DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant claims are the national stage entry of PCT/IB2021/050678 filed 28 January 2021. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of domestic priority to provisional US application 62/968,104 filed 30 January 2020.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4, 6-14, and 16-24 are pending.
Claims 14 and 16-21 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 4, 6-13, and 22-24 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 22 recites a kit comprising “at least one applicator, at least one applicator comprising a floss…” whereas claim 23 recites, “the at least one applicator comprising a floss and further comprising a second applicator…” It is unclear if claim 22 is meant to comprise both a generic applicator AND a floss applicator or if claim 22 is meant to recite “at least one applicator, wherein at least one applicator comprises a floss…” As such, the metes and bounds of claim 22 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9-13, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka et a. (WO2018/092889) in view of Tosaki et al. (US 2003/0011191) in view of Farrar et al. (US 2022/0218743) in view of Ngo et al. (US 6,461,161) in view of Antler (US 2008/0052847).
Hatanaka teaches a tooth surface material that suppresses the progress of dental caries and hypersensitivity without impairing the aesthetic surface of the treatment site (abstract). The material may contain silver ions, iodide ions, and water [0008] wherein the silver ions can be derived from silver fluoride [0010]. The iodide ion can be derived from an iodide salt such as potassium iodide [0013] and can be present in from 5-60 mass% [0038]. The concentration of the silver ions is from 10-125,000 mass ppm (up to 12.5%) [0028]. The fluoride salt can be included in 0.01-5.0% of fluorine ion concentration [0036]. In one example, potassium iodide (4.55 g) is mixed with water (4.55 g) to prepare a 50 mass% solution [0058]. Next, silver fluoride (0.9 g) is added to the solution to create a tooth surface material comprising silver cations, fluoride anions, iodide anions, and water, as required in instant claim 1 [0058]. Hatanaka teaches that application of the treatment material can be done by treating the tooth surface with a microbrush that has been treated with the material [0075].
Hatanaka does not teach a package for the applicator nor does it teach using floss as the applicator. Hatanaka does not teach using the silver in 13-20 wt%.
Tosaki teaches that prophylactic measures for preventing dental caries include the use of dental floss or the use of an interdental brush [0030].
Farrar teaches that silver fluoride solutions are know to provide protection to affected teeth by killing bacteria associated with dental caries and promoting the remineralization of the collagen [0002]. Silver fluoride can also reduce tooth sensitivity [0002]. It is also disclosed that silver fluoride solutions have poor stability and the AgF tends to precipitate out upon storage [0005-0006]. To solve this issue, Farrar teaches that simply adjusting the pH to a range of 4.0-5.3 achieves solution stability [0011]. Farrar demonstrates stability up to 37.6% w/v (Table 1).
Ngo teaches that a concentration of silver from 2-75 wt% is preferred for treating dental caries (abstract; col 2, lns 45-50).
Antler teaches that interdental brushes can be stored in suitably sized containers for carrying in one’s pocket or purse [0004]. The container is sealed for sanitary purposes and to keep the brush clean [0005, 0008]. In addition, the sealed container can keep any moisture from leaking (and by the same rationale, prevent any moisture from entering the packaging) [0008].
It would have been prima facie obvious to apply the composition of Hatanaka to the teeth by way of a microbrush that has been saturated with the tooth surface material in order to suppress the progress of dental caries and reduce hypersensitivity. Since the brush has to comprise the dental formulation in order to apply to the teeth, it would have been obvious to pre-saturate the brush prior to tooth application. At this point, the brush/applicator is in contact with the silver-fluoride solution. The dental treatment composition comprises silver fluoride (source of silver cations and source of fluoride anions), potassium iodide (source of iodide anions), and water as required in instant claim 1. It would have been obvious to use floss in place of the microbrush, or to use both floss and a microbrush (interdental brush) based on the teachings in the prior art that both are useful for treating dental caries. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). In addition, it would have been obvious to package the application device (floss or microbrush) in a package that is sealed for sanitary reasons as well as to prevent moisture from leaking out of, or in to, the container.
Regarding the amounts of ions, Hatanaka teaches the silver cation can be used in from 10-125,000 mass ppm, which is 0.001-12.5%, while Ngo teaches that a concentration of silver from 2-75 wt% is preferred for treating dental caries. That being said, Farrar recognized the solution instability of higher concentrations of silver and determined that adjusting the pH to a range of 4.0-5.3 achieves solution stability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to increase the amount of silver ions to 13-20 wt% so as to impart a stronger response to dental caries and further adjust the pH of the solution to counter solubility issues. Hatanaka teaches the fluoride anion can be present in from 0.01-5.0% and the iodide anions from 5-60%. Regarding the amount of water, examples include water in various amounts including 30% [0056], 45% [0058], and 93% [0055]. It would have been obvious to use water in any amount ranging from 30-93%, rendering obvious instant claims 9-10. Hatanaka teaches that the silver ions are useful as antibacterial agents and for suppressing dental caries [0023], thus it would have been obvious to adjust the amount outside the suggested range as high as 75%, as taught by Ngo. That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the amount of silver ions can be viewed as a variable which achieves the recognized result of successfully treating a specific patient. The optimum or workable range of silver ions can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Appellants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts of silver ions nonobvious. As such, it would have been obvious to use silver ions in 13-20%, fluoride ions in 2%, and iodide ions in 35%, thus rendering obvious the ratios and amounts of instant claims 6-7. A kit to treat dental caries comprising the applicator floss and/or microbrush, along with instructions, would have been obvious to prepare in order to provide the product of Hatanaka to a patient in need thereof, thus rendering obvious instant claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9-13, and 22-23.
