Response to Amendment
The amendments filed August 26, 2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. The examiner acknowledges the amendments of claims 1 and 20. Claims 10-19 are withdrawn. Claims 21-37 are cancelled by applicant. The previous 103 rejections have been modified due to applicants amendments. For the reason(s) set forth below, applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive. The action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg (US Patent No. 5,201,916) in view of Liu (WO 2018118688).
Regarding claim 1, Berg discloses: an abrasive article comprising:
a backing (element 32);
a first set of shaped abrasive particles (element 36 and see also figure 3 annotated below Detail A) arranged in rows on the backing (see figure 3 annotated below showing a single first set of shaped abrasive particle (Detail A) arranged in rows (Box B) on the backing (element 32)), wherein the first set of shaped abrasive particles are oriented with respect to a-the backing in a first orientation (see annotated figure 3 below showing the first set of shaped abrasive particles (element 36/Detail A) oriented with respect to the backing (element 32) in a first orientation (tip portion facing upward)); and
a second set of shaped abrasive particles (element 36 and see also figure 3 annotated below Detail C), wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles are oriented with respect to the backing in a second orientation (see annotated figure 3 below showing the second set of shaped abrasive particles (element 36/Detail C) oriented with respect to the backing (element 32) in a second orientation (tip portion facing downward)), and wherein the second orientation differs from the first orientation (see annotated figure 3 below),
wherein the first set of shaped abrasive particles are positioned on the backing such that plurality of spacings (see annotated figure 3 below Detail D) exist between adjacent particles, wherein the plurality of spacings comprise row spacings between adjacent rows of the first set of shaped abrasive particles (see figure 3 annotated below showing the plurality of spacings (Box D) being adjacent to the adjacent rows (Detail B) of the single first set of shaped abrasive particle (Detail A), thus the plurality of spacings would necessarily comprise row spacings); and wherein the second set of shaped particle are positioned in the plurality of spacings (see annotated figures 3 below showing a single second set of shaped particle (Detail C) being positioned in the plurality of spacings (Box D), and
wherein the first and second set of shaped abrasive particles are embedded within a make coat layer (element 34 and see also col. 12, ll. 15-16 where the prior art discloses element 34 as a “make coat”) on the backing.
Furthermore, Berg only shows a single particle of the first set of shaped abrasive particles (element 36 and see also figure 3 annotated above Detail A) arranged in rows (see figure 3 annotated above Box B) on the backing and a single particle of the second set of shaped abrasive particles (element 36 and see also figure 3 annotated above Detail D) positioned in the plurality of spacings (see figure 3 annotated above Box D). However, Berg appears to be silent wherein the first set of shaped abrasive particles are arranged in the rows on the backing, wherein the second set of shaped particles are positioned in the plurality of spacings, and wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles is 25% by weight or less of a combined weight of the first and second sets of shaped abrasive particles.
Liu is also concern in providing an abrasive article (Figure 10A element 700 and see also page 24, ll. 20) comprising a backing (see figure 10A annotated below Detail A), a first set of shaped abrasive particles (element 702 and see also page 24, ll. 8-9), a second set of shaped abrasive particles (element 702A and see also page 24, ll. 20-21), and a plurality of spacings (see figure 6 annotated below Detail B). The prior art of Seth further teaches wherein the first set of shaped abrasive particles are arranged in the rows on the backing (see figure 10A annotated below showing a plurality of the first set of shaped abrasive particles (element 702) arranged within imaginary boundaries (elements 712a-c/714a-c) that define rows (Detail C)), wherein the second set of shaped particles are positioned in the plurality of spacings (see figure 10A annotated below showing a plurality of the second set of shaped abrasive particles (element 702A) positioned in the plurality of spacings (Detail B)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Berg to incorporate the teachings of Liu to provide wherein the first set of shaped abrasive particles are arranged in the rows on the backing and wherein the second set of shaped particles are positioned in the plurality of spacings. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a plurality of first set of shaped abrasive particles arranged in rows and a plurality of second set of shaped abrasive particles positioned in the spacings would necessarily allow the article to continue to function as intended while also providing the additional feature of having a plurality of abrasive particles arranged in multiple different areas in order to treat a workpiece at various different locations during operations, thus increasing efficiency.
However, Berg modified does not explicitly discloses wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles is 25% by weight or less of a combined weight of the first and second sets of shaped abrasive particles.
