The amendment filed 10/1/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-15, 17-18, 20-28, 30-31 and 33-40 are pending.
Claims 3, 6, 16, 19, 29 and 32 are canceled.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-15, 17-18, 20-28, 30-31 and 33-40 stand rejected.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9-11, 14, 17-18, 22-24, 27, 30-31, 35-37 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210306123 A1) in view of Yuan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220046672 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Gao and Yuan.
In regard to Claim 1, Gao teaches A method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (The method 600 can be implemented at the terminal device 230 as shown in FIG. 2, Para. 86, FIGS. 2, 6), comprising: receiving a first downlink reference signal associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP 220-1 may be also referred to as the first TRP, Para. 39, FIG. 2. At block 610, the terminal device 230 receives, from the network device, a first CSI-RS transmitted via a first TRP, Para. 87, FIGS. 2, 6).
Gao teaches receiving a second downlink reference signal associated with a second transmission reception point different from the first transmission reception point (TRP 220-2 may be also referred to as the second TRP, Para. 39, FIG. 2. At block 610, the terminal device 230 receives a second CSI-RS transmitted via a second TRP, Para. 87, FIGS. 2, 6).
Gao teaches transmitting, to the first transmission reception point (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) and the second transmission reception point (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) (At block 640, the terminal device 230 transmits at least one SRS, Para. 90, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6. A first SRS, a second SRS, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) that is associated with both the first downlink reference signal and the second downlink reference signal (At block 620, the terminal device 230 determines, based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP and second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP respectively, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
Gao teaches, wherein: the at least one SRS is associated with at least one SRS resource (at least one SRS resource set includes a plurality of SRS resources, Para. 91, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of a first spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal or a first precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), and the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of a second spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal or a second precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal (For the TRP 510-2, the downlink pre-coder can be determined based on signals transmitted over the antenna ports 523 and 524, Para. 85, FIG. 5. Based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 6).
Although Gao teaches at least one SRS resource, Gao fails to teach at least one SRS resource comprising a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, and although Gao teaches at least one SRS is transmitted, Gao fails to teach at least one SRS is transmitted in the first set of symbols, and although Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted, Gao fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted in the second set of symbols.
Yuan teaches at least one SRS resource (symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols. Symbols 413-417 are flexible symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A) comprising a first set of symbols (an uplink resource 422, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A) and a second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
Yuan teaches at least one SRS is transmitted in the first set of symbols (resources for sounding reference signal (SRS), Para. 48, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows uplink symbol 418 containing SRS).
Yuan teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted in the second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows flexible symbols 415-416 as containing SRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Gao since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Gao teaches the method.
Gao fails to teach the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Gao since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Gao teaches the method.
Gao fails to teach the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive, and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive (Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A), and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Gao since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 9, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (At block 640, the terminal device 230 transmits at least one SRS, Para. 90, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6. A first SRS, a second SRS, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) on the at least one SRS resource of an SRS resource set (at least one SRS resource set includes a plurality of SRS resources, Para. 91, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) associated with codebook-based transmission (two transmission schemes can be supported for uplink (UL) transmission: codebook based UL transmission, Para. 29).
In regard to Claim 10, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) on a first SRS resource of an SRS resource set (transmitting, based on the first precoding information, a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP over the first part of the plurality of SRS resources, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), and the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) on a second SRS resource of the SRS resource set (transmitting, based on the second precoding information, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP over the second part of the plurality of SRS resources, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of the second spatial domain filter or the second precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
In regard to Claim 11, Gao teaches transmission of the at least one SRS resource on the first SRS resource and the second SRS resource of the at least one SRS resource set (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP over the first part of the plurality of SRS resources, and transmitting a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP over the second part of the plurality of SRS resources, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) is configured to be non-codebook-based (two transmission schemes can be supported for uplink (UL) transmission: non-codebook based UL transmission, Para. 29).
