DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on 06/19/2025. Status of claims are:
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 15, and 19 are amended.
Terminal Disclaimer
2. The terminal disclaimer filed on 06/19/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of the full statutory term of prior U.S. Patent # 10834645 B2 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded and approved.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment filed 06/19/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
The Applicant Argues, on top of page 1 of arguments:
Applicant submits herewith a terminal disclaimer to obviate the non-statutory double patenting rejection. Accordingly, Applicant requests that the double patenting rejection be withdrawn.
In response, the examiner respectfully submits:
Based on approved terminal disclaimer provided, Examiner has withdrawn the double patenting rejection accordingly.
The Applicant Argues, bottom of page 2 of arguments:
Applicant submits that Yan, Ahn, and/or Takeda do not disclose, teach or in any way suggest the subject matter of claim 1 as amended. Claim 1 as amended, however, recites, “identifying an uplink SRS air interface resource for the UE that maps to the selected one or more base stations.” Ahn in para[0360]-[0362] describes an SRS resource that points to a timing advance value, a virtual cell identifier, or power control process. The SRS resource that points to a timing advance value, a virtual cell identifier, or power control process, is not identifying an SRS air interface resource that maps to the selected one or more base stations. As such, Ahn fails to teach or suggest, “identifying an uplink SRS air interface resource for the UE that maps to the selected one or more base stations” as recited by claim 1.
In response, the examiner respectfully submits:
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s perspective. First, the rejection is a combination Yang, Ahn and Takeda and not just Ahn. Secondly, Applicant’s specification as published in USPGPUB: US 2023/0056592 A1, in para[0023], indicates that a BS allocates SRS resource to a user equipment (UE) for UE’s autonomous transmission of an uplink SRS, and in para[0055] indicates that the base station (BS) sends a message to UE that includes an allocation of SRS resources and/or mappings to a combination of base stations, that are described in para[0070] and Fig. 6. Furthermore, in para[0077]-[0081] of specification, it indicates that the base station (BS), first determines the location of a UE, and then identifies a set of base stations within a predefined distance to UE, and includes them in the UL SRS allocation, and maps them to each SRS UL resource, so that UE can perform signal measurements or metrics for those neighboring base stations, and then transmit the results, using respective SRS UL resources allocated for each respective neighboring base stations, back to the base station, wherein the base station then determines various base stations for which UE provided metrics via UL SRS resources, based on information that is reported by the UE.
Therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with Applicant’s specification, each UL SRS resource allocated, is mapped to, or allocated, for a specific neighbor base station, or a group of neighboring base stations, for which UE is to perform certain measurements and provide feedback using UL SRS resources, and when UE reports its metrics for those neighboring base stations, it provides some kind of identification, so that the receiving Base Station (BS), can recognize or identify the neighboring base stations, or group of base stations, for which UE has sent its report using allocated UL SRS for them.
This is consistent with the teachings of Ahn, that teaches in para[0358]-[0362], a UE receiving from an eNB, an “uplink SRS resource configuration information” to be used by UE for UL transmissions, wherein the SRS resource configuration information received by UE, includes various information such as a “TA value” representing a cell group as well as virtual cell identifiers. It furthermore indicates, in para[ 0321]-[0322], that eNB configures specific information for each SRS resource group by considering a coordinated multi-point operation (CoMP operation) by configuration and indicating “virtual cell identifiers” ( VOID), in addition to the TA, and by mapping one or more SRS resources to a BS group (or cell/TRP group). Furthermore, see para[0340] for UE transmit the uplink signal (via UL SRS resources allocated), by applying a VOID (i.e., cell identifiers) in conjunction with the corresponding SRS resource indicated by the eNB.
As such, and by considering the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with Applicant’s specification, Ahn teaches the notion and the limitation of: “identifying an uplink SRS air interface resource for the UE that maps to the selected one or more base stations” as recited by claim 1.
