DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 14-16, 19, 20 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al (US 2020/0059961, hereinafter Do), in view of Wei et al (US 2021/0084674, hereinafter Wei), in view of Tooher et al (US 2022/0201747, hereinafter Tooher, claiming the priority date of provisional application 62/824,799) and in view of Jeon et al (US 2019/0174546, hereinafter Jeon).
Regarding claim 1, Do discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, a resource allocation for a first uplink communication, wherein the resource allocation indicates at least a first radio frequency channel in a shared radio frequency spectrum band is allocated for the first uplink communication (base station transmits uplink grant to wireless device scheduling the device on channel/BWP1, Para [0113], on unlicensed band, Para [0005]); identifying a second uplink communication that is scheduled for transmission using at least a second radio frequency channel in the shared radio frequency spectrum band (the uplink grant also allows schedules the wireless device on another channel/BWP5, Para [0113]); determining a set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band to be used for an uplink transmission that includes at least one of the first uplink communication or the second uplink communication (wireless device can transmit the UL transmission on a subset of the channels/BWPs, Para [0118], e.g. wireless device transmits on subset of the BWPs, Fig. 3), and performing a listen before talk procedure to access the set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band (the wireless device performs LBT on multiple channels/BWPs, Para [0117]); determining, a set of radio frequency channels, at the UE, based at least in part on the resource allocation for the first uplink communication (the allowed BWPs are indicated in each uplink grant for the UE, in one example the UE determines the set as BWP1 and BWP5 as indicated by the uplink grant/resource allocation, Para [0113]); but not explicitly the resource allocation is for first and second uplink communication in a first slot nor fully discloses wherein the set of radio frequency channels is based at least in part on one or more of a multiplexing procedure, a prioritization procedure, or combinations thereof, associated with the first uplink communication and the second uplink communication. Wei discloses two PUSCHs can overlap in the time domain, where both are scheduled in first slot and a prioritization procedure can be performed for transmitting the uplink communications, Para [0003]/Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wei in the system of Do in order to resolve conflicts between overlapping transmissions; nor fully discloses the determining of the set of radio channels is also based partially on the scheduled second uplink communication. Do discloses each uplink grant indicates allowed BWPs/channels for the UE to transmit on, Para [0113]. Wei discloses the UE can receive two PDCCHs with resource allocations for two PUSCHs, Para [0003] where first and second PUSCH (UL transmissions) are scheduled in different frequencies, Fig. 1. This means the first UL grant can indicate allowable BWPs for first UL transmission and second UL grant indicate other allowable BWPs for second UL transmission; and does not disclose the listen before talk procedure is performed only on the set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band, and the set of radio frequency channels is less than all of the radio frequency channels associated with the first uplink communication and the second uplink communication. Tooher discloses the WTRU can be indicated the set of LBT sub-bands acquired by the gNB and the WTRU can determine a subset of LBT sub-bands to perform LBT on, Para [0106] or [0104] from the provisional. In Do, the access node schedules the wireless device on BWPs via grants based on LBT outcome of the access node, Para [0113] and in view of Tooher, the wireless device can perform LBT on a subset of those sub-bands/BWPs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Tooher in the system of Do in view of Wei in order increase flexibility for performing LBT over a wideband BW or LBT over sub-bands without increasing channel access complexity; nor discloses wherein the set of radio frequency channels excludes unused radio frequency channels identified after application of multiplexing procedure or the prioritization procedure nor determining set of radio channel by UE prior to LBT procedure. Wei discloses multiple UL grants for two PUSCHs that are overlapped in the time domain, performs a prioritization procedure and will select the prioritized PUSCH for UL transmission, Para [0003], the prioritized PUSCH is transmitted while the deprioritized PUSCH is not transmitted until a later grant is received, Para [0027]. Tooher discloses the gNB indicates to the WTRU what set of LBT subbands have been acquired by the gNB, where the WTRU may determine a subset of LBT subbands on which to perform LBT, Para [0106]. In view of the combination the UE is prioritizing one PUSCH on one sub-band and does not need to perform LBT on the deprioritized PUSCH on another subband, as it will not be transmitted until a later grant is received; and does not explicitly disclose the LBT procedure performed in accordance with a type 1 or type 2 channel access procedure. Jeon discloses a UE can perform a type 1 channel access procedure on first carrier and initiate type 2 channel access procedure on one or more second carriers, Para [0100]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Jeon in the system of Do in view of Wei and Tooher in order increase bandwidth available to a single device.
