Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/20/2022, 8/16/2023 and 5/2/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 12, 18, 193, 196-199, 201-202, 204, 207-210, 212-213, 215-216 and 219-223 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Imari et al. (US 2019/0053217) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0368453), and further in view of Xiong et al. (US 2020/0236670).
Regarding claim 1, Al-Imari discloses a method of wireless communication (Al-Imari, paragraph [0010], wirelessly communicating), comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station (BS), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration (Al-Imari, paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520),
wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a PUCCH transmit power control parameter for a PUCCH signal (Al-Imari, paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520),
wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a first negative acknowledgement (NACK) transmission configuration associated with a first PUCCH format (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520),
wherein the first NACK transmission configuration comprises a first NACK transmission power increment (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520),
wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates a transmit power boost is to be applied to the NACK transmissions for the first PUCCH format (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520),
wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration comprises a second NACK transmission power increment (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520);
receiving, by the UE from the BS, a data transmission (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0022], downlink signal may comprise a data signal); and
transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) signal including a NACK for the data transmission (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH) based on the PUCCH transmit power control parameter, a PUCCH format of the first PUCCH format or the second PUCCH format, and one of the first NACK transmission configuration or the second NACK transmission configuration (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520).
Al- Imari does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration comprises a second NACK transmission power increment.
Lee discloses wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration comprises a second NACK transmission power increment (Lee, paragraph [0167], table 6, PUCCH formats 1, 1a, 1b, 2, 2a, 2b having numbers of bits; paragraph [0257], unlike ACK/NACK transmission using PUCCH format 1a/1b, a plurality of ACK/NACK information may be transmitted through a PUCCH format 3; paragraph [0258]-[0260], PUCCH format 3 having an ACK/NACK payload with a size of 12 bits; paragraph [0285], URLLC service has a higher priority and reliability; paragraph [0286]-[0292], power boosting degree based ratio of NACK bits to ACK bits, drop lower priority ACK bits, power control parameter considering priority of services, PUCCH format 1/2/3 power parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lee into the system of Al- Imari in order to reduce transmission error in URLLC service (Lee; [0022]).
The combination of Al- Imari and Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates the first PUCCH format is for NACK transmissions without other uplink control information.
Xiong discloses wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates the first PUCCH format is for NACK transmissions without other uplink control information (Xiong, paragraph [0208], table having PUCCH formats 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 having numbers of bits, format 0 has 1-2 symbols, 1-2 bits; paragraph [0267], a second PUCCH resource configured for 1-bit HARQ-NACK only transmission; a PUCCH format having only one bit that is used for NACK-only transmission means that no other UCI is included in that PUCCH format).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Xiong into the system the combination of Al- Imari and Lee does in order to improve link budget and uplink coverage for control channel communication (Xiong; [0156]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Rao, particularly Al-Imari discloses wherein, a PUCCH transmit power control parameter comprises a first transmit power offset for a non-NACK transmission, and wherein the first NACK transmission power increment comprises a second transmit power offset different from the first transmit power offset (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Rao, particularly Al-Imari discloses wherein the second transmit power offset corresponds to a higher transmit power than the first transmit power offset (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Regarding claim 12, Al-Imari does not explicitly disclose wherein the first NACK transmission configuration includes: receiving, by the UE from the BS, at least one of a NACK-specific PUCCH format 0 configuration, a NACK-specific PUCCH format 1 configuration, a NACK-specific PUCCH format 2 configuration, a NACK-specific PUCCH format 3 configuration, or a NACK-specific PUCCH format 4 configuration.
Lee discloses wherein the first NACK transmission configuration includes: receiving, by the UE from the BS, at least one of a NACK-specific PUCCH format 0 configuration, a NACK-specific PUCCH format 1 configuration, a NACK-specific PUCCH format 2 configuration, a NACK-specific PUCCH format 3 configuration, or a NACK-specific PUCCH format 4 configuration (Lee, paragraph [0293], PUCCH format 1/2/3 parameters defined so that power is determined by bits of transmitted uplink control information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lee into the system of Al- Imari in order to reduce transmission error in URLLC service (Lee; [0022]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Rao, particularly Al-Imari discloses wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises: a first resource allocation for a non-NACK transmission; and a second resource allocation different from the first resource allocation (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0031], different configurations to transmit ACK and NACK may comprise different resource blocks).