The Applicant Argues, bottom of page 4 of arguments:
Applicant submits that Yang, Ahn, and/or Takeda do not disclose, teach or in any way suggest the subject matter of claim 9 as amended. Yang describes monitoring pilot signals, by a user equipment, from CDMA base stations that are continuously broadcasting to synchronize communication in CDMA networks. The monitoring of continuously transmitted CDMA pilot signals, is not monitoring, by a base station, SRS air interface resource to receive an SRS, if UE transmits an SRS.
In response, the examiner respectfully submits:
Examiner respectfully disagrees considering the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with Applicant’s specification. First, the rejection is based on a combination of Yang, Ahn, and Takeda, and not just Yang. Secondly, and in this case, Examiner has showed Applicant that a Base Station in an Active Set (i.e, ACS) can receive signals via reverse/forward links that are assigned to a Mobile Station by Base Station, and detect signals that are transmitted by UE via such allocated/assigned resources, such as signals indicating UE wanting to have its Active Set to be modified. Examiner has relied on Ahn reference for the specific allocation of UL SRS resources to UE by BS that UE uses to communicate with BS.
Applicant’s all other arguments are based on above already answered arguments that are repeated for other claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100210246 A1 to Yang et al., (hereinafter Yang) in view of US 20200162289 A1 to AHN et al., (hereinafter AHN) and in further view of US 20220116985 A1 to Takeda (hereinafter Takeda).
Claim 1. A method performed by a user equipment (UE) for autonomously triggering transmission of an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) that indicates, to a first base station, a selection of base stations for inclusion in an active coordination set (ACS) specific to the UE, the method comprising:
generating a link quality parameter (i.e., Fig. 2, received signal power) for each broadcast signal in a set of broadcast signals received from a set of base stations; (Fig. 2, all broadcast signals received from all base stations)
selecting, from the set of base stations and based on the link quality parameter (i.e., Fig. 2, received signal power) for each broadcast signal in the set of broadcast signals (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7, #720, broadcast signals of base stations in Active Set are compared to “T-ADD” & “T-Drop”), one or more base stations for inclusion in the ACS (i.e., Active Set); requesting the inclusion of the selected one or more base stations in the ACS (i.e., Active Set)
(Yang: See para[0045]-[0050] & [0058]-[0060], Fig. 2, signal strength of all base stations received by UE are compared by mobile station (UE) with signal strength parameters T-ADD and T-Drop, then, a Base Station to be added or dropped is determined. Accordingly, a request is sent by mobile station (UE) to primary base station requesting modification of mobile station’s “Active Set” (ACS), by either adding and/or dropping certain base stations from the “Active Set”, depending on their Signal Strengths being below “T-Drop” or above “T-ADD” parameter as determined by mobile station (UE))
communicating over a wireless network using the ACS formed with the selected one or more base stations. (See Fig. 1, for mobile station (UE) communicates via one or more of the base stations of the active set (i.e., ACS))
Although Yang teaches UE transmitting a message that identifies a BS that needs to be either added or dropped from active set, however, Yang does not explicitly disclose that such a message sent, is an uplink SRS, assigned and allocated to UE by BS, wherein UE uses uplink SRS for transmissions to BS, wherein such uplink SRS includes SRS resource that identifies or includes a cell identifier, as understood by:
identifying an uplink SRS air interface resource for the UE that maps to the selected one or more base stations;
the uplink SRS using the identified uplink SRS air interface resource; and
However, in a similar field, AHN, in para[0358]-[0362], teaches a UE receiving from an eNB, an “uplink SRS resource configuration information” to be used by UE, for UE uplink transmissions, wherein the SRS resource configuration information received by UE, includes various information such as a “TA value” that represents a cell group (i.e., a BS group) as well as virtual cell identifiers (VOID). See para[ 0321]-[0322], eNB configures specific information for each SRS resource group by considering a coordinated multi-point operation (CoMP operation) by configuration and indicating “virtual cell identifiers” ( VOID), in addition to the TA value, and by mapping one or more SRS resources to a BS group (or cell/TRP group). Also see para[0340] UE transmit the uplink signal (via UL SRS resources allocated) to eNB, by applying a VOID (i.e., cell identifiers) with the UL SRS resource allocated for transmitting to the eNB. It is understood that eNB can realize the identity of cells or groups of cells, when receiving UL SRS transmissions from UE.
