DETAILED ACTION
Response to amendment
2. This is a Final Office action in response to applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 02/17/2026.
3. Status of the claims:
• Claims 1-4, 6, 9-10, 27, 34, 53, 65-67, 69-70, 72-73, 78, 81, and 83-84 have been amended.
• Claims are 7, 8, and 31 canceled.
• Claims 85-87 are added.
• Claims 1-6, 9-10, 27-28, 34, 53, and 65-87 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to remarks/arguments
4. Applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 02/17/2026 with respect to claims 1-6, 9-10, 27-28, 34, 53, and 65-84 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of obviousness rejection is made in view of Hwang et al. (US 2019/0239057 A1).
5. In response to Applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 02/17/2026 regarding claims 1-6, 9-10, 27-28, 34, 53, and 65-84, the Examiner acknowledges that the combination of Seo and Maladi does not explicitly teach the newly recited features as argued by Applicant. However, the system of Hwang et al. (US 2019/0239057 A1) cures this deficiency.
Please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-6, 9-10, 27-28, 34, 53, and 65-87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0310475 A1), Maladi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0013599 A1), and further in view of Hwang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0239057 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 23, para. 202), comprising:
identifying an interleaving pattern comprising a mapping between one or more virtual resource blocks and one or more physical resource blocks corresponding to a set of slots (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe);
performing an interleaving process based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern (Seo, Figs. 6, 7, para. 48-53, 97-100: The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs), the one or more parameters comprising at least one different interleaving parameter for different slots (Seo, Figs. 6, 7, para. 48-53, 97-100: The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In this way, PRB index and DVRB index can be mapped to two slots (That said, the interleaving pattern includes one or more parameters of at least a first slot; performing an interleaving process based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern, the one or more parameters comprising at least one different interleaving parameter for different time slots)).
Seo does not appear to explicitly disclose the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data; and communicating, with a network entity, the repetition of the data over one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process.
In the same of endeavor, Malladi discloses the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data (Malladi, para. 92: TX data processor 1714 may process (e.g., encode, interleave, and symbol map) the traffic data and signaling and provide data symbols and signaling symbols, respectively. Each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, see also Malladi, para. [0071][0072]); communicating, with a network entity, the repetition of the data over [[the]] one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data; communicating, with a base station, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Seo and Malladi do not appear to explicitly disclose the at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches the at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots (Hwang, para. [0224] [0229]: The interleaving pattern may be initialized when NPDSCH transmission is started, and the interleaving pattern may be changed for each slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Malladi with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such as at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to apply different interleaving pattern to each slot. (Hwang, para. [0221]).
Regarding claims 2, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on a pre-configuration associated with the interleaving pattern, a configuration received from the network entity, or a combination thereof (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receiving downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe; a sequence of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and sequentially map the cyclically shifted series of indices to a contiguous series of indices of PRB2, e.g., which shows the claimed limitation of identifying the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on a pre-configuration associated with the interleaving pattern, a configuration received from [[a]] the base station, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 3, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: receiving an indication from the network entity (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource block allocation information for downlink data from a base station), wherein identifying the one or more parameters is based at least in part on the indication (Seo, para. 47: a sequence of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and sequentially map the cyclically shifted series of indices to a contiguous series of indices of PRB2, e.g., which shows the claimed limitation of identifying the one or more parameters), and wherein the indication comprises a radio resource control configuration, a medium access control element indication, a downlink control information indication, or any combination thereof (Seo, para. 121: the base station can transmit bitmap information of N.sub.LVRB bits to each terminal to notify the terminal of which one of the LVRBs through which downlink data will be transmitted or which one of the LVRBs through which uplink data can be transmitted. That is, each bit of the N.sub.LVRB-bit bitmap information, which is transmitted to each terminal as scheduling information, indicates whether data will or can be transmitted through an LVRB corresponding to this bit, among the N.sub.LVRB LVRBs).
