DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 02/06/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 02/06/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-24, 26-29, 50, and 51 are pending
Claims 25, 30-49 and 52-55 are canceled
Claims 1-24, 26-29, 50, and 51 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10-11, 13-24, 26-28 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20110319068 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, in view of Park et al. (WO 2019093866 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park, and further in view of JEON et al. (WO 2019084570 A1), hereinafter referenced as Jeon.
Regarding claims 1, 26 and 50-51, Kim teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Para. [0009]-Kim discloses a CSI transmission method and apparatus of a UE in a wireless communication system supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of protecting conflict of CSI transmission timings, resulting in improvement of system performance. Figs. 14-15, Para. [0109]-Kim discloses an Uplink Control Information (UCI) generator 1402, a PUCCH formatter 1404, a Resource Element (RE) mapper 1406, an Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) processor 1408, an Intermediate Frequency (IF)/Radio Frequency (RF) processor 1410, and a CSI controller 1412), comprising:
determining, based at least in part on a configuration and a reception order of the downlink grant and the second grant, an aperiodic channel state information transmission order for the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information (Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary (corresponding to periodic and aperiodic CSI transmission). Para. [0059-0061]-Kim discloses the eNB can notify the UE of the transmission order of the CSIs ... the CSI transmission order can be determined based on the frequencies of the component carriers, e.g., ascending order of frequencies. For example, if the frequencies of CC1 to CC5 are CC1<CC2<CC3<CC4<CC5, the CSI transmission order becomes {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412} ... the transmission patterns of the CSIs for the same component carriers can be changed in every Np. For example, the CSI_CC1 402 transmitted at the first period can carry the wideband CQI of the CC1 while the CSI_CC1 408 transmitted at the second period carries the subband CQI of the CC1. Para. [0046]-Kim discloses that in order to transmit the CSI to the eNB, the UE is informed about the CSI configuration information such as reporting mode on how to feed back which information, resource {grant} to be used for transmission, and transmission cycle by higher layer signaling from the eNB in advance. Para. [0119]-Kim discloses the CSI controller 1618 receives the CSI configuration information 1620 for aggregated component carriers from the eNB. The CSI controller 1618 analyzes the CSI configuration information 1620 to determine the CSI transmission pattern composed of CSI transmission time points of the component carriers); and
transmitting the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information according to the aperiodic channel state information transmission order (Para. [0118]-Kim discloses the CSI controller 1618 acquires CSI configuration information 1620 on the CSI transmission points of individual component carriers and controls the UCI generator 1604 to generate and transmit CSI at corresponding CSI transmission time points. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary. (See also Para. [00150, 00162, 00287, and 00440-00446] of JEON et al. (WO 2019084570 A1))).
Kim fails to teach transmitting, to a network entity, UE capability information indicating a capability of the UE to support out-of-order transmission of aperiodic channel state information.
However, Park teaches transmitting, to a network entity, UE capability information indicating a capability of the UE to support out-of-order transmission of aperiodic channel state information (Page [3], Lines [3-5]-Park discloses reporting the first ACSI and the second ACSI out-of-order ACSI determined based on the predetermined rule to the base station based on the reporting timing. Fig. 6, Page [19], Lines [1-7]-Park discloses {ACSI reporting timing} the reporting time of ACSI2 may be n + Y1 + Y2 instead of m + Y1 + Y2. In addition to the above method, the offset value y may be additionally set in consideration of the time required for switching the buffer state or the like. (e.g., n + Y1 + Y2 -> n + Y1 + Y2 + y) At this time, the corresponding y value may be preset or reported to the base station based on the UE capability).
Kim and Park are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with method for reporting aperiodic channel state information (ACSI) and a device supporting the same.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Park on ACSI reporting, with a motivation to transmit UE capability for out-of-order ACSI transmission to the base station, and guarantee ACSI reporting, (Park, Para. [0002]).
Kim fails to teach receiving a downlink grant including an indication to report first aperiodic channel state information; receiving a second aperiodic grant including an indication to report second aperiodic channel state information, wherein the second grant is received after the downlink grant; identifying that the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information are associated with a first aperiodic channel state information type.
However, Jeon teaches receiving a downlink grant including an indication to report first aperiodic channel state information (Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses the information in the DCI formats used for uplink scheduling can be organized into different groups, with the field present varying between the DCI formats, including at least one of: ... CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00287]-Jeon discloses the network may signal to a UE by active DL BWP switching DCI to trigger aperiodic CSI measurement/reporting to speed up link adaptation convergence. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting). Para. [00135-00137]-Jeon discloses a base station may transmit DCI (e.g., downlink grants) comprising information indicating the RS antenna port(s). The information may indicate the RS antenna port(s) which may be QCLed with DM-RS antenna port(s) … If a base station transmits a signal indicating a spatial QCL parameters between CSI- RS and DM-RS for PDCCH, a wireless device may use CSI-RSs QCLed with DM-RS for a PDCCH. Para. [00122]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may use a CSI-RS in a multi-beam system for estimating the beam quality of the links between the wireless device and a base station. For example, based on a measurement of a CSI-RS, a wireless device may report CSI for downlink channel adaption);
receiving a second grant including an indication to report second aperiodic channel state information (Para. [00440-00446]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting) … a base station may activate a second configured grant … The base station may transmit control message(s) (e.g., RRC, MAC CE, and/or DCI) to a wireless to configure and/or activate a second configured grant on the new UL BWP. Para. [00465]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive one or more RRC message/signaling configured a first and second configured grants. Fig. 34, Para. [00465]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive one or more RRC message/signaling configured a first and second configured grants. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses the information in the DCI formats used for uplink scheduling can be organized into different groups, with the field present varying between the DCI formats, including at least one of: ... CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00287]-Jeon discloses the network may signal to a UE by active DL BWP switching DCI to trigger aperiodic CSI measurement/reporting to speed up link adaptation convergence. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)),