In regard to Claim 14, Gao teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (The method 600 can be implemented at the terminal device 230 as shown in FIG. 2, Para. 86, FIGS. 2, 6), comprising: a memory (memory 820, Para. 112, FIG. 8); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (a memory 820 coupled to the processor 810, Para. 112, FIG. 8) and configured to: receive a first downlink reference signal associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP 220-1 may be also referred to as the first TRP, Para. 39, FIG. 2. At block 610, the terminal device 230 receives, from the network device, a first CSI-RS transmitted via a first TRP, Para. 87, FIGS. 2, 6).
Gao teaches receive a second downlink reference signal associated with a second transmission reception point different from the first transmission reception point (TRP 220-2 may be also referred to as the second TRP, Para. 39, FIG. 2. At block 610, the terminal device 230 receives a second CSI-RS transmitted via a second TRP, Para. 87, FIGS. 2, 6).
Gao teaches transmit, to the first transmission reception point (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) and the second transmission reception point (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) (At block 640, the terminal device 230 transmits at least one SRS, Para. 90, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6. A first SRS, a second SRS, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) that is associated with both the first downlink reference signal and the second downlink reference signal (At block 620, the terminal device 230 determines, based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP and second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP respectively, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
Gao teaches, wherein: the at least one SRS is associated with at least one SRS resource (at least one SRS resource set includes a plurality of SRS resources, Para. 91, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of a first spatial domain filter configuration corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal or a first precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), and the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of a second spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal or a second precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal (For the TRP 510-2, the downlink pre-coder can be determined based on signals transmitted over the antenna ports 523 and 524, Para. 85, FIG. 5. Based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
Although Gao teaches at least one SRS resource, Gao fails to teach one SRS resource comprising a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, and although Gao teaches at least one SRS is transmitted, Gao fails to teach at least one SRS is transmitted in the first set of symbols, and although Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted, Gao fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted in the second set of symbols.
Yuan teaches one SRS resource (symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols. Symbols 413-417 are flexible symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A) comprising a first set of symbols (an uplink resource 422, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A) and a second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
Yuan teaches at least one SRS is transmitted in the first set of symbols (resources for sounding reference signal (SRS), Para. 48, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows uplink symbol 418 containing SRS).
Yuan teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted in the second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows flexible symbols 415-416 as containing SRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Gao since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 14, Gao teaches the apparatus.
Gao fails to teach the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Gao since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 14, Gao teaches the apparatus.
Gao fails to teach the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive, and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive (Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A), and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Gao since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 22, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (At block 640, the terminal device 230 transmits at least one SRS, Para. 90, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6. A first SRS, a second SRS, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) on the at least one SRS resource of an SRS resource set (at least one SRS resource set includes a plurality of SRS resources, Para. 91, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) associated with codebook-based transmission (two transmission schemes can be supported for uplink (UL) transmission: codebook based UL transmission, Para. 29), and the at least one SRS resource is associated with both the first downlink reference signal and the second downlink reference signal (At block 620, the terminal device 230 determines, based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP and second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP respectively, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
In regard to Claim 23, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) on a first SRS resource of an SRS resource set (transmitting, based on the first precoding information, a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP over the first part of the plurality of SRS resources, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), and the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) on a second SRS resource of the SRS resource set (transmitting, based on the second precoding information, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP over the second part of the plurality of SRS resources, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of the second spatial domain filter or the second precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
In regard to Claim 24, Gao teaches transmission of the at least one SRS resource on the first SRS resource and the second SRS resource of the at least one SRS resource set (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP over the first part of the plurality of SRS resources, and transmitting a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP over the second part of the plurality of SRS resources, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) is configured to be non-codebook-based (two transmission schemes can be supported for uplink (UL) transmission: non-codebook based UL transmission, Para. 29).
In regard to Claim 27, Gao teaches An apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (The method 600 can be implemented at the terminal device 230 as shown in FIG. 2, Para. 86, FIGS. 2, 6), comprising: means for receiving a first downlink reference signal associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP 220-1 may be also referred to as the first TRP, Para. 39, FIG. 2. At block 610, the terminal device 230 receives, from the network device, a first CSI-RS transmitted via a first TRP, Para. 87, FIGS. 2, 6).