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an SRS resource allocation, as taught by AHN, with the teachings of Yang, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE capable of uplink SRS transmission, having SRS resources that are further identified by Cell identifiers. ((AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
The UE of Yang in view of AHN does not explicitly disclose that UE can autonomously transmit, as understood by the applied phrase of:
by autonomously transmitting
However, in a similar field, Takeda, in para[0022] teaches UE can autonomously perform uplink transmissions (Takeda: See para[0022])
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 2. The method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
determining an SRS power level for the uplink SRS based on the link quality parameter (i.e., received signal power).
(Ahn: See para[0314]-[00317], eNB can configure for UE, and UE identifies a synchronization signal having the greatest “received signal power” (i.e., link quality parameter), as reference RS, or RRS. See para[0329] an RRS is for each SRS resource. See para[0338] “SRS resource” is allocated to “transmit SRS” (i.e., Uplink SRS transmission). It is understood that a reference RS or RRS is determined based on its received signal power (i.e., link quality parameter), and used for transmitting SRS (i.e., UL SRS transmission))
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 3. The method as recited in claim 2, wherein determining the SRS power level comprises:
identifying a weakest power metric value by analyzing the link quality parameter for each broadcast signal in the set of broadcast signals, and determining the SRS power level based on the weakest power metric value;
(Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2, mobile station can determine the SNR of received signals, based on T-ADD and T-Drop values it detects, wherein T-Drop can be the lowest or weakest metric value)
or
generating an average power level using the link quality parameter for each broadcast signal in the set of broadcast signals, and determining the SRS power level based on the average power level.
Claim 5. The method as recited in claim 1, wherein selecting one or more base stations comprises: receiving, from the first base station, a threshold value; comparing the link quality parameter for each broadcast signal in the set of broadcast signals to the threshold value; and
(Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2, mobile station sends a modification message (i.e., uplink SRS”) to a primary base station, requesting modification of the active set of base stations (i.e., ACS) for the mobile station, wherein if the SNR of received signals from a particular BS is below a threshold, namely T-Drop, then the modifying message indicates to drop that BS from the active set, and if the SNR of received signals are above a threshold, namely T-ADD, then the modifying message indicates to add the particular BS to the active set (i.e., ACS))
adding each base station, in the set of base stations, with a respective link quality parameter above the threshold value to the selected one or more base stations.
(Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2, mobile station sends a modification message (o.e, uplink SRS”) to a primary base station, requesting modification of the active set of base stations (i.e., ACS) for the mobile station, wherein if the SNR of received signals from a particular BS is below a threshold, namely T-Drop, then the modifying message indicates to drop that BS from the active set, and if the SNR of received signals are above a threshold, namely T-ADD, then the modifying message indicates to add the particular BS to the active set (i.e., ACS))
Claim 6. The method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the first base station, an indication of an allocation of SRS air interface resources.
(AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10, teaches that UE receives an SRS resource configuration information from BS, indicating a specific SRS resource and cell identifier for such SRS resource, after which the UE transmit the UL signal and using the identified SRS resource having a specific cell identifier)
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 7. The method as recited in claim 6, further comprising: receiving, from the first base station, a first mapping that assigns each respective SRS air interface resource in the allocation to a respective combination of base stations in the set of base stations.
(AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10, teaches that UE receives an SRS resource configuration information from BS, indicating a specific SRS resource and cell identifier for such SRS resource, after which the UE transmit the UL signal using the identified SRS resource having a specific cell identifier)
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 9. A method performed by a base station for forming an active coordination set (ACS) specific to a user equipment (UE) based on an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) from the UE, the method comprising:
monitoring for transmission of resources (i.e., “Active Set” base stations of UE) allocated to the UE; (see para[0058]-[0060], the primary base station (BS) receives a messages from mobile station (UE), requesting for modification of the base stations in the UE’s Active Set)
jointly communicating, over the wireless network, with the UE as part of the ACS (i.e., Active Set). (See Fig. 1 mobile station (UE) communicates with base stations of the Active Set (i.e., ACS))
forming the ACS (i.e., updating the Active Set) by negotiating with each base station in the selection; and (Yang: See Fig. 7, #770, UE sending a signal along with the updated Active Set list of base stations to the base stations of Active Set)
Although Yang teaches BS receiving (i.e., monitoring) from UE transmission in an active set, including a message in an active set to a BS, that identifies a specific BS that needs to be either added or dropped from an active set, however, Yang does not explicitly disclose that such a message sent, is sent via an allocated uplink SRS, assigned and/or allocated to UE by BS, wherein the UE then uses uplink SRS for transmissions to BS, and wherein such transmissions identifies or includes a cell identifier, as understood by:
receiving, over a wireless network and using a first SRS air interface resource of the SRS air interface resources, the uplink SRS from the UE;
identifying, based on the first SRS air interface resource, a selection of one or more base stations the UE requests for inclusion in the ACS;
However, in a similar field, AHN, in para[0358]-[0362], teaches a UE receiving from an eNB, an “uplink SRS resource configuration information” to be used by UE, for UE uplink transmissions, wherein the SRS resource configuration information received by UE, includes various information such as a “TA value” that represents a cell group (i.e., a BS group) as well as virtual cell identifiers (VOID). See para[ 0321]-[0322], eNB configures specific information for each SRS resource group by considering a coordinated multi-point operation (CoMP operation) by configuration and indicating “virtual cell identifiers” ( VOID), in addition to the TA value, and by mapping one or more SRS resources to a BS group (or cell/TRP group). Also see para[0340] UE transmit the uplink signal (via UL SRS resources allocated) to eNB, by applying a VOID (i.e., cell identifiers) with the UL SRS resource allocated for transmitting to the eNB. It is understood that eNB can realize the identity of cells or groups of cells, when receiving UL SRS transmissions from UE.
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an SRS resource allocation, as taught by AHN, with the teachings of Yang, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE capable of uplink SRS transmission, having SRS resources that are further identified by Cell identifiers. ((AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
The UE of Yang in view of AHN does not explicitly disclose that UE can autonomously transmit, as understood by applied phrase of:
autonomous
However, in a similar field, Takeda, in para[0022] teaches UE can autonomously perform uplin transmissions (Takeda: See para[0022])
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 10. The method as recited in claim 9, further comprising:
allocating the SRS air interface resources to the UE; and transmitting an indication of the SRS air interface resources to the UE.
(AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10, teaches that UE receives an SRS resource configuration information from BS, indicating a specific SRS resource and cell identifier for such SRS resource, after which the UE transmit the UL signal and using the identified SRS resource having a specific cell identifier)
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 11. The method as recited in claim 9, further comprising: selecting the SRS air interface resources based on an estimated location of the UE (i.e. angle of arrival of a received signal from the UE)
(AHN: See para[0151]-[0160] network configures a resource (i.e., SRS resource) for transmitting UL signal by UE. Information for UE beamforming/reception procedure for CSI-RS based measurement, is indicated for UE through QCL. The QCL parameter includes parameter related to an angle of arrival (AOA) in a UE receive (Rx) beamforming.)
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 12. The method as recited in claim 11, wherein selecting the SRS air interface resources further comprises: selecting UE-specific SRS air interface resources based on at least one of: an angle of arrival of a received signal from the UE; or a signal strength of the received signal.
(AHN: See para[0151]-[0160] network configures a resource (i.e., SRS resource) for transmitting UL signal by UE. Information for UE beamforming/reception procedure for CSI-RS based measurement, is indicated for UE through QCL. The QCL parameter includes parameter related to an angle of arrival (AOA) in a UE receive (Rx) beamforming.)
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 13. The method as recited in claim 9, further comprising: sending, prior to receiving the uplink SRS, a mapping that assigns each respective SRS air interface resource in the SRS air interface resources to a respective combination of base stations in a set of base stations.
(AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10, teaches that UE receives an SRS resource configuration information from BS, indicating a specific SRS resource and cell identifier for such SRS resource, after which the UE transmit the UL signal and using the identified SRS resource having a specific cell identifier)
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 15. A user equipment comprising: at least one wireless transceiver; a processor; and computer-readable storage media comprising instructions, responsive to execution by the processor, for directing the user equipment to:
generate a link quality parameter (i.e., Fig. 2, received signal power) for each broadcast signal in a set of broadcast signals received from a set of base stations; (Fig. 2, all broadcast signals received from all base stations)
select, from the set of base stations and based on the link quality parameter (i.e., Fig. 2, received signal power) for each broadcast signal in the set of broadcast signals, (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7, #720, broadcast signals of base stations in Active Set are compared to “T-ADD” & “T-Drop”), one or more base stations for inclusion in an active coordination set (ACS); (i.e., Active Set) request the inclusion of the selected one or more base stations in the ACS, to a first base station (i.e., primary base station)
(Yang: See para[0045]-[0050] & [0058]-[0060], Fig. 2, signal strength of all base stations received by UE are compared by mobile station (UE) with signal strength parameters T-ADD and T-Drop, then, a Base Station to be added or dropped is determined. Accordingly, a request is sent by mobile station (UE) to primary base station requesting modification of mobile station’s “Active Set” (ACS), by either adding and/or dropping certain base stations from the “Active Set”, depending on their Signal Strengths being below “T-Drop” or above “T-ADD” parameter as determined by mobile station (UE))
communicate over a wireless network using the ACS formed with the selected one or more base stations. (See Fig. 1, for mobile station (UE) communicates via one or more of the base stations of the active set (i.e., ACS))
Although Yang teaches UE transmitting a message that identifies a BS that needs to be either added or dropped from active set, however, Yang does not explicitly disclose that such a message sent, is an uplink SRS, assigned and allocated to UE by BS, wherein UE uses uplink SRS for transmissions to BS, wherein such uplink SRS includes SRS resource that identifies or includes a cell identifier, as understood by:
identify an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) air interface resource for the user equipment that maps to the selected one or more base stations;
an uplink SRS using the identified uplink SRS air interface resource; and
However, in a similar field, AHN, in para[0358]-[0362], teaches a UE receiving from an eNB, an “uplink SRS resource configuration information” to be used by UE, for UE uplink transmissions, wherein the SRS resource configuration information received by UE, includes various information such as a “TA value” that represents a cell group (i.e., a BS group) as well as virtual cell identifiers (VOID). See para[ 0321]-[0322], eNB configures specific information for each SRS resource group by considering a coordinated multi-point operation (CoMP operation) by configuration and indicating “virtual cell identifiers” ( VOID), in addition to the TA value, and by mapping one or more SRS resources to a BS group (or cell/TRP group). Also see para[0340] UE transmit the uplink signal (via UL SRS resources allocated) to eNB, by applying a VOID (i.e., cell identifiers) with the UL SRS resource allocated for transmitting to the eNB. It is understood that eNB can realize the identity of cells or groups of cells, when receiving UL SRS transmissions from UE.
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an SRS resource allocation, as taught by AHN, with the teachings of Yang, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE capable of uplink SRS transmission, having SRS resources that are further identified by Cell identifiers. ((AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
The UE of Yang in view of AHN does not explicitly disclose that UE can autonomously transmit, as understood by applied phrase of:
by autonomously transmitting
However, in a similar field, Takeda, in para[0022] teaches UE can autonomously perform uplin transmissions (Takeda: See para[0022])
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 16. The user equipment as recited in claim 15, the instructions further executable to direct the user equipment to:
determine an SRS power level for the uplink SRS based on the link quality parameter by:
identifying a weakest power metric value by analyzing the link quality parameter for each broadcast signal in the set of broadcast signals, and determining the SRS power level based on the weakest power metric value;
(Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2, mobile station can determine the SNR of received signals, based on T-ADD and T-Drop values it detects, wherein T-Drop can be the lowest or weakest metric value)
or
generating an average power level using the link quality parameter for each broadcast signal in the set of broadcast signals, and determining the SRS power level based on the average power level.