the second grant is received after the downlink grant (Para. [00440-00446]-Jeon discloses base station may transmit control message(s) (e.g., RRC, MAC CE, and/or DCI) to a wireless to configure and/or activate a second configured grant on the new UL BWP. Para. [00465]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive one or more RRC message/signaling configured a first and second configured grants. Para. [00366]-Jeon discloses the UE may start transmitting CSI report for the first active BWP at a first available CSI resources on or after the (n+k).sup.th subframe. Para. [00150]-Jeon discloses at least one first PDCCH on an activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment, ... at least one second PDCCH on a serving cell (e.g. a PCell or an SCell configured with PUCCH, i.e. PUCCH SCell) scheduling the activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment);
identifying that the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information are associated with a first aperiodic channel state information type (Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses the information in the DCI formats used for uplink scheduling can be organized into different groups, with the field present varying between the DCI formats, including at least one of: ... CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00287]-Jeon discloses the network may signal to a UE by active DL BWP switching DCI to trigger aperiodic CSI measurement/reporting to speed up link adaptation convergence. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting));
determining, based at least in part on a configuration and a reception order of the downlink grant and the second grant, an aperiodic channel state information transmission order for the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information (Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses the information in the DCI formats used for uplink scheduling can be organized into different groups, with the field present varying between the DCI formats, including at least one of: ... requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00287]-Jeon discloses the network may signal to a UE by active DL BWP switching DCI to trigger aperiodic CSI measurement/reporting. Fig. 18, Para. [00124]-Jeon discloses a base station (e.g., a gNB in NR) may transmit one or more Radio Resource Control (RRC) messages comprising CSI-RS resource configuration parameters for one or more CSI-RS. Para. [00465]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive one or more RRC message/signaling configured a first and second configured grants. Para. [00366]-Jeon discloses the UE may {transmission order} start transmitting CSI report for the first active BWP at a first available CSI resources {corresponding to transmitting based on reception order of grants} on or after the (n+k).sup.th subframe. Para. [00150]-Jeon discloses at least one first PDCCH on an activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment, ... at least one second PDCCH on a serving cell (e.g. a PCell or an SCell configured with PUCCH, i.e. PUCCH SCell) scheduling the activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment. (See also Para. [00440-00446])).
Kim and Jeon are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on resource grants, with a motivation to receive downlink grants, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claims 2 and 27, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claims 1 and 26 respectively.
Kim further teaches receiving the configuration from the network entity (Para. [0059]-Kim discloses the eNB can notify the UE of the transmission order of the CSIs of component carriers within the period Np via explicit signaling. In FIG. 4, the CSI transmission order is {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC1 408, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. Para. [0119]-Kim discloses the CSI controller 1618 receives the CSI configuration information 1620 for aggregated component carriers from the eNB. The CSI controller 1618 analyzes the CSI configuration information 1620 to determine the CSI transmission pattern composed of CSI transmission time points of the component carriers),
the configuration is based at least in part on the UE capability information (Fig. 17, Para. [0120-0122]-Kim discloses a configuration of an eNB for receiving CSIs... The RF/IF processor 1702 performs RF/IF processing on the signal received from the UE. The FFT processor 1704 performs FFT processing on the output signal of the RF/IF processor 1702. The PUSCH processor 1708 performs signal processing according to the data, CSI, and/or ACK/NACK transmitted by the UE in PUSCH, and includes a decoder and demodulator (not shown). The eNB scheduler 1710 makes scheduling and transmission format decisions based on the CSI and/or ACK/NACK received from the PUSCH processor 1708 and controls an eNB transmitter 1714. The CSI controller 1712 receives the CSI configuration information of each UE from the eNB scheduler 1710 and controls the PUSCH processor 1708 to perform signal processing on the UCI to be received. Fig. 16, Para. [0116-0118]-Kim discloses a block diagram illustrating a configuration of a UE for transmitting CSIs … The data buffer 1602 performs buffering of the data to be transmitted by the UE in uplink. The UCI generator 1604 generates uplink control information. The channel coder 1606 adds error correction capability to the data and UCI. Para. [0006]-Kim discloses the user equipment can have different capabilities).
Regarding claims 3 and 28, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claims 1 and 26 respectively.
Kim further teaches determining, based at least in part on the identifying, a first acknowledgement associated with the downlink grant and a second acknowledgement associated with the second downlink grant (Fig. 13, Para. [0103]-Kim discloses the UE calculates the CSI value of the component carrier to be transmitted in subframe#k according to predetermined CSI configuration information at step 1302. The CSI value can be of the CSI for one component carrier or the CSIs of multiple component carriers. Next, the UE determines whether to transmit ACK/NACK in subframe#k along with the CSI at step 1304. The ACK/NACK is fed back to the eNB in subframe#k, when downlink data is received in subframe#(k-n), in order to notify whether the downlink data is erroneous).
Kim fails to teach determining that the second grant is a second downlink grant.
However, Jeon teaches determining that the second grant is a second downlink grant (Para. [00446]-Jeon discloses the base station may transmit control message(s) (e.g., RRC, MAC CE, and/or DCI) to a wireless to configure and/or activate a second configured grant on the new UL BWP. Para. [00465]-Jeon discloses receiving a DCI activating at least one of the first and second configured grants (SPS or Type 2 GF). Para. [00149-00150]-Jeon discloses monitoring at least one second PDCCH for the SCell; and/or transmitting a PUCCH on the SCell ... at least one second PDCCH on a serving cell (e.g. a PCell or an SCell configured with PUCCH, i.e. PUCCH SCell) scheduling the activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment. Para. [00277]-Jeon discloses if a UE maintains RRC connection with the primary component carrier (CC), the BWP in secondary CC may be configured via RRC signaling in the primary CC. Para. [00378]-Jeon discloses UE may switch to a second BWP as an active BWP from the first BWP in response to receiving a second downlink control information indicating switching from the first BWP to the second BWP. Para. [00394]-Jeon discloses The UE may receive downlink assignment or uplink grants from the base station for the second BWP. Para. [00396]-Jeon discloses UE may receive a radio resource control message comprising configuration parameters of a cell, the configuration parameters comprising at least one of: ... second BWP configuration parameters for a default BWP. Para. [00135]-Jeon discloses a base station may transmit DCI (e.g., downlink grants) comprising information indicating the RS antenna port(s)).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of park to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on resource grants, with a motivation to determine that the second grant is a second downlink grant, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches determining, based at least in part on the identifying, a first acknowledgement associated with the downlink grant and a second acknowledgement associated with the second downlink grant (Para. [0103]-Kim discloses the UE determines whether to transmit ACK/NACK in subframe#k along with the CSI at step 1304. The ACK/NACK is fed back to the eNB in subframe#k, when downlink data is received in subframe#(k-n), in order to notify whether the downlink data is erroneous).