Regarding claim 4, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving a communication from the network entity (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station); and identifying the pre-configuration associated with the interleaving pattern based at least in part on the received communication (Seo, para. 24, 47-55, 97-100: receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information), wherein identifying the one or more parameters is based at least in part on the pre-configuration (Seo, para. 24, 47-55, 97-100: the user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from the base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information; the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2).
Regarding claim 5, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 2, wherein identifying the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern comprises:
identifying the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern for at least the first slot based at least in part on a slot index of the first slot, a total number of slots corresponding to the repetition of the data, or both (Seo, para. 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determining an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe).
Regarding claim 6, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 85, further comprising:
identifying the mapping between the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks corresponding to the set of slots (Seo, para. 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots comprised in the subframe); and adjusting the mapping for the first slot based at least in part on a cyclic shift for the first slot of the one or more cyclic shifts (Seo, para. 34, 48: sequentially mapping the interleaved indexes to indexes of the physical resource blocks on a first slot of one subframe, the subframe including the first slot and a second slot, and sequentially mapping indexes obtained by cyclically shifting the interleaved indexes), wherein the interleaving pattern comprises the adjusted mapping for the first slot (Seo, Figs. 6-7, para. 47-55: the block interleaver may interleave an order of a series of consecutive indices of the DVRB. Here, a series of consecutive indexes represents index numbers sequentially incremented by one starting from 0. The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In such a manner, a PRB index and a DVRB index may be mapped to two time slots).
Regarding claim 9, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating a first grouping corresponding to the first slot based at least in part on a first interleaving parameter of the at least one different interleaving parameter (Seo, para. 151: RBs are grouped into a plurality of groups. RBs are mapped in units of one group. That is, a plurality of RBs constituting one group have association of mapping. When the group size is larger, it is difficult to minutely perform resource allocation, but it is possible to reduce the number of bits of a bitmap), the first interleaving parameter corresponding to the first slot (Seo, para. 16-17, 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determining an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe); and
identifying a first mapping between the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on the first grouping (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe).
Seo and Hwang do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping.
In the same of endeavor, Malladi discloses wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Hwang with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 10, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: generating a second grouping corresponding to the second slot based at least in part on a second interleaving parameter of the at least one different interleaving parameter, the second interleaving parameter corresponding to the second slot (Seo, para. 16-17, 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determining an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe); and identifying a second mapping between the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on the second grouping, wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the second slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the second mapping (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe).
Seo does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping.
In the same of endeavor, Malladi discloses wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Hwang with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 27, Seo discloses a method for wireless communications at a network entity (Seo, para. 118: the base station to perform the steps), comprising:
identifying an interleaving pattern comprising a mapping between one or more virtual resource blocks and one or more physical resource blocks corresponding to a set of slots (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe);
performing an interleaving process based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern (Seo, Figs. 6, 7, para. 48-53, 97-100: The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs), the one or more parameters comprising at least one different interleaving parameter for different slots (Seo, Figs. 6, 7, para. 48-53, 97-100: The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In this way, PRB index and DVRB index can be mapped to two slots (That said, the interleaving pattern includes one or more parameters of at least a first slot; performing an interleaving process based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern, the one or more parameters comprising at least one different interleaving parameter for different time slots)); and
Seo does not appear to explicitly disclose the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data; communicating, with a user equipment, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process.
In the same of endeavor, Malladi discloses the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data (Malladi, para. 92: TX data processor 1714 may process (e.g., encode, interleave, and symbol map) the traffic data and signaling and provide data symbols and signaling symbols, respectively. Each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, see also Malladi, para. [0071][0072]); communicating, with a user equipment, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data; communicating, with a base station, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Seo and Malladi do not appear to explicitly disclose the at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches the at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots (Hwang, para. [0224] [0229]: The interleaving pattern may be initialized when NPDSCH transmission is started, and the interleaving pattern may be changed for each slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Malladi with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such as at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to apply different interleaving pattern to each slot. (Hwang, para. [0221]).