Regarding claims 2, 15 and 28, Do discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/14/27, further comprising: determining, based at least in part on the listen before talk procedure, that each frequency channel of the set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band is available for transmissions in the first slot; and transmitting the uplink transmission in the first slot using the set of radio frequency channels (UE performs LBT to determine which channels are available and transmits in the available channels/BWPs, Para [0117-118]).
Regarding claims 3, 16 and 29, Do discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/14/27, further comprising: determining, based at least in part on the listen before talk procedure, that one or more frequency channels of the set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band is unavailable for transmissions in the first slot; and deferring the uplink transmission using the set of radio frequency channels (transmitter would not transmit on channel that were sensed as busy, Para [0070], in this case the channels/BWPs are unavailable and the transmission would have to be deferred).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Do discloses the method/apparatus of claim 1/14, but not explicitly wherein the determining is based at least in part on an intra-UE multiplexing and prioritization procedure, an inter-UE multiplexing and prioritization procedure, or combinations thereof. Wei discloses two PUSCHs can overlap in the time domain, where both are scheduled in first slot and a prioritization procedure can be performed for transmitting the uplink communications, Para [0003]/Fig. 1. Further piggybacking UCI with PUSCH and multiplexing techniques are known in the art.
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Do discloses the method/apparatus of claim 6/19, but not wherein the first uplink communication is an uplink shared channel communication and the second uplink communication is an uplink control channel communication. Wei discloses the UL transmissions that overlap in the time domain can be between a PUSCH and a PUCCH, Para [0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wei in the system of Do in order to resolve conflicts between overlapping transmissions.
Regarding claim 14, Do discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE, Fig. 17), comprising: a processor, memory coupled with the processor (memory and processor, Fig. 17); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a base station, a resource allocation for a first uplink communication, wherein the resource allocation indicates at least a first radio frequency channel in a shared radio frequency spectrum band is allocated for the first uplink communication (base station transmits uplink grant to wireless device scheduling the device on channel/BWP1, Para [0113], on unlicensed band, Para [0005]); identify a second uplink communication that is scheduled for transmission using at least a second radio frequency channel in the shared radio frequency spectrum band (the uplink grant also allows schedules the wireless device on another channel/BWP5, Para [0113]); determine a set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band to be used for an uplink transmission in the first slot that includes at least one of the first uplink communication or the second uplink communication (wireless device can transmit the UL transmission on a subset of the channels/BWPs, Para [0118], e.g. wireless device transmits on subset of the BWPs, Fig. 3); and perform a listen before talk procedure to access the set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band (the wireless device performs LBT on multiple channels/BWPs, Para [0117]); determining, a set of radio frequency channels, at the UE, based at least in part on the resource allocation for the first uplink communication (the allowed BWPs are indicated in each uplink grant for the UE, in one example the UE determines the set as BWP1 and BWP5 as indicated by the uplink grant/resource allocation, Para [0113]); but not explicitly the resource allocation is for first and second uplink communication in a first slot nor fully discloses wherein the set of radio frequency channels is based at least in part on one or more of a multiplexing procedure, a prioritization procedure, or combinations thereof, associated with the first uplink communication and the second uplink communication. Wei discloses two PUSCHs can overlap in the time domain, where both are scheduled in first slot and a prioritization procedure can be performed for transmitting the uplink communications, Para [0003]/Fig. 1; nor fully discloses the determining of the set of radio channels is also based partially on the scheduled second uplink communication. Do discloses each uplink grant indicates allowed BWPs/channels for the UE to transmit on, Para [0113]. Wei discloses the UE can receive two PDCCHs with resource allocations for two PUSCHs, Para [0003] where first and second PUSCH (UL transmissions) are scheduled in different frequencies, Fig. 1. This means the first UL grant can indicate allowable BWPs for first UL transmission and second UL grant indicate other allowable BWPs for second UL transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wei in the system of Do in order to resolve conflicts between overlapping transmission; and does not disclose the listen before talk procedure is performed only on the set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band, and the set of radio frequency channels is less than all of the radio frequency channels associated with the first uplink communication and the second uplink communication. Tooher discloses the WTRU can be indicated the set of LBT sub-bands acquired by the gNB and the WTRU can determine a subset of LBT sub-bands to perform LBT on, Para [0106] or [0104] from the provisional. In Do, the access node schedules the wireless device on BWPs via grants based on LBT outcome of the access node, Para [0113] and in view of Tooher, the wireless device can perform LBT on a subset of those sub-bands/BWPs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Tooher in the system of Do in view of Wei in order increase flexibility for performing LBT over a wideband BW or LBT over sub-bands without increasing channel access complexity; nor discloses wherein the set of radio frequency channels excludes unused radio frequency channels identified after application of multiplexing procedure or the prioritization procedure. Wei discloses multiple UL grants for two PUSCHs that are overlapped in the time domain, performs a prioritization procedure and will select the prioritized PUSCH for UL transmission, Para [0003], the prioritized PUSCH is transmitted while the deprioritized PUSCH is not transmitted until a later grant is received, Para [0027]. Tooher discloses the gNB indicates to the WTRU what set of LBT subbands have been acquired by the gNB, where the WTRU may determine a subset of LBT subbands on which to perform LBT, Para [0106]. In view of the combination the UE is prioritizing one PUSCH on one sub-band and does not need to perform LBT on the deprioritized PUSCH on another subband, as it will not be transmitted until a later grant is received; and does not explicitly disclose the LBT procedure performed in accordance with a type 1 or type 2 channel access procedure. Jeon discloses a UE can perform a type 1 channel access procedure on first carrier and initiate type 2 channel access procedure on one or more second carriers, Para [0100]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Jeon in the system of Do in view of Wei and Tooher in order increase bandwidth available to a single device.
Regarding claim 27, Do discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE, Fig. 17), comprising: means for receiving, from a base station, a resource allocation for a first uplink communication, wherein the resource allocation indicates at least a first radio frequency channel in a shared radio frequency spectrum band is allocated for the first uplink communication (base station transmits uplink grant to wireless device scheduling the device on channel/BWP1, Para [0113], on unlicensed band, Para [0005]); means for identifying a second uplink communication that is scheduled for transmission using at least a second radio frequency channel in the shared radio frequency spectrum band (the uplink grant also allows schedules the wireless device on another channel/BWP5, Para [0113]); means for determining a set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band to be used for an uplink transmission in the first slot that includes at least one of the first uplink communication or the second uplink communication (wireless device can transmit the UL transmission on a subset of the channels/BWPs, Para [0118], e.g. wireless device transmits on subset of the BWPs, Fig. 3); and means for performing a listen before talk procedure to access the set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band (the wireless device performs LBT on multiple channels/BWPs, Para [0117]); determining, a set of radio frequency channels, at the UE, based at least in part on the resource allocation for the first uplink communication (the allowed BWPs are indicated in each uplink grant for the UE, in one example the UE determines the set as BWP1 and BWP5 as indicated by the uplink grant/resource allocation, Para [0113]); but not explicitly the resource allocation is for first and second uplink communication in a first slot nor fully discloses wherein the set of radio frequency channels is based at least in part on one or more of a multiplexing procedure, a prioritization procedure, or combinations thereof, associated with the first uplink communication and the second uplink communication. Wei discloses two PUSCHs can overlap in the time domain, where both are scheduled in first slot and a prioritization procedure can be performed for transmitting the uplink communications, Para [0003]/Fig. 1; nor fully discloses the determining of the set of radio channels is also based partially on the scheduled second uplink communication. Do discloses each uplink grant indicates allowed BWPs/channels for the UE to transmit on, Para [0113]. Wei discloses the UE can receive two PDCCHs with resource allocations for two PUSCHs, Para [0003] where first and second PUSCH (UL transmissions) are scheduled in different frequencies, Fig. 1. This means the first UL grant