Claims 1, 4, 6-13, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka et a. (WO2018/092889) in view of Tosaki et al. (US 2003/0011191) in view of Farrar et al. (US 2022/0218743) in view of Ngo et al. (US 6,461,161) in view of Antler (US 2008/0052847) in view of Sipos (US 4,396,599).
Hatanaka, Tosaki, and Antler, as applied supra, are herein applied in their entirety for the teachings of a dental caries treatment comprising silver, fluoride, and iodide.
Hatanaka does not teach further including thiocyanate anion in the composition.
Sipos teaches that the rate of development of dental enamel caries can be prevented or slowed by daily application of a composition comprising fluoride salt and zinc salt in a ratio of at least 7:1 (col 2, lns 10-22). The fluoride salt can be ammonium fluoride and the zinc salt can be zinc thiocyanate (col 2, lns 28-39).
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the dental caries treatment composition comprising silver fluoride (source of silver cations and source of fluoride anions), potassium iodide (source of iodide anions), and water as taught by Hatanaka, Tosaki, and Antler, and further include zinc thiocyanate in order to further slow the rate of dental caries development. The thiocyanate anion would be used in a ratio of at least 7:1 with the fluoride (and accordingly, the silver cations) as taught by Sipos, which renders obvious instant claim 8. Claims 1, 4, 6-13, and 22-24 are accordingly obvious in view of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 January 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues, in pages 6-7 of their remarks, that Hatanaka clearly shows in Example 17 (Table 4) that the composition having silver cations present in >13 wt% results in silver iodide precipitation and nothing in the reference would motivate the skilled artisan to modify the composition to include greater than 12.5 wt% of silver cations.
In response, the Examiner has provided a human translation of the Tables of Hatanaka. As can be seen, in Example 17 the silver iodide is present in 129,500 ppm (which equates to 12.95% silver ions) along with potassium iodide and water. The composition contains undissolved matter. However, Example 10 comprises silver iodide in a similar amount (12.42% silver ions) and is found to be completely dissolved. Moreover, Tables 5-6 provide examples wherein the silver (25.50%) is completely dissolved in water. When solution A and B are mixed, in Table 6, the silver ions would go down to 12.75% and there is no indication of precipitation. As such, it is unclear if the amount of silver iodide is the cause of undissolved material in Example 17 since concentrations of similar and greater amounts of silver cation in Hatanaka did not result in precipitation. Therefore, the argument that greater amounts of silver cation result in precipitation is just not supported by the evidence in Hatanaka. That being said, Farrar does recognize that silver can precipitate in higher concentration and provides the solution of lowering the pH of the composition to the range of from 4.0-5.3. Thus, it would have been obvious to offset the issue of silver precipitation by acidifying the solution to lower the pH.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6-13, and 22-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,666,516 in view of Tosaki et al. (US 2003/0011191) in view of Antler (US 2008/0052847).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘516 claims are towards an aqueous composition comprising silver cations, thiocyanate anions, fluoride anions, and water with overlapping ranges and ratios of concentrations. Claim 10 of ‘516 requires the kit to have an applicator. Tosaki teaches that prophylactic measures for preventing dental caries include the use of dental floss or the use of an interdental brush [0030]. Antler teaches that interdental brushes can be stored in suitably sized containers for carrying in one’s pocket or purse [0004]. The container is sealed for sanitary purposes and to keep the brush clean [0005, 0008]. In addition, the sealed container can keep any moisture from leaking (and by the same rationale, prevent any moisture from entering the packaging) [0008]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the floss and/or microbrush of Tosaki in the package of Antler with the composition of ‘516 which requires an applicator, thus reading on instant claims 1, 4, 6-13, and 22-23.
Claims 1, 4, 6-13, and 22-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,793,734 in view of Tosaki et al. (US 2003/0011191) in view of Antler (US 2008/0052847).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘734 claims are towards an aqueous composition comprising silver cations, iodide anions, fluoride anions, and water with overlapping ranges and ratios of concentrations. Claim 18 of ‘734 requires the kit to have an applicator. Tosaki teaches that prophylactic measures for preventing dental caries include the use of dental floss or the use of an interdental brush [0030]. Antler teaches that interdental brushes can be stored in suitably sized containers for carrying in one’s pocket or purse [0004]. The container is sealed for sanitary purposes and to keep the brush clean [0005, 0008]. In addition, the sealed container can keep any moisture from leaking (and by the same rationale, prevent any moisture from entering the packaging) [0008]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the floss and/or microbrush of Tosaki in the package of Antler with the composition of ‘734 which requires an applicator, thus reading on instant claims 1, 4, 6-13, and 22-23.
Claims 1, 4, 6-13, and 22-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/469,859 in view of in view of Tosaki et al. (US 2003/0011191) in view of Antler (US 2008/0052847).
The ‘859 claims are towards an aqueous composition comprising silver cations, iodide anions, fluoride anions, and water with overlapping ranges and ratios of concentrations. Claim 20 of ‘859 requires the kit to have an applicator. Tosaki teaches that prophylactic measures for preventing dental caries include the use of dental floss or the use of an interdental brush [0030]. Antler teaches that interdental brushes can be stored in suitably sized containers for carrying in one’s pocket or purse [0004]. The container is sealed for sanitary purposes and to keep the brush clean [0005, 0008]. In addition, the sealed container can keep any moisture from leaking (and by the same rationale, prevent any moisture from entering the packaging) [0008]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the floss and/or microbrush of Tosaki in the package of Antler with the composition of ‘859 which requires an applicator, thus reading on instant claims 1, 4, 6-13, and 22-23.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 January 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues, on pages 7-8 of their remarks, that none of the copending applications teach an applicator housed within a package.
In response, Antler is applied as a secondary references for its teaching that interdental brushes can be stored in suitably sized containers for carrying in one’s pocket or purse
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613