DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed (3 – 31 – 2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveApplicant argues…
Babin describes a system in which nozzle 100 includes nozzle housing 102 and actuator housing 104, with actuator housing 104 fastened to nozzle housing 102 by bolts 106. Babin further explains that nozzle 100 is fastened to cavity plate 18 by threaded bushing 118 and bolts 120, and that piston 124 is slidably disposed within piston bore 125 in actuator housing 104. Thus, Babin's architecture is centered on a nozzle-side sub- assembly attached to the cavity plate, not on a manifold-side drop plate directly fastened to a manifold plate and generating nozzle sealing load by such attachment.
The nozzle housing 102 that is part of Babin's nozzle, is not part of a manifold-side plate. Treating nozzle housing 102 as part of the claimed manifold plate would collapse the claimed distinction between the separately recited "manifold plate" and "nozzle assembly". That is not a reasonable reading of the claim. A construction that makes part of the nozzle assembly simultaneously serve as the manifold plate is improper.
Second, cavity plate 18 is not a manifold plate. Babin's cavity plate is a mold-side structure associated with the mold cavity and nozzle mounting, not a manifold-side plate having a manifold plate shelf, and a nozzle locator seated thereon. Even if one were to look only for rough functional analogy, Babin's cavity plate still would not satisfy the recited configuration because Babin does not disclose the claimed shelf/locator relationship on that plate, nor does Babin disclose a nozzle- specific drop plate directly fastened to that alleged manifold plate and generating nozzle sealing load by such fastening.
Third, the Office Action cannot cure the absence of a manifold plate by combining cavity plate 18 with nozzle housing 102. Those are two different parts with different roles in Babin's architecture. The claimed manifold plate is a single recited structure that interfaces with the nozzle locator and the drop plate. Babin nowhere describes cavity plate 18 and nozzle housing 102 as jointly constituting a manifold plate, and nothing in Babin suggests that such a hybridized combination should be treated as a single claimed element. The Office may not reconstruct the reference by taking a mold-side plate and a nozzle-side housing and declaring the combination to be the recited manifold plate.
Babin also fails to disclose the amended claim's drop plate limitations. Claim 1, as amended, requires "a nozzle-specific drop plate directly fastened to the manifold plate by one or more fasteners". Claim 1 does not merely recite a plate near the nozzle or a housing for a piston. Instead, what is claimed is a nozzle-specific drop plate whose direct fastening relationship is to the manifold plate.
Applicant further argues that none of the other applied references make up for the deficiency of Babin / Babin as modified.
This is not found to be persuasive because…
Babin's architecture is centered on a nozzle-side sub-assembly attached to the cavity plate, not on a manifold-side drop plate directly fastened to a manifold plate and generating nozzle sealing load by such attachment. As detailed below, Babin provides for the same assembly and architecture. Accordingly, any derived benefits from the structure including providing for a nozzle sealing load by such attachment. Highlighting, implementing the drop plate being configured, by attachment of the drop plate to the manifold plate, to generate adapted to provide a nozzle sealing load on the nozzle assembly is understood be a functional limitations / an intended use of the apparatusConsequently, the case law for substantially identical process and structure may be recited. Where, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2144. Additionally, the case law for intended use of an apparatus may be recited. Where, it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. It should be noted applicant’s arguments rely and remark on various parts including but not limited to a nozzle-side sub-assembly, manifold-side plate and manifold-side drop plate. While applicant claims do recite a manifold plate and nozzle assembly and drop plate the terms nozzle-side, sub-assembly and manifold-side are not found in applicant’s claims.
As detailed below, Babin teaches both a nozzle assembly and manifold plate. With both the nozzle housing 102 and cavity plate 18 acts as applicant’s manifold plate and the outer sleeve 142 along with mold gate 900 and valve pin 126 being understood to act as applicant’s nozzle assembly. Highlighting, that Babin notes that the nozzle housing 102 and cavity plate 18 are connected to each other along with actuator housing 104 via bolts 120. Accordingly, Babin is understood to provide for both a separate nozzle assembly and manifold plate.