Kim fails to teach determining that the second grant is a second downlink grant; identifying that the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information are associated with a second aperiodic channel state information type.
However, Jeon teaches determining that the second grant is a second downlink grant (Para. [00446]-Jeon discloses the base station may transmit control message(s) (e.g., RRC, MAC CE, and/or DCI) to a wireless to configure and/or activate a second configured grant on the new UL BWP. Para. [00465]-Jeon discloses receiving a DCI activating at least one of the first and second configured grants (SPS or Type 2 GF). Para. [00149-00150]-Jeon discloses monitoring at least one second PDCCH for the SCell; and/or transmitting a PUCCH on the SCell ... at least one second PDCCH on a serving cell (e.g. a PCell or an SCell configured with PUCCH, i.e. PUCCH SCell) scheduling the activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment. Para. [00277]-Jeon discloses if a UE maintains RRC connection with the primary component carrier (CC), the BWP in secondary CC may be configured via RRC signaling in the primary CC. Para. [00378]-Jeon discloses UE may switch to a second BWP as an active BWP from the first BWP in response to receiving a second downlink control information indicating switching from the first BWP to the second BWP. Para. [00394]-Jeon discloses The UE may receive downlink assignment or uplink grants from the base station for the second BWP. Para. [00396]-Jeon discloses UE may receive a radio resource control message comprising configuration parameters of a cell, the configuration parameters comprising at least one of: ... second BWP configuration parameters for a default BWP. Para. [00135]-Jeon discloses a base station may transmit DCI (e.g., downlink grants) comprising information indicating the RS antenna port(s));
identifying that the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information are associated with a second aperiodic channel state information type (Para. [00122]-Jeon discloses a base station may transmit a CSI-RS resource periodically, using aperiodic transmission … In an aperiodic transmission, a base station may transmit the configured CSI-RS resource in a dedicated time slot. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on resource grants, with a motivation to determine that the second grant is a second downlink grant, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 5.
Kim further teaches wherein the configuration indicates that the first aperiodic channel state information is to be transmitted no later than the second aperiodic channel state information (Fig. 4, Para. [0059-0060]-Kim discloses the eNB can notify the UE of the transmission order of the CSIs of component carriers within the period Np via explicit signaling. In FIG. 4, the CSI transmission order is {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC1 408, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. [0060] The CSI transmission order can be determined based on the frequencies of the component carriers, e.g., ascending order of frequencies. For example, if the frequencies of CC1 to CC5 are CC1<CC2<CC3<CC4<CC5, the CSI transmission order becomes {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 5.
Kim fails to teach determining the aperiodic channel state information transmission order associated with the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information comprises: determining a starting symbol associated with a transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information, wherein the configuration indicates that the second aperiodic channel state information is to be transmitted no earlier than the starting symbol associated with the transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information.
However, Jeon teaches determining the aperiodic channel state information transmission order associated with the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information comprises: determining a starting symbol associated with a transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information, (Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Fig. 18, Para. [00124-00125]-Jeon discloses a base station (e.g., a gNB in NR) may transmit one or more Radio Resource Control (RRC) messages comprising CSI-RS resource configuration parameters for one or more CSI-RS. One or more of the following parameters may be configured ... CSI-RS configuration (e.g., symbol and RE locations in a subframe), ... in a wireless device-specific configuration ... Beam 1 may be allocated with CSI- RS 1 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a resource block (RB) of a first symbol. Para. [00163]-Jeon discloses A gNB may transmit one or more RRC message comprising configuration parameters of one or more control resource sets. At least one of the one or more control resource sets may comprise at least one of: a first OFDM symbol; a number of consecutive OFDM symbols; a set of resource blocks. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)),
the configuration indicates that the second aperiodic channel state information is to be transmitted no earlier than the starting symbol associated with the transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information (Fig. 18, Para. [00124-00125]-Jeon discloses a base station (e.g., a gNB in NR) may transmit one or more Radio Resource Control (RRC) messages comprising CSI-RS resource configuration parameters for one or more CSI-RS. One or more of the following parameters may be configured ... CSI-RS configuration (e.g., symbol and RE locations in a subframe), ... in a wireless device-specific configuration ... Beam 1 may be allocated with CSI- RS 1 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a resource block (RB) of a first symbol. Beam 2 may be allocated with CSI-RS 2 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a RB of a second symbol. Beam 3 may be allocated with CSI-RS 3 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a RB of a third symbol. Para. [00122]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may use a CSI-RS in a multi-beam system for estimating the beam quality of the links between the wireless device and a base station. For example, based on a measurement of a CSI-RS, a wireless device may report CSI for downlink channel adaption. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on CSI transmission symbol, with a motivation to transmit the second CSI no earlier than the starting symbol of the first CSI, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 5.
Kim fails to teach determining the aperiodic channel state information transmission order associated with the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information comprises: determining an ending symbol associated with a transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information, wherein the configuration indicates that the second aperiodic channel state information is to be transmitted no earlier than the ending symbol associated with the transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information. .
