DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amending of claims 1, 21, 31, cancellation of claims 9, 29, 34-35, and addition of new claims 36-39. Claim 31 112b rejection withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that those skilled in the art would not interpret the claims in the manner outlined in the 3/2/26 Office action. Applicant contends that a person skilled in the art would not conflate the operational parameters of a pump stage/combiner with the operational parameters of an amplifier/amplification stage (Remarks pg. 10).
Examiner agrees that the pump stage and the amplification stage are distinct features. However, this does not negate the validity of the claim 1, 21 rejections/the interpretation of the prior art. In the proposed combination of Sotgiu and Fidric, Sotgiu’s disclosure is used to combine the first and second pump sources upstream, and the resulting combined pump light is introduced into Fidric’s amplification stage. The pump stage and the amplification stage remain separate structures with compatible operational parameters. The interpretation of the prior art of record is maintained for amended claims 1, 21. See also Fidric 0022 (…any suitable number of diode pump sources may be used and coupled to the optical fiber element 15 from any suitable direction or orientation”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fidric (US-20070236781-A1) in view of Sotgiu et al. (US-20020122244-A1) and Chann (US-20110305256-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fidric discloses a method of multi-band pumping of a doped fiber source (fig. 1, 0004/5), the doped fiber source having a first absorption peak (fig. 1+1A+4 14, 0027 lines 1-6, “915 nm”) and a second absorption peak that differs from the first absorption peak (“976 nm”), the method comprising: generating from a first diode pump light source, a first diode pump light at (fig. 1 12) a first pump power in a first pump band encompassing a plurality of first wavelengths including the first absorption peak (fig. 4 46 encompasses plurality of wavelengths including peak 42, 0027 lines 7-9); generating from a second diode pump light source, a second diode pump light at (fig. 1 13) a second pump power in a second pump band encompassing a plurality of a second wavelengths including the second absorption peak (fig. 4 48 encompasses plurality of wavelengths including peak 44, 0027 lines 9-11), the second pump band differs from the first pump band (fig. 4 46 different from 48), wherein the doped fiber source has a first end and a second end (annotated fig. P ends 1 and 2); an amplification stage (fig. 1 amplification stage 15+16+18, 0017-0018).
Fidric does not disclose
the first and second diode pump light sources being lasers,
simultaneously and unidirectionally combining, at a pump laser combiner, the first laser light and the second laser light into the doped fiber source, wherein the first diode pump light and the second diode pump light are combined into the first end of the same doped fiber source to form a combined laser light
wherein the first pump power equals the second pump power, or wherein the second pump power is greater than the first pump power.
after the pump laser combiner, introducing the combined laser light into the amplification stage
Sotgiu discloses a bidirectionally pumped optical amplifier with a doped fiber source receiving a mixed (i.e. simultaneous) diode pump input from multiple diode lasers (fig. 4 103 + 104 power mix to pump 101 fiber, 0053 final 2 lines, 0057 lines 1-7, 0062). Sotgiu also discloses an equivalent unidirectionally pumped optical amplifier with same components where first and second pump lights combined into a first end of same doped fiber source to form a combined laser light (fig. 3 + annotated fig. Q 103+104 pump first end 1 of same top fiber 101 unidirectionally, 0014). Sotgiu discloses making the first and second pump power equal (fig. 4 103 104 powers equal, 0083). Sotgiu discloses after a pump laser combiner, introducing the combined laser light into an amplification stage (annotated fig. Q after combiner 105 introducing laser light into amplification stage 101+106, 0055-0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use diode lasers as the first and second diode pump light sources to take advantage of the energy efficiency and wavelength tunability/precision of diode lasers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the first and second pump power simultaneously + unidirectionally to the same side of the doped fiber source in Fidric before introducing combined light to amplification stage to facilitate efficient temperature stabilization of the device + have more control over the input to the fiber (Sotgiu 0014) and to reduce the number of couplers required and further reduce crosstalk and leakage, supplementing the pump wavelength separation, part of an established tradeoff disclosed by Fidric (0003-0004). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first and second pump power equal in Fidric to simplify the construction and operation of the device and maintain a level of symmetry during operation. See modified fig. R
Modified Fidric does not disclose a first/second pump band encompassing a plurality of a first/second wavelengths including the first/second absorption peak after transitioning from a first cold pump wavelength to a first steady state pump wavelength.
