DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-13, and 15-16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/20/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-3 and 14 in the reply filed on 08/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McDonald (US 5009644 A).
Regarding claim 1, McDonald discloses a medical device (implanted medical device, Fig 1) used for implanting in a body, comprising: a main body (body 14 , Fig 1); a container (reservoir 16, Fig 1) included in the main body (14); an insulating soft portion (septum 18, Fig 1; Col 1, lines 65-66) that closes an opening (opening closed by septum 18, Fig 1) of the container (16); an electrically conductive first conductive portion (contact plate 20, Fig 1) disposed on a bottom (bottom of container 16, Fig 1) of the container (16); and an electrically conductive second conductive portion (base plate 24, Fig 1) disposed on the main body (14), wherein the first conductive portion (20) and the second conductive portion (24) are electrically connected to each other (Col 1 line 68 - Col 2, line 3).
Regarding claim 3, McDonald discloses the medical device according to claim 1, wherein the second conductive portion (24) has a rectangular shape (plate 24 has rectangular shape, See Fig 1 ), an annular shape, or a partially notched curved shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDonald (US 5009644 A) in view of Wortley et al. (US 20070078391 A1).
Regarding claim 2, McDonald discloses the medical device according to claim 1, further comprising an injection part (portion of body (not shown) used to transmit the medicament to the catheter; Col 2, lines 6-7) to which a catheter is connected (catheter, not shown; Col 2, lines 6-7), the injection part being configured to inject a liquid in the container (liquid is injected in the container by a needle 32 and goes through the container 16 to catheter via a portion of portion of body (not shown) used to transmit the medicament to the catheter; Col 2, lines 6-7)
However, McDonald is silent regarding the injection being into a blood vessel through the catheter.
Wortley teaches a medical device (vascular access port 300, Fig 21) comprising an injection part (part containing exit lumen 320, Fig 17) to which a catheter (catheter 402, Fig 21) is connected the injection part (part containing exit lumen 320, Fig 17) being configured to inject a liquid (fluid injection; [0100]) in the container (reservoir 306, Fig 17) into a blood vessel (subclavian vein 404, Fig 23) through the catheter (402).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the catheter dispensing location of device of McDonald with of a similar catheter insertion location as taught by Wortley for the purpose of deliver fluid medication into the venous system, resulting in a rapid systemic distribution of medical fluid ([0097])
Regarding claim 14, McDonald/Wortley discloses the medical device according to claim 2. McDonald discloses wherein the second conductive portion (24) has a rectangular shape (plate 24 has rectangular shape, See Fig 1 ), an annular shape, or a partially notched curved shape.
Conclusion
/GUILLERMO G PAZ ESTEVEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/Lauren P Farrar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783