Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, 12-14, 17-18, 20-22, 25-27, 30-31, 33-35 and 38-40 are pending.
Claims 2-3, 6, 10-11, 15-16, 19, 23-24, 28-29, 32 and 36-37 are canceled.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, 12-14, 17-18, 20-22, 25-27, 30-31, 33-35 and 38-40 stand rejected.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9, 14, 17-18, 22, 27, 30-31, 35 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220094500 A1) in view of Yuan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220046672 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Liu and Yuan.
In regard to Claim 1, Liu teaches A method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 40, FIG. 1), comprising: receiving a first downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #1-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP #1, Para. 41, FIG. 1).
Liu teaches receiving a second downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #2-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) associated with a second transmission reception point (TRP #2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) different from the first transmission reception point (TRP #1, Para. 41, FIG. 1).
Liu teaches receiving an indication of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for transmitting at least one SRS (each TRP may transmit DCI to UE to schedule the UE to transmit PUSCH and/or SRS, Para. 47, FIG. 2. In addition to assign the panel IDs explicitly, another way to assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE used for codebook and non-codebook based UL transmission, wherein each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel. In other words, the identities of SRS resource sets may act as the panel IDs, Para. 48).
Liu teaches transmitting the at least one SRS in a first set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #1 through Panel #1, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) of the indicated SRS resource (assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) using at least one of a first spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #1-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) or a first precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal.
Liu teaches transmitting the at least one SRS in a second set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #2 through Panel #2, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) of the indicated SRS resource (assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) using at least one of a second spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #2-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) or a second precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal, the first set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #1 through Panel #1, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) being different from the second set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #2 through Panel #2, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2).
Although Liu teaches transmitting the at least one SRS in a first set, Liu fails to teach a first set of symbols, and although Liu teaches transmitting the at least one SRS in a second set, Liu fails to teach a second set of symbols.
Yuan teaches a first set of symbols (an uplink resource 422, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A).
Yuan teaches a second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Liu since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Liu to permit UE to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Liu teaches the method.
Liu fails to teach the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Liu since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Liu to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Liu teaches the method.
Liu fails to teach the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive, and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive (Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A), and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Liu since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Liu to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 9, Liu teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted on the indicated SRS resource of an SRS resource set associated with codebook-based transmission (each TRP may transmit DCI to UE to schedule the UE to transmit PUSCH and/or SRS, Para. 47, FIG. 2. In addition to assign the panel IDs explicitly, another way to assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE used for codebook based UL transmission, Para. 48).
In regard to Claim 14, Liu teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (UE, Para. 40, FIG. 1), comprising: a memory (memory, Para. 72, FIG. 6); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (memories are connected with the processors to store various pieces of information for driving the processors, Para. 72, FIG. 6) and configured to: receive a first downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #1-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP #1, Para. 41, FIG. 1).
Liu teaches receive a second downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #2-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) associated with a second transmission reception point (TRP #2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) different from the first transmission reception point (TRP #1, Para. 41, FIG. 1).
Liu teaches receive an indication of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for transmitting at least one SRS (each TRP may transmit DCI to UE to schedule the UE to transmit PUSCH and/or SRS, Para. 47, FIG. 2. In addition to assign the panel IDs explicitly, another way to assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE used for codebook and non-codebook based UL transmission, wherein each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel. In other words, the identities of SRS resource sets may act as the panel IDs, Para. 48).
Liu teaches transmit the at least one SRS in a first set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #1 through Panel #1, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) of the indicated SRS resource (assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) using at least one of a first spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #1-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) or a first precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal.
Liu teaches transmit the at least one SRS in a second set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #2 through Panel #2, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) of the indicated SRS resource (assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) using at least one of a second spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #2-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) or a second precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal, the first set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #1 through Panel #1, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) being different from the second set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #2 through Panel #2, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2), the first set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #1 through Panel #1, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) being different from the second set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #2 through Panel #2, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2).
Although Liu teaches transmit the at least one SRS in a first set, Liu fails to teach a first set of symbols, and although Liu teaches transmit the at least one SRS in a second set, Liu fails to teach a second set of symbols.
Yuan teaches a first set of symbols (an uplink resource 422, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A).