Chann discloses an optical fiber system supplied with pump laser light and a desire to stabilize pump lasers during operation/operate under steady-state conditions (fig. 4, Abstract, 0116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first/second pump band encompassing a plurality of a first/second wavelengths including the first/second absorption peak after transitioning from a first cold pump wavelength to a first steady state pump wavelength to increase manageability, control, and efficiency of device (Chann 0116).
Annotated fig. P
Annotated fig. Q
Modified fig. R (one rough example of proposed modification)
Regarding claim 4, Fidric, as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, in which the doped fiber source is a Yb-doped fiber source (Fidric 0020 lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 5, Fidric, as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first pump band has a peak wavelength in a range from 910 nm to 930 nm (0027, “915 nm”, first pump centered/peak at 915).
Regarding claim 6, Fidric, as modified, discloses the method of claim 1.
Fidric discloses the first pump band has a peak wavelength of 915 nm (0027 lines 1-6, “915 nm”).
This value is sufficiently close to the claimed range of 930-960 nm, and thus, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Applicant does not suggest any criticality for the range 930-960 compared to the clearly disclosed range of 910-930 or clearly disclosed value of 915 (instant application Specification 0035) (MPEP 2144.05 I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first pump band (and also first absorption band) have a peak wavelength of 930-960 nm to increase pumping and absorption between 930-960 nm at a level at least as efficient and thermally stable as that of the 910-930 range.
Regarding claim 7, Fidric, as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second pump band has a peak wavelength in a range from 970 nm to 980 nm (0027, “976 nm”, second pump centered/peak at 976).
Regarding claim 8, Fidric, as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the doped fiber source is a doped fiber laser (Fidric fig. 1 + 1A 10, 0008/9, 0017 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, Fidric, as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first and second laser pumps are diode lasers (Sotgiu 0053 final 2 lines, see claim 1 modification).
Regarding claim 21, Fidric discloses a multi-band pump stage for pumping a doped fiber source (fig. 1, 0004/5), the doped fiber source having a first absorption peak (fig. 1+1A+4 14, 0027 lines 1-6, “915 nm”) and a second absorption peak that is different from the first absorption peak (“976 nm”), the multi-band pump stage comprising: a first diode pump light source (fig. 1 12) configured to produce a first diode pump light at a first pump power in a first pump band encompassing a plurality of first wavelengths including the first absorption peak (fig. 4 46 encompasses plurality of wavelengths including peak 42, 0027 lines 7-9); a second diode pump light source (fig. 1 13) configured to produce a second diode pump light at a second pump power in a second pump band encompassing a plurality of second wavelengths including the second absorption peak (fig. 4 48 encompasses plurality of wavelengths including peak 44, 0027 lines 9-11), the second pump band being different from the first pump band (fig. 4 46 different from 48), a controller configured to control the first and second diode pumps (fig. 1 controller 22+23 combo controls 12+13, 0022), wherein the doped fiber source has a first end and a second end (annotated fig. P ends 1 and 2); an amplification stage (fig. 1 amplification stage 15+16+18, 0017-0018).
