DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/09/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5-13 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jo et al. ("Antibacterial activities of Cu-MOFs containing glutarates and bipyridyl ligands").
Regarding claim 1, Jo discloses crystalline nanoporous metal–organic frameworks (MOFs) are continuously attracting much attention in a wide range of applications such as storage of energy-related gases (H2 and CH4), CO2 capture/separation… (Pg. 8084 left column par. 1 meeting limitation “sorbent material”). Four three-dimensional (3D) Cu-MOFs formulated as [Cu2(Glu)2(μ-L)]·x(H2O) (Glu is glutarate, and L is bpy = 4,4’-bipyridine (abstract). Preparation of [Cu2(Glu)2(bpy)]·3H2O… after cooling to room temperature, turquoise block crystals were retrieved by filtration (Pg. 8091 left col. par. 2 meeting limitation “a sorbent pellet comprising a sorbent material; wherein the sorbent material is a metal-organic material comprising metal species and ligands; and wherein the ligands are selected from 4,4’-bipyridine…”).
Jo further discloses in Table 1 crystallographic data for MOFs 1-4 including density for MOF 1 as 1.660 Mg m-3 (Pg. 8085) which is equivalent to 1.660 g/cm3 which falls within the claimed range of at least 0.8 g/cm3.
Regarding claim 3, Jo discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including wherein the metal species is copper.
Regarding claim 5, Jo discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above including wherein the sorbent material is of [Cu2(Glu)2(bpy)]·3H2O (Pg. 8091 left col. par. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. ("Antibacterial activities of Cu-MOFs containing glutarates and bipyridyl ligands") in view of Wilmer et al (WO 2013058845 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jo discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but is silent to “wherein the sorbent pellet comprises up to 10 wt.% of a binder”.
Wilmer discloses MOFs with an inorganic metal center block component and one or more organic linker/ligand block components ([0036]). Such compositions can include one or more MOF and a binder… for converting the MOF into a paste ([00155]). Such compositions can be processed to form a shaped body… such as pellets ([00155]). Such a composition can then be used as a means of storing gas, by exposing the composition to a gas and allowing the MOF of the composition to uptake gas ([00155]). The binder may have a concentration of from 0.1 to 20% by weight ([00156]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range taught by Wilmer (from 0.1 to 20% by weight) overlaps with the claimed range (up to 10 wt.%). Therefore, the range in Wilmer renders obvious the claimed range.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the sorbent pellet to comprise up to 10 wt.% of a binder in the composition of Jo in order to be able to shape the MOF into a pellet as taught by Wilmer.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. ("Antibacterial activities of Cu-MOFs containing glutarates and bipyridyl ligands"), in view of Schubert et al (US 20110011805 A1, cited in IDS 09/23/2022).
Jo discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but is silent to “wherein a largest dimension of the sorbent pellet is from 0.5 mm to 10 cm”.
Schubert discloses the use of porous metal organic frameworks as desiccants ([0001]), where the metal organic framework is a shaped body ([0056]). Preferred forms are pellets… the shaped bodies preferably have an extension in at least one direction in space in the range from 0.2 mm to 30 mm ([0059]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range taught by Schubert (from 0.2 mm to 30 mm) overlaps with the claimed range (from 0.5 mm to 10 cm). Therefore, the range in Schubert renders obvious the claimed range.
Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the largest dimension of the sorbent pellet to be from 0.5 mm to 10 cm in the composition of Jo in order for the sorbent pellet to have a preferred geometry for use as an absorbent as suggested by Schubert.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738