Claim 17. The user equipment as recited in claim 15, wherein the instructions to select one or more base stations further configure the user equipment to:
receive, from the first base station, a threshold value; compare the link quality parameter for each broadcast signal in the set of broadcast signals to the threshold value; and
(Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2, mobile station sends a modification message (o.e, uplink SRS”) to a primary base station, requesting modification of the active set of base stations (i.e., ACS) for the mobile station, wherein if the SNR of received signals from a particular BS is below a threshold, namely T-Drop, then the modifying message indicates to drop that BS from the active set, and if the SNR of received signals are above a threshold, namely T-ADD, then the modifying message indicates to add the particular BS to the active set (i.e., ACS))
add each base station, in the set of base stations, with a respective link quality parameter above the threshold value to the selected one or more base stations.
(Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2, mobile station sends a modification message (o.e, uplink SRS”) to a primary base station, requesting modification of the active set of base stations (i.e., ACS) for the mobile station, wherein if the SNR of received signals from a particular BS is below a threshold, namely T-Drop, then the modifying message indicates to drop that BS from the active set, and if the SNR of received signals are above a threshold, namely T-ADD, then the modifying message indicates to add the particular BS to the active set (i.e., ACS))
Claim 18. The user equipment as recited in claim 15, the instructions further executable to direct the user equipment to: receive, from the first base station, an indication of an allocation of SRS air interface resources; and
(AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10, teaches that UE receives an SRS resource configuration information from BS, indicating a specific SRS resource and cell identifier for such SRS resource, after which the UE transmit the UL signal and using the identified SRS resource having a specific cell identifier)
receive, from the first base station, a first mapping that assigns each respective SRS air interface resource in the allocation to a respective combination of base stations in the set of base stations.
(AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10, teaches that UE receives an SRS resource configuration information from BS, indicating a specific SRS resource and cell identifier for such SRS resource, after which the UE transmit the UL signal and using the identified SRS resource having a specific cell identifier)
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 19. A base station comprising: at least one wireless transceiver; a processor; and computer-readable storage media comprising instructions, responsive to execution by the processor, for directing the base station to:
monitor for transmission of resources (i.e., “Active Set” base stations of UE) allocated to the UE; (see para[0058]-[0060], the primary base station (BS) receives a messages from mobile station (UE), requesting for modification of the base stations in the UE’s Active Set)
form the ACS (i.e., updating the Active Set) by negotiating with each base station in the selection; and (Yang: See Fig. 7, #770, UE sending a signal along with the updated Active Set list of base stations to the base stations of Active Set)
jointly communicate, over the wireless network, with the UE as part of the ACS. (i.e., Active Set). (See Fig. 1 mobile station (UE) communicates with base stations of the Active Set (i.e., ACS))
Although Yang teaches BS receiving (i.e., monitoring) from UE transmission in an active set, including a message in an active set to a BS, that identifies a specific BS that needs to be either added or dropped from an active set, however, Yang does not explicitly disclose that such a message sent, is sent via an allocated uplink SRS, assigned and/or allocated to UE by BS, wherein the UE then uses uplink SRS for transmissions to BS, and wherein such transmissions identifies or includes a cell identifier, as understood by:
receive, over a wireless network and using a first SRS air interface resource of the SRS air interface resources, the uplink SRS from the UE;
identify, based on the first SRS air interface resource, a selection of one or more base stations the UE requests for inclusion in an active coordination set (ACS);
However, in a similar field, AHN, in para[0358]-[0362], teaches a UE receiving from an eNB, an “uplink SRS resource configuration information” to be used by UE, for UE uplink transmissions, wherein the SRS resource configuration information received by UE, includes various information such as a “TA value” that represents a cell group (i.e., a BS group) as well as virtual cell identifiers (VOID). See para[ 0321]-[0322], eNB configures specific information for each SRS resource group by considering a coordinated multi-point operation (CoMP operation) by configuration and indicating “virtual cell identifiers” ( VOID), in addition to the TA value, and by mapping one or more SRS resources to a BS group (or cell/TRP group). Also see para[0340] UE transmit the uplink signal (via UL SRS resources allocated) to eNB, by applying a VOID (i.e., cell identifiers) with the UL SRS resource allocated for transmitting to the eNB. It is understood that eNB can realize the identity of cells or groups of cells, when receiving UL SRS transmissions from UE.
