DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 11/04/2025 for
response of the office action mailed on 9/05/2025. Claims 1, 7 and 12-13 have been amended. Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 11-13 remain pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 7-10), filed on 11/04/2025, with respect to claims 1, 7, and 12
-13 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 8, for independent claims 1, 7, and 12-13, applicant asserts that the conventional paging DCI merely includes scheduling information related to the UEs in the group, and lacks the capability to instruct only a subset of UEs - those for which paging is not necessary - to skip monitoring the paging occasion.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Islam et al. (US 2019/0239187 Al) discloses “the type of control information included in the DCI message is determined based at least in part on the RNTI, wherein the type of control information included in the DCI message includes paging information, and interpreting at least one bit field in the DCI message includes interpreting at least one bit field in the DCI message as a short message indicator, Islam: [0010]” and, “UE 115-a may determine the type of control information included in DCI message 210-b based on the RNTI (e.g., a paging RNTI (P-RNTI)) used to decode DCI message, Islam: [0060]”.
Regarding remarks in page 9, for independent claims 1, 7, and 12-13, applicant asserts that Abdoli does not disclose or suggest a single paging DCI that includes the newly defined first indication field explicitly indicating whether monitoring of a paging message is required.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. ABDOLI et al. (US 2021/0127414 Al) discloses “the UE monitors short messages transmitted with a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) over downlink control information (DCI), if configured, Abdoli: [0095], [0103]". And, Islam discloses “a first type of control information included in the first DCI message based at least in part on the P-RNTI, wherein the first type of control information included in the first DCI message comprises a short paging message or downlink paging scheduling information. the UE may determine that the DCI message includes control information for scheduling a paging message. the paging DCI message may contain paging scheduling information. Because a paging message is a downlink message, the UE 115 may be able to determine that the control information in the DCI is used for scheduling a downlink message, Islam: [0015], [0052]”.
Regarding remarks in page 9, for independent claims 1, 7, and 12-13, applicant asserts that Abdoli specifies that the 1-RNTI associated with the first DCI is used only for UEs in the RRC Inactive state, and that the second DCI is also a DCI intended for UEs in the RRC Inactive state. In contrast, the present invention is clearly limited to the DCI related to paging for a UE in the RRC Idle state.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Abdoli discloses “a UE in an idle or inactive state monitors a paging search space for a physical DL control channel (PDCCH) containing paging DCI. UEs in an idle or inactive state store the P-RNTI, and therefore the UE 802 is able to descramble the CRC to determine if decoding the paging DCI 806 was successful, Abdoli: [0121], [0222]-[0224]”.
Regarding remarks in page 10, for independent claims 1, 7, and 12-13, applicant asserts that Islam merely discloses a configuration of a paging DCI that includes an indicator for identifying one of three types of short paging messages. However, Islam only describes the use of the indicator to signal the type of paging message and does not disclose any configuration in which the indicator directly instructs whether the UE should perform monitoring of a paging occasion.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Islam discloses “UE communications manager may monitor a control channel for DCI from a base station, identify a DCI message in the control channel corresponding to an RNTI, determine a type of control information included in the DCI message based on the RNTI. the RNTI includes a paging RNTI (P-RNTI), Islam: [0010], [0080]”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al.
(US 2019/0239187 Al, hereinafter “Islam”) in view of ABDOLI et al. (US 2021/0127414 Al, hereinafter “Abdoli”).
Regarding claim 1, Islam disclose:
A method by a user equipment (UE) and comprising (UE receives a DCI message from a base station. A method for wireless communication is described, Islam: [0005]-[0006]):
receiving configuration information related to paging (UE 115 decodes a DCI message using a paging radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (P-RNTI), the UE may determine that the DCI message includes control information for scheduling a paging message, Islam: [0052]); and
Islam does not explicitly disclose:
based on the configuration information, detecting, in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging,
wherein the downlink control information includes a first indication field related to the paging,
wherein, based on a value related to the first indication field being a first value, the UE monitors a paging occasion, and
wherein, based on the value related to the first indication field not being the first value, the UE does not monitor the paging occasion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abdoli teaches:
based on the configuration information, detecting, in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging (a UE in an idle or inactive state monitors a paging search space for a physical DL control channel (PDCCH) containing paging DCI. UEs in an idle or inactive state store the P-RNTI, and therefore the UE 802 is able to descramble the CRC to determine if decoding the paging DCI 806 was successful, Abdoli: [0121], [0222]-[0224]),
wherein the downlink control information includes a first indication field related to the paging (FIG. 8 includes paging DCI 806 transmitted from the BS 804 to the UE 802, a paging message 808 transmitted from the BS 804 to the UE 802 in a paging PDSCH. Any of various bit fields of the paging DCI 806 could be used to provide the indication that the data transmission is scheduled, Abdoli: Fig.8, [0221]-[0223]),
wherein, based on a value related to the first indication field being a first value, the UE monitors a paging occasion (UE follows the paging occasions to monitor the DCI 406 and/or to receive the data scheduled by the DCI 406, Abdoli: [0216]), and
wherein, based on the value related to the first indication field not being the first value, the UE does not monitor the paging occasion (The resource assignment includes bit fields to enable the direct scheduling of data in the inactive state. The UE 402 is not required to read a paging message, or any other additional message, to learn of the scheduled data transmission 408, Abdoli: [0161]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam in view of Abdoli in order to further modify detecting, in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging and the UE monitors or does not monitor a paging occasion from the teachings of Abdoli.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it provided a method includes receiving, by a UE in an inactive state, DCI; and receiving, by the UE in the inactive state, based on a paging message, a data transmission on a physical shared channel. The DCI includes a CRC scrambled by a paging RNTI (P-RNTI), and a resource assignment or allocation for the paging message to the UE (Abdoli: [0015]).