Regarding claim 28, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising:
identifying the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on a pre-configuration associated with the interleaving pattern, a configuration of the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern, or a combination thereof (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receiving downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe; a sequence of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and sequentially map the cyclically shifted series of indices to a contiguous series of indices of PRB2, e.g., which shows identifying the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on a pre-configuration associated with the interleaving pattern, a configuration of the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 34, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising:
generating a first grouping corresponding to the first slot based at least in part on a first interleaving parameter of the at least one different interleaving parameter (Seo, para. 151: RBs are grouped into a plurality of groups. RBs are mapped in units of one group. That is, a plurality of RBs constituting one group have association of mapping. When the group size is larger, it is difficult to minutely perform resource allocation, but it is possible to reduce the number of bits of a bitmap), the first interleaving parameter corresponding to the first slot (Seo, para. 16-17, 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determining an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe); and
identifying a first mapping between the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on the first grouping (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe).
Seo does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping.
In the same of endeavor, Malladi discloses wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Hwang with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 53, Seo discloses an apparatus (para. 121: a base station) for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor, memory coupled with the processor (para. 303); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
identify an interleaving pattern comprising a mapping between one or more virtual resource blocks and one or more physical resource blocks corresponding to a set of slots (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe), the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe);
perform an interleaving process based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern (Seo, Figs. 6, 7, para. 48-53, 97-100: The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs), the one or more parameters comprising at least one different interleaving parameter for different slots (Seo, Figs. 6, 7, para. 48-53, 97-100: The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In this way, PRB index and DVRB index can be mapped to two slots (That said, the interleaving pattern includes one or more parameters of at least a first slot; performing an interleaving process based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern, the one or more parameters comprising at least one different interleaving parameter for different time slots, one or more cyclic shifts of the interleaving pattern for one or more time slots, or both)); and
Seo does not appear to explicitly disclose the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data; communicating, with the network entity, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process.
In the same of endeavor, Malladi discloses the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data (Malladi, para. 92: TX data processor 1714 may process (e.g., encode, interleave, and symbol map) the traffic data and signaling and provide data symbols and signaling symbols, respectively. Each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, see also Malladi, para. [0071][0072]); communicating, with the network entity, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data; communicating, with a base station, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Seo and Malladi do not appear to explicitly disclose the at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches the at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots (Hwang, para. [0224] [0229]: The interleaving pattern may be initialized when NPDSCH transmission is started, and the interleaving pattern may be changed for each slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Malladi with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such as at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to apply different interleaving pattern to each slot. (Hwang, para. [0221]).
Regarding claim 65, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 53, further comprising:
identify the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on a pre-configuration associated with the interleaving pattern, a configuration received from the network entity, or a combination thereof (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receiving downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe; a sequence of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and sequentially map the cyclically shifted series of indices to a contiguous series of indices of PRB2, e.g., which shows the claimed limitation of identifying the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on a pre-configuration associated with the interleaving pattern, a configuration received from [[a]] the base station, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 66, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 65, further comprising:
receive an indication from the network entity (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource block allocation information for downlink data from a base station), wherein identifying the one or more parameters is based at least in part on the indication (Seo, para. 47: a sequence of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and sequentially map the cyclically shifted series of indices to a contiguous series of indices of PRB2, e.g., which shows the claimed limitation of identifying the one or more parameters), and wherein the indication comprises a radio resource control configuration, a medium access control element indication, a downlink control information indication, or any combination thereof (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receiving downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information).
Regarding claim 67, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 65, further comprising:
receive a communication from the network entity (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station); and identify the pre-configuration associated with the interleaving pattern based at least in part on the received communication (Seo, para. 24, 47-55, 97-100: receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information), wherein identifying the one or more parameters is based at least in part on the pre-configuration (Seo, para. 24, 47-55, 97-100: the user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from the base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information; the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2).
