions).
Regarding claim 16, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao, and further in view of Kang discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the first PUCCH signal in the first beam direction during a first time period; and transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the second PUCCH signal in the second beam direction during a second time period different from the first time period (Kang, paragraph [0275], base station may sequentially change the PUCCH beams, base station receives PUCCH using beams in two directions).
Regarding claim 17, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao, and further in view of Kang discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS based on the beam parameter, the second PUCCH signal in the second beam direction simultaneously with the first PUCCH signal in the first beam direction (Kang, paragraph [0275], base station receives PUCCH using beams in two directions simultaneously).
Claim(s) 195 and 206 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Imari et al. (US 2019/0053217) in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao, and further in view of Yin et al. (US 2021/0314104).
Regarding claim 195, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 217, wherein the acknowledgment feedback mode comprises:
a first acknowledgment feedback mode in which the NACK feedback and the ACK feedback are transmitted, wherein the NACK feedback is transmitted with the mechanism to increase reliability relative to the ACK feedback (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0005], ACK/NACK feedback; paragraph [0038], transmitting NACK information with enhanced reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH;, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520); or
a second acknowledgment feedback mode in which the NACK feedback is transmitted with the mechanism (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0005], ACK/NACK feedback; paragraph [0038], transmitting NACK information with enhanced reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH;, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520).
Al-Imari does not explicitly disclose, but Yin discloses a second acknowledgment feedback mode in which only the NACK feedback is transmitted with the mechanism (Yin, paragraph [0118], ACK feedback off configuration, ACK does not need to be reported and only NACK is reported).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure a mode in which only the NACK feedback is transmitted, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to prevent misinterpretation of ACK signals.
Claim 206 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 195.
Claim(s) 203 and 214 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Imari et al. (US 2019/0053217) in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao, and further in view of Lu et al. (US 2021/0218510).
Regarding claim 203, Al-Imari in view of Lee, and further in view of Rao discloses the apparatus of claim 217. Al-Imari does not explicitly disclose, but Lu discloses the wherein the interface is further configured to: output, for transmission to the network entity, a request for the acknowledgment feedback mode, wherein the signaling is obtained after outputting the request (Lu, paragraph [0082], indication information sent by the network device after the terminal sends a resource request message to the network device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to request the acknowledgment feedback mode, in the invention of Al-Imari. The motivation to combine the references would have been to obtain information about the acknowledgement resources.
Claim 214 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 203.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US 2018/0368133) discloses, in paragraph [0121] and Table 2, a UL grant with a 1-bit power boost field.
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413