Regarding claim 193, Al-Imari discloses an apparatus for wireless (Al-Imari, paragraph [0010], transmission receiver capable of wirelessly communicating with nodes of a wireless network), the apparatus comprising:
an interface configured to obtain a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration from a network entity, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a PUCCH transmit power control parameter for a PUCCH signal, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a PUCCH transmit power control parameter, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a first negative acknowledgement (NACK) transmission configuration associated with a first PUCCH format, wherein the first NACK transmission configuration comprises a first NACK transmission power increment, (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC),
wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates a transmit power boost is to be applied to the NACK transmissions for the first PUCCH format (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520),
wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC); and
a processing system configured to communicate with the network entity in accordance with the PUCCH transmit power control parameter, a PUCCH format of the first PUCCH format or the second PUCCH format, and one of the first NACK transmission configuration or the second NACK transmission configuration (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC).
Al- Imari does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration comprises a second NACK transmission power increment.
Lee discloses wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration comprises a second NACK transmission power increment (Lee, paragraph [0167], table 6, PUCCH formats 1, 1a, 1b, 2, 2a, 2b having numbers of bits; paragraph [0257], unlike ACK/NACK transmission using PUCCH format 1a/1b, a plurality of ACK/NACK information may be transmitted through a PUCCH format 3; paragraph [0258]-[0260], PUCCH format 3 having an ACK/NACK payload with a size of 12 bits; paragraph [0285], URLLC service has a higher priority and reliability; paragraph [0286]-[0292], power boosting degree based ratio of NACK bits to ACK bits, drop lower priority ACK bits, power control parameter considering priority of services, PUCCH format 1/2/3 power parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lee into the system of Al- Imari in order to reduce transmission error in URLLC service (Lee; [0022]).
The combination of Al- Imari and Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates the first PUCCH format is for NACK transmissions without other uplink control information.
Xiong discloses wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates the first PUCCH format is for NACK transmissions without other uplink control information (Xiong, paragraph [0208], table having PUCCH formats 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 having numbers of bits, format 0 has 1-2 symbols, 1-2 bits; paragraph [0267], a second PUCCH resource configured for 1-bit HARQ-NACK only transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Xiong into the system the combination of Al- Imari and Lee does in order to improve link budget and uplink coverage for control channel communication (Xiong; [0156]).
Regarding claim 196, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Rao, particularly Al-Imari discloses wherein the mechanism to increase reliability comprises at least one of: increased transmission power; use of at least one of different time resources or frequency resources; transmitting the NACK feedback with repetition; or transmitting the NACK feedback on an uplink channel without multiplexing other signals therein (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0005], ACK/NACK feedback; paragraph [0035], transmit the NACK with more repetitions; paragraph [0038], transmitting NACK information with enhanced reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH;, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Regarding claim 197, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Rao, particularly Al-Imari discloses wherein the repetition comprises at least one of: repetition in space using multiple beams, repetition in frequency, or repetition in time therein (Al-Imari, paragraph [0035], transmit the NACK with more repetitions).
Regarding claim 198, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Rao, particularly Al-Imari discloses wherein the processing system communicates with the network entity in accordance with the acknowledgment feedback mode by: generating the NACK feedback for transmission to the network entity; or monitoring for the NACK feedback transmitted from the network entity in accordance with the acknowledgment feedback mode (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0005], ACK/NACK feedback; paragraph [0035], transmit the NACK with more repetitions; paragraph [0038], transmitting NACK information with enhanced reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH;, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Regarding claim 199, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Rao, particularly Al-Imari discloses wherein the signaling comprises a downlink control information with a field indicating the acknowledgment feedback mode (Al-Imari, paragraph [0022], downlink control signal PDCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520).
Regarding claim 201, Al-Imari does not explicitly disclose wherein the signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or radio resource control (RRC) message.
Lee discloses wherein the signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or radio resource control (RRC) message (Lee, paragraph [282], configured via RRC signaling and/or MAC-CE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lee into the system of Al- Imari in order to reduce transmission error in URLLC service (Lee; [0022]).
Regarding claim 202, Al-Imari does not explicitly disclose wherein the RRC message comprises a RRC setup message, a RRC reconfiguration message, a RRC reestablishment message, or a RRC resume message.
Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 201, wherein the RRC message comprises a RRC setup message, a RRC reconfiguration message, a RRC reestablishment message, or a RRC resume message (Lee, paragraph [282], configured via RRC signaling and/or MAC-CE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lee into the system of Al- Imari in order to reduce transmission error in URLLC service (Lee; [0022]).