However, Jeon teaches determining the aperiodic channel state information transmission order associated with the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information comprises: determining an ending symbol associated with a transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information (Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Fig. 18, Para. [00124-00125]-Jeon discloses a base station (e.g., a gNB in NR) may transmit one or more Radio Resource Control (RRC) messages comprising CSI-RS resource configuration parameters for one or more CSI-RS. One or more of the following parameters may be configured ... CSI-RS resource configuration identity, number of CSI-RS ports, CSI-RS configuration (e.g., symbol and RE locations in a subframe), CSI-RS subframe configuration (e.g., subframe location, offset, and periodicity in a radio frame), CSI-RS power parameter, CSI-RS sequence parameter, CDM type parameter, frequency density, transmission comb, QCL parameters (e.g., QCL- scramblingidentity, crs-portscount, mbsfn-subframeconfiglist, csi-rs-configZPid, qcl-csi-rs- configNZPid), and/or other radio resource parameters ... in a wireless device-specific configuration ... Beam 1 may be allocated with CSI- RS 1 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a resource block (RB) of a first symbol. Para. [00163]-Jeon discloses A gNB may transmit one or more RRC message comprising configuration parameters of one or more control resource sets. At least one of the one or more control resource sets may comprise at least one of: a first OFDM symbol; a number of consecutive OFDM symbols; a set of resource blocks. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)),
the configuration indicates that the second aperiodic channel state information is to be transmitted no earlier than the ending symbol associated with the transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information (Fig. 18, Para. [00124-00125]-Jeon discloses a base station (e.g., a gNB in NR) may transmit one or more Radio Resource Control (RRC) messages comprising CSI-RS resource configuration parameters for one or more CSI-RS. One or more of the following parameters may be configured ... CSI-RS configuration (e.g., symbol and RE locations in a subframe), ... in a wireless device-specific configuration ... Beam 1 may be allocated with CSI- RS 1 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a resource block (RB) of a first symbol. Beam 2 may be allocated with CSI-RS 2 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a RB of a second symbol. Beam 3 may be allocated with CSI-RS 3 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a RB of a third symbol. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on CSI transmission symbol, with a motivation to transmit the second CSI no earlier than the ending symbol of the first CSI, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 5.
Kim further teaches the configuration indicates that the second acknowledgement associated with the second downlink grant is allowed to be scheduled earlier than the first aperiodic channel state information (Para. [0107]-Kim discloses If the type 2 ACK/NACK transmission scheme is selected at step 1308, the UE determines whether the total number of ACK/NACK and CSI bits to be transmitted is greater than a predetermined number of bits K at step 1312. That is, when the ACK/NACK transmission scheme follows a method other than format 3, e.g., format 1 or channel selection, the UE checks whether the ACK/NACK is composed of multiple bits or a single bit. If the total number of ACK/NACK and CSI bits to be transmitted is greater than a predetermined number of bits K, the UE transmits the ACK/NACK according to the type 2 ACK/NACK transmission scheme without CSI transmission at step 1314. That is, if ACK/NACK is composed of multiple bits, the UE drops the CSI and transmits only ACK/ANCK. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim fails to teach determining that the second grant is a second downlink grant; and receiving a first aperiodic channel state information reference signal associated with the downlink grant and a second aperiodic channel state information reference signal associated with the second downlink grant.
However, Jeon teaches determining that the second grant is a second downlink grant (Para. [00446]-Jeon discloses the base station may transmit control message(s) (e.g., RRC, MAC CE, and/or DCI) to a wireless to configure and/or activate a second configured grant on the new UL BWP. Para. [00465]-Jeon discloses receiving a DCI activating at least one of the first and second configured grants (SPS or Type 2 GF). Para. [00149-00150]-Jeon discloses monitoring at least one second PDCCH for the SCell; and/or transmitting a PUCCH on the SCell ... at least one second PDCCH on a serving cell (e.g. a PCell or an SCell configured with PUCCH, i.e. PUCCH SCell) scheduling the activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment. Para. [00277]-Jeon discloses if a UE maintains RRC connection with the primary component carrier (CC), the BWP in secondary CC may be configured via RRC signaling in the primary CC. Para. [00378]-Jeon discloses UE may switch to a second BWP as an active BWP from the first BWP in response to receiving a second downlink control information indicating switching from the first BWP to the second BWP. Para. [00394]-Jeon discloses The UE may receive downlink assignment or uplink grants from the base station for the second BWP. Para. [00396]-Jeon discloses UE may receive a radio resource control message comprising configuration parameters of a cell, the configuration parameters comprising at least one of: ... second BWP configuration parameters for a default BWP. Para. [00135]-Jeon discloses A base station may transmit DCI (e.g., downlink grants) comprising information indicating the RS antenna port(s)),
receiving a first aperiodic channel state information reference signal associated with the downlink grant and a second aperiodic channel state information reference signal associated with the second downlink grant (Fig. 34, Para. [00465]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive one or more RRC message/signaling configured a first and second configured grants. Para. [00135]-Jeon discloses a base station may transmit DCI (e.g., downlink grants) comprising information indicating the RS antenna port(s). Para. [00122]-Jeon discloses a base station may transmit a CSI-RS via a CSI- RS resource, such as via one or more antenna ports, or via one or more time and/or frequency radio resources ... A base station may transmit a CSI-RS resource periodically, using aperiodic transmission ... In an aperiodic transmission, a base station may transmit the configured CSI-RS resource in a dedicated time slot ... A base station may configure different CSI-RS resources in different terms for different purposes. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on grants and CSI-RS, with a motivation to receive the CSI-RSs, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 14.
Kim further teaches the configuration indicates that the first aperiodic channel state information reference signal is allowed to be received earlier than the second aperiodic channel state information reference signal (Fig. 4, Para. [0059-0060]-Kim discloses the eNB can notify the UE of the transmission order of the CSIs of component carriers within the period Np via explicit signaling. In FIG. 4, the CSI transmission order is {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC1 408, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. [0060] The CSI transmission order can be determined based on the frequencies of the component carriers, e.g., ascending order of frequencies. For example, if the frequencies of CC1 to CC5 are CC1<CC2<CC3<CC4<CC5, the CSI transmission order becomes {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Jeon further teaches the configuration indicates that the first aperiodic channel state information reference signal is allowed to be received earlier than the second aperiodic channel state information reference signal (IFig. 18, Para. [00124-00125]-Jeon discloses a base station (e.g., a gNB in NR) may transmit one or more Radio Resource Control (RRC) messages comprising CSI-RS resource configuration parameters for one or more CSI-RS. One or more of the following parameters may be configured ... CSI-RS configuration (e.g., symbol and RE locations in a subframe), ... in a wireless device-specific configuration ... Beam 1 may be allocated with CSI- RS 1 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a resource block (RB) of a first symbol. Beam 2 may be allocated with CSI-RS 2 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a RB of a second symbol. Beam 3 may be allocated with CSI-RS 3 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a RB of a third symbol. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting).).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 14.