Regarding claim 68, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 65, wherein the instructions to identify the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
identify the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern for at least the first slot based at least in part on a slot index of the first slot, a total number of slots corresponding to the repetition of the data, or both (Seo, para. 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determining an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe).
Regarding claim 69, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 86, further comprising:
identify the mapping between the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks corresponding to the set of slots (Seo, para. 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots comprised in the subframe); and adjust the mapping for the first slot based at least in part on a cyclic shift for the first slot of the one or more cyclic shifts (Seo, para. 34, 48: sequentially mapping the interleaved indexes to indexes of the physical resource blocks on a first slot of one subframe, the subframe including the first slot and a second slot, and sequentially mapping indexes obtained by cyclically shifting the interleaved indexes), wherein the interleaving pattern comprises the adjusted mapping for the first slot (Seo, Figs. 6-7para. 47-55: the block interleaver may interleave an order of a series of consecutive indices of the DVRB. Here, a series of consecutive indexes represents index numbers sequentially incremented by one starting from 0. The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In such a manner, a PRB index and a DVRB index may be mapped to two time slots).
Regarding claim 70, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 69, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
adjust the mapping for the second slot of the set of slots based at least in part on a cyclic shift for the second slot of the one or more cyclic shifts (Seo, para. 34, 48: sequentially mapping the interleaved indexes to indexes of the physical resource blocks on a first slot of one subframe, the subframe including the first slot and a second slot, and sequentially mapping indexes obtained by cyclically shifting the interleaved indexes), wherein the interleaving pattern comprises the adjusted mapping for the second slot (Seo, para. 16-17: the block interleaver can interleave the order of a series of consecutive indices of the DVRB. Here, a series of consecutive indexes represents index numbers sequentially incremented by one starting from 0. The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In this way, a PRB index and a DVRB index may be mapped to two slots).
Regarding claim 71, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 69, wherein the instructions to adjust the mapping for the first slot based at least in part on the cyclic shift for the first slot are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
adjust a correspondence for a first virtual resource block bundle from a first portion of the one or more physical resource blocks to a second portion of the one or more physical resource blocks in accordance with the cyclic shift for the first slot (Seo, para. [0091]: FIG. 28 is a view illustrating the case in which the number of DVRBs is set to a multiple of the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs), to which one virtual resource block (VRB) is mapped, N.sub.D, and the number of consecutive physical resource blocks constituting an RBG), wherein the cyclic shift for the first slot indicates a quantity of virtual resource block bundles between the first portion of the one or more physical resource blocks and the second portion of the one or more physical resource blocks (Seo, para. 16-17: the block interleaver can interleave the order of a series of consecutive indices of the DVRB. Here, a series of consecutive indexes represents index numbers sequentially incremented by one starting from 0. The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In this way, a PRB index and a DVRB index may be mapped to two slots).
Regarding claim 72, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 53, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
generate a first grouping corresponding to the first slot based at least in part on a first interleaving parameter of the at least one different interleaving parameter (Seo, para. 151: RBs are grouped into a plurality of groups. RBs are mapped in units of one group. That is, a plurality of RBs constituting one group have association of mapping. When the group size is larger, it is difficult to minutely perform resource allocation, but it is possible to reduce the number of bits of a bitmap), the first interleaving parameter corresponding to the first slot (Seo, para. 16-17, 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determining an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe); and
identify a first mapping between the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on the first grouping (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe).
Seo does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping.
In the same of endeavor, Malladi discloses wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Hwang with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 73, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 72, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
generate a second grouping corresponding to the second slot based at least in part on a second interleaving parameter of the at least one different interleaving parameter (Seo, para. 16-17, 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determining an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe), the second interleaving parameter corresponding to the second slot (Seo, para. 16-17, 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determining an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe); and identify a second mapping between the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on the second grouping (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe).
Seo does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping.