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an SRS resource allocation, as taught by AHN, with the teachings of Yang, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE capable of uplink SRS transmission, having SRS resources that are further identified by Cell identifiers. ((AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
The UE of Yang in view of AHN does not explicitly disclose that UE can autonomously transmit, as understood by applied phrase of:
autonomous transmission
However, in a similar field, Takeda, in para[0022] teaches UE can autonomously perform uplin transmissions (Takeda: See para[0022])
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
Claim 20. The base station as recited in claim 19, the instructions further executable to direct the base station to: allocate the SRS air interface resources to the UE; and transmit an indication of the SRS air interface resources to the UE.
(AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10, teaches that UE receives an SRS resource configuration information from BS, indicating a specific SRS resource and cell identifier for such SRS resource, after which the UE transmit the UL signal and using the identified SRS resource having a specific cell identifier)
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included an autonomous UE, as taught by Takeda, with the teachings of Yang in view of AHN, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can autonomously perform uplink transmissions. (Liu: See para[0022])
6. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, AHN, Takeda and in further view of US 20170347365 A1 to Xu et al., (hereinafter Xu).
Claim 4. Yang in view of AHN and Takeda teaches the method as recited in claim 3, wherein generating the average power level comprises: selecting a subset of link quality parameters by:
comparing the link quality parameter for each broadcast signal in the set of broadcast signals to a threshold value; and adding the link quality parameter to the subset of link quality parameters if the link quality parameter meets the threshold value; and
(Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2, mobile station sends a modification message (o.e, uplink SRS”) to a primary base station, requesting modification of the active set of base stations (i.e., ACS) for the mobile station, wherein if the SNR of received signals from a particular BS is below a threshold, namely T-Drop, then the modifying message indicates to drop that BS from the active set, and if the SNR of received signals are above a threshold, namely T-ADD, then the modifying message indicates to add the particular BS to the active set (i.e., ACS))
However, Yang in view of AHN and Takeda does not explicitly disclose UE being able to generate an average power based on the RSSI (i.e., link quality parameter), as understood alternatively by:
generating an average power level using the subset of link quality parameters.
However, in a similar field, Xu teaches UE can measure RSSI and average RSSI results (Xu: See para[0133]
Yang teaches techniques related to active mobility management wherein UE evaluates candidate base stations based on the measurement of radio signals transmitted from candidate base stations. (Yang: See para[0050]-[0060] and Fig. 2)
AHN teaches techniques wherein UE is allocated by BS, SRS resources having corresponding Cell identifiers, that UE uses in uplink transmission towards BS. (AHN: See para[0361]-[0362] and Fig. 10 )
Takeda teaches UE being able to autonomously transmit uplink transmissions. (Takeda: See para[0022)
Xu teaches communication wireless techniques wherein UE can measure RSSI and average RSSI results gathered. (Xu: See para[0133])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of effective filing, to have included RSSI averaging, as taught by Xu with the teachings of Yang, AHN and Takeda, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that can measure various RSSI of different transmissions received and determine the average RSSI based on all RSSI received. (Liu: See para[0068]-[0072])
7. Claim 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, AHN, Takeda, and in further view of US 20220021420 A1 to Liu et al., (hereinafter Liu).
Claim 8. Yang in view of AHN and Takeda teaches the method as recited in claim 6, wherein information indicating antenna port is indicated through DCI (AHN: See para[0160]), however, it does not specifically indicate UE transmitting acc