Yuan teaches a second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Liu since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Liu to permit UE to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 14, Liu teaches the apparatus.
Liu fails to teach the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Liu since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Liu to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 14, Liu teaches the apparatus.
Liu fails to teach the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive, and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive (Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A), and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Liu since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Liu to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 22, Liu teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted on the indicated SRS resource of an SRS resource set associated with codebook-based transmission (each TRP may transmit DCI to UE to schedule the UE to transmit PUSCH and/or SRS, Para. 47, FIG. 2. In addition to assign the panel IDs explicitly, another way to assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE used for codebook based UL transmission, Para. 48), and the indicated SRS resource is associated with both the first downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #1-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) and the second downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #2-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 27, An apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 40, FIG. 1), comprising: means for receiving a first downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #1-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP #1, Para. 41, FIG. 1).
Liu teaches means for receiving a second downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #2-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) associated with a second transmission reception point (TRP #2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) different from the first transmission reception point (TRP #1, Para. 41, FIG. 1).
Liu teaches means for receiving an indication of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for transmitting at least one SRS (each TRP may transmit DCI to UE to schedule the UE to transmit PUSCH and/or SRS, Para. 47, FIG. 2. In addition to assign the panel IDs explicitly, another way to assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE used for codebook and non-codebook based UL transmission, wherein each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel. In other words, the identities of SRS resource sets may act as the panel IDs, Para. 48).
Liu teaches means for transmitting the at least one SRS in a first set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #1 through Panel #1, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) of the indicated SRS resource (assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) using at least one of a first spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #1-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) or a first precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal.
Liu teaches means for transmitting the at least one SRS in a second set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #2 through Panel #2, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) of the indicated SRS resource (assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) using at least one of a second spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #2-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) or a second precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal, the first set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #1 through Panel #1, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) being different from the second set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #2 through Panel #2, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2).
Although Liu teaches means for transmitting the at least one SRS in a first set, Liu fails to teach a first set of symbols, and although Liu teaches means for transmitting the at least one SRS in a second set, Liu fails to teach means for transmitting the at least one SRS in a second set of symbols.
Yuan teaches a first set of symbols (an uplink resource 422, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A).
Yuan teaches a second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Liu since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Liu to permit UE to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 30, as presented in the rejection of Claim 27, Liu teaches the apparatus.
Liu fails to teach the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Liu since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Liu to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 31, as presented in the rejection of Claim 27, Liu teaches the apparatus.
Liu fails to teach the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive, and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive (Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A), and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Liu since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Liu to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 35, Liu teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted on the indicated SRS resource of an SRS resource set associated with codebook-based transmission (each TRP may transmit DCI to UE to schedule the UE to transmit PUSCH and/or SRS, Para. 47, FIG. 2. In addition to assign the panel IDs explicitly, another way to assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE used for codebook based UL transmission, Para. 48), and the at least one SRS resource is associated with both the first downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #1-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) and the second downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #2-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 40, Liu teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable code (memories are connected with the processors to store various pieces of information for driving the processors, Para. 72, FIG. 6) for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 40, FIG. 1), the code when executed by a processor cause the processor to: receive a first downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #1-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP #1, Para. 41, FIG. 1).
Liu teaches receive a second downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #2-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) associated with a second transmission reception point (TRP #2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) different from the first transmission reception point (TRP #1, Para. 41, FIG. 1).
Liu teaches receive an indication of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for transmitting at least one SRS (each TRP may transmit DCI to UE to schedule the UE to transmit PUSCH and/or SRS, Para. 47, FIG. 2. In addition to assign the panel IDs explicitly, another way to assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE used for codebook and non-codebook based UL transmission, wherein each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel. In other words, the identities of SRS resource sets may act as the panel IDs, Para. 48).
Liu teaches transmit the at least one SRS in a first set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #1 through Panel #1, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) of the indicated SRS resource (assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) using at least one of a first spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #1-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) or a first precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal.
Liu teaches transmit the at least one SRS in a second set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #2 through Panel #2, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) of the indicated SRS resource (assign the panel IDs is by configuring more than one SRS resource set for one UE, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) using at least one of a second spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal (CSI-RS #2-2, Para. 41, FIG. 1) or a second precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal, the first set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #1 through Panel #1, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2) being different from the second set (UE may transmit SRS to TRP #2 through Panel #2, Para. 47, FIG. 2. Each SRS resource set corresponds to one UE panel, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2).