In the same of endeavor, Malladi discloses wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Hwang with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 74, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 53, however, Malladi further discloses wherein the instructions to communicate the repetition of the data over at least the first slot based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit the repetition of the data over an uplink shared channel (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Hwang with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 75, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 74, however, Malladi further discloses wherein the instructions to perform the interleaving process are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
interleave the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks in accordance with the one or more parameters (Malladi, para. 75: Each virtual resource block is mapped to one of physical resource blocks 0 through 7 in each symbol period for time interlace m based on a pseudo-random hopping pattern. Virtual resource block 0 is mapped to physical resource block 0 in symbol period 0 of time period m, to physical resource block 5 in symbol period 1, to physical resource block 2 in symbol period 2, etc. The mapping of virtual resource blocks 0 through 7 to physical resource blocks 0 through 7 in each symbol period of time interlace m is shown in FIG. 10. FIG. 10 shows a pseudo-random hopping pattern, and other hopping patterns may also be used), wherein transmitting the repetition of the data is based at least in part on the interleaving (Malladi, para. 70-72: An HARQ process refers to all transmission and retransmissions, if any, for a packet. An HARQ process may be started whenever resources are available and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions. An HARQ process may have a variable duration that may depend on the decoding results at the receiver. Each HARQ process may be sent on one HARQ interlace., i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Hwang with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data; communicating, with a base station, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 76, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 53, Malladi further discloses wherein the instructions to communicate the repetition of the data over at least the first slot based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive the repetition of the data over a downlink shared channel (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Hwang with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 77, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 76, wherein the instructions to perform the interleaving process are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
deinterleave the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks in accordance with the one or more parameters based at least in part on receiving the repetition of the data (Seo, para. 24, 34, 39: sequentially mapping the interleaved indexes to indexes of the physical resource blocks on a first slot of one subframe, the subframe including the first slot and a second slot, and sequentially mapping indexes obtained by cyclically shifting the interleaved indexes by a gap for the distribution to the indexes of the physical resource blocks on the second slot, wherein the gap is a multiple of a square of the number (M.sub.RBG) of the consecutive physical resource blocks constituting the RBG).
Regarding claim 78, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 53, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive information from the network entity scheduling an uplink transmission from the UE to the network entity (Seo, para. 118: Downlink data transmission from a base station to a specific terminal or uplink data transmission from the specific terminal to the base station is made through one or more VRBs in one subframe); and identify a type of an uplink payload for the uplink transmission (Seo, para. 118: When the base station transmits data to the specific terminal, it has to notify the terminal of which one of the VRBs is used for data transmission), wherein identifying the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern is based at least in part on identifying the type of the uplink payload (Seo, para. 118: enable the specific terminal to transmit data (e.g., uplink payload), the base station has to notify the terminal of which one of the VRBs is allowed to use for data transmission.).
Regarding claim 79, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 78, wherein the instructions to communicate the repetition of the data are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit the uplink transmission based at least in part on the interleaving pattern based at least in part on the identified type of the uplink payload (Seo, para. 121: the base station can transmit bitmap information of N.sub.LVRB bits to each terminal to notify the terminal of which one of the LVRBs through which downlink data will be transmitted or which one of the LVRBs through which uplink data can be transmitted. That is, each bit of the N.sub.LVRB-bit bitmap information, which is transmitted to each terminal as scheduling information, indicates whether data will or can be transmitted through an LVRB corresponding to this bit, among the N.sub.LVRB LVRBs. This scheme is disadvantageous in that, when the number N.sub.LVRB becomes larger, the number of bits to be transmitted to each terminal becomes larger in proportion thereto.).