can indicate allowable BWPs for first UL transmission and second UL grant indicate other allowable BWPs for second UL transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wei in the system of Do in order to resolve conflicts between overlapping transmissions; and does not disclose the listen before talk procedure is performed only on the set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band, and the set of radio frequency channels is less than all of the radio frequency channels associated with the first uplink communication and the second uplink communication. Tooher discloses the WTRU can be indicated the set of LBT sub-bands acquired by the gNB and the WTRU can determine a subset of LBT sub-bands to perform LBT on, Para [0106] or [0104] from the provisional. In Do, the access node schedules the wireless device on BWPs via grants based on LBT outcome of the access node, Para [0113] and in view of Tooher, the wireless device can perform LBT on a subset of those sub-bands/BWPs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Tooher in the system of Do in view of Wei in order increase flexibility for performing LBT over a wideband BW or LBT over sub-bands without increasing channel access complexity; nor discloses wherein the set of radio frequency channels excludes unused radio frequency channels identified after application of multiplexing procedure or the prioritization procedure. Wei discloses multiple UL grants for two PUSCHs that are overlapped in the time domain, performs a prioritization procedure and will select the prioritized PUSCH for UL transmission, Para [0003], the prioritized PUSCH is transmitted while the deprioritized PUSCH is not transmitted until a later grant is received, Para [0027]. Tooher discloses the gNB indicates to the WTRU what set of LBT subbands have been acquired by the gNB, where the WTRU may determine a subset of LBT subbands on which to perform LBT, Para [0106]. In view of the combination the UE is prioritizing one PUSCH on one sub-band and does not need to perform LBT on the deprioritized PUSCH on another subband, as it will not be transmitted until a later grant is received; and does not explicitly disclose the LBT procedure performed in accordance with a type 1 or type 2 channel access procedure. Jeon discloses a UE can perform a type 1 channel access procedure on first carrier and initiate type 2 channel access procedure on one or more second carriers, Para [0100]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Jeon in the system of Do in view of Wei and Tooher in order increase bandwidth available to a single device.
Regarding claim 30, Do discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (computer readable storage, Para [0160]) storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to: receive, from a base station, a resource allocation for a first uplink communication, wherein the resource allocation indicates at least a first radio frequency channel in a shared radio frequency spectrum band is allocated for the first uplink communication (base station transmits uplink grant to wireless device scheduling the device on channel/BWP1, Para [0113], on unlicensed band, Para [0005]); identify a second uplink communication that is scheduled for transmission using at least a second radio frequency channel in the shared radio frequency spectrum band (the uplink grant also allows schedules the wireless device on another channel/BWP5, Para [0113]); determine a set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band to be used for an uplink transmission in the first slot that includes at least one of the first uplink communication or the second uplink communication (wireless device can transmit the UL transmission on a subset of the channels/BWPs, Para [0118], e.g. wireless device transmits on subset of the BWPs, Fig. 3) and performing a listen before talk procedure to access the set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band (the wireless device performs LBT on multiple channels/BWPs, Para [0117]); determining, a set of radio frequency channels, at the UE, based at least in part on the resource allocation for the first uplink communication (the allowed BWPs are indicated in each uplink grant for the UE, in one example the UE determines the set as BWP1 and BWP5 as indicated by the uplink grant/resource allocation, Para [0113]); but not explicitly the resource allocation is for first and second uplink communication in a first slot nor fully discloses wherein the set of radio frequency channels is based at least in part on one or more of a multiplexing procedure, a prioritization procedure, or combinations thereof, associated with the first uplink communication and the second uplink communication. Wei discloses two PUSCHs can overlap in the time domain, where both are scheduled in first slot and a prioritization procedure can be performed for transmitting the uplink communications, Para [0003]/Fig. 1; nor fully discloses the determining of the set of radio channels is also based partially on the scheduled second uplink communication. Do discloses each uplink grant indicates allowed BWPs/channels for the UE to transmit on, Para [0113]. Wei discloses the UE can receive two PDCCHs with resource allocations