Fidric does not disclose
the first and second diode pump light sources being lasers,
simultaneously and unidirectionally combining, at a pump laser combiner, the first laser light and the second laser light into the doped fiber source, wherein the first diode pump light and the second diode pump light are combined into the first end of the same doped fiber source to form a combined laser light
wherein the first pump power equals the second pump power, or wherein the second pump power is greater than the first pump power.
the amplification stage disposed downstream of the pump laser combiner
Sotgiu discloses a bidirectionally pumped optical amplifier with a doped fiber source receiving a mixed (i.e. simultaneous) diode pump input from multiple diode lasers (fig. 4 103 + 104 power mix to pump 101 fiber, 0053 final 2 lines, 0057 lines 1-7, 0062). Sotgiu also discloses an equivalent unidirectionally pumped optical amplifier with same components where first and second pump lights combined into a first end of same doped fiber source to form a combined laser light (fig. 3 + annotated fig. Q 103+104 pump first end 1 of same top fiber 101 unidirectionally to form combined laser light, 0014). Sotgiu discloses making the first and second pump power equal (fig. 4 103 104 powers equal, 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use diode lasers as the first and second diode pump light sources to take advantage of the energy efficiency and wavelength tunability/precision of diode lasers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the first and second pump power simultaneously + unidirectionally to the same side of the doped fiber source in Fidric before introducing combined light to amplification stage to facilitate efficient temperature stabilization of the device + have more control over the input to the fiber (Sotgiu 0014) and to reduce the number of couplers required and further reduce crosstalk and leakage, supplementing the pump wavelength separation, part of an established tradeoff disclosed by Fidric (0003-0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first and second pump power equal in Fidric to simplify the construction and operation of the device and maintain a level of symmetry during operation.
Modified Fidric does not disclose a first/second pump band encompassing a plurality of a first/second wavelengths including the first/second absorption peak after transitioning from a first cold pump wavelength to a first steady state pump wavelength.
Chann discloses an optical fiber system supplied with pump laser light and a desire to stabilize pump lasers during operation/operate under steady-state conditions (fig. 4, Abstract, 0116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first/second pump band encompassing a plurality of a first/second wavelengths including the first/second absorption peak after transitioning from a first cold pump wavelength to a first steady state pump wavelength to increase manageability, control, and efficiency of device (Chann 0116).
Regarding claim 24, Fidric, as modified, discloses the multi-band pump stage of claim 21, wherein the doped fiber source is a Yb-doped fiber source (Fidric 0020 lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 25, Fidric, as modified, discloses the multi-band pump stage of claim 21, wherein the first absorption band has a peak wavelength in a range from 910 nm to 930 nm (Fidric 0027 lines 1-6, “915 nm”).
Regarding claim 26, Fidric, as modified, discloses the multi-band pump stage of claim 21.
Modified Fidric does not disclose the peak wavelength being in a range from 930 nm to 960 nm.
Fidric discloses the first absorption band has a peak wavelength of 915 nm (0027 lines 1-6, “915 nm”).
This value is sufficiently close to the claimed range of 930-960 nm, and thus, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Applicant does not suggest any criticality for the range 930-960 compared to the clearly disclosed range of 910-930 or clearly disclosed value of 915 (instant application Specification 0035) (MPEP 2144.05 I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first absorption band (and also first pump laser) have a peak wavelength of 930-960 nm to provide increased absorption between 930-960 nm at a level at least as efficient and thermally stable as that of the 910-930 range.
Regarding claim 27, Fidric, as modified, discloses the multi-band pump stage of claim 21, wherein the second absorption band has a peak wavelength in a range from 970 nm to 980 nm (0027 lines 1-6, “976 nm”).
Regarding claim 28, Fidric, as modified, discloses the multi-band pump stage of claim 21, wherein the doped fiber source is a doped fiber laser (Fidric fig. 1 + 1A 10, 0008/9, 0017 lines 1-4).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fidric in view of Sotgiu, Chann, and Buckholder (US-20170244212-A1).
Regarding claim 31, Fidric, as modified, discloses the multi-band pump stage of claim 21.
Fidric, as modified, does not disclose further comprising an AC/DC pump power supply electrically coupled to an electrical connector.