Regarding claim 80, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 78, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
refrain from processing the uplink transmission based at least in part on the interleaving pattern based at least in part on the identified type of the uplink payload (Malladi, 70: The system may support hybrid automatic retransmission (HARQ), which may also be referred to as incremental redundancy, chase combining, etc. With HARQ, a transmitter sends a transmission for a packet and may send one or more retransmissions until the packet is decoded correctly by a receiver, or the maximum number of retransmissions has been sent, or some other termination condition is encountered. HARQ may improve reliability of data transmission.), wherein communicating the repetition of the data is based at least in part on refraining from processing the uplink transmission (Malladi, Fig. 7, para. 48-49: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Hwang with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as refrain from processing the uplink transmission and communicating the repetition of the data is based at least in part on refraining from processing the uplink transmission as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 81, Seo discloses an apparatus (para. 118: Downlink data transmission from a base station to a specific terminal or uplink data transmission from the specific terminal to the base station is made through one or more VRBs in one subframe) for wireless communications at a base station, comprising: a processor, memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
identify an interleaving pattern comprising a mapping between one or more virtual resource blocks and one or more physical resource blocks corresponding to a set of slots (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe), the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe);
perform an interleaving process based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern (Seo, Figs. 6, 7, para. 48-53, 97-100: The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs), the one or more parameters comprising at least one different interleaving parameter for different slots, (Seo, Figs. 6, 7, para. 48-53, 97-100: The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In this way, PRB index and DVRB index can be mapped to two slots (That said, the interleaving pattern includes one or more parameters of at least a first slot; performing an interleaving process based at least in part on the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern, the one or more parameters comprising at least one different interleaving parameter for different time slots, one or more cyclic shifts of the interleaving pattern for one or more time slots, or both)); and
Seo does not appear to explicitly disclose the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data; communicate, with a user equipment, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process.
In the same of endeavor, Malladi discloses the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data (Malladi, para. 92: TX data processor 1714 may process (e.g., encode, interleave, and symbol map) the traffic data and signaling and provide data symbols and signaling symbols, respectively. Each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, see also Malladi, para. [0071][0072]); communicate, with a user equipment, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as the interleaving pattern comprising one or more parameters for at least a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data; communicating, with a base station, the repetition of the data over the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Seo and Malladi do not appear to explicitly disclose the at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches the at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots (Hwang, para. [0224] [0229]: The interleaving pattern may be initialized when NPDSCH transmission is started, and the interleaving pattern may be changed for each slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Malladi with the teaching of Hwang by using the above features such as at least one different interleaving parameter enabling at least one slot in the set of slots to be associated with a different interleaving pattern than a second slot in the set of slots as taught by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to apply different interleaving pattern to each slot. (Hwang, para. [0221]).
Regarding claim 82, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 81, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
identify the one or more parameters of the interleaving pattern for at least the first slot based at least in part on a slot index of the first slot, a total number of slots corresponding to the repetition of the data, or both (Seo, para. 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determining an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe).
Regarding claim 83, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 87, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
identify the mapping between the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks corresponding to the set of slots (Seo, para. 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots comprised in the subframe); and adjust the mapping for the first slot based at least in part on a cyclic shift for the first slot of the one or more cyclic shifts (Seo, para. 34, 48: sequentially mapping the interleaved indexes to indexes of the physical resource blocks on a first slot of one subframe, the subframe including the first slot and a second slot, and sequentially mapping indexes obtained by cyclically shifting the interleaved indexes), wherein the interleaving pattern comprises the adjusted mapping for the first slot (Seo, Figs. 6-7para. 47-55: the block interleaver may interleave an order of a series of consecutive indices of the DVRB. Here, a series of consecutive indexes represents index numbers sequentially incremented by one starting from 0. The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In such a manner, a PRB index and a DVRB index may be mapped to two time slots).