Gao teaches means for receiving a second downlink reference signal associated with a second transmission reception point different from the first transmission reception point (TRP 220-2 may be also referred to as the second TRP, Para. 39, FIG. 2. At block 610, the terminal device 230 receives a second CSI-RS transmitted via a second TRP, Para. 87, FIGS. 2, 6).
Gao teaches means for transmitting, to the first transmission reception point (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) and the second transmission reception point (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) (At block 640, the terminal device 230 transmits at least one SRS, Para. 90, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6. A first SRS, a second SRS, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) that is associated with both the first downlink reference signal and the second downlink reference signal (At block 620, the terminal device 230 determines, based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP and second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP respectively, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
Gao teaches, wherein: the at least one SRS is associated with at least one SRS resource (at least one SRS resource set includes a plurality of SRS resources, Para. 91, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of a first spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal or a first precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), and the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of a second spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal or a second precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal (For the TRP 510-2, the downlink pre-coder can be determined based on signals transmitted over the antenna ports 523 and 524, Para. 85, FIG. 5. Based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
Although Gao teaches at least one SRS resource, Gao fails to teach at least one SRS resource comprising a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, and although Gao teaches at least one SRS is transmitted, Gao fails to teach at least one SRS is transmitted in the first set of symbols, and although Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted, Gao fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted in the second set of symbols.
Yuan teaches at least one SRS resource (symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols. Symbols 413-417 are flexible symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A) comprising a first set of symbols (an uplink resource 422, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A) and a second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
Yuan teaches at least one SRS is transmitted in the first set of symbols (resources for sounding reference signal (SRS), Para. 48, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows uplink symbol 418 containing SRS).
Yuan teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted in the second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows flexible symbols 415-416 as containing SRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Gao since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 30, as presented in the rejection of Claim 27, Gao teaches the apparatus.
Gao fails to teach the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols have a same number of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Gao since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 31, as presented in the rejection of Claim 27, Gao teaches the apparatus.
Gao fails to teach the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive, and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive.
Yuan teaches the first set of symbols comprises one or more symbols that are consecutive (Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A), and the second set of symbols comprises one or more other symbols that are consecutive (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Gao since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
In regard to Claim 35, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (At block 640, the terminal device 230 transmits at least one SRS, Para. 90, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6. A first SRS, a second SRS, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) on the at least one SRS resource of an SRS resource set (at least one SRS resource set includes a plurality of SRS resources, Para. 91, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) associated with codebook-based transmission (two transmission schemes can be supported for uplink (UL) transmission: codebook based UL transmission, Para. 29), and the at least one SRS resource is associated with both the first downlink reference signal and the second downlink reference signal (At block 620, the terminal device 230 determines, based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP and second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP respectively, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
In regard to Claim 36, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) on a first SRS resource of an SRS resource set (transmitting, based on the first precoding information, a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP over the first part of the plurality of SRS resources, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), and the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) on a second SRS resource of the SRS resource set (transmitting, based on the second precoding information, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP over the second part of the plurality of SRS resources, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of the second spatial domain filter or the second precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
In regard to Claim 37, Gao teaches transmission of the at least one SRS resource on the first SRS resource and the second SRS resource of the at least one SRS resource set (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP over the first part of the plurality of SRS resources, and transmitting a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP over the second part of the plurality of SRS resources, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) is configured to be non-codebook-based (two transmission schemes can be supported for uplink (UL) transmission: non-codebook based UL transmission, Para. 29).
In regard to Claim 40, Gao teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable code for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (The method 600 can be implemented at the terminal device 230 as shown in FIG. 2, Para. 86, FIGS. 2, 6), the code when executed by a processor cause the processor to: receive a first downlink reference signal associated with a first transmission reception point (TRP 220-1 may be also referred to as the first TRP, Para. 39, FIG. 2. At block 610, the terminal device 230 receives, from the network device, a first CSI-RS transmitted via a first TRP, Para. 87, FIGS. 2, 6).
