DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is amended in view of applicant’s response filed 1/28/2026. Claims 20 and 22 are canceled. Claim 21 remain withdrawn from consideration. Therefore, claims 1-19 and 23 are currently under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR3079240(FR240), whose machine translation is attached and relied upon, and further in view of GB965837A(GB837)
FR240 teaches a method for treating Al or Al alloy part(lines 112-118), comprising:
Anodizing the part in an aqueous bath comprising sulfuric acid in a concentration of 150-250g/l at 15-25°C(lines 219-230, 248-258), followed by applying a direct voltage that rises at a rate of 1-10V/min until a voltage value of 8-20V is reached(lines 253-258);
Clogging the anodic layer in an aqueous solution comprising deionized water with resistivity greater than 10MOhms(lines 394-398).
However, FR240 does not explicitly teach the claimed alkali metal or alkaline earth metal silicate in the clogging treatment solution.
GB837 teaches treating a porous anodic layer on an Al surface with a silicate containing solution sodium silicate in a concentration of 1g/l to saturation or 0.1-30% (page 3 lines 39-59) at a temperature of 150 to the boiling point(page 3, lines 59-69).33 Examples of GB837 further teaches a treatment temperature ranges from 190°F to 210°F(page 4-5). GB837 further teaches that the anodic layer is formed by a sulfuric acid containing electrolyte(page 1, lines 22-37).
Regarding claims 1-19 and 23, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the sodium silicate solution as taught by GB837 into the clogging solution of FR240 in order to greatly improve the corrosion resistance of the anodic layer as taught by GB837(page 1 line 76 and page 2 line 2).
Additionally, the various process conditions such as the anodizing temperature the amount of sodium silicate, and silicate treatment temperature, clogging final voltage in the process of FR240 in view of GB837 overlap the claimed process conditions. The lower limit of the voltage rise rate(i.e. 1V/min) in the process of FR240 is very close to the claimed less than 1V/min. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP2144.05.
With respect to amended clogging treatment time of about 15 to about 25 minutes as recited in claim 1, GB837 further teaches that the sodium silicate treatment of the porous anodic layer on the surface of Al or Al alloy may comprises two treatment steps, both using a sodium silicate containing solution, in an total amount of 5-30minutes. Therefore, the two step sodium silicate treatment as taught by FR240 in view of GB837 also reads on the claimed clogging step, with a treatment time encompassing the amended treatment time of about 15 to about 25 minutes. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (overlapping ranges). The selection of claimed clogging treatment time from the sodium silicate treatment time disclosed by FR240 in view of GB837 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since FR240 in view of GB837 teaches the same sealing function conducted during the sodium silicate treatment time of FE240 in view of GB837.
Regarding claim 4, since FR240 in view of GB837 teaches a process that applies to Al alloy, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have applied the process of FR240 in view of GB837 to any of the claimed Al alloy with expected success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the response file 1/28/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive for the same reason set forth in section 6 above.
.Conclusion
LOIS ZHENG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/LOIS L ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733