Regarding claim 2, Islam in view of Abdoli teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Islam further disclose:
The method of claim 1,
wherein, based on the first indication field having a third value a short message is included in the downlink control information (type of control information included in the DCI message includes paging information, and paging DCI manager may interpret the at least one bit field in the DCI message as a short message indicator, Islam: [0090]),
wherein, based on the first indication field having a fourth value scheduling information for a paging message and the short message being included in the downlink control information (at least one bit field in the DCI message to provide an indication as a short message indicator. the short message indicator indicates whether the DCI message comprises a short paging message. the DCI message contains paging scheduling information, Islam: [0023]),
wherein the short message includes:
(i) information about system information modification (short message indicator may indicate whether a short paging message is included in the DCI message, where the short paging message may be used to provide a system information modification, Islam: [0090]); and
(ii) an indication related to one or more of an earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) or a commercial mobile alert system (CMAS) (short paging message may be used to provide a system information modification, a commercial mobile alert system (CMAS) indication, or an earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) indication, Islam: [0090]).
Regarding claim 7, Islam disclose:
A User equipment (UE) comprising (Islam: Fig. 1):
a transceiver (transceiver may represent a wireless transceiver and may communicate bidirectionally with another wireless transceiver, Islam: [0095]); and
one or more processors connected to the transceiver (Wireless device 905 may also include a processor. Each of these components may be in communication with one another (e.g., via one or more buses), Islam: [0082]),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to (Wireless device 905 may also include a processor, Islam: [0082]):
receive configuration information related to paging (UE 115-a may receive DCI message 210-b and may determine the type of control information included in DCI message 210-b (i.e., control information for paging), Islam: [0060]); and
Islam does not explicitly disclose:
based on the configuration information detect, in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, a downlink control channel including downlink control information downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging,
wherein the downlink control information includes a first indication field related to the paging,
wherein, based on a value related to the first indication field being a first value, the UE monitors a paging occasion, and
wherein, based on the value related to the first indication field not being the first value, the UE does not monitor the paging occasion
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abdoli teaches:
based on the configuration information detect, in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, a downlink control channel including downlink control information downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging (a UE in an idle or inactive state monitors a paging search space for a physical DL control channel (PDCCH) containing paging DCI. UEs in an idle or inactive state store the P-RNTI, and therefore the UE 802 is able to descramble the CRC to determine if decoding the paging DCI 806 was successful, Abdoli: [0121], [0222]-[0224]),
wherein the downlink control information includes a first indication field related to the paging (FIG. 8 includes paging DCI 806 transmitted from the BS 804 to the UE 802, a paging message 808 transmitted from the BS 804 to the UE 802 in a paging PDSCH. Any of various bit fields of the paging DCI 806 could be used to provide the indication that the data transmission is scheduled, Abdoli: Fig.8, [0221]-[0223]),
wherein, based on a value related to the first indication field being a first value, the UE monitors a paging occasion (UE follows the paging occasions to monitor the DCI 406 and/or to receive the data scheduled by the DCI 406, Abdoli: [0216]), and
wherein, based on the value related to the first indication field not being the first value, the UE does not monitor the paging occasion (The resource assignment includes bit fields to enable the direct scheduling of data in the inactive state. The UE 402 is not required to read a paging message, or any other additional message, to learn of the scheduled data transmission 408, Abdoli: [0161]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam in view of Abdoli in order to further modify detecting, in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state, downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging and the UE monitors or does not monitor a paging occasion from the teachings of Abdoli.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it provided a method includes receiving, by a UE in an inactive state, DCI; and receiving, by the UE in the inactive state, based on a paging message, a data transmission on a physical shared channel. The DCI includes a CRC scrambled by a paging RNTI (P-RNTI), and a resource assignment or allocation for the paging message to the UE (Abdoli: [0015]).