Regarding claim 204, Al-Imari discloses an apparatus for wireless (Al-Imari, paragraph [0010], transmission receiver capable of wirelessly communicating with nodes of a wireless network), the apparatus comprising:
an interface configured to output, for transmission to a user equipment (UE), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration from a network entity, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a PUCCH transmit power control parameter for a PUCCH signal, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a PUCCH transmit power control parameter, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a first negative acknowledgement (NACK) transmission configuration associated with a first PUCCH format, wherein the first NACK transmission configuration comprises a first NACK transmission power increment, (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC),
wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates a transmit power boost is to be applied to the NACK transmissions for the first PUCCH format (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520),
wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC); and
a processing system configured to communicate with the UE in accordance with the PUCCH transmit power control parameter, a PUCCH format of the first PUCCH format or the second PUCCH format, and one of the first NACK transmission configuration or the second NACK transmission configuration (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC).
Al- Imari does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration comprises a second NACK transmission power increment.
Lee discloses wherein the PUCCH configuration further comprises a second NACK transmission configuration associated with a second PUCCH format different from the first PUCCH format, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration comprises a second NACK transmission power increment (Lee, paragraph [0167], table 6, PUCCH formats 1, 1a, 1b, 2, 2a, 2b having numbers of bits; paragraph [0257], unlike ACK/NACK transmission using PUCCH format 1a/1b, a plurality of ACK/NACK information may be transmitted through a PUCCH format 3; paragraph [0258]-[0260], PUCCH format 3 having an ACK/NACK payload with a size of 12 bits; paragraph [0285], URLLC service has a higher priority and reliability; paragraph [0286]-[0292], power boosting degree based ratio of NACK bits to ACK bits, drop lower priority ACK bits, power control parameter considering priority of services, PUCCH format 1/2/3 power parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lee into the system of Al- Imari in order to reduce transmission error in URLLC service (Lee; [0022]).
The combination of Al- Imari and Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates the first PUCCH format is for NACK transmissions without other uplink control information.
Xiong discloses wherein the PUCCH configuration indicates the first PUCCH format is for NACK transmissions without other uplink control information (Xiong, paragraph [0208], table having PUCCH formats 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 having numbers of bits, format 0 has 1-2 symbols, 1-2 bits; paragraph [0267], a second PUCCH resource configured for 1-bit HARQ-NACK only transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Xiong into the system the combination of Al- Imari and Lee does in order to improve link budget and uplink coverage for control channel communication (Xiong; [0156]).
Claims 204 and 207-209 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 193 and 196-198, respectively.
Claim 212 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 201.
Claim 213 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 202.
Claim 215 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 193. Al-Imari additionally discloses at least one antenna in paragraph [0037].
Claim 216 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 204. Al-Imari additionally discloses at least one antenna in paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 217, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Rao, particularly Al-Imari discloses wherein the NACK transmission configuration is associated with an acknowledgment feedback mode in which a NACK feedback is transmitted with a mechanism to increase reliability relative to positive acknowledgment (ACK) feedback transmitted in the acknowledgment feedback mode or a second acknowledgment feedback mode (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0005], ACK/NACK feedback; paragraph [0038], transmitting NACK information with enhanced reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH;, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520).
Claims 218 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 117.
Regarding claim 219, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Rao, particularly Al-Imari discloses wherein the first NACK transmission configuration is associated with a first logical channel that is configured to serve ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) traffic, and wherein the second NACK transmission configuration is associated with a second logical channel that is configured to serve non-URLLC traffic (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520; the Examiner interprets different sets of ACK/NACK power parameter offset values as different logical channels, such as would be needed for higher latency and reliability requirements for URLLC).
Regarding claim 220, Al-Imari does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a third NACK transmission configuration that corresponds to a third PUCCH format, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a fourth NACK transmission configuration that corresponds to a fourth PUCCH format, and wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a fifth NACK transmission configuration that corresponds to a fifth PUCCH format.
Lee discloses wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a third NACK transmission configuration that corresponds to a third PUCCH format, wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a fourth NACK transmission configuration that corresponds to a fourth PUCCH format, and wherein the PUCCH configuration comprises a fifth NACK transmission configuration that corresponds to a fifth PUCCH format (Lee, paragraph [0285], URLLC service has a higher priority and reliability; paragraph [0286]-[0292], power boosting degree may be pre-defined for each ratio of NACK bits to ACK bits, drop lower priority ACK bits, power control parameter considering priority of services, PUCCH format 1/2/3 power parameter the Examiner interprets each pre-defined boosting degree and each type of service to be a distinct NACK transmission configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lee into the system of Al- Imari in order to reduce transmission error in URLLC service (Lee; [0022]).