Buckholder discloses a laser power architecture for laser diode arrays comprising an AC/DC power supply electrically coupled to cables and by cables to a laser diode array (fig. 2 202 coupled to cables 204/212/213, 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an AC/DC power supply coupled to an electrical connector with the device in modified Fidric to provide built-in conversion of AC power into DC power and compatibility with wall outlets.
Claim(s) 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fidric in view of Sotgiu, Chann, and Eggleton et al. (US-6768577-B2).
Regarding claim 32, Fidric, as modified, discloses the multi-band pump stage of claim 21.
Fidric, as modified, does not disclose further comprising a diode laser driver to drive one or both the first and second laser pumps.
Eggleton discloses a tunable multimode laser diode pump source for an amplifier with a driver that drives laser pumps (fig. 2 combination of (206+121+122) drives 202-205, col. 10 lines 35-36, col. 11 lines 34-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a diode laser driver to drive one or both the first and second laser pumps to the device in modified Fidric.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for control over the operation and parameters of the laser pumps, including the output power and the central wavelength (col. 11 lines 25-31).
Regarding claim 33, Fidric, as modified, discloses the multi-band pump stage of claim 21.
Fidric, as modified, does not disclose further comprising a laser pump source sensor configured to monitor one or both of the first and second pump power.
Eggleton discloses a tunable multimode laser diode pump source for an amplifier with a sensor configured to monitor laser pump power (fig. 2 combination of (206+121+122) indirectly monitors 202-205 power + amplification via output monitor signal, col. 10 lines 35-36, col. 11 lines 12-22, col. 12 46-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a source sensor configured to monitor one or both the first and second laser pump power in the device in modified Fidric.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure proper operation of the device and provide information to make decisions regarding the device’s inputs.
Claim(s) 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fidric in view of Sotgiu, Chann, and Ball (US-6031849).
Regarding claim 36, modified Fidric discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the amplification stage comprises: a first reflector at the first end of the doped fiber source (first reflector 16 at first/left end, 0018); a second reflector at the second end of the doped fiber source (second reflector 18 at second/right end).
Modified Fidric does not disclose wherein a reflectivity of the second reflector is less than a reflectivity of the first reflector.
Ball discloses a fiber resonator with an input high reflector Bragg grating and an output low reflector Bragg grating (fig. 5 resonator with input high reflector Bragg grating 60 and output low reflector Bragg grating 62, col. 7 line 55 – col. 8 line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the reflectors be Bragg gratings, with a reflectivity of the second reflector is less than a reflectivity of the first reflector to provide wavelength-selective reflection directly within fiber rather than requiring separate mirrors/reflector elements and to allow for laser radiation to be extracted from second reflector side.
Regarding claim 37, modified Fidric discloses the method of claim 36, wherein: the first reflector is a high reflectivity Bragg grating (16 is Bragg after claim 36 modification), and the second reflector is a low reflectivity Bragg grating (claim 36 modification).
Regarding claim 38, modified Fidric discloses the multi-band pump stage of claim 21, wherein the amplification stage comprises: a first reflector at the first end of the doped fiber source (first reflector 16 at first/left end, 0018); a second reflector at the second end of the doped fiber source (second reflector 18 at second/right end).
Modified Fidric does not disclose wherein a reflectivity of the second reflector is less than a reflectivity of the first reflector.
Ball discloses a fiber resonator with an input high reflector Bragg grating and an output low reflector Bragg grating (fig. 5 resonator with input high reflector Bragg grating 60 and output low reflector Bragg grating 62, col. 7 line 55 – col. 8 line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the reflectors be Bragg gratings, with a reflectivity of the second reflector is less than a reflectivity of the first reflector to provide wavelength-selective reflection directly within fiber rather than requiring separate mirrors/reflector elements and to allow for laser radiation to be extracted from second reflector side.
Regarding claim 39, modified Fidric discloses the multi-band pump stage of claim 38, wherein: the first reflector is a high reflectivity Bragg grating (16 is Bragg after claim 38 modification), and the second reflector is a low reflectivity Bragg grating (claim 38 modification).
Conclusion
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828