However, Berg further discloses a plurality of abrasive particles (element 36) being either the first set of shaped abrasive or the second set of shaped abrasive (see figure 3 annotated above, i.e. being the same particle with the same weight at different orientations) and see also col. 12, ll. 14-36 where the prior art discloses element 36 being “triangular-shaped abrasive particles” and having “from about 35% to about 65% are oriented on the backing with a vertex 40 of the triangle pointing away from the backing” (first set of shaped abrasive particles), with “the remainder of these triangular-shaped abrasive particles are oriented with a base 42 of the triangle pointing away from the backing” (second set of shaped abrasive particles) and “up to 20% of the particles may not be oriented in either of the preceding ways, e.g., they may lay against the backing with the triangular face of the particle being in contact with the make coat”. Therefore, having a range of the second set of shaped abrasive particles between 15% to 45%, and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select second set of shaped abrasive particles is 25% by weight or less of a combined weight of the first and second sets of shaped abrasive particles as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see page 32-33 indicating the weight “may” be within the claimed range and offering additional acceptable ranges (20%, 15%, 10%, 5%, 2%, 1%, and 0.5%) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, Berg modified discloses: the abrasive article of claim 1, wherein each of the first set of shaped abrasive particles includes a base portion (element 42) and an abrading portion (element 40), and wherein in the first orientation, the base portion is embedded within the make coat layer and the abrading portion faces away from the backing (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Berg modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1 and further shows the second set of shaped abrasive particles (see annotated figure 3 Detail B above (see pages 4-5) oriented at a certain angle. However, Berg does not explicitly disclose wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles are oriented at least 90° with respect to the first set of shaped abrasive particles.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Berg to provide wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles are oriented at least 90° with respect to the first set of shaped abrasive particles, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Berg would not operate differently with the claimed angle and would function appropriately having the claimed angle. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem, indicating that the angle orientation “may be” 90° and offering other acceptable angle orientation (e.g. , 180° see page 26, ll. 1-6) and therefore there appears to no criticality placed on the angle claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 4, Berg modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1 and further shows the second set of shaped abrasive particles (see annotated figure 3 Detail B above (see page 6) oriented at a certain angle. However, Berg does not explicitly disclose wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles are oriented up to 180° with respect to the first set of shaped abrasive particles.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Berg to provide wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles are oriented at least 180° with respect to the first set of shaped abrasive particles, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Berg would not operate differently with the claimed angle and would function appropriately having the claimed angle. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem, indicating that the angle orientation “may be” 180° and offering other acceptable angle orientation (e.g. 90° see page 26, ll. 1-6) and therefore there appears to no criticality placed on the angle claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 5, Berg modified discloses: the abrasive article of claim 1, further comprising a third set of abrasive particles (see annotated figure 3 below Detail C) forming a closed coat on the backing (Per the applicants disclosure page 13, ll. 13-15, “a third set of particles may also be present and used to create a closed coat (i.e., substantially the maximum possible number of abrasive particles of nominal specified grade(s) that can be retained in the abrasive layer)”, similarly the that the prior art discloses an additional third set of abrasive particles (Detail C) on the backing (element 32), thus having a maximum number of abrasive particles retained in the abrasive layer and forming a closed coat.).
Regarding claim 6, Berg modified discloses: the abrasive article of claim 1, wherein the first set of shaped abrasive particles are oriented with respect to each other such that faces of adjacent abrasive particles are parallel (see annotated figure 3 below showing face portions of the first set of shaped abrasive particles (Detail A) being parallel (dotted lines) with a face of adjacent abrasive particles).
Regarding claim 7, Berg modified discloses: the abrasive article of claim 6, wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles is at least 5% by weight of the first and second sets of shaped abrasive particles (see rejection of claim 1 above (page 5-6) where the prior art disclose the range of the second set of shaped abrasive particles between 15% to 35%, and therefore having at least 5% by weight of the first and second sets of shaped abrasive particles).
Regarding claim 9, Berg modified discloses: the abrasive article of claim 1, wherein the first set of shaped abrasive particles comprise:
a shape selected from the group consisting of: rods, tetrahedrons, right angle triangular prisms, isosceles triangular prisms, equilateral triangular prisms, scalene triangular prisms, trapezoidal prisms, crescents, stars, cubes, dual tapered, irregular polygonal faces, shape-on-shape, variable cross-sectional area; or
a feature selected from the group consisting of: a sloping sidewall (see annotated figure 3 below Detail A), a groove, a recess, a facet, a fractured surface, a cavity, more than one vertex, sharp edges (see annotated figure 3 below Detail B), a non- shaped portion, a notch, a rake angle and / or a low roundness factor.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg (US Patent No. 5,201,916) in view of Liu (WO 2018118688), as evidence by Teja (NPL Article, found at “https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0960897408000168”).