for two PUSCHs, Para [0003] where first and second PUSCH (UL transmissions) are scheduled in different frequencies, Fig. 1. This means the first UL grant can indicate allowable BWPs for first UL transmission and second UL grant indicate other allowable BWPs for second UL transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Wei in the system of Do in order to resolve conflicts between overlapping transmissions; and does not disclose the listen before talk procedure is performed only on the set of radio frequency channels in the shared radio frequency spectrum band, and the set of radio frequency channels is less than all of the radio frequency channels associated with the first uplink communication and the second uplink communication. Tooher discloses the WTRU can be indicated the set of LBT sub-bands acquired by the gNB and the WTRU can determine a subset of LBT sub-bands to perform LBT on, Para [0106] or [0104] from the provisional. In Do, the access node schedules the wireless device on BWPs via grants based on LBT outcome of the access node, Para [0113] and in view of Tooher, the wireless device can perform LBT on a subset of those sub-bands/BWPs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Tooher in the system of Do in view of Wei in order increase flexibility for performing LBT over a wideband BW or LBT over sub-bands without increasing channel access complexity; nor discloses wherein the set of radio frequency channels excludes unused radio frequency channels identified after application of multiplexing procedure or the prioritization procedure. Wei discloses multiple UL grants for two PUSCHs that are overlapped in the time domain, performs a prioritization procedure and will select the prioritized PUSCH for UL transmission, Para [0003], the prioritized PUSCH is transmitted while the deprioritized PUSCH is not transmitted until a later grant is received, Para [0027]. Tooher discloses the gNB indicates to the WTRU what set of LBT subbands have been acquired by the gNB, where the WTRU may determine a subset of LBT subbands on which to perform LBT, Para [0106]. In view of the combination the UE is prioritizing one PUSCH on one sub-band and does not need to perform LBT on the deprioritized PUSCH on another subband, as it will not be transmitted until a later grant is received; and does not explicitly disclose the LBT procedure performed in accordance with a type 1 or type 2 channel access procedure. Jeon discloses a UE can perform a type 1 channel access procedure on first carrier and initiate type 2 channel access procedure on one or more second carriers, Para [0100]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Jeon in the system of Do in view of Wei and Tooher in order increase bandwidth available to a single device.
Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do, in view of Wei, in view of Tooher, in view of Jeon and in view of Papasakellariou (US 2019/0223205, hereinafter Papasakellariou).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Do discloses the method/apparatus of claim 7/20, but not further comprising: multiplexing the uplink control channel communication with the uplink shared channel communication according to the intra-UE multiplexing and prioritization procedure; and wherein the set of radio frequency channels include at least the first radio frequency channel allocated for the first uplink communication, and excludes at least the second radio frequency channel. Papasakellariou discloses multiplexing UCI in a PUSCH transmission, where PUCCH and PUSCH overlapped in time, Para [0185] and Do discloses the uplink grant can indicate the scheduled channels, where in this case BWP2 isn’t scheduled for the UE, Para [0113]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Papasakellariou in the system of Do in view of Wei, Jeon and Tooher in order to flexibly accommodate various services and application with different requirements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 and 22-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. The Applicant argues the limitation where the set of radio frequency channels is determined by the UE prior to a LBT procedure, from a multiplexing, prioritization procedure or a combination. Applicant argues Do, Wei and Tooher fail to disclose this limitation. Applicant argues the references do not disclose dependent claims 11 and 24. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Do discloses the set of radio channels and performs LBT on them. Wei discloses performing the prioritization procedure. Tooher discloses the performing LBT on a subset of LBT sub-bands from the set of indicated LBT sub-bands. In combination the UE can deprioritize an UL grant and the corresponding PUSCH transmission and therefore does not need to perform LBT on that sub-band. The prioritization of one PUSCH over another happens before LBT is performed. Tooher also discloses performing LBT on the sub-set of indicated bands which is less than the overall set of LBT sub-bands indicated. Applicant only attacks each reference separately, when the limitation is disclosed by the combination. Arguments against claims 11 and 24 are moot, as the rejection has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461