Gao teaches receive a second downlink reference signal associated with a second transmission reception point different from the first transmission reception point (TRP 220-2 may be also referred to as the second TRP, Para. 39, FIG. 2. At block 610, the terminal device 230 receives a second CSI-RS transmitted via a second TRP, Para. 87, FIGS. 2, 6).
Gao teaches transmit, to the first transmission reception point (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) and the second transmission reception point (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) (At block 640, the terminal device 230 transmits at least one SRS, Para. 90, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6. A first SRS, a second SRS, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) that is associated with both the first downlink reference signal and the second downlink reference signal (At block 620, the terminal device 230 determines, based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP and second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP respectively, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
Gao teaches, wherein: the at least one SRS is associated with at least one SRS resource (at least one SRS resource set includes a plurality of SRS resources, Para. 91, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of a first spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal or a first precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the first downlink reference signal (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), and the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of a second spatial domain filter corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal or a second precoding configuration corresponding to the reception of the second downlink reference signal (For the TRP 510-2, the downlink pre-coder can be determined based on signals transmitted over the antenna ports 523 and 524, Para. 85, FIG. 5. Based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 6).
Although Gao teaches at least one SRS resource, Gao fails to teach at least one SRS resource comprising a first set of symbols and a second set of symbols, and although Gao teaches at least one SRS is transmitted, Gao fails to teach at least one SRS is transmitted in the first set of symbols, and although Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted, Gao fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted in the second set of symbols.
Yuan teaches at least one SRS resource (symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols. Symbols 413-417 are flexible symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A) comprising a first set of symbols (an uplink resource 422, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A) and a second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A).
Yuan teaches at least one SRS is transmitted in the first set of symbols (resources for sounding reference signal (SRS), Para. 48, FIG. 4A. Symbols 418-419 are configured as uplink symbols, Para. 73, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows uplink symbol 418 containing SRS).
Yuan teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted in the second set of symbols (symbols 415-416, which are flexible symbols, Para. 75, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows flexible symbols 415-416 as containing SRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Gao since Yuan provides a technique to organize transmission of an SRS in a series of symbols of different types, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a terminal device to determine how symbols and related uplink resources are utilized for transmission of SRS.
Claim(s) 2, 15 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Yuan, and further in view of Fakoorian et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180337716 A1), hereafter referred to as Fakoorian.
In regard to Claim 2, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) with at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), and the at least one SRS is further transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) with at least one of the second spatial domain filter or the second precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
Although Gao in view of Yuan teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted and the at least one SRS is further transmitted, Gao in view of Yuan fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted in a first symbol and the at least one SRS is further transmitted in the first symbol.
Fakoorian teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted in a first symbol (the first SRS transmission and the second SRS transmission may be occur at the same time (i.e. during the same OFDM symbol), Para. 62, FIGS. 2-3).
Fakoorian teaches the at least one SRS is further transmitted in the first symbol (the first SRS transmission and the second SRS transmission may be occur at the same time (i.e. during the same OFDM symbol), Para. 62, FIGS. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fakoorian with the teachings of Gao in view of Yuan since Fakoorian provides a technique to perform SRS transmissions within a symbol, which can be introduced into the system of Gao in view of Yuan to permit a UE to transmit multiple SRS within a single symbol to efficiently utilize wireless resources.
In regard to Claim 15, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) with at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), and the at least one SRS is further transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) with at least one of the second spatial domain filter or the second precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
Although Gao in view of Yuan teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted and the at least one SRS is further transmitted, Gao in view of Yuan fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted in a first symbol and the at least one SRS is further transmitted in the first symbol.
Fakoorian teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted in a first symbol (the first SRS transmission and the second SRS transmission may be occur at the same time (i.e. during the same OFDM symbol), Para. 62, FIGS. 2-3).
Fakoorian teaches the at least one SRS is further transmitted in the first symbol (the first SRS transmission and the second SRS transmission may be occur at the same time (i.e. during the same OFDM symbol), Para. 62, FIGS. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fakoorian with the teachings of Gao in view of Yuan since Fakoorian provides a technique to perform SRS transmissions within a symbol, which can be introduced into the system of Gao in view of Yuan to permit a UE to transmit multiple SRS within a single symbol to efficiently utilize wireless resources.