& d.) As noted in the previous action and below, Babin teaches on ([0046]) that bolts 120 removably fasten nozzle housing 102 and actuator housing 104 to cavity plate 18. As such, the nozzle housing 102 with a flange / shelf is understood to be fastened / connected to cavity plate 18 as a single entity during operation. Adding, that Babin describes cavity plate 18 and nozzle housing 102 being jointly connected by bolts 120 and constituting a single element during operation manifold plate. Namely, they are configured to function in combination as a single, unitary manifold during operations.
As detailed below, Babin teaches on ([0046]) that bolts 120 removably fasten nozzle housing 102 and actuator housing 104 to cavity plate 18. As such, the nozzle housing 102 / nozzle drop plate is understood to be fastened / connected to both the nozzle housing 102 and cavity plate 18 by one or more bolts 120 / fasteners. In summary, Babin teaches the newly amended features requiring that the a nozzle-specific drop plate / actuator housing 104 is directly fastened to the manifold plate nozzle housing 102 and cavity plate 18 by one or more bolts 120 / fastener such hat the nozzle housing 102 / drop plate is in direct fastening relationship is to the nozzle housing 102 and cavity plate 18 / manifold plate via bolts 120.
This is unpersuasive because as explained above there was not found to be deficiency in Babin / Babin as modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babin et al. (US 20100183763 A1, hereinafter Babin)Regarding claim 1,
A hot runner system comprising:
a manifold plate comprising a manifold plate shelf and
a nozzle locator seated on the manifold plate shelf;
a nozzle assembly,
wherein the nozzle locator comprises an annular flange in pressing engagement with an exterior surface of the nozzle assembly;
an actuating system comprising a piston; and
a nozzle-specific drop plate directly fastened to the manifold plate by one or more fasteners and
disposed adjacent to the nozzle assembly,
the drop plate defining an interior chamber for receiving the piston and
being configured, by attachment of the drop plate to the manifold plate, to generate adapted to provide a nozzle sealing load on the nozzle assembly,
wherein the drop plate is associated with a respective nozzle.
Babin teaches the following:
([0040]) teaches that referring to (Fig. 3), and well as (Fig. 4), nozzle 100 includes, amongst other components includes nozzle housing 102. ([0046]) teaches that bolts 120 removably fasten nozzle housing 102 and actuator housing 104 to cavity plate 18. Where the nozzle housing 102 and cavity plate 18 acts as applicant’s manifold plate. Noting, that the nozzle housing 102 (and actuator housing 104) being fastened to cavity plate 18 is understood to act as a single unit. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Figs. 4 & 9), with (Fig. 9) provided within, the cavity plate 18 comprises a manifold plate shelf. In summary, a manifold plate comprising a manifold plate shelf is understood to be disclosed.
As illustrated in (Fig. 9), the inner sleeve 900 seated in particular the mounting flange 144 and/or the bushing 118 are each found to be on a respective manifold plate shelf. As such, the inner sleeve 900 with mounting flange 144 and/or bushing 118 may act as applicant’s nozzle locator. In summary, a nozzle locator seated on the manifold plate shelf is understood to be disclosed.
([0007]) teaches an injection molding apparatus includes an inlet component, a plurality of nozzles, and a plurality of hoses. Highlighting, that while two nozzles are depicted it is understood that the system allows for more. ([0047]) teaches that nozzle channel 140 conveys molding material from nozzle housing channel 141 to mold gate 32 and also accommodates valve pin 126. Inner sleeve 138 and outer sleeve 142 in conjunction with nozzle housing 102 define nozzle cooling channel 143, as described below. Highlighting, that outer sleeve 142 and mold gate (mold gate 900, in Fig. 9) define the exterior of the nozzle 100 (housed by nozzle housing 102 and actuator housing 104). As such, the outer sleeve 142 along with mold gate 900 and valve pin 126 are understood to act as applicant’s nozzle assembly.