Kim further teaches the configuration indicates that the first aperiodic channel state information is allowed to be transmitted earlier than the reception of the second aperiodic channel state information reference signal (Fig. 4, Para. [0059-0060]-Kim discloses the eNB can notify the UE of the transmission order of the CSIs of component carriers within the period Np via explicit signaling. In FIG. 4, the CSI transmission order is {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC1 408, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. [0060] The CSI transmission order can be determined based on the frequencies of the component carriers, e.g., ascending order of frequencies. For example, if the frequencies of CC1 to CC5 are CC1<CC2<CC3<CC4<CC5, the CSI transmission order becomes {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 14.
Kim further teaches the configuration indicates that the second aperiodic channel state information reference signal is allowed to be received earlier than the transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information (Para. [0060]-Kim discloses in a case where the CC1 is assigned a priority to transmit CSI one more time, the CSI_CC1 408 is added after p2 frames from transmission time point of CSI_CC1 402, whereby the final CSI transmission order becomes {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC1 408, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches receiving an uplink grant including an indication to report a third aperiodic channel state information (Para. [0067-0068]-Kim discloses the eNB can notify the UE of the transmission time point of the CSIs of the component carriers within the transmission period Np as follows: [0068] CSI_CC1 (602, 608)={0, 9}, CSI_CC2 (604, 610)={2, 12}, CSI_CC3 (606)={6}, CSI_CC4 (612)={14}, CSI_CC5 (614)={18}. Para. [0044]-Kim discloses if there is no data to be transmitted in uplink, the UE transmits the CSI through Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and, otherwise if there is data to be transmitted in uplink, transmits the CSI through Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary),
transmitting the first aperiodic channel state information comprises transmitting the first aperiodic channel state information prior to transmitting the third aperiodic channel state information (Para. [0059-0060]-Kim discloses the eNB can notify the UE of the transmission order of the CSIs ... the CSI transmission order can be determined based on the frequencies of the component carriers, e.g., ascending order of frequencies. For example, if the frequencies of CC1 to CC5 are CC1<CC2<CC3<CC4<CC5, the CSI transmission order becomes {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. Para. [0119]-Kim discloses the CSI controller 1618 receives the CSI configuration information 1620 for aggregated component carriers from the eNB. The CSI controller 1618 analyzes the CSI configuration information 1620 to determine the CSI transmission pattern composed of CSI transmission time points of the component carriers. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Kim fails to teach the uplink grant is received prior to the downlink grant.
However, Jeon teaches receiving an uplink grant including an indication to report a third aperiodic channel state information (Para. [00394]-Jeon discloses UE may receive downlink assignment or uplink grants from the base station for the second BWP. The UE may transmit or receive transport blocks via the second BWP. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting). Para. [00377]-Jeon discloses the UE may activate the first BWP in response to receiving a first downlink control information indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant on the first BWP. Para. [00246]-Jeon discloses the UE may report the CSI, which is employed as an acknowledgement by the gNB to confirm that the UE receive an explicit DCI command and activates/deactivates the appropriate BWPs. Para. [00245]-Jeon discloses a CSI report based on the provided CSI-RS resource may be transmitted after activation of a BWP. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)),
the uplink grant is received prior to the downlink grant (Para. [00150]-Jeon discloses at least one first PDCCH on an activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment, ... at least one second PDCCH on a serving cell (e.g. a PCell or an SCell configured with PUCCH, i.e. PUCCH SCell) scheduling the activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on resource grants, with a motivation to receive the uplink grant prior to the downlink grant, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches receiving an uplink grant including an indication to report a third aperiodic channel state information (Para. [0067-0068]-Kim discloses the eNB can notify the UE of the transmission time point of the CSIs of the component carriers within the transmission period Np as follows: [0068] CSI_CC1 (602, 608)={0, 9}, CSI_CC2 (604, 610)={2, 12}, CSI_CC3 (606)={6}, CSI_CC4 (612)={14}, CSI_CC5 (614)={18}. Para. [0044]-Kim discloses if there is no data to be transmitted in uplink, the UE transmits the CSI through Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and, otherwise if there is data to be transmitted in uplink, transmits the CSI through Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary),
the configuration indicates that the first aperiodic channel state information is allowed to be transmitted no earlier than the third aperiodic channel state information (Para. [0060]-Kim discloses in a case where the CC1 is assigned a priority to transmit CSI one more time, the CSI_CC1 408 is added after p2 frames from transmission time point of CSI_CC1 402, whereby the final CSI transmission order becomes {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC1 408, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Kim fails to teach the uplink grant is received prior to the downlink grant.