Regarding claim 221, the combination of Al-Imari and Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the first PUCCH format includes a PUCCH format 0, a PUCCH format 1, a PUCCH format 2, a PUCCH format 3, or a PUCCH format 4.
Xiong discloses wherein the first PUCCH format includes a PUCCH format 0, a PUCCH format 1, a PUCCH format 2, a PUCCH format 3, or a PUCCH format 4 (Xiong, paragraph [0208], table having PUCCH formats 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 having numbers of bits, format 0 has 1-2 symbols, 1-2 bits).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Xiong into the system the combination of Al- Imari and Lee does in order to improve link budget and uplink coverage for control channel communication (Xiong; [0156]).
Regarding claim 222, Al-Imari discloses wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the PUCCH signal with the transmit power boost applied to the transmit power of the PUCCH signal (Al-Imari, paragraph 0004], URLLC demands higher requirements for latency and reliability; paragraph [0030], offset power value dynamically configured by the network according to power headroom report; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH; paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520)
Regarding claim 223, Al-Imari does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmit power boost corresponds to the first NACK transmission power increment or the second NACK transmission power increment based on the PUCCH format of the PUCCH signal.
Lee discloses wherein the transmit power boost corresponds to the first NACK transmission power increment or the second NACK transmission power increment based on the PUCCH format of the PUCCH signal (Lee, paragraph [0167], table 6, PUCCH formats 1, 1a, 1b, 2, 2a, 2b having numbers of bits; paragraph [0257], unlike ACK/NACK transmission using PUCCH format 1a/1b, a plurality of ACK/NACK information may be transmitted through a PUCCH format 3; paragraph [0258]-[0260], PUCCH format 3 having an ACK/NACK payload with a size of 12 bits; paragraph [0285], URLLC service has a higher priority and reliability; paragraph [0286]-[0292], power boosting degree based ratio of NACK bits to ACK bits, drop lower priority ACK bits, power control parameter considering priority of services, PUCCH format 1/2/3 power parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lee into the system of Al- Imari in order to reduce transmission error in URLLC service (Lee; [0022]).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Imari et al. (US 2019/0053217) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0368453), and further in view of Xiong et al. (US 2020/0236670), and further in view of Gotoh et al. (US 2021/0045092).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong does not disclose wherein the PUCCH transmit power control parameter comprises a first target received power for a non-NACK transmission, and wherein the first NACK transmission power increment comprises a second target received power different from the first target received power.
Gotoh discloses wherein the PUCCH transmit power control parameter comprises a first target power for a non-NACK transmission, and wherein the first NACK transmission power increment comprises a second target power different from the first target received power (Gotoh, paragraph [0128], multiple target received powers used in dynamic scheduling; paragraph [0152], PUCCH transmission power control for URLLC for transmitting ACK/NACK; paragraph [0153], PUCCH target received power configured).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Gotoh into the system of the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong, in order to improve reliability for transmitting a transport block (Gotoh; [0012]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee, Xiong and Gotoh, particularly Al-Imari discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the second target received power is greater than the first target received power (Al-Imari, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520).
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Imari et al. (US 2019/0053217) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0368453), and further in view of Xiong et al. (US 2020/0236670), and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2021/0084640).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong does not disclose wherein the PUCCH configuration further includes: a beam parameter indicating a number of transmission beams.
Kang discloses wherein the PUCCH configuration further includes:, a beam parameter indicating a number of transmission beams (Kang, paragraph [0260], number of beams configured differently according to PUCCH format for information having a high priority such as NACK).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Kang into the system of the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong, in order that unnecessary power consumption can be reduced and communication disconnection and delay problems until recovery can be prevented (Kang; [0024]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong does not disclose wherein the PUCCH signal is a first PUCCH signal, and wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the first PUCCH signal including the NACK in a first beam direction; and transmitting, by the UE to the BS based on the beam parameter, a second PUCCH signal including the NACK in a second beam direction different from the first beam direction.
Kang discloses wherein the PUCCH signal is a first PUCCH signal, and wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the first PUCCH signal including the NACK in a first beam direction; and transmitting, by the UE to the BS based on the beam parameter, a second PUCCH signal including the NACK in a second beam direction different from the first beam direction (Kang, paragraph [0275], base station receives PUCCH using beams in two directions by composite reception).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Kang into the system of the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong, in order that unnecessary power consumption can be reduced and communication disconnection and delay problems until recovery can be prevented (Kang; [0024]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong does not disclose wherein the beam parameter further indicates a beam sequence including the first beam direction and the second beam direction.