([0048]) teaches that a mounting flange 144 is provided on the downstream end of inner sleeve 138. An upstream surface 145 of mounting flange 144 provides a surface to which a downstream surface 121 of threaded bushing 118 can abut when threaded bushing 118 is removably fastened to cavity plate 18; such that threaded bushing 118 couples inner sleeve 138 to cavity plate 18. Mounting flange 144 further serves to locate nozzle core 136 in a nozzle core locating bore 137 in cavity plate 18. ([0049]) adds that outer sleeve 142 is abutted against the upstream surface 145 of mounting flange 144. With ([0048]) adding that an upstream surface 145 of mounting flange 144 provides a surface to which a downstream surface 121 of threaded bushing 118 can abut when threaded bushing 118 is removably fastened to cavity plate 18. As such, the nozzle locator / inner sleeve 900 comprises an annular flange that is in a pressing engagement / abutted with an exterior surface of both outer sleeve 142 and / or the bushing 118 (as illustrated in (Fig. 9)). In summary, the nozzle locator / cavity plate 18 comprises an annular flange that is in pressing engagement with an exterior surface of the nozzle assembly / both the outer sleeve 142 and / or the threaded bushing 118 is understood to be disclosed.
([0045]) teaches that the actuator 122 includes a piston 124. In summary, an actuating system comprising a piston is understood to be disclosed.
& g.) ([0040]) teaches that referring to (Fig. 3), and well as (Fig. 4), nozzle 100 includes, amongst other components includes actuator housing 104. ([0046]) teaches that as illustrated in (Fig. 4), bolts 106 removably fasten actuator housing 104 to nozzle housing 102. ([0046]) adding that bolts 120 removably fasten nozzle housing 102 and actuator housing 104 to cavity plate 18. As such, the actuator housing 104 acts as applicant’s drop plate directly fastened to both the nozzle housing 102 and cavity plate 18 / manifold plate by one or more bolts 120 / fasteners. Adding, as illustrated in (Fig. 4) the actuator housing 104 is found to be disposed adjacent to the nozzle assembly in particular, the valve pin 126. In summary, a nozzle-specific drop plate / actuator housing 104 is directly fastened to the housing 102 and cavity plate 18 / manifold plate by one or more bolts 120 / fasteners and disposed adjacent to the valve pin 126 / nozzle assembly.
([0054]) teaches that nozzle housing 102 and actuator housing 104 are separated by removing bolts 106 thereby allowing access to and/or removal of piston 124 and attached valve pin 126. Highlighting as illustrated in (Fig. 4), the actuator housing 104 is found to be hollow thus defining an interior chamber for receiving the piston 124. In summary,
Highlighting, due to Babin having the same structure. Namely, ([0046]) teaches that the actuator housing 104 is directly fastened to the housing 102 and cavity plate 18 / manifold plate by one or more bolts 120. (Fig. 4) illustrating that the actuator housing 104 is found to be disposed adjacent to the nozzle assembly in particular, the valve pin 126, and (Fig. 4) also illustrating that the actuator housing 104 is found to be hollow thus defining an interior chamber for receiving the piston 124. As such, the actuator housing 104 is found to have the same structure and assembly of applicant’s nozzle drop plate. Thus, is understood to provide for a nozzle sealing load generation function (as detailed in applications specification on ([0026]). Highlighting, implementing the drop plate being configured, by attachment of the drop plate to the manifold plate, to generate adapted to provide a nozzle sealing load on the nozzle assembly is understood be a functional limitations / an intended use of the apparatus. Accordingly, the case law for substantially identical process and structure may be recited. Where, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2144. Additionally, the case law for intended use of an apparatus may be recited. Where, it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. Additionally and / or alternative
As illustrated in (Fig. 1) the system comprises a plurality of nozzles each having its own respective assembly include an actuator housing 104. Highlighting, while it is understood that Babin teaches a plurality of nozzles each with their own respective drop plate / actuator housing. However, if there any perceived discrepancies or if it is determined that Babin does not teach a plurality of nozzles each with their own respective drop plate / actuator housing. The case law for the duplication of parts may be recited. Where the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising a valve pin associated with the drop plate and
the respective nozzle, the valve pin configured to extend from the piston through at least a portion of a nozzle melt channel such that a forward end of the valve pin is settable within a mold gate.
Babin teaches the following:
([0028]) teaches that each nozzle 100 also has a valve pin 126 for opening and closing a respective mold gate 32. As illustrated in (Figs. 4 & 9), one end of the valve pin is found attached to the piston 124, while the other end is found at the nozzle’s outlet.