However, Jeon teaches receiving an uplink grant including an indication to report a third aperiodic channel state information (Para. [00394]-Jeon discloses UE may receive downlink assignment or uplink grants from the base station for the second BWP. The UE may transmit or receive transport blocks via the second BWP. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting). Para. [00377]-Jeon discloses the UE may activate the first BWP in response to receiving a first downlink control information indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant on the first BWP. Para. [00246]-Jeon discloses the UE may report the CSI, which is employed as an acknowledgement by the gNB to confirm that the UE receive an explicit DCI command and activates/deactivates the appropriate BWPs. Para. [00245]-Jeon discloses a CSI report based on the provided CSI-RS resource may be transmitted after activation of a BWP. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)),
the uplink grant is received prior to the downlink grant (Para. [00150]-Jeon discloses at least one first PDCCH on an activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment, ... at least one second PDCCH on a serving cell (e.g. a PCell or an SCell configured with PUCCH, i.e. PUCCH SCell) scheduling the activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on resource grants, with a motivation to receive the uplink grant prior to the downlink grant, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches receiving a third grant including an indication to report a third aperiodic channel state information (Para. [0067-0068]-Kim discloses the eNB can notify the UE of the transmission time point of the CSIs of the component carriers within the transmission period Np as follows: [0068] CSI_CC1 (602, 608)={0, 9}, CSI_CC2 (604, 610)={2, 12}, CSI_CC3 (606)={6}, CSI_CC4 (612)={14}, CSI_CC5 (614)={18}. Para. [0044]-Kim discloses if there is no data to be transmitted in uplink, the UE transmits the CSI through Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and, otherwise if there is data to be transmitted in uplink, transmits the CSI through Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary);
determining that the first aperiodic channel state information and the third aperiodic channel state information are associated with the same channel state information report configuration (Para. [0012]-Kim discloses the channel status information transmission method includes receiving configuration information for component carriers aggregated from a base station. Para. [0008]-Kim discloses supporting carrier aggregation, the Channel State Information (CSI) configuration information should be defined per component carrier and, in this case, the CSI transmission timings of UE for the component carriers should be guaranteed not conflict with each other so as to improve the system performance. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary); and
refraining from transmitting the third aperiodic channel state information based at least in part on determining that the first aperiodic channel state information and the third aperiodic channel state information are associated with the same channel state information report configuration (Para. [0012]-Kim discloses determining whether transmission time points of at least two of the component carriers are identical with each other, by analyzing the configuration information, and transmitting, when transmission time points of at least two of the component carriers are identical with each other, a channel status information of a component carrier having a highest priority among the at least two component carriers at the transmission time point. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
While Jeon further teaches receiving a third grant including an indication to report a third aperiodic channel state information (Para. [00394]-Jeon discloses UE may receive downlink assignment or uplink grants from the base station for the second BWP. The UE may transmit or receive transport blocks via the second BWP. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting). Para. [00377]-Jeon discloses the UE may activate the first BWP in response to receiving a first downlink control information indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant on the first BWP. Para. [00246]-Jeon discloses the UE may report the CSI, which is employed as an acknowledgement by the gNB to confirm that the UE receive an explicit DCI command and activates/deactivates the appropriate BWPs. Para. [00245]-Jeon discloses a CSI report based on the provided CSI-RS resource may be transmitted after activation of a BWP. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)).
Regarding claim 21, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches receiving an uplink grant including an indication to report a third periodic channel state information (Para. [0067-0068]-Kim discloses the eNB can notify the UE of the transmission time point of the CSIs of the component carriers within the transmission period Np as follows: [0068] CSI_CC1 (602, 608)={0, 9}, CSI_CC2 (604, 610)={2, 12}, CSI_CC3 (606)={6}, CSI_CC4 (612)={14}, CSI_CC5 (614)={18}. Para. [0044]-Kim discloses if there is no data to be transmitted in uplink, the UE transmits the CSI through Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and, otherwise if there is data to be transmitted in uplink, transmits the CSI through Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Kim fails to teach the uplink grant is received prior to the downlink grant; determining that a timeline associated with the downlink grant is less than a timeline associated with the uplink grant; and transmitting the first aperiodic channel state information prior to transmitting the third aperiodic channel state information based at least in part on determining that the timeline associated with the downlink grant is less than the timeline associated with the uplink grant.
However, Jeon teaches receiving an uplink grant including an indication to report a third aperiodic channel state information (Para. [00394]-Jeon discloses UE may receive downlink assignment or uplink grants from the base station for the second BWP. The UE may transmit or receive transport blocks via the second BWP. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting). Para. [00377]-Jeon discloses the UE may activate the first BWP in response to receiving a first downlink control information indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant on the first BWP. Para. [00246]-Jeon discloses the UE may report the CSI, which is employed as an acknowledgement by the gNB to confirm that the UE receive an explicit DCI command and activates/deactivates the appropriate BWPs. Para. [00245]-Jeon discloses a CSI report based on the provided CSI-RS resource may be transmitted after activation of a BWP. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)),
the uplink grant is received prior to the downlink grant (Para. [00150]-Jeon discloses at least one first PDCCH on an activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment, ... at least one second PDCCH on a serving cell (e.g. a PCell or an SCell configured with PUCCH, i.e. PUCCH SCell) scheduling the activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment);
determining that a timeline associated with the downlink grant is less than a timeline associated with the uplink grant (Para. [00465]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive one or more RRC message/signaling configured a first and second configured grants. Para. [00150]-Jeon discloses at least one first PDCCH on an activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment, ... at least one second PDCCH on a serving cell (e.g. a PCell or an SCell configured with PUCCH, i.e. PUCCH SCell) scheduling the activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment); and
transmitting the first aperiodic channel state information prior to transmitting the third aperiodic channel state information based at least in part on determining that the timeline associated with the downlink grant is less than the timeline associated with the uplink grant (Fig. 34, Para. [00465]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive one or more RRC message/signaling configured a first and second configured grants. Para. [00440-00446]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting). Fig. 17, Para. [00123]-Jeon discloses an example of transmitting CSI-RSs periodically for a beam. A base station 1701 may transmit a beam in a predefined order in the time domain, such as during time periods 1703. Beams used for a CSI-RS transmission. Para. [00122]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may use a CSI-RS in a multi-beam system for estimating the beam quality of the links between the wireless device and a base station. For example, based on a measurement of a CSI-RS, a wireless device may report CSI for downlink channel adaption. Fig. 18, Para. [00124-00125]-Jeon discloses Beam 1 may be allocated with CSI- RS 1 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a resource block (RB) of a first symbol. Beam 2 may be allocated with CSI-RS 2 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a RB of a second symbol. Beam 3 may be allocated with CSI-RS 3 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a RB of a third symbol. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on resource grants and CSI, with a motivation to transmit the first CSI prior to transmitting the third CSI, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 22, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches the configuration indicates that the first aperiodic channel state information is allowed to be transmitted earlier than the second aperiodic channel state information (Para. [0060]-Kim discloses in a case where the CC1 is assigned a priority to transmit CSI one more time, the CSI_CC1 408 is added after p2 frames from transmission time point of CSI_CC1 402, whereby the final CSI transmission order becomes {CSI_CC1 402, CSI_CC2 404, CSI_CC3 406, CSI_CC1 408, CSI_CC4 410, CSI_CC5 412}. Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Kim fails to teach determining that the second grant is an uplink grant.
