DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendment, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Brunner (US 2019/0180410 A1) teaching the claimed probes as evidenced in the rejection below.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that noise is uncertainty with regard to the thing being predicted) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant argues that analyzing RGB has nothing to do with performing a prediction noise assessment. However, the claim never indicates what is meant by the prediction noise except that the system decides whether the images falls below a prediction noise threshold. Here, a noise assessment as broadest reasonably interpreted as evaluating the images and determining the level of unwanted visual distortion, such as a grainy or splotchy appearance, caused by variations in brightness and color. Further, a lack of clarity and sharpness that makes the image look less clean. Here, Aarabi discloses evaluating an images looking for uncertainties in said images regarding skin tone using an RGB analysis (Para. 91, 103, and 168, 167). Thus, performing face detection and determining the level of noise in the images across many images with regard to skin tone using red green blue values to do so. Aarabi stating in para. 102, that this analysis corresponds to a determination of the average skin color/tone based on a plurality of images, and the system is operable to adjust for lighting, and to facilitate such, an adjustment only a preset, statistical portion of the pixels in the portion of the image showing a skin portion may be analyzed in the aggregation. Further delineation is needed of the prediction noise assessment is needed to adequately define over the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Re: Claim 8, said claim recites “wherein the determined color palette to display to the user is based on pixel values associated with the plurality of probes.” However, a review of the specification finds that probes are mentioned in only paragraph 177, but are silent to associating the probes with “pixel values.” Instead said probes are used by the user to assign color palettes to different parts of the outfit or to establish priority among said parts. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 9-12 and 15 are rejected for their incorporation of the above through their dependency of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Harvill et al. (US 2018/0260871 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Aarabi (US 2015/0339757) and Kuo (US Patent No. 10,762,665).
Re: Claim 1, Harvill et al. teach a mobile user device that includes processing circuitry configured to execute an application that determines a skin tone of a user (calibrated skin color information) (para [00051]), and
determine and transmit a recipe for generating a target foundation that is based on a combination of a plurality of separate foundation ingredients that are associated with the skin tone of the user (para [0034] , [0050] and [0086]);
a dispensing device (mixture service) configured to receive the transmitted recipe from the mobile user device and dispense each of the plurality of separate foundation ingredients (primary components) onto a common dispensing surface (container) such that when the dispensed amounts of each of the plurality of separate foundation ingredients is blended on the dispensing surface, the target foundation is achieved (para [0050] and [0262]); and
wherein the processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to determine a skin tone of the user based on features in a detected face of the user in a self-taken image of the user that is captured by a camera of the mobile user device (para [0051]).
Harvill discloses the claimed invention except for the 360 video. However, Kuo teaches self-taken image is a 360 video (Fig. 4, Col. 3, lines 49-51, 360 video).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include the use of 360 video as taught by Kuo, since such a modification would allow the device to capture images a of a wider variety of objects while providing a greater range of imagery for each object.
Harvill teaches the claimed invention except for processing circuitry for skin tone noise assessment. However, Aarabi teaches a processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to perform face detection of the user's face in a plurality of frames of the video and perform a skin tone noise prediction assessment in the plurality of frames of the video, predict the skin tone of the user based on a median detected skin tone in the plurality of frames when the skin tone noise prediction assessment indicates a noise level that is below a threshold, and request the user to provide information of a previously used foundation to predict the skin tone of the user when the noise prediction assessment indicates a noise level that is above a threshold (Aarabi: para. 91, 103, and 168, 167, analyzes the rgb of the image to ensure it’s at a proper rgb to account for any noise in the image such that an accurate reading may take place of skin tone, hair, face, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include the claimed features as taught by Aarabi, since Aarabi states in paragraph 106 that such a modification provides a more accurate color prediction as different images would provide different input weights depending on the image's score confidence, number of detected skin pixels, as well as other visual or image-dependent information. The brightest and darkest colored images can be discarded, to remove outliers. Based on the skin under-tone vote, and based on the skin color average, the end color and under-tone may be detected.
Re: Claim 3, Harvill discloses the claimed invention except for processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to perform face detection of the user's face in a plurality of frames of the video and to predict the skin tone of the user based on a median detected skin tone in the plurality of frames. However, Aarabi teaches a processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to perform face detection of the user's face in a plurality of frames of the video and to predict the skin tone of the user based on a median detected skin tone in the plurality of frames (para [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include the claimed features as taught by Aarabi, since Aarabi states in paragraph 95 that such a modification allows the device to utilize both images and video to generate recommendations and to generate statistical information for more accurate results.
Re: Claim 4, Harvill as modified by Aarabi in the rejection of claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention including the processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to predict the skin tone of the user further based on a deep learning model (Aarabi: para [0121] and [0151]).