([0054]) teaching that the construction of the injection molding system provides access for the removal of piston 124 to attached valve pin 126. As shown in (Fig. 4) the valve pin is found to extend from the piston 124 through at least a portion of a nozzle melt channel such that a forward end of the valve pin is within the mold gate 149.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2,
Wherein an upper part interior chamber is sealed by a sealing element arranged between an inner wall of the drop plate and an outer wall of the piston.
Babin teaches the following:
Several types of sealing systems are discussed that are found to provide an air-tight sealing element arranged between the inner wall of the actuator housing 104 and the outer wall of the piston 124. First of which, ([0045]) teaches that one or more piston O-rings 127 may be used to seal against actuator fluid leakage when piston 124 is actuated. Second on ([0045]) that the one or more sealing O-rings 129 may also be provided on the outside diameter of an annular spigot 103 of nozzle housing 102 to seal against leakage of actuator fluid from piston bore 125. Third, (0045]) teaches a piston cap 134 is found on each piston. ([0045]) teaches that stop 128 helps hold valve pin 126 in place. Finally, on ([0045]) that a rod seal 121 is located on the inside diameter of annular spigot 103 to seal against leakage of actuator fluid, and to coaxially align piston 124 with nozzle core 136. Namely, O-rings 127 acts as a sealing element that is found to be in an upper part of the interior chamber that is arranged between an inner wall of the drop plate / actuator housing 104 and an outer wall of the piston 124. In summary, an upper part of the interior chamber is sealed by a sealing element / O-rings 127 provided an inner wall of the drop plate / actuator housing 104 and an outer wall of the piston 124.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the drop plate is associated with a respective manifold.
Babin teaches the following:
([0034]) teaches that the plurality of molding material hoses 42 or other conduits can be said to form a manifold. With ([0035]) adding that conduits, such as hoses, as well as end couplings/fittings may be used to connect the services, as well. In the current embodiment, actuator fluid, e.g., air, is supplied to the nozzles 100 by actuator hoses 46 and coolant is circulated to the nozzles 100 by cooling hoses 48. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Fig. 1) various hoses and conduits are found to be associated / attached to the actuator housing 104. With (Fig. 4) showing the various ports i.e., 108 for attaching said hoses and conduits. Accordingly, the hoses and conduits are found to provide a manifold that the drop plates is associated with.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising an insulator board configured to cover the drop plate and the respective nozzle.
Babin teaches the following:
([0022]) teaches that back plate 12 may be cooled by circulating a cooling fluid through back plate cooling channels 13 and includes a cover plate 26.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the drop plate further comprises a cooling circuit.
Babin teaches the following:
([0035]) coolant is circulated to the nozzles 100 by cooling hoses 48. ([0047]) adds that flow of coolant within nozzle cooling channel 143 maintains the molding material in nozzle channel 140 at a temperature below that which would cause the molding material to solidify. As illustrated in (Fig. 4) there are several nozzle cooling channels provided. Additionally, ([0022]) notes that cooling channels are also found to be provided at the back plate 12 may be cooled by circulating a cooling fluid through back plate cooling channels 13 and includes a cover plate 26. Furthermore, ([0052]) notes that cooling channel 143 are provided to ensure heat-cured thermoset molding material remains in a flowable state. As such, Babin provides plenty of motivation to provide cooling channel as a means to help control that the molding material remains in a flowable state. Highlighting, while a nozzle cooling channel 143 is not directly provided at the drop plate. The case law for the duplication of parts and/or the rearrangement of parts may be recited regarding implementing a nozzle cooling channel 143 at the drop plate to maintains the molding at a temperature below that which would cause the molding material to solidify. Accordingly, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144. Additionally, where the courts held that when shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975), MPEP 2144. The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 2,
Wherein the drop plate further comprises a plurality of pressurized circuits to drive the piston between an open position to a closed position.
Babin teaches the following:
([0035]) teaches that actuator fluid, e.g., air, is supplied to the nozzles 100 by actuator hoses 46. ([0040]) notes that actuator housing 104 includes opening actuation port 110 and closing actuation port 108 into which pressurized actuator fluid can be applied to drive the actuator 122 when the actuator is a fluid driven actuator.
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the drop plate is configured to generate a load providing a resin sealing function between a housing of the nozzle assembly and a manifold bushing.