Although Liu teachestransmit the at least one SRS in a first set, Liu fails to teach a first set of symbols, and although Liu teaches transmit the at least one SRS in a second set, Liu fails to teach a second set of symbols.
Yuan teaches a first set of symbols (an uplink resource 422, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A).
Yuan teaches a second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Liu since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Liu to permit UE to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
Claim(s) 7-8, 12, 20-21, 25, 33-34 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yuan, and further in view of Choi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200366531 A1), hereafter referred to as Choi.
In regard to Claim 7, Liu teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted using at least one of the first spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) or the first precoding configuration in the first set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot i (simultaneous SRS resource or SRS ports will be transmitted with the same power to different TRPs using different panels, Para. 36), the at least one SRS is further transmitted using at least one of the second spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) or the second precoding configuration in the second set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot i (simultaneous SRS resource or SRS ports will be transmitted with the same power to different TRPs using different panels, Para. 36).
Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach indicated SRS resource at least partially occurs in each of slot i and slot i+1, and Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach the indicated SRS resource comprising the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols different from the first set of symbols in each slot, and Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration in the second set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot i+1.
Choi teaches indicated SRS resource at least partially occurs in each of slot i and slot i+1 (A sounding is performed in a hoppling pattern when nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 is applied again by a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 within Slot n and nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs).
Choi teaches the indicated SRS resource comprising the first set of symbols (nSRS=0, 1, Para. 111, FIG. 8. nSRS=8, 9, Para. 111, FIG. 8) and the second set of symbols different from the first set of symbols (nSRS=2, 3, Para. 111, FIG. 8. nSRS=10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8) in each slot (FIG. 8 shows Slot n and Slot n+2T_srs).
Choi teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (performing precoding at an RF stage. In the hybrid beamforming scheme, each of a baseband stage and an RF stage uses a precoding method, Para. 69) in the second set of symbols (nSRS=10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8) of the indicated SRS resource (a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs) in slot i+1 (FIG. 8 shows Slot n+2T_srs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Choi provides a technique for transmitting sounding reference signals in symbols across different slots, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit a UE to make SRS transmissions to be conducted in multiple slots and to organize the SRS transmissions though specific symbols within slots.
In regard to Claim 8, Liu teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the second spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) or the second precoding configuration in the first set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot (simultaneous SRS resource or SRS ports will be transmitted with the same power to different TRPs using different panels, Para. 36).
Although Liu in view of Yuan teaches indicated SRS resource in slot, Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach slot i+1.
Choi teaches the first set of symbols (nSRS=8, 9, Para. 111, FIG. 8) of the indicated SRS resource in slot i+1 (A sounding is performed in a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Choi provides a technique for transmitting sounding reference signals in symbols across different slots, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit a UE to make SRS transmissions to be conducted in multiple slots and to organize the SRS transmissions though specific symbols within slots.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Liu in view of Yuan teaches the at least one SRS.
Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach the at least one SRS is associated with an SRS resource set comprising a first SRS resource and a second SRS resource that each includes a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the first set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the first set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a first spatial domain filter or a first precoding configuration and the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the second set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the second set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a second spatial domain filter or a second precoding configuration.
Choi teaches the at least one SRS is associated with an SRS resource set comprising a first SRS resource and a second SRS resource that each includes a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the first set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the first set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a first spatial domain filter or a first precoding configuration c, and the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the second set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the second set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a second spatial domain filter or a second precoding configuration (performing precoding at an RF stage. In the hybrid beamforming scheme, each of a baseband stage and an RF stage uses a precoding method, Para. 69. In a next slot (i.e., n+2T_srs), is a sounding is performed in a hoppling pattern when nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 is applied again by a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Choi provides a technique for transmitting sounding reference signals in symbols across different slots, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit a UE to make SRS transmissions to be conducted in multiple slots and to organize the SRS transmissions though specific symbols within slots.