However, Jeon teaches determining that the second grant is an uplink grant (Para. [00150]-Jeon discloses at least one second PDCCH on a serving cell (e.g. a PCell or an SCell configured with PUCCH, i.e. PUCCH SCell) scheduling the activated SCell indicates an uplink grant or a downlink assignment. Para. [00373]-Jeon discloses the UE may receive data packets based on the downlink control information indicating downlink assignments. The UE may transmit data packets based on the downlink control information indicating uplink grants).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on resource grants, with a motivation to determine that the second grant is an uplink grant, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 23, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 22.
Kim further teaches transmitting the second aperiodic channel state information comprises: transmitting the second aperiodic channel state information using a physical uplink shared channel (Figs. 16-17, Para. [0033]-Kim discloses a configuration of a UE for transmitting CSIs in Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH). Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Regarding claim 24, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches transmitting the first aperiodic channel state information comprises: transmitting the first aperiodic channel state information using a physical uplink control channel (Figs. 14-15, Para. [0031]-Kim discloses a configuration of a UE for transmitting CSI on Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH). Fig. 6-8, Para. [0067-0082]-Kim discloses the interval between the CSI transmission time points for the component carriers can vary).
Claims 4, 6-7, 12 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20110319068 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, in view of Park et al. (WO 2019093866 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park, and further in view of JEON et al. (WO 2019084570 A1), hereinafter referenced as Jeon, and further in view of SI et al. (CN 102437901 A), hereinafter referenced as Si.
Regarding claims 4 and 29, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claims 3 and 28 respectively.
Kim fails to teach the configuration indicates that the first aperiodic channel state information and the first acknowledgement is to be transmitted in a first slot and the second aperiodic channel state information and the second acknowledgement is to be transmitted in a second slot, the first slot being no later than the second slot.
However, Si teaches the configuration indicates that the first aperiodic channel state information and the first acknowledgement is to be transmitted in a first slot and the second aperiodic channel state information and the second acknowledgement is to be transmitted in a second slot (Fig. 3, Para. [0069]-Si discloses the first set of ACK/NACK modulation symbols and the first set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to one PUCCH corresponding uplink sub-frame in in the first time slot occupied by PRB pairs semi-statically; at the same time, the second set of ACK/NACK modulation symbol and the second set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to the second time slot. Para. [0015]-Si discloses the aperiodic CSI information triggered by downlink scheduling signalling by the base station, the UE only for CSI reporting after receiving trigger signaling, and using PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel, physical uplink shared channel) to transmit the aperiodic CSI),
the first slot being no later than the second slot (Figs. 3-12, Para. [0069]-Si discloses the first set of ACK/NACK modulation symbols and the first set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to one PUCCH corresponding uplink sub-frame in in the first time slot occupied by PRB pairs semi-statically; at the same time, the second set of ACK/NACK modulation symbol and the second set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to the second time slot).
Si is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communications, dealing with combined feedback method and device of uplink control information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park and Jeon to incorporate the teachings of Si on channel state information and acknowledgement, with a motivation to indicate slot transmission order for CSI and acknowledgement, and guarantee improved system throughput, (Si, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 5.
Kim fails to teach determining the aperiodic channel state information transmission order associated with the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information comprises: determining a starting symbol associated with a transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information.
However, Jeon teaches determining the aperiodic channel state information transmission order associated with the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information comprises: determining a starting symbol associated with a transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information (Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Fig. 18, Para. [00124-00125]-Jeon discloses a base station (e.g., a gNB in NR) may transmit one or more Radio Resource Control (RRC) messages comprising CSI-RS resource configuration parameters for one or more CSI-RS. One or more of the following parameters may be configured ... CSI-RS configuration (e.g., symbol and RE locations in a subframe), ... in a wireless device-specific configuration ... Beam 1 may be allocated with CSI- RS 1 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a resource block (RB) of a first symbol. Para. [00163]-Jeon discloses A gNB may transmit one or more RRC message comprising configuration parameters of one or more control resource sets. At least one of the one or more control resource sets may comprise at least one of: a first OFDM symbol; a number of consecutive OFDM symbols; a set of resource blocks. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park and Si to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on transmission symbol, with a motivation to determine the starting symbol, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Kim fails to teach the configuration indicates that the second acknowledgement is to be transmitted no earlier than the starting symbol associated with the transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information.
However, Si teaches the configuration indicates that the second acknowledgement is to be transmitted no earlier than the starting symbol associated with the transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information (Figs. 3-12, Para. [0069]-Si discloses the first set of ACK/NACK modulation symbols and the first set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to one PUCCH corresponding uplink sub-frame in in the first time slot occupied by PRB pairs semi-statically; at the same time, the second set of ACK/NACK modulation symbol and the second set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to the second time slot. Para. [0015]-Si discloses the aperiodic CSI information triggered by downlink scheduling signalling by the base station, the UE only for CSI reporting after receiving trigger signaling, and using PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel, physical uplink shared channel) to transmit the aperiodic CSI).
Si is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communications, dealing with combined feedback method and device of uplink control information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park and Jeon to incorporate the teachings of Si on channel state information, acknowledgement and transmission symbol, with a motivation to indicate second acknowledgement be transmitted no earlier than the starting symbol, and guarantee improved system throughput, (Si, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 5.
Kim fails to teach determining the aperiodic channel state information transmission order associated with the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information comprises: determining an ending symbol associated with a transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information.
However, Jeon teaches wherein determining the aperiodic channel state information transmission order associated with the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information comprises: determining an ending symbol associated with a transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information (Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Fig. 18, Para. [00124-00125]-Jeon discloses a base station (e.g., a gNB in NR) may transmit one or more Radio Resource Control (RRC) messages comprising CSI-RS resource configuration parameters for one or more CSI-RS. One or more of the following parameters may be configured ... CSI-RS resource configuration identity, number of CSI-RS ports, CSI-RS configuration (e.g., symbol and RE locations in a subframe), CSI-RS subframe configuration (e.g., subframe location, offset, and periodicity in a radio frame), CSI-RS power parameter, CSI-RS sequence parameter, CDM type parameter, frequency density, transmission comb, QCL parameters (e.g., QCL- scramblingidentity, crs-portscount, mbsfn-subframeconfiglist, csi-rs-configZPid, qcl-csi-rs- configNZPid), and/or other radio resource parameters ... in a wireless device-specific configuration ... Beam 1 may be allocated with CSI- RS 1 that may be transmitted in some subcarriers in a resource block (RB) of a first symbol. Para. [00163]-Jeon discloses A gNB may transmit one or more RRC message comprising configuration parameters of one or more control resource sets. At least one of the one or more control resource sets may comprise at least one of: a first OFDM symbol; a number of consecutive OFDM symbols; a set of resource blocks. Para. [00162]-Jeon discloses CSI request, requesting an aperiodic CSI report. Para. [00440]-Jeon discloses a grant is received for a new TB (e.g. for aperiodic CSI reporting)).