Regarding claim 8, Islam in view of Abdoli teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Islam further disclose:
The terminal of claim 7, wherein:
wherein, based on the first indication field having a third value, a short message is included in the downlink control information (type of control information included in the DCI message includes paging information, and paging DCI manager may interpret the at least one bit field in the DCI message as a short message indicator, Islam: [0090]); and
wherein, based on the first indication field having a fourth value, scheduling information for a paging message and the short message being included in the downlink control information (at least one bit field in the DCI message to provide an indication as a short message indicator. the short message indicator indicates whether the DCI message comprises a short paging message. the DCI message contains paging scheduling information, Islam: [0023]),
wherein the short message includes:
(i) information about system information modification (short message indicator may indicate whether a short paging message is included in the DCI message, Islam: [0090]); and
(ii) an indication related to one or more of an earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) or a commercial mobile alert system (CMAS) (short paging message may be used to provide a system information modification, a commercial mobile alert system (CMAS) indication, or an earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) indication, Islam: [0090]]).
Regarding claim 11, Islam in view of Abdoli teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Islam further disclose:
The terminal of claim 7, wherein:
The terminal of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are configured to communicate with one or more of a mobile terminal, a network, and an autonomous vehicle other than a vehicle containing the UE (Wireless device 905 may also include a processor. Each of these components may be in communication with one another (e.g., via one or more buses). UE 115 may also refer to a wireless local loop (WLL) station, an Internet of Things (IoT) device, an Internet of Everything (IoE) device, or an MTC device, or the like, which may be implemented in various articles such as appliances, vehicles, meters, or the like, Islam: [0044], [0082]).
Regarding claim 12, Islam disclose:
A method by a base station and comprising (A method for wireless communication is described, Islam: [0006]):
transmitting configuration information related to a paging (type of control information included in the DCI message includes a grant (or a configuration), paging information, system information, random access information, a short paging message, paging PDSCH scheduling information, Islam: [0089]); and
Islam does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, based on the configuration information, downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging,
wherein the downlink control information transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state includes a first indication field,
wherein, based on a value related to the first indication field being a first value, the UE monitors a paging occasion, and
wherein, based on the value related to the first indication field not being the first value, the UE does not monitor the paging occasion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abdoli teaches:
transmitting, based on the configuration information, downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging (FIG. 4 includes DCI 406 transmitted from the BS 404 to the UE 402. The DCI 406 includes a CRC scrambled by a RNTI that is specific to the UE 402, Abdoli: [0147]-[0148]),
wherein the downlink control information transmitted to a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state includes a first indication field (FIG. 8 includes paging DCI 806 transmitted from the BS 804 to the UE 802, a paging message 808 transmitted from the BS 804 to the UE 802 in a paging PDSCH. Any of various bit fields of the paging DCI 806 could be used to provide the indication that the data transmission is scheduled. UEs in an idle or inactive state store the P-RNTI, and therefore the UE 802 is able to descramble the CRC to determine if decoding the paging DCI 806 was successful, Abdoli: Fig.8, [0121], [0222]-[0224]),
wherein, based on a value related to the first indication field being a first value, the UE monitors a paging occasion (UE follows the paging occasions to monitor the DCI 406 and/or to receive the data scheduled by the DCI 406, Abdoli: [0216]), and
wherein, based on the value related to the first indication field not being the first value, the UE does not monitor the paging occasion (The resource assignment includes bit fields to enable the direct scheduling of data in the inactive state. The UE 402 is not required to read a paging message, or any other additional message, to learn of the scheduled data transmission 408, Abdoli: [0161]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam in view of Abdoli in order to further modify transmitting, based on the configuration information, downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging from the teachings of Abdoli.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it provided a method includes receiving, by a UE in an inactive state, DCI; and receiving, by the UE in the inactive state, based on a paging message, a data transmission on a physical shared channel. The DCI includes a CRC scrambled by a paging RNTI (P-RNTI), and a resource assignment or allocation for the paging message to the UE (Abdoli: [0015]).