Regarding claim 84, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 81, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
generate a first grouping corresponding to the first slot based at least in part on a first interleaving parameter of the at least one different interleaving parameter (Seo, para. 151: RBs are grouped into a plurality of groups. RBs are mapped in units of one group. That is, a plurality of RBs constituting one group have association of mapping. When the group size is larger, it is difficult to minutely perform resource allocation, but it is possible to reduce the number of bits of a bitmap), the first interleaving parameter corresponding to the first slot (Seo, para. 16-17, 47-55: a user equipment receiving downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determining an index of a virtual resource block, VRB, to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and the PRB, the mapping relationship being defined as an index of the VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns representing the number of slots included in the subframe); and
identify a first mapping between the one or more virtual resource blocks and the one or more physical resource blocks of the interleaving pattern based at least in part on the first grouping (Seo, para. 47: a user equipment receives downlink control information including resource allocation information for downlink data from a base station; and receive downlink data mapped to physical resource blocks, PRBs, based on the downlink control information, wherein the resource allocation information indicates a virtual resource block, VRB, allocation for the user equipment, determine an index of a PRB to which downlink data is mapped based on a mapping relationship between the PRB and a virtual resource block, VRB, the mapping relationship is defined as an index of VRB mapped to an index of a PRB for Ns slots of a subframe, Ns denotes the number of slots included in the subframe).
Seo does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping.
In the same of endeavor, Malladi discloses wherein communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping (Malladi, para. 48-95: resource blocks for all physical sub-bands of an FDS can be aggregated and referred to as physical resource blocks. In the example design shown in FIG. 7, each physical sub-band includes NRB= 8 resource blocks, and physical sub-bands 2 and 4 for FDS include a total of 16 physical resource blocks assigned indices 0 through 15. HARQ may improve reliability of the data transmission; each HARQ interlace may cover time periods spaced apart by M time periods, each HARQ interlace may correspond to a different time interlace; HARQ processes refer to all transmissions and retransmissions of packets, if any; a HARQ process may start whenever resources are available, and may terminate after the first transmission or after one or more subsequent retransmissions; transmissions for each group of users may be sent along with HARQ on a time interlace of the group; the UE is to utilize hybrid automatic repeat (HARQ) to receive transmissions in uniformly spaced time periods, i.e., the interleaving pattern comprises multiple parameters for a first slot corresponding to a repetition of data and communicating the repetition of the data with a base station at the one or more slots based at least in part on the interleaving process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seo and Hwang with the teaching of Malladi by using the above features such as communicating the repetition of the data over the first slot of the one or more slots is based at least in part on the first mapping as taught by Malladi. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve reliability of data transmission (Malladi, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 85, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters further comprises one or more cyclic shifts of the interleaving pattern for the one or more slots (Seo, para. 16-17: the block interleaver can interleave the order of a series of consecutive indices of the DVRB. Here, a series of consecutive indexes represents index numbers sequentially incremented by one starting from 0. The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In this way, a PRB index and a DVRB index may be mapped to two slots).
Regarding claim 86, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 53, wherein the one or more parameters further comprises one or more cyclic shifts of the interleaving pattern for the one or more slots (Seo, para. 16-17: the block interleaver can interleave the order of a series of consecutive indices of the DVRB. Here, a series of consecutive indexes represents index numbers sequentially incremented by one starting from 0. The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In this way, a PRB index and a DVRB index may be mapped to two slots).
Regarding claim 87, Seo as modified by Malladi and Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 81, wherein the one or more parameters further comprises one or more cyclic shifts of the interleaving pattern for the one or more slots (Seo, para. 16-17: the block interleaver can interleave the order of a series of consecutive indices of the DVRB. Here, a series of consecutive indexes represents index numbers sequentially incremented by one starting from 0. The series of indices output from the interleaver are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB1 (see FIG. 6). Assume that the VRBs in FIG. 6 are all allocated as DVRBs. On the other hand, the series of indices output from the interleaver may be cyclically shifted by a predetermined number, and the cyclically shifted series of indices are successively mapped to a series of consecutive indices of PRB2 (see FIG. 7). Assume that VRB in FIG. 7 are all designated DVRB. In this way, a PRB index and a DVRB index may be mapped to two slots).
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN F VOLTAIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 2417 /PAUL H. MASUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417