Jeon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with Channel Status Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a terminal in a cellular communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park and Si to incorporate the teachings of Jeon on transmission symbol, with a motivation to determine the starting symbol, and guarantee providing a Channel State Information (CSI) transmission method and apparatus of a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system such as Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE-A) supporting carrier aggregation that is capable of guaranteeing avoidance of conflict of the CSI transmission timings on the component carriers, resulting in improvement of system performance, (Jeon, Para. [0010]).
Kim fails to teach the configuration indicates that the second acknowledgement is to be transmitted no earlier than the ending symbol associated with the transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information.
However, Si teaches the configuration indicates that the second acknowledgement is to be transmitted no earlier than the ending symbol associated with the transmission of the first aperiodic channel state information (Fig. 3, Para. [0069]-Si discloses the first set of ACK/NACK modulation symbols and the first set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to one PUCCH corresponding uplink sub-frame in in the first time slot occupied by PRB pairs semi-statically; at the same time, the second set of ACK/NACK modulation symbol and the second set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to the second time slot. Para. [0015]-Si discloses the aperiodic CSI information triggered by downlink scheduling signalling by the base station, the UE only for CSI reporting after receiving trigger signaling, and using PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel, physical uplink shared channel) to transmit the aperiodic CSI).
Si is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communications, dealing with combined feedback method and device of uplink control information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park and Jeon to incorporate the teachings of Si on channel state information, acknowledgement and transmission symbol, with a motivation to indicate second acknowledgement be transmitted no earlier than the ending symbol, and guarantee improved system throughput, (Si, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 5.
Kim fails to teach the configuration indicates that the first aperiodic channel state information is to be transmitted in a first slot and the second aperiodic channel state information is to be transmitted in a second slot, the first slot being no later than the second slot.
However, Si teaches the configuration indicates that the first aperiodic channel state information is to be transmitted in a first slot and the second aperiodic channel state information is to be transmitted in a second slot (Fig. 3, Para. [0069]-Si discloses the first set of ACK/NACK modulation symbols and the first set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to one PUCCH corresponding uplink sub-frame in in the first time slot occupied by PRB pairs semi-statically; at the same time, the second set of ACK/NACK modulation symbol and the second set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to the second time slot. Para. [0015]-Si discloses the aperiodic CSI information triggered by downlink scheduling signalling by the base station, the UE only for CSI reporting after receiving trigger signaling, and using PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel, physical uplink shared channel) to transmit the aperiodic CSI),
the first slot being no later than the second slot (Figs. 3-12, Para. [0069]-Si discloses the first set of ACK/NACK modulation symbols and the first set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to one PUCCH corresponding uplink sub-frame in in the first time slot occupied by PRB pairs semi-statically; at the same time, the second set of ACK/NACK modulation symbol and the second set of CSI modulation symbol continuously mapped to the second time slot).
Si is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communications, dealing with combined feedback method and device of uplink control information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park and Jeon to incorporate the teachings of Si on channel state information and transmission slot, with a motivation to transmit the first CSI in the first slot, no later than the second-slotted CSI, and guarantee improved system throughput, (Si, Para. [0003]).
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20110319068 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, in view of Park et al. (WO 2019093866 A1), hereinafter referenced as Park, and further in view of JEON et al. (WO 2019084570 A1), hereinafter referenced as Jeon, and further in view of HUANG et al. (WO 2019192013 A1), hereinafter referenced as Huang.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Park and Jeon teaches the method of claim 8.
Kim fails to teach the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information are transmitted in the same slot.
However, Huang teaches the first aperiodic channel state information and the second aperiodic channel state information are transmitted in the same slot (Abstract-Huang discloses transmission of multiple CSI reports in a same uplink slot. Para. [0003]-Huang discloses a base station may request non-periodic CSI reports, such as aperiodic CSI reports ... and a UE may generate one or more CSI reports based on the non-periodic CSI report requests).
Huang is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with non-periodic channel state information triggering and reporting in wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Park and Jeon to incorporate the teachings of Huang on transmission slot, with a motivation to transmit the CSI in the same slot, and guarantee improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support non-periodic channel state information (CSI) triggering and reporting in wireless communications, (Huang, Para. [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 02/06/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-24, 26-29, 50, and 51 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on pages 12 and 13, Lines [25-26 and 1-4 respectively], Applicant argues that, “Park does not teach or suggest "transmitting, to a network entity, UE capability information indicating a capability of the UE to support out-of-order transmission of aperiodic channel state information," as there is no description of any "UE capability information indicating a capability of the UE to support out-of-order transmission of aperiodic channel state information" nor is there any description of transmitting such unmentioned UE capability information.”
However, on the basis of the referenced claim limitation and the incumbent specification not providing further details about how the UE capability is indicated, Park et al. (WO 2019093866 A1) teaches transmitting, to a network entity, UE capability information indicating a capability of the UE to support out-of-order transmission of aperiodic channel state information (Page [3], Lines [3-5]-Park discloses reporting the first ACSI and the second ACSI out-of-order ACSI determined based on the predetermined rule to the base station based on the reporting timing. Fig. 6, Page [19], Lines [1-7]-Park discloses {ACSI reporting timing} the reporting time of ACSI2 may be n + Y1 + Y2 instead of m + Y1 + Y2. In addition to the above method, the offset value y may be additionally set in consideration of the time required for switching the buffer state or the like. (e.g., n + Y1 + Y2 -> n + Y1 + Y2 + y) At this time, the corresponding y value may be preset or reported to the base station based on the UE capability).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472