Re: Claim 7, the device of Harvill as evidenced in the rejection of claim 1 above is capable of performing the method of this claim.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvill et al. (US 2018/0260871 A1), Aarabi (US 2015/0339757), and Kuo (US Patent No. 10,762,665) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stewart et al. (US 2018/0189853).
Re: Claim 6, Harvill discloses the claimed invention except for the dispensing surface is configured to be part of a detachable portion of the apparatus. However, Stewart teaches the dispensing surface is configured to be part of a detachable portion of the apparatus (removeable cartridge) (para [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include the claimed features as taught by Stewart, since such a modification increases the portability of the device making it easy to carry.
Claim(s) 8-10, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samain et al. (US 2017/0360178 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Miller (US 2015/0250294 A1) and Brunner (US 2019/0180410 A1).
Re: Claim 8, Samain discloses the claimed invention including a system comprising:
a mobile user device (100) that includes processing circuitry (Fig. 30, Para. 219, smartphone inherently has circuitry for executing applications) configured to
execute an application that receives a selection of a target color of lipstick from a user (Para. 217, selects color), and
determine and transmit a recipe for generating the target color of the lipstick that is based on a combination of a plurality of separate lipstick ingredients (Para. 218, generate recipe for selected color); and
a dispensing device (11) configured to receive the transmitted recipe from the mobile user device and dispense each of the plurality of separate lipstick ingredients onto a common dispensing surface (115) such that when the dispensed amounts of each of the plurality of separate lipstick ingredients is blended on the dispensing surface, the target color of the lipstick is achieved (Fig. 30, Para. 311-312, 332, 468, smartphone transmit to dispenser),
wherein the processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to present at least one candidate color of lipstick to the user that is based on at least a user profile (307) of the user of the smartphone except for expressly using the term profile. However, in Fig. 31, para. 385, the user device has candidate colors based on the user profile, a favorites page implicitly requires a user to make the favorites and requires some sort of profile to remember said favorites.
the processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to display a color palette to the user which represents all colors which can be produced by the dispensing device based on the specific set of the plurality of separate lipstick ingredients currently installed in the dispensing device (Fig. 31, Para. 373, color palette based on installed ingredients).
Samain discloses the claimed invention including the processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to determine the color palette to display to the user based on color combinations found in the user’s selfie image (Fig. 31, Para. 425, recommends colors based on user's image according to color combinations) except for the user’s outfit. However, Miller teaches recommending certain cosmetics based on the user’s outfit (Para. 63, based on outfit).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to include recommendations based on outfit as taught by Miller, since Miller states in paragraph 63 that such a modification provides recommendations to match and complete the user’s look.
Samain discloses the claimed invention except for probes. However, Brunner discloses a plurality of probes (370) are set at different points on an article the user is wearing in an image, and wherein the determined color palette to display to the user is based on pixel values associated with the plurality of probes (Fig. 3, Para. 42, probes placed on different parts of a worn article, to account for imperfect scanning thus less than ideal pixel values).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include the probes as taught by Brunner, since Brunner states in paragraph 42 that such a modification facilitate post-processing operations to account for the imperfectly scanned portions of the article.
Re: Claim 9, Samain discloses the claimed invention including the processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to present at least one candidate color of lipstick to the user that is based further on at least one of a questionnaire answered by the user, social media accounts of the user, social media accounts followed by the user, local fashion information based on geolocation, and environment data related to the user (Para. 425, proposes color based on a questionnaire
Re: Claim 10, Samain discloses the claimed invention including an external server that communicates with the mobile user device over a network, wherein the processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to transmit user inputs used to configure the user profile to the external server, and the external server includes processing circuitry configured to determine relevant images that include candidate colors of lipstick based on the user inputs and to transmit the determined relevant images to the mobile user device (Para. 402, 403, data inputted may be stored on a server).
Re: Claim 12, Samain discloses the claimed invention including the processing circuitry of the mobile user device is configured to display an interface that allows the user to virtually try-on the at least one candidate color of lipstick to the user on a self-taken image of the user (Fig. 38, Para. 400, virtually display face and test different product thereon).
Re: Claim 15, Samain discloses the claimed invention including the dispensing surface is configured to be part of a detachable portion of the apparatus (Para. 333, screws on and can screw off).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samain et al. (US 2017/0360178 A1) and Miller (US 2015/0250294 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Besen (US 2019/0208887 A1).
Re: Claim 11, Samain discloses the claimed invention except for using social media images. However, Besen discloses a processing circuitry of an external server (750) is configured to determine the relevant images based on images of people wearing cosmetic included in social media platforms (Para. 68, 72, incorporates social media content through an external server).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to include images from social media as taught by Besen, since Besen states in paragraph 68 that such a modification better informs and predicts styles of interest to the user based upon preferences indicated within the user's social media presence.
Conclusion
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754