Babin teaches the following:
([0042]) teaches bolts 120 are provided to fasten nozzle 100 to cavity plate 18. Actuator housing 104, nozzle housing 102, and insulating ring 152 contain bores extending therethrough for accommodating bolts 120. ([0025]) adding that cavity plate 18 together with core plate 20 define one or more mold cavities 30. As shown, in (Figs. 1 & 4) the resin injected is found between the housing of the nozzle and the cavity plate 18 with the core plate 20. ([0045]) teaches that piston 124 is actuated by a pressurized fluid, to open and close the valve pins. ([0053]) teaches each valve pins 126 are actuated between open and closed position to control the flow of molding material through mold gates 32 and into mold cavities 30 which are heated by heaters 21.
B.) Claim(s) 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babin in view of Serniuk et al. (US 20060204611 A1, hereinafter Serniuk)
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the drop plate further comprises a cooling circuit.
Regarding Claim 6, Babin also teaching that coolant is circulated through various portions of the injection molding apparatus including the nozzle ([0035]), and backing plate ([0022]) with ([0052]) noting that cooling channels 143 are provided to ensure heat-cured thermoset molding material remains in a flowable state. Babin is silent on the drop plate further comprises a cooling circuit. In analogous art for an injection molding apparatus that comprises a valve pin assembly, with a drop plate and actuator system housed in the drop plate, (Fig. 7), Serniuk suggests details regarding implementing a cooling circuit in the drop plate and in this regard, Serniuk teaches the following:
([0025]) teaches that air plate 70 preferably has cooling channels 84 that, in use, conduct cooling fluid, such as water, through air plate 70, preferably proximate to actuator cavities 72 so that air plate 70 is sufficiently cool to prevent seal degradation for actuators 90 in actuator cavities 72. Cooling of air plate 70 also enhances thermal isolation between main manifold 56 and 15 sub-manifolds 52, which minimizes thermal variation in sub-manifold 52 and improves the material flow balance in the system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for an injection molding system that comprises a valve stem arrangement and actuator housing, as taught by Babin. By modifying the actuator housing to include cooling channels, as taught by Serniuk. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement cooling channels in the actuator housing as it provides for prevent seal degradation for actuators and minimizes thermal variation in the system and improves the material flow balance in the system. ([0025]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Erik et al. (US 3716318 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) an improved valving means for an injection molding apparatus having first and second chambers located within a substantially cylindrically shaped body and separated by a restricting means.
Harald H. Schmidt (US 4755131 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that this invention relates to a valve gated single cavity injection molding system wherein the valve pin actuating mechanism is cooled by circulating hydraulic fluid through it.
Harald H. Schmidt (US 4747770 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that this invention relates to a multi-cavity valve gated injection molding system wherein a continuous flow of hydraulic fluid through the actuating mechanism provides additional cooling. A pair of hydraulic fluid lines are drilled in the mold back plate to apply a minimum pressure differential across the cylinder chamber on one side of the piston.
Lee et al. (US 5894025 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a valve pin actuator is disclosed that includes a cylinder mounted to the clamping plate, a piston slidably mounted in the cylinder, and a valve pin assembly carried by the piston.
Serniuk et al. (US 20060204611 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a manifold system (50) comprising a main manifold (56) with a plurality of arms (64), a plurality of sub-manifolds (52) spaced from the main manifold (56) and communicating with the main manifold (56) through a plurality of melt transfer bushings (68) disposed between the main manifold (56) and the sub-manifolds (52).
Catoen et al. (US 20110304075 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a breakable mechanical connections connect valve pins to an actuated valve pin plate of an injection molding apparatus. The valve pin plate can move the valve pins between opened positions and closed positions of associated mold gates.
James Mercer (US 4017242 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a thermosetting injection molding machine includes an injector chamber, a distribution platen, four distribution nozzles, and a mold heating platen. A thermosetting material flows from the injector chamber to two crossed distribution chambers each of which extends from edge to edge completely through the distribution platen.
Gellert et al. (US 6030202 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) an injection molding one-piece gate and cavity insert with the gate extending therethrough which receives a heated nozzle and forms part of the cavity. The gate and cavity insert has a cooling fluid passage extending through it.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743