In regard to Claim 20, Liu teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted using at least one of the first spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) or the first precoding configuration in the first set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot i (simultaneous SRS resource or SRS ports will be transmitted with the same power to different TRPs using different panels, Para. 36), the at least one SRS is further transmitted using at least one of the second spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) or the second precoding configuration in the second set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot i (simultaneous SRS resource or SRS ports will be transmitted with the same power to different TRPs using different panels, Para. 36).
Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach indicated SRS resource at least partially occurs in each of slot i and slot i+1, and Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach the indicated SRS resource comprising a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols different from the first set of symbols in each slot, and Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration in the second set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot i+1.
Choi teaches indicated SRS resource at least partially occurs in each of slot i and slot i+1 (A sounding is performed in a hoppling pattern when nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 is applied again by a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 within Slot n and nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs).
Choi teaches the indicated SRS resource comprising a first set of symbols (nSRS=0, 1, Para. 111, FIG. 8. nSRS=8, 9, Para. 111, FIG. 8) and a second set of symbols different from the first set of symbols (nSRS=2, 3, Para. 111, FIG. 8. nSRS=10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8) in each slot (FIG. 8 shows Slot n and Slot n+2T_srs).
Choi teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (performing precoding at an RF stage. In the hybrid beamforming scheme, each of a baseband stage and an RF stage uses a precoding method, Para. 69) in the second set of symbols (nSRS=10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8) of the indicated SRS resource (a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs) in slot i+1 (FIG. 8 shows Slot n+2T_srs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Choi provides a technique for transmitting sounding reference signals in symbols across different slots, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit a UE to make SRS transmissions to be conducted in multiple slots and to organize the SRS transmissions though specific symbols within slots.
In regard to Claim 21, Liu teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the second spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) or the second precoding configuration in the first set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot (simultaneous SRS resource or SRS ports will be transmitted with the same power to different TRPs using different panels, Para. 36).
Although Liu in view of Yuan teaches indicated SRS resource in slot, Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach slot i+1.
Choi teaches the first set of symbols (nSRS=8, 9, Para. 111, FIG. 8) of the indicated SRS resource in slot i+1 (A sounding is performed in a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Choi provides a technique for transmitting sounding reference signals in symbols across different slots, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit a UE to make SRS transmissions to be conducted in multiple slots and to organize the SRS transmissions though specific symbols within slots.
In regard to Claim 25, as presented in the rejection of Claim 14, Liu in view of Yuan teaches the at least one SRS.
Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach the at least one SRS is associated with an SRS resource set comprising a first SRS resource and a second SRS resource that each includes a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the first set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the first set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a first spatial domain filter or a first precoding configuration, and the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the second set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the second set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a second spatial domain filter or a second precoding configuration.
Choi teaches the at least one SRS is associated with an SRS resource set comprising a first SRS resource and a second SRS resource that each includes a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the first set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the first set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a first spatial domain filter or a first precoding configuration, and the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the second set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the second set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a second spatial domain filter or a second precoding configuration (performing precoding at an RF stage. In the hybrid beamforming scheme, each of a baseband stage and an RF stage uses a precoding method, Para. 69. In a next slot (i.e., n+2T_srs), is a sounding is performed in a hoppling pattern when nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 is applied again by a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Choi provides a technique for transmitting sounding reference signals in symbols across different slots, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit a UE to make SRS transmissions to be conducted in multiple slots and to organize the SRS transmissions though specific symbols within slots.
In regard to Claim 33, Liu teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted using at least one of the first spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) or the first precoding configuration in the first set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot i (simultaneous SRS resource or SRS ports will be transmitted with the same power to different TRPs using different panels, Para. 36), the at least one SRS is further transmitted using at least one of the second spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) or the second precoding configuration in the second set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot i (simultaneous SRS resource or SRS ports will be transmitted with the same power to different TRPs using different panels, Para. 36).
Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach indicated SRS resource at least partially occurs in each of slot i and slot i+1, and Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach the indicated SRS resource comprising a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols different from the first set of symbols in each slot, and Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration in the second set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot i+1.
Choi teaches indicated SRS resource at least partially occurs in each of slot i and slot i+1 (A sounding is performed in a hoppling pattern when nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 is applied again by a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 within Slot n and nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs).