Kang discloses wherein the beam parameter further indicates a beam sequence including the first beam direction and the second beam direction (Kang, paragraph [0275], base station may sequentially change the PUCCH beams, base station receives PUCCH using beams in two directions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Kang into the system of the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong, in order that unnecessary power consumption can be reduced and communication disconnection and delay problems until recovery can be prevented (Kang; [0024]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong does not disclose wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the first PUCCH signal in the first beam direction during a first time period; and transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the second PUCCH signal in the second beam direction during a second time period different from the first time period.
Kang discloses wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the first PUCCH signal in the first beam direction during a first time period; and transmitting, by the UE to the BS, the second PUCCH signal in the second beam direction during a second time period different from the first time period (Kang, paragraph [0275], base station may sequentially change the PUCCH beams, base station receives PUCCH using beams in two directions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Kang into the system of the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong, in order that unnecessary power consumption can be reduced and communication disconnection and delay problems until recovery can be prevented (Kang; [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong does not disclose wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS based on the beam parameter, the second PUCCH signal in the second beam direction simultaneously with the first PUCCH signal in the first beam direction.
Kang discloses wherein the transmitting includes: transmitting, by the UE to the BS based on the beam parameter, the second PUCCH signal in the second beam direction simultaneously with the first PUCCH signal in the first beam direction (Kang, paragraph [0275], base station receives PUCCH using beams in two directions simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Kang into the system of the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong, in order that unnecessary power consumption can be reduced and communication disconnection and delay problems until recovery can be prevented (Kang; [0024]).
Claim(s) 195 and 206 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Imari et al. (US 2019/0053217) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0368453), and further in view of Xiong et al. (US 2020/0236670), and further in view of Yin et al. (US 2021/0314104).
Regarding claim 195, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong, particularly Al-Imari discloses wherein the acknowledgment feedback mode comprises:
a first acknowledgment feedback mode in which the NACK feedback and the ACK feedback are transmitted, wherein the NACK feedback is transmitted with the mechanism to increase reliability relative to the ACK feedback (Al-Imari, Fig. 1, DL Signal; paragraph [0005], ACK/NACK feedback; paragraph [0038], transmitting NACK information with enhanced reliability; paragraph [0045], configuration to transmit a NACK in response to unsuccessful detection of the downlink signal, NACK transmitted on the PUCCH;, paragraph [0046], offset power level to transmit the NACK at power level greater than the ACK; paragraph [0047], receive the offset power level from network apparatus 520; paragraph [0049], receive set of resource blocks from network apparatus 520).
The combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong does not disclose a second acknowledgment feedback mode in which only the NACK feedback is transmitted with the mechanism.
Yin discloses a second acknowledgment feedback mode in which only the NACK feedback is transmitted with the mechanism (Yin, paragraph [0118], ACK feedback off configuration, ACK does not need to be reported and only NACK is reported).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Yin into the system of the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong, in order to improve communication capacity, speed, flexibility and efficiency (Yin; [0003]).
Claim 206 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 195.
Claim(s) 203 and 214 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Imari et al. (US 2019/0053217) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0368453), and further in view of Xiong et al. (US 2020/0236670), and further in view of Lu et al. (US 2021/0218510).
Regarding claim 203, the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong does not disclose does not explicitly disclose wherein the interface is further configured to: output, for transmission to the network entity, a request for the acknowledgment feedback mode, wherein the signaling is obtained after outputting the request.
Lu discloses wherein the interface is further configured to: output, for transmission to the network entity, a request for the acknowledgment feedback mode, wherein the signaling is obtained after outputting the request (Lu, paragraph [0082], indication information sent by the network device after the terminal sends a resource request message to the network device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lu into the system of the combination of Al-Imari, Lee and Xiong, in order to ensure reliability of data transmission (Lu; [0004]).
Claim 214 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 203.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kou et al. (US 20220174666) discloses for NACK-only feedback using PUCCH format 1, a first PUCCH resource for NACK-only transmission is defined. In some embodiments, the first PUCCH resource includes at least one of a RB, one or more OFDM symbols and an initial cyclic shift.
Wang et al. (US 20190363840) discloses the base station may schedule only one downlink time unit to fed back HARQ-ACK/NACK in one uplink time unit, and the user terminal performs a feedback according to the HARQ-ACK/NACK of one time unit without HARQ-ACK multiplexing.
/A.L.L/ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413