Regarding claim 8, Berg modified discloses: the abrasive article of claim 1, wherein one of the first and second sets of abrasive particles are magnetically responsive (The prior art of Berg discloses under “procedures of making the shaped abrasive particles” and further discloses a list of materials used including “iron oxide” (see col. 13, ll. 53-60), which is known to be magnetically responsive, as evidence by Teja (see annotated figure below), thus having wherein one of the first and second sets of abrasive particles are magnetically responsive).
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg (US Patent No. 5,201,916) in view of Landin (US Pub. No. 2013/0065490).
Regarding claim 20, Berg discloses: an abrasive article (Figure 3 element 30 and see also col. 12, ll. 14-17) comprising:
a backing (element 32);
a coating layer (element 34) applied to the backing (see figure 3);
a first set of shaped abrasive particles (element 36 and see also figure 3 annotated below Detail A), each of the first set of shaped abrasive particles comprising a first base edge (element 42) and a first cutting portion (element 40), wherein each of the first set of shaped abrasive particles are oriented, with respect to the backing, such that the first base edge is embedded within the coating layer and the first cutting portion is oriented away from the backing (see annotated figure 3 below showing each of the first set of shaped abrasive particles (Detail A) oriented, with respect to the backing (element 32), having the first base edge (element 42) embedded in the coating layer (element 34) and the first cutting portion (element 40) oriented away from the backing (element 32), thus the first set of shaped abrasive particles are in a first orientation); and
a second set of shaped abrasive particles (element 36 and see also figure 3 annotated below Detail B), each of the second set of shaped abrasive particles comprising a second base edge (element 42) and a second cutting portion (element 40), wherein each of the second set of shaped abrasive particles are oriented, with respect to the backing, such that the second cutting portion is embedded within the coating layer and the second base edge is oriented away from the backing (see annotated figure 3 below showing each of the second set of shaped abrasive particles (Detail B) oriented, with respect to the backing (element 32), having the second cutting portion (element 40) embedded in the coating layer (element 34) and the second base edge (element 42) oriented away from the backing (element 32), thus the second set of shaped abrasive particles are in a second orientation).
However, Berg does not explicitly discloses wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles having a smaller average particle size than the first set of shaped abrasive particles and wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles comprises at least 5% and no more than 25% by weight of a combined weight of the first and second sets of shaped abrasive particles.
Landin is also concern in providing an abrasive article (Figure 1A-3 element 100 and see also paragraph 0045) comprising a backing (element 120) a first set of shaped abrasive particles (see paragraph 0078) and a second set of shaped abrasive particles (see paragraph 0079). The prior art further of Landin further teaches wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles having a smaller average particle size than the first set of shaped abrasive particles (see paragraph 0079).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Berg to incorporate the teachings of Landin to provide wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles having a smaller average particle size than the first set of shaped abrasive particles. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the claimed second set of shaped abrasive particles size being smaller than the first set of shaped abrasive particles size would necessarily result in increasing levels of smoothness, while achieving reasonable overall abrading rates as disclosed by Landin (see paragraph 0067). Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem, indicating that the first and second particles “may be the same size” (see page 13, ll. 8 of the specification), and therefore there is no criticality placed on the claimed size such that it produces an unexpected result.
However, Berg modified does not explicitly discloses wherein the second set of shaped abrasive particles comprises at least 5% and no more than 25% by weight of a combined weight of the first and second sets of shaped abrasive particles.
However, Berg further discloses a plurality of abrasive particles (element 36) being either the first set of shaped abrasive or the second set of shaped abrasive (see figure 3 annotated above, i.e. being the same particle with the same weight at different orientations) and see also col. 12, ll. 14-36 where the prior art discloses element 36 being “triangular-shaped abrasive particles” and having “from about 35% to about 65% are oriented on the backing with a vertex 40 of the triangle pointing away from the backing” (first set of shaped abrasive particles), with “the remainder of these triangular-shaped abrasive particles are oriented with a base 42 of the triangle pointing away from the backing” (second set of shaped abrasive particles) and “up to 20% of the particles may not be oriented in either of the preceding ways, e.g., they may lay against the backing with the triangular face of the particle being in contact with the make coat”. Therefore, having a range of the second set of shaped abrasive particles between 15% to 45%, and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select second set of shaped abrasive particles is at least 5% and no more than 25% by weight or less of a combined weight of the first and second sets of shaped abrasive particles as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see page 32-33 indicating the weight “may” be within the claimed range and offering additional acceptable ranges (2%, 1%, and 0.5%) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/26/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723