DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10, 12 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Adding elements from claim 11 to claim 9 has created antecedents issues. Examples: an oily phase, an aqueous phase, an activation solution, an aluminosilicate source, a surfactant, at least one solid compound different from…, etc. They appear as if they are different from what are already introduced in steps a1-a4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 12 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Seo et al (US 2013/0055924)
Seo teaches a process of blending a geopolymer like aluminosilicates [0009] source (like metakaolin) and source of silica (like fumed silica: examples) in water and an organic phase like mineral oil [0006, examples], vegetable oil, etc., and adding solid particles ([0007], [0010],) then mixing with shear [0011], then removing the solvent mixture (examples.) The solid particles are listed in [0010]. Examples have NaA zeolite, gold nanoparticles and TiO2 nanoparticles as the compound. The process also adds surfactant as optional in [0007]. See Seo, abstract and claims.
Seo teaches the using mineral oil in examples 13 and 15. Aluminosilicates (metakaolin) and fumed silica are mixed in water and KOH and then mixed with mineral oil with vigorous stirring until the mixture became homogenous, which anticipates “mechanical stirring with shear” (or at the least makes it obvious,) and allowed to stand in containers to form solid polymer body with the requisite pore size and distribution. Oil is then removed using hexane. Adding NaA zeolite is in example 7, gold nanoparticles in example 9, and TiO2 nanoparticles in example 6. Also, the teaching of [0007] makes it clear that the nanoparticles can be added to any of the examples, making the claims obvious if not anticipated.
Steps from claim 11 added to claim 9; and claim 12: the activation solution is disclosed as high pH saline. Seo teaches pH of 14, water and KOH or NaOH. Seo also teaches adding surfactant in [0046], [0056], etc. Stirring is rigorous and continuous. Thus, while the steps may not be exactly in the sequence as recited, the recited steps are present in the teaching of Seo. MPEP 2144.04-IV: changes is sequence of adding ingredients is prima facie obvious.
Claims 10, 21, 22: mineral oil meets the carbon counts.
Claim 23-26: particle size – nanoparticles meet this range. The recited particles are included in Seo, [0007], etc.
Claims 27-28: aqueous to oil phase appears to be about 50% in Seo. The solid compound in the emulsion appears to be higher than the range claimed, but this could be optimized for the intended purpose. Optimizing a result-effective variable – see MPEP 2144.
Allowable Subject Matter
Applicant’s working example shows submicronic LTA zeolite as the solid compound different from the geopolymer. Therefore, adding submicronic LTA zeolite as this compound would overcome Seo as a prior art. While Seo teaches zeolite as such a compound, there is no teaching on submicronic LTA as the zeolite. The NaA zeolite in the example is not submicronic.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/31/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. They are addressed in the rejection.
They were addressed before as only a mere change in the sequence of adding ingredients. The arguments are directed at how the Seo reference differ in the addition of ingredients, which the office had not disputed.
The argument, “[t]he present specification confirms that the manufacturing sequence can affect the resulting porous architecture. In Example 2, materials having the same final chemical composition were prepared using protocols differing in the placement of the manufacturing steps,” does not show that the result is in fact unexpected. The results in figures 4 and 7 show minor changes in pore size and distribution, and significantly more spread of pore distribution and increase in the average pore size from 20 to 30 nm. Such differences are observed in the various examples in Seo as well. See Seo’s figures and examples.
For consideration of any unexpected results, there must be a showing that the results are unexpected, and the claim elements must have a nexus with the unexpected results.
Consideration of rebuttal evidence and arguments requires Office personnel to weigh the proffered evidence and arguments. Id.; see also In re Alton, 76 F.3d 1168, 1174-75, 37 USPQ2d 1578, 1582-83 (Fed. Cir. 1996). Office personnel should avoid giving no weight to evidence submitted by applicant, except in rare circumstances. However, to be entitled to substantial weight, the applicant should establish a nexus between the rebuttal evidence and the claimed invention, i.e., objective evidence of nonobviousness must be attributable to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777