Choi teaches the indicated SRS resource comprising a first set of symbols (nSRS=0, 1, Para. 111, FIG. 8. nSRS=8, 9, Para. 111, FIG. 8) and a second set of symbols different from the first set of symbols (nSRS=2, 3, Para. 111, FIG. 8. nSRS=10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8) in each slot (FIG. 8 shows Slot n and Slot n+2T_srs).
Choi teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (performing precoding at an RF stage. In the hybrid beamforming scheme, each of a baseband stage and an RF stage uses a precoding method, Para. 69) in the second set of symbols (nSRS=10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8) of the indicated SRS resource (a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs) in slot i+1 (FIG. 8 shows Slot n+2T_srs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Choi provides a technique for transmitting sounding reference signals in symbols across different slots, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit a UE to make SRS transmissions to be conducted in multiple slots and to organize the SRS transmissions though specific symbols within slots.
In regard to Claim 34, Liu teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the second spatial domain filter (For SRS and PUCCH transmission, a higher layer parameter spatialRelationInfo is used to indicate the transmitting beam or filter for each SRS or PUCCH resource, Para. 37) or the second precoding configuration in the first set of symbols of the indicated SRS resource in slot (simultaneous SRS resource or SRS ports will be transmitted with the same power to different TRPs using different panels, Para. 36).
Although Liu in view of Yuan teaches indicated SRS resource in slot, Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach slot i+1.
Choi teaches the first set of symbols (nSRS=8, 9, Para. 111, FIG. 8) of the indicated SRS resource in slot i+1 (A sounding is performed in a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Choi provides a technique for transmitting sounding reference signals in symbols across different slots, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit a UE to make SRS transmissions to be conducted in multiple slots and to organize the SRS transmissions though specific symbols within slots.
In regard to Claim 38, as presented in the rejection of Claim 27, Liu in view of Yuan teaches the at least one SRS.
Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach the at least one SRS is associated with an SRS resource set comprising a first SRS resource and a second SRS resource that each includes a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the first set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the first set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a first spatial domain filter or a first precoding configuration, and the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the second set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the second set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a second spatial domain filter or a second precoding configuration.
Choi teaches the at least one SRS is associated with an SRS resource set comprising a first SRS resource and a second SRS resource that each includes a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the first set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the first set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a first spatial domain filter or a first precoding configuration, and the at least one SRS is transmitted on both the second set of symbols of the first SRS resource and in the second set of symbols of the second SRS resource using at least one of a second spatial domain filter or a second precoding configuration (performing precoding at an RF stage. In the hybrid beamforming scheme, each of a baseband stage and an RF stage uses a precoding method, Para. 69. In a next slot (i.e., n+2T_srs), is a sounding is performed in a hoppling pattern when nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 is applied again by a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Choi provides a technique for transmitting sounding reference signals in symbols across different slots, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit a UE to make SRS transmissions to be conducted in multiple slots and to organize the SRS transmissions though specific symbols within slots.
Claim(s) 13, 26 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yuan, and further in view of Cirik et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200221485 A1), hereafter referred to as Cirik.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Liu in view of Yuan teaches the at least one SRS.
Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach receiving a third downlink reference signal associated with a third transmission reception point, wherein an SRS resource set includes the indicated SRS resource and another SRS resource; and transmitting the at least one SRS on another SRS resource of the SRS resource set using at least one of a third spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal or a third precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal.
Cirik teaches receiving a third downlink reference signal associated with a third transmission reception point, wherein an SRS resource set includes the indicated SRS resource and another SRS resource; and transmitting the at least one SRS on another SRS resource of the SRS resource set using at least one of a third spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal or a third precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal (one or more TRPs (e.g., TRP 2608-1, TRP 2608-2, and TRP 2608-3) may serve the wireless device. The cell 2604-1 may comprise the TRP 2608-1. The cell 2604-2 may comprise the TRP 2608-2 and the third TRP 2608-3. The wireless device may receive the first DCI from a first TRP (e.g., TRP 2608-1) of the one or more TRPs. The wireless device may receive the second DCI from a second TRP (e.g., TRP 2608-2) of the one or more TRPs. The wireless device may receive the at least one first DM-RS port of the PDSCH 2624-1 from the TRP 2608-1. The wireless device may receive the at least one second DM-RS port of the PDSCH 2624-2 from the TRP 2608-2. The wireless device may receive the at least one third DM-RS port of the PDSCH 2624-2 from a third TRP (e.g., the TRP 2608-3) of the one or more TRPs, Para. 549, FIG. 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Cirik provides a technique for utilizing a third TRP for communications with a wireless device, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit involvement of a third TRP to further enhance wireless communications with a terminal device and processing of sounding reference signals.