Regarding claim 13, Islam disclose:
A base station comprising (Islam: Fig.15):
a transceiver (base station communications manager 1215 and/or at least some of its various sub-components may be combined with one or more other hardware components, including but not limited to an I/O component, a transceiver, a network server, another computing device, Islam: Fig.15, [0101]); and
one or more processors connected to the transceiver (Base station communications manager 1215 and/or at least some of its various sub-components may be implemented in hardware, software executed by a processor, firmware, or any combination thereof, Islam: [0100]),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to (If implemented in software executed by a processor, the functions of the base station communications manager 1215 and/or at least some of its various sub-components may be executed by a general-purpose processor, Islam: [0100]):
transmit configuration information related to a paging (type of control information included in the DCI message includes a grant (or a configuration), paging information, system information, random access information, a short paging message, paging PDSCH scheduling information, Islam: [0089]); and
Islam does not explicitly disclose:
transmit, based on the configuration information, downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging,
wherein the downlink control information transmitted to a User equipment (UE) in a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state includes a first indication field,
wherein, based on a value related to the first indication field being a first value, the UE monitors a paging occasion, and
wherein, based on the value related to the first indication field not being the first value, the UE does not monitor the paging occasion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abdoli teaches:
transmit, based on the configuration information, downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging (FIG. 4 includes DCI 406 transmitted from the BS 404 to the UE 402. The DCI 406 includes a CRC scrambled by a RNTI that is specific to the UE 402, Abdoli: [0147]-[0148]),
wherein the downlink control information transmitted to a User equipment (UE) in a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state includes a first indication field (FIG. 8 includes paging DCI 806 transmitted from the BS 804 to the UE 802, a paging message 808 transmitted from the BS 804 to the UE 802 in a paging PDSCH. Any of various bit fields of the paging DCI 806 could be used to provide the indication that the data transmission is scheduled. UEs in an idle or inactive state store the P-RNTI, and therefore the UE 802 is able to descramble the CRC to determine if decoding the paging DCI 806 was successful, Abdoli: Fig.8, [0121], [0222]-[0224]),
wherein, based on a value related to the first indication field being a first value, the UE monitors a paging occasion (UE follows the paging occasions to monitor the DCI 406 and/or to receive the data scheduled by the DCI 406, Abdoli: [0216]), and
wherein, based on the value related to the first indication field not being the first value, the UE does not monitor the paging occasion (The resource assignment includes bit fields to enable the direct scheduling of data in the inactive state. The UE 402 is not required to read a paging message, or any other additional message, to learn of the scheduled data transmission 408, Abdoli: [0161]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam in view of Abdoli in order to further modify transmitting, based on the configuration information, downlink control information with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) related to the paging from the teachings of Abdoli.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it provided a method includes receiving, by a UE in an inactive state, DCI; and receiving, by the UE in the inactive state, based on a paging message, a data transmission on a physical shared channel. The DCI includes a CRC scrambled by a paging RNTI (P-RNTI), and a resource assignment or allocation for the paging message to the UE (Abdoli: [0015]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam in view of Abdoli and in
further view of MANOLAKOS et al. (US 2023/0047646 Al, hereinafter “Manolakos”).
Regarding claim 6, Islam in view of Abdoli teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Islam in view of Abdoli does not explicitly disclose:
based on the value for first indication field not being related to the first value, the UE performs a position measurement for the UE, and
wherein a positioning reference signal (PRS) used to acquire the position measurement is received after a reception time of the downlink control information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Manolakos teaches:
based on the value for first indication field not being related to the first value, the UE performs a position measurement for the UE (a method of wireless communication performed by a TRP includes transmitting, to a UE, downlink control information triggering the UE to measure positioning reference signals (PRS), Manolakos: [0007], [0139]), and
wherein a positioning reference signal (PRS) used to acquire the position measurement is received after a reception time of the downlink control information (To enable the identification of a particular PRS resource within one PRS resource set of one TRP, regardless of whether or not the same PRS resource is associated with another PRS resource set and/or TRP, the DCI may include a triplet consisting of {PRS-ID, DL-PRS-ResourceSetid, DL-PRS-Resourceid}. configuration of a PRS resource may contain a field of one or more associated DCI code point value(s), Manolakos: [0114]-[0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam and Abdoli in view of Manolakos in order to further modify UE performing a position measurement for the UE wherein a positioning reference signal (PRS) used to acquire the position measurement is received after a reception time of the downlink control information from the teachings of Manolakos.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because signaling efficiencies should be enhanced and latency should be substantially reduced (Manolakos: [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable
if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner
has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claims 3 and 9 – wherein the short message further includes a second indication field, wherein a most significant bit (MSB) of the second indication field includes information about the system information modification, wherein a second MSB of the second indication field includes information about an indication related to one or more of the ETWS or the CMAS, wherein remaining bits of the second indication field except for the MSB and the second MSB include a bitmap for configuring a positioning method for acquiring a position measurement for the UE.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
be directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467