In regard to Claim 28, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) with at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), and the at least one SRS is further transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) with at least one of the second spatial domain filter or the second precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
Although Gao in view of Yuan teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted and the at least one SRS is further transmitted, Gao in view of Yuan fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted in a first symbol and the at least one SRS is further transmitted in the first symbol.
Fakoorian teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted in a first symbol (the first SRS transmission and the second SRS transmission may be occur at the same time (i.e. during the same OFDM symbol), Para. 62, FIGS. 2-3).
Fakoorian teaches the at least one SRS is further transmitted in the first symbol (the first SRS transmission and the second SRS transmission may be occur at the same time (i.e. during the same OFDM symbol), Para. 62, FIGS. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fakoorian with the teachings of Gao in view of Yuan since Fakoorian provides a technique to perform SRS transmissions within a symbol, which can be introduced into the system of Gao in view of Yuan to permit a UE to transmit multiple SRS within a single symbol to efficiently utilize wireless resources.
Claim(s) 7-8, 12, 20-21, 25, 33-34 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Choi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200366531 A1), hereafter referred to as Choi.
In regard to Claim 7, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting a first SRS to the network device via the first TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, first precoding information for uplink transmission via the first TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) in the first set of symbols of the at least one SRS resource in slot i (the first SRS resources and the second SRS resources may be transmitted in a same slot, Para. 59, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6), the at least one SRS is further transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using at least one of the second spatial domain filter or the second precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) in the second set of symbols of the at least one SRS resource in slot i (the first SRS resources and the second SRS resources may be transmitted in a same slot, Para. 59, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6).
Gao fails to teach at least one SRS resource at least partially occurs in each of slot i and slot i+1, and Gao fails to teach the at least one SRS resource comprising the first set of symbols and the second set of symbols different from the first set of symbols in each slot, and Gao fails to teach the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration in the second set of symbols of the at least one SRS resource in slot i+1.
Choi teaches at least one SRS resource at least partially occurs in each of slot i and slot i+1 (A sounding is performed in a hoppling pattern when nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 is applied again by a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=0, 1, 2, 3 within Slot n and nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs).
Choi teaches the at least one SRS resource comprising the first set of symbols (nSRS=0, 1, Para. 111, FIG. 8. nSRS=8, 9, Para. 111, FIG. 8) and the second set of symbols different from the first set of symbols (nSRS=2, 3, Para. 111, FIG. 8. nSRS=10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8) in each slot (FIG. 8 shows Slot n and Slot n+2T_srs).
Choi teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted using the at least one of the first spatial domain filter or the first precoding configuration (performing precoding at an RF stage. In the hybrid beamforming scheme, each of a baseband stage and an RF stage uses a precoding method, Para. 69) in the second set of symbols (nSRS=10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8) of the at least one SRS resource (a hopping pattern at nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, Para. 111, FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows nSRS=8, 9, 10, 11, within Slot n+2T_srs) in slot i+1 (FIG. 8 shows Slot n+2T_srs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Gao since Choi provides a technique for transmitting sounding reference signals in symbols across different slots, which can be introduced into the system of Gao to permit a UE to make SRS transmissions to be conducted in multiple slots and to organize the SRS transmissions though specific symbols within slots.
In regard to Claim 8, Gao teaches the at least one SRS is transmitted (transmitting, a second SRS to the network device via the second TRP, Para. 92, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) using the at least one of the second spatial domain filter or the second precoding configuration (based on the received first and second CSI-RSs, second precoding information for uplink transmission via the second TRP, Para. 88, FIGS. 2, 4C, 6) in the first set of symbols of the at least one SRS resource in slot (the first SRS resources and the second SRS resources may be transmitted in a same slot, Para. 59).
Although Gao teaches at least one SRS resource in slot, Gao fails to teach slot i+1.
Choi teaches the first set of symbols (nSRS=8, 9, Para. 111, FIG. 8) of