In regard to Claim 26, as presented in the rejection of Claim 14, Liu in view of Yuan teaches the at least one SRS.
Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a third downlink reference signal associated with a third transmission reception point, wherein an SRS resource set includes the indicated SRS resource and another SRS resource: and transmit the at least one SRS on another SRS resource of the SRS resource set using at least one of a third spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal or a third precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal.
Cirik teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a third downlink reference signal associated with a third transmission reception point, wherein an SRS resource set includes the indicated SRS resource and another SRS resource: and transmit the at least one SRS on another SRS resource of the SRS resource set using at least one of a third spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal or a third precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal (one or more TRPs (e.g., TRP 2608-1, TRP 2608-2, and TRP 2608-3) may serve the wireless device. The cell 2604-1 may comprise the TRP 2608-1. The cell 2604-2 may comprise the TRP 2608-2 and the third TRP 2608-3. The wireless device may receive the first DCI from a first TRP (e.g., TRP 2608-1) of the one or more TRPs. The wireless device may receive the second DCI from a second TRP (e.g., TRP 2608-2) of the one or more TRPs. The wireless device may receive the at least one first DM-RS port of the PDSCH 2624-1 from the TRP 2608-1. The wireless device may receive the at least one second DM-RS port of the PDSCH 2624-2 from the TRP 2608-2. The wireless device may receive the at least one third DM-RS port of the PDSCH 2624-2 from a third TRP (e.g., the TRP 2608-3) of the one or more TRPs, Para. 549, FIG. 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Cirik provides a technique for utilizing a third TRP for communications with a wireless device, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit involvement of a third TRP to further enhance wireless communications with a terminal device and processing of sounding reference signals.
In regard to Claim 39, as presented in the rejection of Claim 27, Liu in view of Yuan teaches the at least one SRS.
Liu in view of Yuan fails to teach means for receiving a third downlink reference signal associated with a third transmission reception point, wherein means for transmitting the at least one SRS on another SRS resource of the SRS resource set using at least one of a third spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal or a third precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal.
Cirik teaches means for receiving a third downlink reference signal associated with a third transmission reception point, wherein means for transmitting the at least one SRS on another SRS resource of the SRS resource set using at least one of a third spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal or a third precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the third downlink reference signal (one or more TRPs (e.g., TRP 2608-1, TRP 2608-2, and TRP 2608-3) may serve the wireless device. The cell 2604-1 may comprise the TRP 2608-1. The cell 2604-2 may comprise the TRP 2608-2 and the third TRP 2608-3. The wireless device may receive the first DCI from a first TRP (e.g., TRP 2608-1) of the one or more TRPs. The wireless device may receive the second DCI from a second TRP (e.g., TRP 2608-2) of the one or more TRPs. The wireless device may receive the at least one first DM-RS port of the PDSCH 2624-1 from the TRP 2608-1. The wireless device may receive the at least one second DM-RS port of the PDSCH 2624-2 from the TRP 2608-2. The wireless device may receive the at least one third DM-RS port of the PDSCH 2624-2 from a third TRP (e.g., the TRP 2608-3) of the one or more TRPs, Para. 549, FIG. 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik with the teachings of Liu in view of Yuan since Cirik provides a technique for utilizing a third TRP for communications with a wireless device, which can be introduced into the system of Liu in view of Yuan to permit involvement of a third TRP to further enhance wireless communications with a terminal device and processing of sounding reference signals.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 4/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 13 of the Remarks presents the argument that The Applicant respectfully submits that none of the cited references teach an SRS resource, where the SRS resource is divided into a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, and where the SRS transmitted in each of the first set or second set of symbols is transmitted in a different spatial domain filter/precoding configuration. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by the amendment of Claims 1, 14, 27 and 40, which are not taught by Yuan, are taught by Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220094500 A1).
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
5-10-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477